223410 User submitted reviews online!!
Benton KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (618) 439-4860
CGID4472

Benton KOA

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   10   9   6   7   7   5   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2014
$34
Our gravel pull-thru was level and more than long enough. Friendly staff. Clean and well maintained. Very good selection of cable channels. Our satellite TV was blocked by a tree and many other sites would have the same problem. Good Verizon signal. The campground is right next to the interstate and traffic noise was quite noticeable, even with our windows closed. Good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Nice park for an overnight stay. They have robust cable, which is good because the abundance of trees makes satellite access unlikely. The wifi was good, and utilities were easily accessed. Water pressure and electricity were good. Sites are easy in, easy out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
This KOA was not like most that we had camped in. Upon entering the KOA, you are greeted by a row of what were obviously long term campers (or renters). Almost immediately, I found this off-putting because of the quality of and unsightliness of the trailers and vehicles. A fairly steep gravel road leads to the majority section of the campground, after the small hill, the camp opens up to approximately 35 or 40 pull-through and back-in sites. One can quickly see another row of long-term rigs lined up along the edge of the park that borders the highway fence. None of the campground is paved, but the gravel is level and dried out quickly after a brief rain. The spots are KOA close, but there was enough room for my 4 kids to play and not encroach on the other campers. The staff was like all other KOAs - helpful and immediately attentive to my questions and drowsiness-induced noob "there's a problem here" (there wasn't a problem). The bathrooms were clean and the pool was great. We really like the pool because it was 9 feet deep on one end and 3 at the other. A real adult use pool. Had I written a review after my first couple hours at the park, I would have told you it was the worst KOA that we had ever graced with our presence. But, that would have been incorrect. Upon researching the local area, we found some of the nicest, albeit far off the highway, Corps Of Engineers campgrounds we had ever seen. Also, there were many other campgrounds significantly closer to Rend lake - the local attraction. Taking all that in, the KOA is perfect for what it is - a great spot to overnight or spend a couple days. The pool is great, the camp is close to town and has easy access to the interstate, local big box stores, and restaurants. The KOA is open year round and there is a significantly sized underground coal mine close which I learned explained many of the long-term campers. 7 out of 10 stars for the gravel roads, shared fence line with the interstate and awkward/tight dumping station. Staff was great and can't beat a real pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Very nice park with plenty of trees in a semi-rustic setting. Nice small creek that goes down one side and though the park. I can see where this could also be a destination park as well as a place to stop for a night of sleep and travel recovery. Warm welcome upon check-in, escorted to your site and offered assistance in hooking up. My only small complaint is the same that seems to haunt most all RV parks, that is the extremely limited Wi-Fi reception that seems slower than the day of old dial-up modem service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
Rate reflects KOA discount. Nice park, owners are very friendly. They have an on site cafe which serves meals from 9am until 5pm daily. The park is close to I-57 so there is road noise and we could hear trains. Neither of those bother us but it might bother some people. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This campground is close to the highway and has a nice staff. We were just passing through and only stayed one night. It is an excellent location for that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Stayed one night here in a water/electric site. The reservation process was easy. Check-in was pleasant and the staff were very helpful showing me to my site and letting me know about the services (kitchen with food delivery to your site/on site hair styling/propane refill/Wi-Fi) and facilities (laundry/pool/dump station/fishing pond). In my opinion there were only 2 drawbacks: first the park was not very well lit at night and second the highway and train noise at night were very disruptive. I could hear the highway noise over my A/C unit and my rain machine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
This place is small and needs some updates. There are several perms in the park and those site are not kept clean. Very nice people and the gal at the office can provide a good price on a hair cut for you. The best part, without a doubt, was the fishing pond. The boys landed several large bluegill over ten inches and about four solid keeper bass. We only fished for about 45 minutes and each of them caught four and lost a few others. I would honestly go back just to get access to that pond. Don't expect much, but it does the job for a night. There isn't much in town, but services are available near the highway exit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$37
