206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain Lake Marina & Campground was rated 3 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (865) 426-6510
CGID4456

Mountain Lake Marina & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
168
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   3   1   1   4   2   4   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This park has a lot of potential but is very poorly managed. A lot of permanent campers on sites close to the water, which is fine because it is on the water and the lake is their main draw. The permanent sites were poorly kept by campers and staff. We stayed on a newer campsite near the office and away from the permanent guests. These sites were built right on top of each other, if you wanted a picnic table or fire ring you had to go find one. Most campsites were washed out from heavy spring rain, and there is no staff to fix it. This park has absolutely no employees outside of the office. You can tell, because nothing gets ever gets repaired. The neighbor told us that the sites have been washed out for months, and grass had only been mowed once all season. It's a shame, because it could be a very nice park with a some TLC. We won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Our site had trash on the ground (cans, discarded gloves for sewer), no cover on the sewer connection. There were four wheelers and motor bikes running up and down the roads. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Woodall's stated this is a 5 star location - it deserves a minus 5 and Woodall's needs to review their findings. We pulled in and then pulled out. The worst campground we have visited. Their website looked great and looked forward to the location. First off you are not escorted to your site. We could not even find our spot however while driving around we saw all the seasonals (which many look like the slums of inner city). The CG needs major major upgrade. Trash, broken glass, buildings looked like they have not been cleaned in years. It was just awful. Whatever you do, save the time driving the narrow roads leading up to the CG. Go elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This is the worst campgroung we ever stayed in. We where booked for 3 night but left early due to its condition. The camp is mostly occupied by long term residents, one can see it by all the junk they have accumulated and stored outdoors. There where 4 sites for travelling coaches like us. The first site, right next door where we wound up, was littered in broken glass, my dog could not have left the coach. We called and where told to move to next door, it was not much better. Between the cigarette butts, candy wrappers and bottle caps it was awful. The site was very narrow, we could not have put chairs outside, the picnic table was on a slope, but we could not use it anyhow, the boards on it where so bent it was useless. We had no cable TV and someone came and strung a cable from across the street to our Motorhome. No 50 amps was available. The site was very narrow. To go to the Marina one had to walk down a very steep hill, quiet a long way, we never made it all the way down. All in all, very dirty and as I said we left before we had paid to leave. We will never go back there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$47
This campground was very expensive and not much justification for that. I was first annoyed to find out that even though they advertise WiFi on their website they have shut it down. They said they are negotiating with Comcast for a replacement but that did not help me. Campground consists of about 5 parallel streets going steeply downhill towards the water. At the bottom is a marina but no where to swim. Many seasonal residents with their own porches etc. But many looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years. Also it was Saturday night and at 12:45 am someone decided they would keep starting revving and shutting off their Harley. This went on for at least an hour and mgnt. did nothing to stop it as far as we could tell. If you like a partying campground, this is apparently one for you. They stay up and are very loud, at least on Saturdays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
If you're not a boater, keep on driving by this campground. The campground was not well kept, and was literally party central. We got there on a Friday evening and checked out the next morning. The campground is built on a cliff, and needed some serious maintenance. It took us over an hour to have someone from the office help us to get out electric hookup to work. The only reason that I can think of for camping here is if you have a boat and you want the convenience of Norris Lake, and you're planning on being on the water all day long so that you don't have to spend much time at the campground. Many permanent trailers here too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
This was a stopover for us on route to Florida. We did not have a good experience here. The road from the freeway is very hilly and difficult to follow at night. We had prepaid and the office closed at 5:00. I called about 4:00 to let them know we would be there about 7:30. They said they would leave a map on clipboard for us at office. I double checked that we had a pull through, gravel site and was assured I did. That was not the case when we got there. They had us in a very small, back in gravel site that we would not fit in. As no one was in the office, we had to find another site ourselves and I was worried all night someone would come knocking and tell us to move. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
The people that run this campground are very nice. But the campground is very rustic with uneven sites some were on a hill that had been bulldozed to be somewhat flat. The majority of the sites are permanent where people leave their campers all year long. The campground has a marina on Norris Lake and this campground caters to the seasonal boaters. This campground is more tailored toward the boaters who want a permanent site on Norris Lake. One thing to be aware of is that the water pressure is so high that without a water regulator or restrictor you will blow out your plumbing lines. When checking in you are told of the high water pressure and they will sell you a water regulator. Their web site states big rigs are welcome with paved sites, I did not see any when I camped there. If you are a boater, this would be a good place, however, for us campers, this campground does not offer anything. I would not stay here again unless I was towing a boat instead of a car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com