221611 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain Gate RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 100 user reviews. Phone: (530) 275-4600
CGID447

Mountain Gate RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   8   8   9   10   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
We were very happy with this park. It is everything you want in an RV park, plus really friendly helpful staff. Located right off I-5 we didn't notice traffic noise at all. The grounds were attractive, with lots of shade trees that really helped in the 100 degree heat. The pool and spa were super clean and attractive. Sites were level concrete with some grass and picnic tables. Hookups well maintained and worked well. Maintenance person on site all day every day. Quiet. Lots of permanents but all good looking and well maintained in separate areas of the park. We had a pull-through site; easy to access on paved roads throughout the park. Groceries and other shopping one and two exits away on the interstate made our stay real easy. A great choice, and we would definitely choose to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. This is the most delightful campsite, easy access from the I-5 but no intrusive highway noise. Friendly helpful staff, tarmac roads and very level tarmac site. Good cable and Wi-Fi, lovely pool and hot tub. Continental breakfast. We certainly recommend this campsite and would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
We have stayed at this park, off and on, for 15 years. It is immaculately clean, shaded by large trees, has wonderful staff, and has an off leash, fenced dog area big enough for our golden retriever and german shepherd. When we called to say we were on our way from Southern Oregon, staff advised us that there were many fires along Highway 5 and didn't want us to get "stuck." He said he would advise us if he got more information. Upon arrival, as we got through easily, he couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. When told that it was our wedding anniversary he offered and gave us a bottle of champagne that was in his fridge. Such warmth and friendliness. Mountain Gate is a great place for an over night or for a week as it is close to the recreational opportunities of the city of Redding (5 miles south) or Lake Shasta (a short drive north.) We recommend Mountain Gate! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Nice park. Our spot was far enough from the freeway that we did not encounter any hwy noise. Clean park, friendly staff. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We stayed 3 nights in this park. The driveways are big rig friendly, but some sites are sloped and a bit difficult to pull through if you are in a longer rig. Park is very clean and well kept. The pool was not free of leaves and debris, but it was also cold and off season. The hot tub was nice and was kept covered when not in use. Each morning, they prepare a continental breakfast, which was nice. It included your breakfast basics. This campground is a bit north of Redding, but is very convenient to the interstate. With that convenience did come interstate noise, but otherwise, it was a nice stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$36
Great park----nice pet area---friendly staff. The continental breakfast they advertise isn't much, but then it is the only place that we have stayed that has one, so really nothing to compare. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
This is a fantastic park. The hosts are helpful and friendly. The park is well maintained and restrooms immaculate. Our site was level and hookups centrally located. This is a beautiful park and I would encourage you to check it out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Park is carefully laid out in terraced rows, well landscaped, well run. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
We have stayed here several times traveling to/from Oregon. It is a good overnight stop or good for a couple days sightseeing in the Redding area. The park is clean and the landscaping well kept. Several spaces are terraced on a side hill and others are relatively flat. All have a narrow grassy area between sites with small trees enough to give some shade. Also a picnic table. Coffee and pastries are offered in the office each morning. Yes, there is noise from nearby I-5 but we have never find it to be a problem even sleeping with our windows open. On our most recent stay we wanted to use the pool on a very hot afternoon but decided not to due to one of the permanent residents playing his loud boombox in that area. Can we hope for a sign stating no loud music allowed in RV parks with swimming facilities? Probably not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
We stay here often ! We just returned from 10k mile trip. Mt Gate RV ranks very high on our list of favorite parks. Owners are local and care about their customers. Nice whirl pool spa, very well maintained pool, excellent RV group facilities ! Continental breakfast and coffee. You will feel safe and the level concrete pads and large shaded sites made our 42 ft five slide fiver feel right at home! Fresh clean water and excellent newly tiled showers ! New cable and adequate Wi-Fi! Highly recommend this park. Right off I 5, near to everything ! No I am not related to owners, just really like this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
