220564 User submitted reviews online!!
Ponderosa State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (208) 634-2164
CGID4466

Ponderosa State Park

Camp Information
Sites
172
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   10   9   9   10   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Excellent state park with lots of things to see and do. We stayed in the Dogwood loop in a pull-through with electric, water, and sewer hook up. The site was paved and level with ample space between neighbors. A sandy area with fire pit is next to each site. Wi-Fi was marginal and did not work at all one night. AT&T cell service was non-existent except in McCall, then weak 3G most of the time. Too many trees for satellite, but with so much to see and do we did not miss the electronics. Restaurants, groceries and gas were available in McCall. Kayaking, hiking, biking was all great fun. We stayed 7 nights and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
A very nice campground with ample spacing between sites. We have stayed in this state park numerous times and will continue to do so. Our site was hard surfaced and level. Utilities worked as they should and we had no problems. The campground was quiet and well maintained in spite of the state trying to cut every program to the bone. The Wi-Fi is a contract and if you want more than 20 minutes a day you are going to have to pay a fee for additional time. Three of the loops have water and electricity but no sewer but do offer a dump station. The other two loops offer full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We live a little over two hours from McCall and have been camping at Ponderosa State Park for over 20 years. This is an extremely well-kept park that now includes five camping loops and 163 serviced campsites. The original three (Aspen, Blackberry and Chokecherry) offer water and electricity with a dump station along with restrooms and showers. The two newest loops (Dogwood and Elderberry) offer sewer connections at every site and several paved pull through pads and a large shelter area in each loop. You'll find an area with bathrooms and community showers. The park is situated around Payette Lake and campers can easily walk from any site to the lake. Ponderosa is gorgeous and located close to McCall which is a beautiful Idaho town. You won't regret spending time there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
As several other reviewers have said this is an excellent state park campground. The sites are well separated and clean. Our sites were very close to level and paved. We were in one of the companion sites which accounts for the slightly higher fee. If you have an Idaho RV or Idaho State Parks Pass make your reservations online for applicable discounts as the Reserve America site does not allow you to claim the discounts available. WiFi was good at our site. It is provided by a commercial service and you only get 20 min every 12 hours free, after that you have to pay. It is very easy to get into McCall, but not extremely bike friendly. The park offers a lot of good family biking and you can walk to the lake. Most sites are at least partly shaded. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Great state park and would stay again. Lots of room to move around, and close to town. All sites have ample grassy area and are overall very quiet. We were able to walk to lake play area or drive up the peninsula for a more isolated location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
This is a great state park. Stayed in the newer section (Dogwood Loop) with full hookups and 50 amps electricity. Spacious sites, mostly shaded with lots of room between units. Very nice pull through sites and long back in sites. Bathrooms new and well maintained. Excellent biking and walking/hiking trails. Numerous beaches on clean, scenic Payette lake. Close to downtown for nice restaurants and shops. We'll definitely come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
One of the nicest state parks we have stayed in. Large open areas, plenty of room between sites. Wi-Fi is not free. It is paid service. Restrooms and showers were always clean. Close to Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
Nice State Park. We stayed here on a weekend which was quite noisy from the park being full to capacity (except for the handicapped spots). We had a site with little or no shade, but finally when the park cleared out from the weekend, it was quiet. The reservation system leaves a little to be desired. The only sites that were empty were the handicapped sites which I don't know why they can't rent out after a specific amount of time being available to disabled people. They have companion sites which run around $44 a night and will accommodate two rigs and tons of tents. Reserve America charges a $10 booking fee if you want reservations, so this adds to the cost significantly if you are only staying for one or two days. Would stay here again if in the McCall area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This is one of the nicest state park campgrounds we have ever stayed in. On the picturesque Payette Lake, with a beautiful visitor center and beaches, bike and hiking trails, huge paved sites with tall ponderosa pines between sites, lovely town of McCall close by, and much more. We stayed in the full hookup sites, in loops a and b, with some of the longest sites ever. Two 40' motorhomes and cars can even fit in the huge companion sites available. TV with antenna and Verizon cells worked fine. Beautiful picnic pavilions and new bathrooms. Road into campground is very good. We would recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
We have stayed in the older water-and-electric loops before, but this was our first time staying in the newer full-service section just across from the entrance. Nice bathrooms and showers in a central building with 2 picnic pavilions (one for each side of this section). Very nice park with so many activities to enjoy set in a beautiful nature setting, and just a few minutes from the picturesque town of McCall and wonderful Payette Lake. Bring your bikes and enjoy this park and the town at a more leisurely pace. (Also bring the mosquito spray - it has been a wet spring!) Try to stay for 3 or 4 days and enjoy the central Idaho mountains! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$16
We passed the RV section (full hookups) for a more secluded spot in the electric/water only loops. Decent roads in. Adequate for any size rig. Heavily wooded: couldn't get any Direct TV. Strong AT&T and Verizon. Pretty setting. 30 amp service good/water pressure low. Dump station if needed. Quiet. Close to lake. Good bicycle area. Close to McCall for supplies. Overall a very nice experience. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