Price reflects KOA discount and 4 children. We stayed here passing through the area. Campground is fairly easy to access from interstate. We checked in late and that process was easy. Because it was a quick stay, we did not use wifi or the facilities. Externally, however, the facilities looked worn. Campground was old and in need of updating. Interstate traffic can easily be heard and was surprisingly loud. Sites are very uneven but this was not and issue for us. It did not appear that there was much for the kids to do although we did not stick around long enough to find out. Overall, this seemed like a campground OK for a quick over night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
Very nice staff who guided us to site. Site was gravel and fairly level. Laundry facilities were clean and tidy as were restrooms. Main drawback to this campground is proximity to interstate, which carries heavy traffic all night and is, therefore, noisy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Positives: Excellent and helpful staff. Sites reasonable level and of adequate width and depth. Cable TV reception good. Negatives: Older campground which does not provide easy on/off from interstate (requires some minor traveling on small country roads to get there). No fenced dog area. We stayed one night. We had some rig difficulties and the KOA staff were extremely helpful in finding and getting a repairman to come to our rig to make a repair - very convenient and unexpected. We would definitely recommend staying here for the helpful staff and friendly environment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
About 200 yards from I-57. Road noise was terrible. Our site was on the end of the pull through row so we had room for a "yard," but other sites were so close together that an awning would be over the next site's hook up. We were there two nights while doing research in the area and were only at the campsite during the nights. It's OK for a overnight, if you can stand the noise and don't mind being 5' from your neighbor, but definitely not a place to go "camp". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This wouldn't be a bad little park if it wasn't right next to the Interstate. Bad road noise all night. We wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stopped here for an overnight stay on our way home from FL. Spacious between sites and no problems getting in to our pull through area. The pool was very nice and big, but under trees so several big leaves in the pool, but it didn't stop our kids from having fun. It was an excellent place for an overnight stay but I do not think we would camp here for extended periods especially since we had 4 kids with us. The only activity for them to do was the pool. The restrooms by the pool were very clean as they were busy cleaning them when we were at the pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This campground met our needs for an overnight stay, but it would probably not be a campground we would choose for any more than that. The staff was friendly, but it was fairly small and our site was definitely not level. There was an awful lot of highway noise all throughout the night. Okay as a one-night stop while driving cross-country, but definitely not the best we've stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
It's a nice campground. The people who worked there were friendly and helpful. It's pool was nice and the kids loved the playground. I-57 noise was not that bad but you can hear it. Internet was a little slow could not watch movies or go on some sites. It's a nice place in all but I really can't see myself going there again since 2 miles away I could get a spot at Rend Lake for $16 full hook up. If you do have to stay here its not that bad at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Nice campground. When we visited, there was a significant amount of road construction. This campground called us to advised of the detour which we really appreciated. We'll visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Like most KOA's the staff was friendly and eager to be helpful. Unlike most KOA's, the grounds were unkept and in need of a thorough clean up and grooming. Very noisy from adjacent interstate highway. If you don't keep your A/C on and TV going, the noise will keep you up all night. Utilities are modern and reliable but I don't think there's a level site in the park. It's not satellite friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
This park is nice and shady. It's close to the interstate in proximity (1.4 miles to the park from the off ramp but close on frontage road). We're here now. The staff is very nice and friendly. Restrooms are clean. Some sites have cable, but not all. Wi-fi works well at all sites but too slow for downloading. While it is somewhat close to the interstate, we don't really notice the noise unless we focus on it. It's like white-noise when outside. We can't hear it inside our rig. Very shady. A creek runs through it. Across the road is a catch and release lake and a place where pets can go off leash. Very pretty. Close to many activities. Downtown Benton is home to a number of antique dealerships. Rend lake is nearby. We have so many activities available, we're getting picky and choosy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We had to change our reservation 30 days after confirmation and they were very accommodating to the changes. We stayed there on our way west and because of their reservation flexibility we also stayed there on our way back home. Most sites are heavily shaded so we couldn't use our rooftop satellite dish, but they do have cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
