218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Mazama Village (NPS Campground) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (541) 594-2255
CGID4514

Mazama Village (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
214
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   6   2   6   8   8   5   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
Park had a lot of dead and downed trees in and around all of the sites. It appears that the staff was trying to remove wood that had been cut but it was mostly laying and stacked in the sites. Interior roads were in generally poor condition and were not suitable for young children and bikes. Sites are very close together. Fuel (gas) and Fresh water are available. Dump Station was very nice and clean. Campground is located 7 miles from Crater Lake so be prepared to have your own vehicle for transportation. Most roads and lookouts can be accessed with a smaller motorhome. Parking is limited in some spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
This is a very big wooded park and divided into seven large loops, all wooded and at least half for tenters. It looked to be more than 80% full and this was mid-week. Good thing it's reservable. There are only a few electric hookups so it's best to not expect one. We liked its basicness and felt it was great to see young people enjoying themselves - lots of kids were in organised groups. Very handy for Crater Lake and all its wonderful aspects. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
Crater Lake is a fantastic place to visit and Mazama is an ok place to lay your head while you're in the park. The sites are large and color coded (just make sure you pay attention to that... I speak from experience as someone who had to move after unhooking). The camp store is nearby and well-stocked. This is not a campground I'd seek out as a destination, but I'll definitely be back the next time we visit Crater Lake. It's remote location and allowance of camp fires made for a happy wife, which made my life much easier... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
The National reservation service failed to let us know that the dump and water fill were closed due to reduced snow over the winter. Be advised that the closest place to dump and fill with water is about 20 miles away. Public showers are timed to four minutes and cost 75 cents. There are only four showers in the men's area and they are frequently out of order. The men's room was out of towels for a couple of days and the trash in the mens room lingered for days. While the campground was not full, the trash cans were. They were not collected for the first four days we were there. When we brought it to the attention of the office, they said the trash was picked up twice daily. Debris from tree cutting was everywhere. The road ways are pocked with holes. The staff was friendly, the food was fine, and the area is beautiful. Everyone we met was working. No one was standing around. Our reduction of financial commitment to our National Treasures is becoming apparent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
The campground is just OK. There are no facilities at the sites and the facilities they have are not close. They are near the store and check in area. The lady in the store was quite rude. Perhaps as it was near the end of the season. We would stay in the National Forest next time. The views around Crater Lake are stunning! Well worth the visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This was our first experience of a national park campsite and we were pleasantly surprised. You have to queue at the hut in the parking lot for your site and then can choose any one that is free and is in your allocated range. They color code them. They do have a few with electrical hookup, but I would advise booking early to get these. The pitches were flat and in the trees. Each has a fire ring, bear box and picnic bench. The bathrooms were fairly clean and the showers centralized in the main building by the parking lot. We enjoyed the beauty of the park, being amongst the trees, the evening ranger talk, and watching the thousands of stars lighting up the night sky. We stayed 2 nights and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Beautiful campground inside this amazing national park. Sites are well spaced surrounded by trees. As mentioned by others, there is only a handful of electrical sites - all in loop F - and they are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Restrooms and showers (coin operated) near the camp store were nice and clean. Be aware that they close at 9pm. There is a couple of free showers 24/7 at loop F too, though you may need to wait. Water spigots throughout the campground don't have threading to screw in a hose so you will need to fill tanks the hard way. There's also no place to wash the dishes, other than at the same spigots using cold water. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$21
Rating reflects my experience with Xanterra who handles reservations at Mazama campground. Terrible service and lots of misinformation from various reservation agents. They do have a very limited number of electrical sites (something like 10 sites). But they are on a first come walk in basis. The loop they are on is very narrow and in my opinion looks more like tent sites or at most small pop up trailer sites. We stayed in D loop where the sites were larger and the pull throughs were longer. The bathrooms were clean but please note that the showers are located in F loop or at the camp store. The showers in F loop were free but most of the time the water was cold. Showers (4) in the camp store were hot and had good water pressure. They cost .75 for 4 minutes. There is only one washer and a couple of dryers in the laundry room so do not plan on doing laundry at Mazama. Very inadequate. There were lots of trees in this campground and each site has a picnic table, bear locker and a fire pit. The sites on the end of each loop looked like they had the most space. The campground is conveniently located inside Crater Lake. We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights which was sufficient to see everything in the park. All in all this was an okay campground. We stayed here because it is located inside the National Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