There is a lot of highway noise. During our stay of 3 nights the toilets were not cleaned. The laundry room was filthy. Folks use the machines for washing dog blankets and there was dog hair all around. The machine tops were very dirty and didn't looked like they were cleaned for a long time. They should be washed daily. We really needed to do laundry so I cleaned a few of them myself to use. We would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
Very nice park along I-5. Lovely mature trees give shade and the sites are well-spaced with grassy areas between them. Restrooms are clean and the Wi-Fi is WONDERFUL (after having been in so many parks with Wi-Fi that is all but unusable, this park is a real treat). We only stayed for one night but would definitely return to this park in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
For a campground next to an interstate, this is a very attractive one with lots of trees and flowers. We had a back-in site because they were fully booked, but access was easy. The trees do make satellite TV reception an issue at some sites, but there is free cable TV and Wi-Fi. The Verizon 4G signal was excellent. There is a fair amount of highway noise at sites near the front of the park, but night-time temperatures were low, and we didn't notice the noise once the windows were closed. There is a free continental breakfast most mornings, but the day we stayed there it was reduced to coffee and muffins. The price cited is with a Good Sam discount and is plus tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
Full hookups, including cable. Many sites have lovely green grass and trees for shade. Good fenced dog park and a number of choices for walks. Will probably come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$31
Price given reflects local taxes. This is an attractive park, located about 10 miles north of Redding just off I-5. It has a Redding address, but is actually located closer to Shasta City (near the Shasta dam). The registration clerk was inexperienced, but pleasant and quite helpful and put us in a site near the showers as requested. The particular evening we stayed had a tremendous storm and during the early morning hours the campground lost power, for about an hour -- but power was restored long before daybreak. (The refrigerator alarm informed us of the power loss.) The restrooms and showers were clean and well maintained. The campground is nicely paved and even though on a hillside, the sites are reasonably level. Due to the unusually wet storm, there was some minor flooding, in part due to leaves knocked out of the trees by the wind, clogging storm drains. This required some careful walking to avoid large puddles near the shower building. We did not use their Wi-Fi. We would stay here again (but would look for fuel in Redding, as the close-by stations had exorbitant prices). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
We stayed here for two nights as we traveled from Oregon through California. We rented a pull-through site. We were at Shasta Caverns and in Redding much of the time, but did use the bathrooms, showers and the pool, and those seemed clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Easy into the park off the freeway, pleasant check-in. Interior roads are asphalt and the pads are concrete. Easy to navigate through park. Hook-ups are great and all utilities worked good, WiFi was fast. Lots of shade, green grass, (vs brown grass ) nice dog run. Continental breakfast is included. Clean showers, restrooms and laundry room. Very nice pool and hot tub. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Nice park for the rate. They have a new hot tub that just opened, adults only after 7PM. The park is not far off the I-5 but there is no real noise from the highway. Quite a few trees and nice long pull-through for an overnight stay. We would stay here again - free continental breakfast in the mornings and free ice cream sundaes on Sunday afternoons. Park is nicely kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Good Sam Park. Nice, long, pull through sites with grass & trees. Small pool & jacuzzi. Friendly staff, small but nice clubhouse & store with free Continental breakfast (bagels, muffins, coffee). Great base for mountain and Lake Shasta recreation areas or a quick easy I-5 access for one-night stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
This is an older park with concrete pads and grass sites. Some residents, but overall a travel park. Nice easy off and on from I-5. Very close to everything in Redding. Nice shade trees. Great view of the mountains. Some highway noise, but not excessive. Cable TV and internet very good. Up and down hill to get to RV pads but the pads are relatively level. Pool and spa nice for cooling off from the heat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Rate based upon weekly stay. Shade 2/3 of the day. Option for a small fee to wash rv/tow vehicle at your site. Well manicured landscape. Deer come up to pasture to the north to feed. 15 minutes to Shasta Dam or Lake Shasta Caverns. There is easy access for all rigs. All amenities well kept except for the Wi-Fi chop-drop-pop that occurs between 4pm-6pm, so lost 1 point due to that minor issue. Highly recommended if you are on I-5 corridor near Redding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We attended a rally here and the park was clean and the folks were great to work with. Sites were level and we had plenty of room. There was some freeway noise from I-5 with the trucks all night, but we have stayed where it is worse. Good stop for overnight or a few days to explore the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
Very clean paved sites, grassy margins, very clean restrooms. Friendly operators. This was our first time here, but it is on our list to stay when we travel south from WA. Very pet friendly, with cleanup stations through the park and an enclosed dog run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
