223181 User submitted reviews online!!
Grindstone Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (276) 388-3983
CGID4468

Grindstone Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   9   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
Grindstone is a US Forest Service campground, with the extremely friendly campground hosts provided by the Cradle of Forestry. It is located in a remote area on the flanks of Mount Rogers. At approximately 3,700 ft. elevation and heavily wooded, the campground is relatively cool. We escaped the summer 90s and enjoyed the 72 degree highs in the campground. Campground roads are paved, while sites are gravel. Most sites are long and very widely spaced, providing a lot of privacy. Sites 29, 43, and 58 have steep downhill entry slopes, so longer rigs will have difficulty leveling front-to-back. Opossum loop has no hook-ups. Cottontail loop sites have water, electric hook-ups. Groundhog loop has both basic and water, electric sites. Groundhog loop is close to the highway so road noise can be aggravating. There is no WiFi or cell phone service, and the tree canopy makes locating satellite dishes difficult or impossible. The nearby VA Creeper Trail provides enjoyable bicycle riding experience. Hikers can take the trail up to the summit of Mt. Rogers right from the campground. For those wanting a cool, peaceful, and quiet camping experience, this is the place! The fee shown reflects the senior discount. The campground is busy on weekends, so reservations are recommended for sites with utilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
My wife and I were there on our fall track to the VA Creeper. This State Park is highly maintained by a group of very friendly personnel. Each lot is spacious and heavy in tree cover. On our visit the leaves were turning color, which to the enjoyment of our ride. We will utilize this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
The sites are mostly shaded with plenty of space between them. The staff was outstanding! There are staff members parked on each of the three loops and marked with permanent signs in case of after-hours problems or emergencies. Unfortunately our site (#43) isn't really suited to anything much longer than 28 to 30 feet, even though the listing on recreation.gov shows 80 feet, because of the slope of the driveway and a tree at the back end. We couldn't get our 38 foot fifth-wheel level (front to back)even with the landing gear fully retracted. The staff would have moved us when we pulled in if they weren't full up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
We camped here in April to ride on the Va. Creeper Trail. The staff was sitting around the entrance gate when we arrived. They were all very welcoming and friendly. We left our tarp and a member of the staff offered to loan us one. The campground is beautiful with wooded lots. There is a playground, wadding area fed by a stream and hiking trails. The bath house was clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I could see bath house being crowded on holidays but we never had to wait. I would like to stay here in the future. It was very peaceful and quit. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$26
Very nice and relaxing campground. Online reservations were a bit high but very nice trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Quite clean campground with very friendly people operating it. The sites are nicely shaded and have hills. There is nice roads around for riding. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
Grindstone is the best kept secret in southwest Virginia. This place is gorgeous. The sites are enormous & woodsy. As the previous poster said, there isn't much to do within the confines of the campground, but the surrounding area is full of hiking and biking trails. The campground has a spring fed concrete wading area for your swimming pleasure, a basketball net in the parking lot, and a small playground that looks fairly new. The bathrooms are old but kept very clean, and the water is warm but not steamy hot. The altitude makes it cool here. When we were camping, it was 20 degrees warmer down the mountain in town, so bring sweatshirts. This is a great place to stay to ride the Virginia Creeper trail, as you can drive into Damascus within a half hour and catch a shuttle or accress the trail directly from the town. The campground hosts are wonderfully friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
I agree with the previous posters. We stayed in a site in the 43-59 area. Incredibly peaceful and private campsites. I cannot wait to return. The spring fed concrete wading area was very dirty when we were there, so my kids did not play in it. Also, while the bathrooms are kept clean, there are no paper towels and no handsoap. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
OK, hereís the scoop. If you need an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, a game room, mini-golf, a snack bar, camp store, and golf cart rentals (God help us all), then DONíT COME HERE! If you need a cable TV hookup, internet access of any kind, cell phone service Ė if you will undergo spontaneous human combustion if you cannot check your e-mail and voice messages, then DONíT COME HERE! If you have children who absolutely need to be entertained by any of these things, then definitely please DONíT COME HERE. If you enjoy the hustle and bustle - the constant activity of many commercial campgrounds; if you enjoy being packed in side by side with other campers Ė so close that you can smell if someone in the next site breaks wind, then by all means, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE! However, if you want a campground where the sites are far apart, where there are a lot of trees and vegetation so that you have some privacy, then you might like it here. If you find that sitting around a roaring campfire while sipping on a hot drink on a cool evening can be a substitute for television, then you might like it here. If you want a place where you can disconnect from ďreal lifeĒ while enjoying a beautifully wooded setting Ė if you like the sounds, sights, and smells of the forest, then you might like it here. If chirping birds and crickets are music to your ears, then this might be the place for you. If you enjoy bicycling and particularly hiking, in what I think are some of the most beautiful mountains east of the Mississippi, then this is definitely your place. Aside from that, there is nothing here. Stay away if you canít handle it. Oh yes, the obligatory bathroom review. The web site says there are warm showers. So, donít expect ďhotĒ and too much of it. They were old but kept clean. I saw them being cleaned twice on the weekend Ė once in the morning and once in the afternoon. That was fine with us. As long as there isnít a lot of mold on the walls, and as long as I donít catch a communicable disease, Iím OK with the facilities. This campground quickly rose to one of my favorite places, but once again, if you need entertainment either for yourself or your children, you might want to look elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com