We chose this campground under the assumption that it was close to the expressway. To our surprise, we had to drive 2 miles, through very narrow streets, to the location that was located 100 ft. from the highway. The noise from the traffic was so loud, we had to keep the windows closed and the TV volume turned up. This park can safely accommodate motorhomes 30 foot or under. The staff was very nice and helpful, but the park location (along the expressway) made this park one we would never return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This appears to be an older KOA with some recent improvements. Cable system and electric boxes appear new. Fresh gravel on most sites and roads, but could use some more on roads. Long, level pull throughs. Staff very friendly and helpful. We would rate it higher except that is is right next to a rough section of interstate and the trucks "thump" through all night. The fan that we use to drown the noise was not adequate. We realize the owners can't help the noise, but we probably will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Older KOA but well maintained from what I can tell. The main complaint is that it is right on the highway. Being a rough section of pavement, there was a lot of highway noise. There was also a fair bit of train noise. Other than that, the campground itself was fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
We camped here overnight en route to Disney World. We arrived after hours, and our reservation (made online) was waiting for us on the registration board. Our site was gravel, spacious, and well arranged. We did stay in one of the pull-throughs. The campground was older, but well maintained. We met the staff the following morning, and they were extremely friendly. It received an 9 simply because it is somewhat dated. Overall, we would definitely stay here again as an over nighter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
It has nice well keep grounds, but close to interstate. But I am sure we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Yes, the park is close to I-57, but that's convenient for an overnight stop. Friendly staff, well-maintained park, good wi-fi, good power and water. It isn't perfect, but we've found it good enough to stay here 3 times in the last two years. And we'll probably be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
The good news is that the cable TV is now installed. They did a nice job and it works well. The problem is that the install created a great deal of mud. I am sure that will improve with time. The owners are very nice. It is very close to the interstate. As others did, we were able to drown out the noise with a fan. Still, it is not like being away from it all. The location can handle big rigs, but it is tight getting in here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
Like other RV parks there is highway noise, but all it takes is a fan to drown it out. We never had a problem sleeping, and we were the closet to the highway you can be. The park is serene. While here we saw deer, chipmunks, song birds, moles, and caught fish in the pond. We stayed here three weeks. Only downside is the price. They will not work with you on long term prices. If you try to go monthly they want you to pay electricity instead of making it a package, and when it all comes down to it, it equals out the same, $32 a night. They still did not have cable. However, the cable company was out there working on it while we were there, so soon. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
Yes, there is highway noise. We have basement air conditioning and simply leave the AC fan on all the time for white noise. Mutes the traffic enough to make it acceptable. This park appears to be well cared for and is being improved. The owners are really working at it, not just sitting back waiting for something to happen. They have added 50 amp outlets to some of the sites. The power boxes appear to be new. There are also new boxes with CATV and phone jacks, although they are not functional yet. They provide free wireless internet. It was strong at our site. Easy access from I-57 and a nice overnight stop, if you can tolerate or mask the traffic noise. Lots of dining and a Super Walmart within a mile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
As far as KOA's go this might be the worse I have stayed at, new owners I am sure will turn it around but it is so close to the interstate the only thing missing was feeling the wind as the trucks flew by ... literally as loud as if you were parked on the exit ramp of any interstate. The lots were close, uneven, overall just a park that KOA should not have their name associated with in any way, shape or form. I won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Quite a bit of road noise. The owners stated they were working on getting 50 amp service installed. Clean campground and owners were very friendly. I would stay here again, it's a nice stop over spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$27
Convenient to I-57; directions sounded like we would be away from the road, but not so - the campground is right next to it! Lots of road noise, the reason we don't rate this a bit higher. Owners pleasant, and the campground is clean and well-kept. Back-in sites won't accommodate big rigs, but for others, are much more pleasant than the pull-thrus, which are very narrow (but quite long). Lots of big trees offer shade, and many sites back up to a meandering stream down a small ravine, which is rather attractive. OK for overnight. We'd probably choose a COE campground in the area in the future, for a little respite from the incessant truck noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com