Nice, clean park but think it's a little overpriced for what you get. Close to the freeway but we weren't bothered by the noise. We had stayed here a couple of years ago and they had lots of activities but didn't see evidence of that this time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$32
They have a new SPA! It is a little tiny one, but it will do! I couldn't find an RV park anywhere in Redding with a hot tub. The front desk was very polite and friendly, the after hours manager on the grounds was always around and friendly. We normally stay at a more expensive park in this area and were looking for something a little less expensive as far as bang for your buck. This is the ticket! Clean grounds, level cement padded sites. I guess a couple of draw backs, the roads seem a little narrow if you're driving a big rig with something in tow, and the store/office closes down tight at a 5pm, so if you need anything after 5? Although, since the night manager is always around I'm wondering if he'd at least let you in to grab something and square up payment in the AM? Just don't know. Anyway, all in all, nice place, will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$32
It is a beautiful well treed, very clean park. All utilities worked; 50Amp, good H2O pressure and taste; cable TV and excellent WiFi. The sweet gum trees were in splendid autumn color. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Good park! Clean, quiet and very well kept! Cable TV was fuzzy. Tried different cables and no luck. Maybe just our site. I would bring my Dish next time as a lot cable channels have nothing to watch on them. Some long time rigs here but all is clean. No junk cars and the other stuff you usually see with long terms people. Was warm,102 degrees but the A/C worked good along with the trees around all the sites. Level concrete pads! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We loved this RV park. Concrete sites with trees between sites. Staff and camp hosts very helpful. Although just off I-5, the traffic noise was almost negligible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This is just a wonderful campground. Beautifully maintained and the staff is the best!! Lots of pull-through sites and regular back-in. I give this a 10 overall. Stayed here just overnight on way to Oregon with Grandaughters. Pool is well maintained, but I found Wi-Fi was a little slow. The sites are very level with a lot of nice shade trees. Small ministore on premises. Easy access on & off freeway. We will be staying here again on return trip from Oregon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
What a pleasure to stay here; clean, shady, nice landscaping,friendly staff. I plan to stay there again for a night on the way home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
The cleanest place I've ever stayed at. The pool is very nice and the host was very friendly. Will stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
This park is one of the nicest we have visited. The lots were level and well laid out. The continental breakfast was a nice treat. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Cleanest bathrooms we've ever seen. Spotless! Good sized gated dog run. Very well kept park. Some freeway noise but not bad. Slept well here. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We have stayed at 5 parks in the Redding area as we travel to Oregon, since this park was rated so well (10.10.9) we decided to try it this year. The general feeling of the park is pleasant although freeway noise from I-5 is evident even farther back in the park. There is shade and plenty of room between sites. The cement on the pads is badly cracked on most sites causing uneven surfaces. Most back in sites are long term renters. Cable TV is good, didn't use Wi-Fi but Verizon aircard is good. We did not think this park deserved the high rating from Trailer Life. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Beautiful, friendly park. Served a continental breakfast. Had evening activities. Nearby gas and small store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
Our $27 nightly rate is for a week long stay and includes tax. The campground can be seen from a flat section of I-5. Road noise can be heard as a muffled roar at our site. The whole campground is situated on rolling hillside. Sites feel private. Asphalt roadways with concrete pads and well-placed connections. Trees are mature, well placed and there were few, if any, low branches. Laundry facility is clean with several machines and reasonably priced. No junkers or outside tarp buildings were seen at campsites. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We truly enjoyed our stay here. The sites are on a small hillside and step down so you don't feel quite as close to the unit next door. There are trees between each site. The bathrooms were updated and very clean. We came after the office had closed but the person on night duty came to greet us and showed us right to our site. He was very friendly. Good cable and excellent Wi-Fi reception. This is in a handy location with a gas station that also offers diesel right down the road. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