I really liked this park. Very clean with spacious lots and good pavement. You have to be careful with big rig as rail fencing along road got me a little on the left side. I would definitely stay again and would like to spend more than the one night I had this time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
Beautiful new campground in the park with huge back-ins and pull-throughs. Spacious sites with great spacing between them. Has firepits, tables, and large spaces. Located about 2 miles from town on a peninsula on the lake. We spent 3 days, but could have stayed a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
We moved to Ponderosa State Park halfway through our week-long stay in McCall. We had been planning to drive down to Cascade and stay there for the second half of our trip, but when we were riding our bikes through downtown, we rode through Ponderosa to see what it was like. Once we saw it, we decided to change our plans and stay here. It is beautiful, clean and close to (an easy bike ride away) downtown and the lake. We were able to get two sites next to each other easily, though we were staying mid-week. We heard from another camper that they had to make their reservations 6 months prior, though they were staying over a weekend. The sites were big and most have a rectangular sand pit next to them where the picnic table and fire pit are located. Big plus for our kids who loved digging in the sand. The park also has some beautiful trails to hike, bike and drive on. A walk across the main road from the campground leads to the visitor center and a nice little beach on the lake that is buoyed off for swimmers. Bathrooms and showers were clean and an easy walk from our site. Overall, we love its "foresty" feel, more rustic than the KOA we stayed in at the beginning of our week there. We definitely plan to stay at Ponderosa again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
I generally agree with the previous posters but with one exception. Despite the tree lined environment, this campground is more or less a subdivision. That means that there isn't much space between sites. If your neighbor plays loud music or is offensive in other ways, you will be very aware of it. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the park, professionalism of the staff, and that all sites were level. Being surrounded by lake access is a bonus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Stayed in the newer RV section of this state park. Had full hook-ups, the site was paved and very close to level. Paid a bit more for a companion site. The park was very clean and quite. This was before the busy season and for two nights we were the only unit in the loop. Access was very good with good clearance around the large Ponderosa trees. Most sites have some shade. Idaho parks have been given a significant budget cut for 2009, about 50%, and their ability to maintain their standards may be impacted but it sure did not show at Ponderosa. Staff very friendly and helpful but visitor center hours were limited. If you have a boat, including canoes, Idaho now requires an “Invasive Species Sticker” which can be obtained from the park office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
This is a real gem! There are two separate camping areas of this park, we stayed in the newer "RV Park". Sites were huge, well laid out, and had good spacing between sites. WiFi and full hookups at this beautiful location is a bonus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
good We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Have to agree, this is a great place for camping. Nice to have clear, dark skies above instead of streetlights, and to be surrounded by pine trees instead of big RVs on either side. It's important to note there are different RV-friendly campgrounds within the park. We stayed in the new addition, at the entrance and closer to town: Lakeview Village. These are FHU sites, with many pull-thrus, and one central bathhouse. Close by is the older cg, with W&E sites, or just E. Those seem to have more shade, but more tents and campfires. In any case, the Village (sign says Group RV) has strong 50 amp, and my VZ aircard and cell worked from here. Fun bike ride into town, Park has activities too. Too bad reservations are $10, but we were able to choose a nice site on a weekday, just showing up, and stayed 3 days. Wish it could have been more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Our experiences with Idaho state parks have been very favorable and Ponderosa was no exception. It is always busy it the summer but does not feel overly crowded. The park has recently under gone quite a few up-grades including new visitor center and group sites. The group sites have sewer hook-ups the rest of the park does not. Staff is very friendly and given the level of use the park was very quiet at night. Our location was a large site and priced higher than their normal sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$21
If you like camping this is for you. It's on the lake with hiking and biking trails, a boat ramp, fishing and town is close by. We camped here in a fifth wheel with slides on both sides and had plenty of room. The sites on both sides were far enough away to feel private. We recommend My Fathers Cafe in McCall for hot fudge sundies. We loved it here and will deffinently return. They now have a section that is full hook up for a little more per night. We stayed here for a week and it was real quiet but fills up on the week ends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$21
This State Park is set among a beautiful ponderosa pine forest on a peninsula that juts into Payette Lake. Just about any kind of outdoor activity that you might enjoy is available: fishing, swimming, boating, hiking, mountain biking and, in the winter, cross-country skiing. During the summer there are ranger programs. If you want some city activities the town of McCall is just a few miles away and offers good shopping and dining opportunities. The Park is open year round, with limited services in the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$21
This is a popular CG and it fills almost every day in the Summer. Reservationa are an absolute must. Site size and separation varies greatly. many sites are too tight for big rigs. The restrooms and showers are showing their age and could be maintained better. Sites are gravel and most require leveling. Access roads are paved. Idaho State Parks now charge an additional day use fee of $4.50/day for "toads". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com