Getting back to nature... What more could one ask for! Dry camping in the woods near one of the most beautiful National Parks in the country. Loved the fire pit. Loved the color coded system for site size selection. We were RED with a 34 RV + Jeep liberty + bike racks and had NO PROBLEMS getting in or out of our site in Section C. Lots to do, even without internet and cell phone access. Extended our stay an extra night. Flat for great bike rides. Highly recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Gorgeous forest to call home for a couple of nights. Sites are relatively small for a 40' motor coach, so even though we had a pull through site, we still had to back out and into another site to make it around the sharp corner and various trees. $27/night is a little steep for no hook-up at all; however, it was fantastic living in the trees and so close to Crater Lake and all the park has to offer. Each site offers a fire ring, picnic table and bear box. We did not utilize the convenience stations during our stay. Bring your own firewood or an ax as the store sells small bundles for just under $7. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Stayed 4 nights. Arrived on a Thursday to a more of less empty park but started to fill on Friday and packed by Saturday. Campground is located about 10 minutes from Crater Lake's rim and Village. The grounds were well maintained and serviced. The grocery store is has the basics. Best to shop before arriving. Especially for produce and anything you want to grill. Had dinner an excellent dinner at the lodge. Although on the pricier side it was well worth the treat! The rangers were polite and informative. Looking forward to spending more time at the park in the future. Only drawback is not enough full service sites, but all in all it was a great visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$8
Nightly rate was $7.50 (senior discount). There a few sites with electric available for a higher cost. We did not have reservations and were told to get there "early" and we should not have a problem. The Park Service failed to tell us that arriving early did not mean a darn thing. Xanterra Park Resorts runs the campground (as well as everything else) and you can not register for a camp site until 1pm. The girls at the kiosk wouldn't even talk to you, except to say "check in is 1pm". When asked are there sites available, they replied "at 1pm. If the Park Service would have told us that, we could have stopped and enjoyed the scenic views and such, instead of heading straight to the campground. I have been camping for a long time and have never been turned away when there are camp sites available. Instead everyone is forced to wait until 1pm, then line up and wait to talk to this person, not knowing if there is a site available and you just wasted 3 hours waiting to hear that. It is not like the Xanterra employes were cleaning the sites, raking them and picking up trash, because they did not do that. Many sites had trash in them that was obvious to anyone who looked at the site, so why have such a tight policy. Otherwise this is a nice campground, the loops are one way, so if you are in an RV you may have your door facing the road, rather then the camp site (unless you drive the wrong way). The pull throughs can be tricky, some of them have trees that really prevent you putting a trailer or motorhome in them, and they are curved, which makes for some creative parking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
We took a look at Loops A, B and C without our rig. Contrary to what some reviewers wrote; the campground look and felt very, very old and run down. Please note that we did not stay at this campground (nor would we). The interior roads had many large pot holes and were very narrow. The sites were on dirt and most (if not all) were heavy used. None of the sites were level. The pull-throughs were very short and more suited for a class ‘A’ or ‘C’ rigs. I think that any 5th wheel or trailer larger than 25 feet would have a difficult time maneuvering into a site. A class ‘A’ or ‘C’ would have an easier time getting to a site. I would not even consider driving my 32 foot 5th wheel into this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
This is a wonderful, wooded campground: very private sites. We did find maneuvering our 32' motor home into the drive through sites required careful planning to avoid trees. And it's true that some of them are set up so your door faces away from the site (studying the map will help you figure out which ones to avoid). We stayed in a non-electric one the first night, but transferred the next morning to electric (same price - $13.50 with a Golden Age pass). Good thing, because it rained the next two days! One warning: if you are in a big rig, coming in from the north (which brings you around the west side of the lake and down a series of corkscrew turns) is very "white knuckle" driving. No shoulders at all and major drop-offs. Really worth it to continue on down 97 and come up from near Klamath Lake (the campground is just inside the south entrance). Probably the same amount of time despite longer distance, given that we went about 20 mph through most of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
We had space number 3 in the A loop which afforded us adequate room for our 38 footer. There was complete privacy here. There is absolutely no TV of any kind here so we watched movies on our DVD player. The camp store was good with basic supplies and the staff was cheerful and helpful. You need to arrive with your water tank full and other tanks empty because this is totally dry camping with only a little sunlight to hit solar panels. Generators can be run at specific times. The park was absolutely beautiful. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
Located in Crater Lake National Park, this campground is located about 8 miles south of the lake. The campground was laid out with spacious sites which were designated for tents or trailers. The rest rooms were clean and had flushing toilets and supplied sinks. The campground is a short walk to the Mazama gift shop, supply store, restaurant, and pay showers. The store and restaurant were adequately stocked and modestly overpriced. The showers were $.75 for 4 minutes with 2 of the 4 stalls broken. They showers could have been cleaner. We had a beautiful night and enjoyed a buffet meal at Annie’s Creek Restaurant. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