Spent 2 nights at this park. Site was tight for our coach and tow. The park is close to the freeway but noise wasn't a problem. It's close to Lake Shasta and the dam. Wi-Fi and cable were great there were even a couple movie channels. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Rate reflects an internet coupon. Beautiful park set back a ways from the freeway, some minor road noise but did not bother us inside. Owner/staff were extremely helpful. Sites are concrete pads in a terraced park and sites have a picnic table. Trees shelter some of the park and feels very nice. Wide access roads and pull through accommodate large rigs with Toad. Good electric and great cable. Morning coffee and rolls part of the stay! They have good areas for dogs and a small fenced dog run. We will definitely stay here again as we head along I-5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
PA rate. Nice enough for a 1-3 day stopover. Our site, 22, was level, and plenty big enough for our 25 ft trailer with a small slide. Some freeway noise, excellent TV and Wi-Fi. We would come back if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Very pretty older style park, close to freeway. Washrooms were spotless and heated, great TV, internet a little slow but probably better if you went to the lounge. We appreciated the phone in the laundry room to use with our long distance card. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
We've driven past this park many times and finally stopped for a 3-night stay in Redding, CA. The hosts were wonderful, the spots are clean and level, and the campground has good mix of shade trees and open sky for your satellite dish. The views of the surrounding hills are great, and the landscaping is very pretty. We really enjoyed our stay here, and we'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$31
This is a very nice park. It's clean and well maintained. Level concrete pads with grassy areas in between. We stopped here Thanksgiving night after a long day of traveling. Even though the office was closed, a staff member met us at the office and escorted us to our site. Very clean fenced dog park. Our rate reflects Good Sam discount. We definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Easy on/off freeway. Easy to maneuver in. Very friendly manager. Very accommodating (we had a 36' motor home towing a 20' trailer). Nice park. Would definitely return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
My family and I stayed at Mountain Gate on our way from LA to Canada. It is a beautiful park. Very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a large amount of room between sites. We made a point of staying here again when we drove back from Canada to LA a couple of weeks later. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
An excellent place to stay as a half way point from Seattle, WA. to the Bay Area. We arrived just in time for a Karaoke / Social. There was lots of room for the RV. It is very pet friendly. We'll visit here again and next time we'll spend more time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Beautiful park with great space. The staff was friendly and helpful. Pet friendly. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This is my first review on this website, only because this park is so great. The lady in the office is really nice and funny. Loved the 'build your own sundae' and looking forward to the breakfast tomorrow morning. I did not give it a 10 because the pool is a bit small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Don't usually review park after one night, but we just have to post our thoughts. After 22 months traveling to East Coast and back to West Coast, this is one of those "will definitely return to" places; no trains, planes, or road construction noises ! One could get used to this in a very short while; just a really nice, clean RV park. Site 34 has at least a 5 ft. wide section of grass between concrete sites There are flower beds, maple & sycamore trees for shade, concrete picnic tables, dog run, continental breakfast in rec room, solar heated pool, and did I say rules for quiet nights are enforced. Staff is friendly and helpful and keeps park clean Located only one exit from Lake Shasta; what else does one need ? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Very friendly staff, and clean RV park. Enjoyed are stay and would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Stayed here one night passing through to Portland. Loved the park. Friendly staff, great store and clubhouse. Pool was great and clean. Nice grassy sites and "tiered" on the hillside with lots of shade trees. Would stay here again and plan to stay here on next trip through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
We stayed here overnight before returning home the next day. Sites are small, you can get a bigger rig in, but there's not much grassy area between the sites. Has a free continental breakfast every morning. Nice one stopper for us since we use the truck/RV wash in Corning on the way home. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
This is a nice, well maintained park near I-5 in a rural area up against a small hill. They have about 1/2 full timers or permanent people, but the permanents are kept nice and tidy, many keep an nice garden. The spots are a mix of back-ins (at an angle) and pull throughs. We chose a back-in on the outer ring. Backing in was a bit tricky since you have a small rise before the concrete pad, but it works and gave me new practice at reversing. Since the park is built around a hill, the pads are slanted a bit downhill (I assume for runoff) so plan on propping up one side of your rig. But each spot has plenty of flat land cut out for grass and a picnic table. The staff is very friendly and are happy to take you to your spot, which is helpful as there are a number of ways to get to a particular spot. The pool is well kept and heated with Solar to a perfect temperature. The park is located north of Redding and one exit north of the city of Shasta Lake. There is some great bike riding around Redding, and this is a perfect launching point for Redding or Shasta Lake/Dam. One last tip when you look at their map, you will see blue and gold sites. The gold sites are those that are available for monthly/full-timers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
