220808 User submitted reviews online!!
Bunker Hills Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (763) 862-4970
CGID4473

Bunker Hills Campground

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   7   9   7   7   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
We've stayed at Bunker Hills a few times, and they are really nice. Big shaded sites. Very good big rig sites with a surprising amount of privacy. The facilities are extremely clean and kept up. There are not a lot of showers but they are clean. Nice walking/bike paths. There is a wave pool/water park nearby and it's nice that it's not right inside the campground so you don't have kids running all over. The campground is quiet, there is firewood available too. We like the area, there is a lot of places to shop and eat. It's a very nice campground right in the middle of a major Twin Cities suburb. We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$23
This is a great park. Nice back in spots, with a few pull throughs. Good gravel, pretty level. Large private spots with trees and brush between spots. They must spray because bugs were not a problem, and in July in MN that is saying something. Lots to do with bike trails, hiking trails, a championship golf course, and a wave pool nearby. Make sure you heed the in by 10:30, or you will be locked out by automatic security gates. A card is available with a deposit if you are going to be later. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
We've stayed several times, and this is still among the nicer places to stay in the north metro area. Basic nightly rate is $26 for a 50amp site; however, there is a $7 reservation fee and a $5 fee per vehicle per day for a parking permit. Motorhomes with toads have to pay for two vehicles though travel trailers with tow vehicles do not. There is an annual permit available for $25. The RV sites are usually full on weekend nights. Sites vary considerably with some having full sun. A few non-electric sites are suitable for RVs while some are tent only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
The campground itself is beautiful. The sites are well separated with lots of trees. The roads are dirt which kick up some dust when windy but nicely laid out. The bike/running trails are really nice. It is very quiet here and a nice retreat from the busy city. We got good Verizon service here with 4G coverage. The reason we rated it lower was the bathrooms. Not sure who designed them but for a full campsite with no sewer there were not enough facilities. In addition, the showers were small and pretty dirty with bugs joining us for most of our showers. Finally on Saturday morning at 8:30 AM is when they decided to "clean" the bathrooms which makes no sense vs. the afternoon or evening. For having to pay the extra fee I guess we expected cleaner and better designed bathrooms. Besides that the park is great! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
This campground is part of a large regional park which primarily serves local residents. The park features an extensive trail system, an equestrian center, and a water park. There are 72 sites (the home page on their web site states a smaller number, which is incorrect). There is considerable individual variation among sites with many of the best ones being well shaded and screened from the road and adjacent sites. Others lack shade and screening. The sites are spread out so distance provides some privacy and quiet even when there is no intervening vegetation. The 30a sites are considerably smaller than the 50a sites, in most cases. The campground, and the park as a whole, is generally better maintained and more up to date than the Minnesota state parks. Also, they have water at each site, unlike the state park system's paternalistic policy of providing water only in a central location to discourage grey water dumping. There is no laundry on site, and no sewer hookups are available (aside from the dump station). The fee structure reflects the fact that the park charges for "vehicle permits" to collect revenue from the park's many local users. They offer daily and annual permits, which are also valid at a handful of other parks in the surrounding area. If your camping situation involves multiple vehicles, such as a toad or a second car, you'll need more than one permit. There is an additional admission charge (per person) for the water park, which is only open from 11:00-7:00. We found that this park has a particularly serious problem with poison ivy, which was growing along many of the trails and campsites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
The park was great, most (but not all) sites afford a great deal of privacy. Very convenient to local shopping malls, yet in a true campground setting. We used this stop to stock up on supplies, etc. Our rate reflects the nightly average over 2 nights stayed. Of note: If you are towing a toad you will be charged an additional $5 per day upon arrival (I don't know if the same goes for trucks towing trailers). There is also a $3 reservation fee. If you happen to be camped in one of the few "busy" spots and request a more secluded spot, you will be charged an additional $3 if the spot happens to have a 50 amp plug. We loved the park, but not the nickle and dime, especially on the toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
We camped here Memorial weekend. WE couldn't believe how quiet it was. The campground was full, but the sites are very far apart so you didn't even see your neighbors. They have a huge waterpark with a lazy river, 6 water slides, wave pool but it wasn't open for another week. There is a golf course and riding stables (all for additional fees). They have 8 miles of paved biking trails which were alot of fun - very hilly, curvy and scenic. THey are adding on additional sites (all electric) which should be completed by the end of the summer. You are in the middle of a suburb, but when you are in the park it doesn't feel like it. We'll come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Great nice people, campsites were good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
We stayed here one night. Would definitely go again and stay longer. The ground is very sandy. Hard to keep from tracking it inside the camper. The bike trails were wonderful. There were many choices of spots from shaded and rustic to not. The staff was helpful and friendly. We had reservations, but did not have an assigned spot. They told us to drive around, pick one and then register. Campground was quiet. It seemed like you were in the woods, when you really were right in the middle of town. We camped in a 36' 5th wheel, our spot was big enough for two of the same size. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
Nice park with big sites. Gate closes at night so be in by 10:00 PM or get an access card. Miles of paved bicycle trails accessible right from the campground. Park rangers were very nice and were helpful in finding groceries and laundry in the area. About 35 miles to Mall of America. In addition to the camping fee, there's a $5/day vehicle fee. Dump station was well maintained, but with a sharp turn on the exit. I would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
A wonderful smaller county park within 15 minutes of the Twin Cities. Sites are nicely spaced from each and level. Most had some shade and grassy area. A few pull-thrus. No concrete pads, just gravel, also no sewer hookups that I remember seeing (but they did have a dumping station). Very scenic, lots of walking and biking paths. Pool complex with wave pool nearby in park (extra $) and also riding stables (trail rides, hayrides). Restrooms were very clean, showers were clean but a bit cramped. Really the only reason it didn't rate a 10 is that I feel nothing is totally perfect...this came very close though! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com