I really liked this park. Sure, there were some mosquito's, but not as bad as others would like you to believe, get a room at the Hilton. The only issue that keeps this from a ten is all the loops in this CG are one way streets and depending on the site you may have the door to your RV open toward the street and away from your campsite. Check a map before you reserve. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Mosquitoes-mosquitoes-mosquitoes! We have never seen them so thick, so be prepared before you even open a window a crack. Campsites were spacious but the extra fine dirt was on everything within minutes. The positive...the location inside Crater Lake and Annie's Restaurant had a good buffet. This is too much like "roughing" it for us even in the RV. Next time we would stay down the hill and drive up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We only had reservations for one night. Easy in and out with our pull-through site. Plenty of room between sites though the one site next to us was not in use because of snow still on the ground. The campground is right next to the Rim Drive loop and fairly close to the visitor's center at the lake. There is a grocery store, gas, and a restaurant adjacent to the campground. Because of the late snow melting, the misquitos were out in force. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
We camped in a tent for three nights. The campsite was clean and very nice. My suggestion to fellow campers is to take extra blankets and warm clothes because it did get cold at night time. (This was in August) We did not take enough warm clothes for night time. If you can: take some extra wood for campfires. Other campers are scrounging for wood at night time. It was hard to find some. The store does sell bundles but it does not last long. Otherwise, we had a great time. Crater Lake was awesome. Trails were beautiful to hike on. Worth the money. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
This is a great campground! The only complaint I have, and it's a big one, is the mosquitoes were terrible. We had spray, but ended up spending $14.00 for a bottle of something better at their store. You are better off wearing as much clothing as possible, (which is not a problem, since it was in the 50's mid-day in July) if you don't cover every square inch of exposed skin, they'll find it, trust me on that one. You also want to make sure you close your screen door behind you quickly or they'll get in your RV. I could not let that affect my review of this campground though, since it is out of their control. The campground is very much in the woods, with great views. The Annie Creek Trail is right below it and is a very nice hike. It follows the creek (more like a small river or stream, perhaps) all the way from start to finish. It is about a 8 mile drive to the rim drive around Crater Lake. The Lake is a most see for anyone who enjoys visiting the natural wonders of our country. The water is so blue it cannot be accurately described in words. It has to be seen, firsthand! Staff and Rangers were all very nice, and there is gas at the store, which was a nice convenience. One thing to point out, if your in a large RV don't plan on getting a site with electric. They only have a few that would have accommodated our 26' trailer. The one I tried to squeeze into was not wide enough to allow me to open our slideout, so we moved on to a site with no hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Lovely sites, quiet campground. Some tight sites with low-hanging branches. It's convenient to the store and a restaurant and 7 miles from the lake. While there isn't hot water in the campground bathrooms, you can use the sinks and showers at the Mazama Store, where there is hot water. They were closed by 8 p.m., though. The showers are 75 cents for 4 minutes, and only 1 was working on the morning I was there, so there was a line. I got the impression that they could use more facilities for the number of people they get--the rest rooms closest to our site had 1 sink and 2 stalls, so there was a line at 9:30 p.m. Can't imagine what it's like during the busy season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
Only limited sites available for larger units. A few electric sites are available. 20 Amp capacity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Lovely campsites--lots of trees and lots of room between sites. Was still the off-season, so bathrooms and store were only open 8AM-8PM, but other than that, great site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Nice forest area, lots of shade. Bear boxes and tables at every site. Very roomy (not to close to neighbors) sites. Great store with everything close by. Crater Lake was beautiful, a must see when in Oregon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
We arrived early on a Friday and were advised of an available full hookup site w/50 amp service. This site had been vacated by one of the campground hosts. There are 17 electrical sites but we found all of them to be too small to accommodate our 36 foot motorhome. The sites in this campground are designated for RV's or for tents. The RV sites are all pull throughs while the tent sites are all back ins. There are a total of 7 loops with a good mix of site types in each loop. All loops contain a restroom w/flush toilets. There are pay showers located at the entrance to the campground along with a small store and the Annie Springs gift shop and Italian Buffet restaurant. The sites are clean and well maintained and the Park is a true treasure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$13
We stayed in an electrical hookup site with a 36' motorhome and did very well. The site was tight getting in to but it was sufficient for our needs. We were there in July and there was still snow in the campground and the road around the rim was still closed because of snow. A great place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
We were very pleased with our experience with this campground. If you are fortunate to get one of the sites with power in loop F, all the better. There are many sites, so finding a spot without a reservation shouldn't be difficult. They recently completed the Annie Creek Restaurant and gift shop, that is within walking distance of the campground and the existing store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
Very clean & well run. There are a 'few' electrical hookups on loop F. There are many upgrades happening in Crater Lake area - should be great. Good general store - reasonable Gas & Propane. A wonderful trail (Annie Springs trail) right behind CG. I highly recommend taking the early tour boat on Crater Lake. Get off on Wizard Island, stay all day - take your lunch - hike the crater & swim in the lake, makes this an unforgettable experience. Truly a wonderous area. Maybe I should not have posted this report. I don't like crowds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
This is an ok campground for a National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com