This is not a resort but it works well if you have business in the area and need a spot for your rig while you are gone for the day. Nice grass and shade trees on either side of your spot. Good water. We could not get the cable TV to work but were able to get a TV signal with our batwing antenna. Only criticism is that the trash receptacles were not emptied as often as they should have been, and trash was starting to pile up around the trash cans. Park was quite busy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
I-5, exit #287 north of Redding. We have stayed overnight at this park at least 4 times. It is a clean, well kept park convenient to travel through Northern California. Check in was made easy by a friendly couple who did their best to give us the type of site we requested. Each space is terraced and has a narrow grassy area w/picnic table on fairly level cement parking pad but close to the next space. There are many large trees located throughout the park and the pool is well kept and refreshing, which is nice during the extremely hot summer days in that area. There are several dozen permanent residents separated from the overnighters, but even those spaces are neat and well maintained. The restrooms/showers are very clean and free. The cable TV offers numerous channels but there is no wireless service. The free continental breakfast consists of coffee and grocery store packaged donuts/raisin bread/bagels which were gone by the time we went to get some at 8:15AM. There is some highway noise but that didn't bother us. No wireless, the highway noise and a skimpy continental breakfast makes this park an 8. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Sites were level, shaded, with grass and picnic table. A continental breakfast is served each morning. Office staff was helpful and courteous. Will definitely recommend to friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
This is a nice, well maintained park with lots of trees and helpful management/staff. The spaces are pretty small, but adequate. It is adjacent to I-5 and easy to get to from the freeway, but the noise was not bad. We stayed there one night on our way north. Wireless and cable TV were good. Lake Shasta and Shasta dam are a short drive (20 minutes or so) away and well worth the trip. If you need anything done with your tires, Wingfoot Commercial Tires in Redding repaired a leak on one of ours and did a great job; nice people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
For an RV park right off I-5, this is a terrific place. Level, concrete pads with shade trees, full 50 amp hookups, small pool, nice staff, clean laundry facilities and even recycling bins. They have decent wi-fi, but our Verizon Aircard worked great. It was quiet & clean and well landscaped. We were here for 5 days over Memorial Day weekend, and will definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
The lady in the office was friendly and loaned us a cable so the staff is nice. However, we have visited about 20 RV parks in the past two months and never has a park charged us for our 5-year old son. This park charged 2 extra bucks a night! However, they didn't charge us for our dog. I assumed it was because of the continental breakfast that they advertised on the Wi-Fi service when you're surfing the net (strange too). However, the breakfast is really 1/2 cinnamon roles and toast which a sign says take only 1 item (!?) We visited this park based on the tons of great reviews, but the grounds need some upkeep, and the extra fee for our kid and the cheap "free" breakfast was just annoying. I'm not saying many wouldn't enjoy staying here, but just be aware if you have kids, you have to pay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Friendly feel to this Park. We stayed in a very spacious pull through. It was clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$31
Nicely laid out park - level sites not too close together and at varying heights. Staff is super friendly and very helpful. Continental breakfast in the morning at the office makes it easy to pack up and go when it's time to leave. Lots of activities in the surrounding area make it a great place to stay with kids. Recommend the park if you are headed north along Highway 5 and need to stop either for a night or for a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$31
This is a very nice park. It's actually located about 7 miles north of Redding off I-5 near the town of Shasta Lake. Sites are nicely landscaped, and the park is very well maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful. Excellent restrooms and showers. Plenty of activities in the area. Rate reflects Good Sam discount and includes taxes. Rates vary by length of vehicle. They also charge an additional $1/day per pet though they omitted that charge for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$31
Very clean and well kept; friendly staff. Surprisingly little highway traffic noise despite being very close to it. Easy to park in the dark since ample light and good access to pull-through sites. A free light Continental breakfast offered from 8 a.m. - a nice touch! Dogs can be exercised just outside RV park next to fenced off I-5. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$38
