218147 User submitted reviews online!!
Pismo State Beach - Oceano Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (805) 473-7220
CGID4474

Pismo State Beach - Oceano Campground

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   5   10   9   9   6   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$38
Approaching from north go on past first Pismo Beach campground unless you need to dump. The Oceano campground doesn't have a dump station. Arrive at Oceano (go past 2 county parks) with empty holding tanks and be ready for a real treat! Beautiful and a short walk to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Great state campground. The sites have water and electric but no sewer. The restrooms and showers were very clean despite a full campground. The beach is one block (or a 5 minute slow walk) down city streets. Autos are allowed on the beach> Your auto gets a permit with camping at this state park. It is not a beach for hanging out but more for four wheel drive vehicles. The park rangers are great and very protective of the wildlife in the park. The only pitfall is the site we had was under an eucalyptus tree and dropped sap and other things all over our trailer. We would definitely camp here again if in the greater San Luis Obispo area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
We were disappointed in this campground. I had chosen it based on reviews, but did not realize that North Beach and Oceano Beach were two different components of Pismo State Beach. We had to go to North Beach to dump as there is no dump station at Oceano, and I agree that it looks nicer. Oceano had okay washrooms and decent showers with lots of hot water (minimum 50 cents - bring quarters). The beach is about one bloc, away down the street...but this section is a Vehicular Recreation Area, which means trucks and ATVs churning up the sand. You can feel it as you walk up to the beach, and you really could not spend time there. Water electric is $50 and unserviced is $35. Expensive for what you get. We left early and went to a resort a few miles away. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Great location. Easy walk to the beach, either on the street or through the dunes. Also a trail around a freshwater lagoon, great for fishing or feeding ducks and turtles! We have camped here several times, this was the first time we arrived without reservations and were pleasantly surprised that the "No Vacancy" sign only applied to the tent sites and there were plenty of RV sites available. Staff was courteous and helpful. We will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$24
Site fee reflects a disabled pass rate. This was our first time in the Pismo area and we were very pleased with the campground. We stayed in the front section which features long, level, paved, pull through sites with water and electric hook-ups. This is a very nice park, close to the beach and local attractions. We drove South to Solvang on two different days and had a very enjoyable trip. We will be back in September. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$17
Nice park. Well laid out. All pull through spots. Good for big rigs. Showers and bathrooms are up to date and kept very clean. They were cleaned every morning. No dump station on sight - you are directed to the North Beach campground to dump. Hookups are electric and water only. Sights are decent size but are fairly close together. Did have a rowdy group next to us but they were told to quiet it down and did so. Beach trail takes you to the beach area through the sand dunes. You can also drive your car onto the beach area and if you show your camping slip they don't charge you to enter. Entrance to the beach is walking distance and right down the street. A great campground for the area and we are already making plans to go back. Nightly rate listed reflects a state park disability discount of 50%. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
Well laid-out park with all pull-through asphalt sites. Water, 20 Amp and 30 Amp but no sewer and no dump station. Picnic table and fire ring at each site, dirt (no grass) and trees but no real barriers for noise privacy between sites. Plenty of bathrooms and (pay) showers, but not too clean. Friendly rangers at gate but no visible security or attempts to control noise or rowdiness. We normally prefer public campgrounds to private for the larger sites and natural beauty but this campground is almost as crowded as the private campgrounds in the area. Several groups of parties around us each evening - to be fair we were there in mid-August. I'm sure fall or spring would be a much different experience. Good location for the ATV beach but would not recommend for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$29
Great park with great location. We camped here with 2 other rv'ers and had spot 40 which was at the back of the campground next to the beach trail, great location we thought. We had 4 small children who enjoyed the tree swing behind the park and the short hike through the dunes to the beach. We were a bit misled thinking the sites were f/h, when in fact they are partial, no sewer available, only water and electric, but maybe that's why the price is so reasonable at $29/night. I understand you have to make reservations pretty far in advance as is the case with many of the CA State parks, but this park is worth it we think. It is a distance from downtown Pismo which is one of our favorite places, but with a tow vehicle it's manageable, however the park really isn't within walking distance to anything but the beach. We would definitely choose to stay here especially compared to the looks of some of the other nearby RV parks. This park has nice big shade trees, some grass in each spot, and large paved pull-through spaces. We will be visiting again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
Closest campground to the dunes if you don't want to take your RV on the beach. Can't ride the OHV's to the dunes but it's darn close. Having beach access 1/2 block away is best. Quiet alternative to camping on the beach/dunes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
This is an excellent, well-run campground about a block from the drive-on beach. It is densly shaded with tall pine trees, making it cool in the mornings and evenings. The shops and other businesses along the walk to the beach are colorful and the people agreeable. Be sure to bring firewood for the evening campfire. You'll appreciate it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com