206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Teklanika Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (800) 622-7275
CGID4502

Teklanika Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   9   9   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
Great campground! Two loops with some sites very near the river. There is some vegetation space between the sites. Very clean rest rooms (vault toilets) and convenient water stations as well as food-fuel storage areas. Very pristine area. Abundant wildlife in area. Good hiking on the river and in adjacent hills. Good ranger shows in campground several times per week. Great campground host! Friendly and helpful! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$8
The rate reflects a National Parks Senior Pass 50% discount. This campground requires some advanced planning and you do need reservations, but it is worth the effort. There is a three day minimum at this campground to reduce traffic on the park road. We stayed for four days and wished we had booked for five or six. The campground is 29 miles into the park, with the last 14 miles (on a good gravel road) requiring a special permit. There is drinking water at the campground, but not for filling tanks. Fill your tanks the another campground, just inside the park entrance. Also dump your tanks as there is no dump station at this campground. We drove into the campground early on our first day. We had been told that we could not go in early, as checkout was not until 11:00, but the ranger at the checkpoint did not give us any problem when going in early. We drove very slowly getting to the campground to enjoy the view and look for wildlife. (No luck on large mammals). There is supposed to be a host at the campground, but there was not one when we camped there. Once you go in, you cannot come out until the end of your stay. You will want to make for sure you get your bus ticket (TEK Pass) before you go in. Book early if you want to get one of the early buses into the park. The great thing about staying at this campground is that you eliminate about an hour of bus travel in going into the park. You get a firm reservation for your first full day, and then you can travel on the buses on a space available basis into the park, but not out of the park. The campground is nicely laid out with some separation and privacy between sites. We had no phone or data Verizon service. If visiting Denali again, we would definitely stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
This campground has approx. 10 sites to hold big rigs if they are available when you arrive. The sites are spaced in such a way that your neighbor maybe close but it doesn't feel like they are on top of you. Mosquitoes are pretty heavy at the campground, however they are horrible at the bus stop to go further in to Denali. (bring spray & mosquito nets for head) This is a great location to hop on the park bus because you are about 1 hour and fifteen minutes from the park entrance which saves you 2 1/2 hours when going to the rest of the park. Private cars are not allowed beyond Teklanika campground. The park buses take you the remaining 56 miles to the various stops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$16
It was nicer than expected for a crowded camp in a secluded area. Although the sites are quite close, there is some vegetation (little spruce trees) for separation and the area is gorgeous. The restrooms were new (2011) and very clean. We stayed there at the beginning of August and it was quite cold, specially during the night. Make the reservation quite in advance as it is normally full booked. From the campground you save one hour one way in your trip further into the park so it is worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
This was a wonderful camping site, right on the Teklanika River. Primarily it was so nice because it was the campground that was the further-est inside Denali that a person could take a vehicle and camp. Although people can camp at campsites that are further into the park, they must pack all their gear and ride on camper buses and basically use back pack camping. At Teklanika there were RVs and tent campers. Also, when you camp there you purchase ONE "TEK" pass which allows you to go further west on a shuttle bus EACH DAY that you are camped there. It is a really good financial deal within the part to use for shuttle transportation. This type of camping is like camping in U.S. Forest Service campgrounds- quiet and peaceful. There are no showers available at this campground, so use them at Riley Creek before coming to Teklanika. There is a minimum 3-day camping time at this time. We wished we had stayed longer! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
This is the "end of the road" campground in Denali, at least as far as you can drive your own rig (30 miles into the park). It's a dry camping option, but the campground has very nice vault toilets so you won't fill up your blackwater tank needlessly. Water spigots are available, but not to fill your freshwater tank. The sites are level and far enough apart that the sites have some separation from the neighbors. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. Generator use or vehicle idling to charge house batteries is limited to 8-10am and 4-8pm each day. You must stay here 3 days minimum (or at least pay for 3 days when you register). The only time you can drive back towards the entrance is when you leave the park. When you register, be sure to also request a "Tek Pass", it's a bus pass for the park shuttle system that will take you further into the park for sightseeing and animal viewing. You pick a destination to visit your first full day in the park. You will have a guaranteed seat on the bus that day, the Tek pass is also good each day thereafter for space available bus seats. When you leave the park, there are a group (4) free dump stations/fresh water fills at the Riley Creek Mercantile at the park road entrance. The mercantile also has a store, showers, and a laundromat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
A three night minimum stay is required so plan ahead. Be sure to purchase one shuttle bus ticket for each person in your group before going to the campground. Have the shuttle ticket(s) stamped as a Tek Pass so that you will be able to ride the shuttle buses on subsequent days at no additional charge. The campground is beautiful and we would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Denali National Park. There is a campground host available with radio access in case of emergency. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
Big rigs can fit into many sites. There are only 4 pull-through sites and are not for big RVs. There are "semi" flush toilets: a glorified vault toilet, but were not kept clean. There is a 3-day minimum stay with no driving your vehicle after you're parked at the campsite. Towed vehicles are not allowed but can be left in the park's long-term parking lot. Dogs are allowed but definitely cannot be left unattended or you'll be asked to leave, so keep in mind if you plan to take the shuttle bus for critter-seeing. There are water spigots but no dump station or water fill. The dump is at Riley campground at the park's entrance. Come fully prepared as you will be at the remote Mile 29 with no facilities. The campground is open approximately mid-May to mid-Sept., weather dependent. The convenience of hopping on the shuttle bus whenever you want to explore the inner park is an added perk. You do need to purchase one daily bus ticket but then additional days of riding is free. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
We stayed 7 nights in this CG. A 3 night minimum is required. We think this is the only CG to stay in when visiting Denali. The convenience of using the shuttle busies to get around is great. Make sure you purchase the Camper bus pass when you make your reservations. There is water available and the new toilets should be completed for the 2010 season. The hiking is great, whether on the few established trails or cross country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
We really enjoyed our stay in this campground. It was nice and quiet, and had wonderful hiking opportunities. There is a Forest ranger presentation every night which was informative and interesting. Right now they are working on fixing the plumbing for the toilets since it was messed up with an ice flow this winter. They did have porta-potties available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$8
No hook up campground at about mile 30 on the road into the park. The CG was noisier than you'd think it would be given it's remoteness but I guess there's no outrunning noisy neighbors this time of year. It looked like they were allowing tent campers again in this CG. The very best thing about this CG is the drive to and from it on the park road. We loved being able to drive our RV at our own pace, we took it very slowly and had terrific wildlife sightings without being crammed into a bus with 50 other people. Loved it. Price reflects Inter-agency Senior Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
You have to get special permission to stay in this campground and you have to stay the minimum of 3 nights. Its very nice but this is boondocking at best. There are streams and flowers and wild life. Very beautiful. Worth the special rules and regulations to stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com