Spent Christmas Eve and Christmas here. Great park! Family of 5 and dog in RV. Some freeway noise but not too distracting can see freeway from sites but not a big deal. Friendly staff, clean restrooms, wide spaces and interior roads. Some permanent residents but very neat and tidy. Lovely treed park with mini hiking trail, mini playground with tetherball pole and pool. We would stay here again. Weather just happened to be wonderful so it added to the stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
Wow! What a wonderful park! We had a long day through mountain passes. This park was like being invited to the Walton family. Friendly, helpful, welcoming people. Large, flat paved, clean sites. Nice dog park for the animals to run. We arrived at about 5 PM and were invited to join in a Thanksgiving dinner. It was delicious and the people were just as wonderful! The owner goes out of his way to make every one feel like it is home. I give this park 5 stars. We would go back in a HEARTBEAT! Don't pass this park up if you are in Redding, California. You won't regret it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
Very nice campground right off the highway but very quiet. The staff and owner were extremely friendly. The grounds are well groomed with a nice pet area. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
We've stayed here several times and each one has been a trouble-free pleasure. The sites are well manicured, the power stable, the Wi-Fi relatively consistent, the water clear, the access easy, the restrooms and showers exceptional, the check-in painless, and the staff congenial. The pool is small but very clean. Redding is a vibrant city with a tremendous volume of RV and boating related parts and service businesses. Shasta Lake and Whiskeytown Lake are nearby. We will be staying here whenever we need a hookup site in the Redding area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Nice park that's close to Hiway 5 but no noise. We had a nice shady site close to the clean restrooms. No power problems thankfully as it was 100+ outside. Wi-Fi was fine the night we were here. The pool is bit small but felt great! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Don't come here if you want to use Wi-Fi at your site. System down for our entire one week stay. Pet friendly and nice staff and owner but he was unable to get Wi-Fi working, put in a very weak system as a temporary fix. Sites are very close but paved and level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
Very nice park. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Great potential for this campground. Great location near Shasta Lake with solid management and different type sites. Make sure you know your site before reserving. If they fix the uneven cement sites as they promised and updated their facilities I would give this great location campground a 9. I understand they plan to update this very nice, large treed, RV campground and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
We hadn’t planned to stop in the Redding area. We developed an electrical problem and Coach Net had located a shop in Redding to check it out. We choose Mountain Gate because we had stayed here seven years ago while traveling north. We arrived after closing time and a very helpful camp host assigned us a pull through site. The trees have grown a lot since we were here last and of course we got under one that blocked our satellite. The camp host came to our rescue with a loaner cable so we could hook up to the cable provided by the park. The park is still beautiful and well maintained, too bad we couldn’t stick around, but I had an appointment for the service at 8 AM. Coffee and rolls are served in the game room starting at eight, so my wife and mother took advantage of that. Fortunately my experience with Redding RV Service was pleasant. The park does give both Good Sam and FMCA discounts. But like many commercial parks they charge for more than two persons and have an extra charge based incrementally on unit size. I never understood the charge for the third person, but in a way the size charge makes sense. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Very pleasant park, well maintained and well managed, with level, terraced sites. Some of the directional arrows are somewhat confusing. You might want to walk your exit route before pulling out in your rig. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
An excellent park! Although on a slight hill, sites are level with plenty of grass and shade trees between. Nice store, pool, good Wi-Fi and super bathrooms/showers. Even though fairly close to I-5, freeway noise was only slightly noticeable while outside and unnoticeable inside. Great location for visiting Shasta Dam or Caverns. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
Road noise from I-5 but tolerable. Really a nice, clean, well done park about 7 miles north of Redding. We stayed 3 nights, used their coupon that you can print from their website for one night free. Great spot to go to the local attractions from. The sites have some grass, small trees and a table. They also provide a continental breakfast! We will stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
Nice campground with lots of shade and space. We camped over Memorial weekend. Staff started a bonfire at night with marshmallows with smores etc. Played bingo on Saturday. Pool open during very warm weather days but still cool. Kids had fun but too cool for adults. Nice dog run. We stayed in a 22 ft RV and received the small rig discount. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$31
Stayed for two nights on our way north. The park is well maintained and staffed. It is close to I-5 but we did not notice any disturbing noise. Our site was large and level with grass between sites. Lots of tree shade available at most of the sites. The over night sites have easy access, several large MH with toads were in/out during our stay and did not seem to have any problems. Cable TV worked great, Wi-Fi is good but can get very slow at times. It looks like half the park is occupied by long term renters but all the sites are neat and the place is very quiet at night. Lots to do in the area if you stop over for an extra night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
We stayed here just one night but it's a more-than-adequate campground for the purpose. I think we'd definitely consider it for a longer stay if we were in the area. Our site was large enough but not overly generous; some of the sites looked like they would pose difficulty getting into and out of because of big differences between the road level and the site. The staff was friendly and helpful They are apparently closed for lunch between noon and 1 or 2 but the woman in the office agreed to check us in anyway when we arrived during that time; no one had told us when we called for a reservation that there might be any problem checking in before the "official" check-in time of 2:00. I assume this isn't a problem, but just be aware that there may not be anyone in the office between 12 and 2. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
Great park, very clean and well managed. If you are visiting Lake Shasta this is the best location for that. Very close to boat rentals etc. It is close to the freeway but hardly any noise . All the parks in the area are close to the freeway though. The sites are large for any size rig and level. there is an onsite manager which is nice. there is a grass area between each site and lots of shade. The park wasn't crowded which for us is a plus. The only downside is the cable channels didn't come in very clear, other than that we will be back on our next trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
This is not a destination RV Park. However, it's I-5 close with easy pull through sites making it perfect for a one night stop over. The sewer connection can be confusing as they have two. The obvious one is sealed closed. Forget the wrench, it still won't open. The manager helped me locate the other one covered by three rocks. Manager stays in an RV, of which they provide the site number upon check-in. They sell propane. If you don't get full hook ups, a dumping station is available for use during hours posted for $10. This park was rather empty. We noticed a lot nicer parks, which appeared heavily populated, upon departing this park heading southbound. We'd like to try some of those next time. Nothing was wrong with this RV park. It just didn't have anything special that makes you want to return; especially if others nearby have more inviting activities (e.g. River). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
This is one great park for a great value. Well maintained, clean and neat, and nice spots. Friendly helpful staff, nice rec room, everything was just great. Nice enclosed dog run and also plenty of good space to walk a dog. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
This park has everything! It is great! It is clean, well maintained, and well laid out. Staff are friendly and helpful. Campsites have a concrete pad and beautiful grass out front with a picnic table. All of the amenities are nice, and I can't say enough. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
WOW!! What a great park. The staff was helpful and the campsite was fantastic. The restroom/bath house was the cleanest we had ever seen. I found this park in Trailer Life. I will recommend this park to everyone I meet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
This is a clean, nice laid out park with wide spaces, 50 amp, cable TV. The personnel are very nice and helpful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$30
This is a very nice park. The sites are very level and there was plenty of room for our Fifth Wheel with three slides. Each site has a very nice picnic table. The park is terraced and well kept up. The roads within the park are wide and paved. There is free WIFI and cable TV. The person who checked us in was very friendly. Although the park is fairly close to the freeway, it sits back far enough that you don't hear the noise. There is a swimming pool, but it was too cold to use it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Our pull-through site left the car hanging out - their pull throughs need to be a little longer. Not a bad place for any overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
What a great park for either an over-night or an extended stay. The bathrooms were clean and large. The fenced dog area was a great treat for both us and our dog. He really needed a place to run unleashed. The spaces were adequately wide and long enough for us to not unhook our car. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a small continental breakfast in the mornings which included coffee, tea, hot chocolate, mini bagels, mini muffins and slices of coffee cake. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Very nice campground located right off I-5 and about 7 miles north of Redding. Great location for Shasta Lake activities. Sites were level, clean and easy to access. Nice pool and new showers and bathroom facilities. Owners and desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Most sites have shade trees, which is helpful in the 100 degree plus Redding weather. Excellent Wi-Fi and decent cable TV. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Excellent CG. Clean and well-maintained grounds and showers. Nice fenced dog run and an altogether nice place to stay. Note that their location in my Garmin was incorrect and led us astray. It's safer to call and get directions, or follow the signs, than to rely on your GPS. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
Mountain Gate RV Park is one of the best park we've have stayed at in the Redding area. We've also stayed at Premier RV Resorts in Redding. As others have posted: very clean cement sites, easy big rig access, well maintained, well landscaped, lots of mature shade trees, and friendly staff. The resident managers are always out and around; maintaining the landscape & park. There is slight freeway noise from I-5, but not a problem at night with windows closed. Mountain Gate is about 8 miles north of central Redding, but still very close to dining and shopping and the Turtle Bay Museum; even split distance wise between Shasta Lake and Redding. The minus to Mountain Gate is the poor wifi coverage. It is available, but only in the office/clubhouse. The pool is a bit small, but OK. There are a few long term trailer residents, but those units appear well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
This is one of the better RV parks that we have stayed at. It was very clean and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Access from and to the interstate freeway nearby is easy and convenient. I highly recommend this RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
The park is nice, clean and we had a nice time. The showers and bathrooms are very clean and you need a code to access them. The pool was nice, but we were disappointed that our daughter couldn’t go in even with swim diapers. We were here during a heat wave of 115 deg + (hottest temps in 50 years or some such nonsense) and they don’t allow kids under 3 or 4 (I can’t remember), in the pool. We were here for 3 nights and were given a pull through that didn’t have tons of room between, but enough for slides and awnings. There was nice somewhat level grass between the sites, as well with picnic tables. The roads and pads are asphalt and mostly level. During the time we were here, we got overnighters in and out next to us each night. I’m not sure why we or they weren’t given a different spot. The pull throughs are plenty big for a large 5th wheel/motorhome. We would stay here again, but there are many nice parks in the Redding area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
Very nice place. Would definitely stay here again. Nice sites with lots of trees for shade, nice pool, very friendly and helpful management and staff. Easy on/off I-5 and traffic noise is minimal. Would have given a higher rating but Wi-Fi is pretty "iffy." At some sites it works, at others, no. That seems to be par for the course at so many RV places so it's not surprising. Cable TV available but not many channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
Very Clean park & friendly staff. Close to I-5, but without the noise. If you are in the area, it is worth your stay. I am sitting in my coach using the wifi to enter this review. They even have a dog park to let your dog run free. Go for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$26
Very friendly staff. Helped us plan our itinerary. Even printed out maps to our destinations. We happened to be there for one of their monthly get togethers. A barbecued dinner for only $5.00 per person. We will definitely stay there again. Beautiful park lots of shade, just a great place! (By the way, it only cost us $1.00 per day for our little dog), not the $2.00 stated above! Thanks Mountain gate for a great stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
Clean, well maintained park with lots of grass and trees and pull through sites. We stayed 2 nights and there was alot to see in the area including the new park and bridge in town. We'd planned to see Lassen National Park but they won't be opening this year till July due to ice and snowy roads, so check on access if you plan to visit. Friendly, helpful, available staff. Easy access to I-5 but no traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$30
Easy access of I-5. Paved roads and pads. Office easy to get along with. Good over night park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
Really a nice Park. We have been there several times and always make it a place to stay in that area. Although they claim to have WiFi it really does not work well and when it does, if it does, only in certain RV sites. That aside, The park has trees for shade is terraced and the restroom are probably cleaner than most peoples home restrooms. Park staff are very nice. Even though it is within eye sight of the freeway, there is very little noise associated with it. They do charge for dogs ($2 a night, I think, but not for cats). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$13
This is a great park! It's very clean and well kept, and a delight to stay there. One of the few who actually lives up to their ad! It's not far from the freeway, but it didn't bother me, and I'm a very light sleeper. We have stayed there twice and will go back again when we visit our children in Redding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Really nice park, close to I5 if your passing through and close to Lake Shasta if you are interested in that. Would stay there again but it is a warm spot in the summer. They have a nice pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com