214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Mathews Arm Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (540) 999-3132
CGID4522

Mathews Arm Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
166
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   2   8   6   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
Lots of sites. Some you must reserve and other that are first come. One half price with Golden Age Passport. Nice restrooms, no showers, but dump/water station. Spent six days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
This park was nice because nobody was ther;, if this park was full which on weekends it is, I think you would feel like you were camped on top of each other. The sites are somewhat side by side with no barriers in between. We would stay here again outside of the peak season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We found it busy, crowded, cramped, and loud! We will not return here! There are better choices to camp in Shenandoah. Sites are on top of each other; no privacy at all. Forget staying here on a holiday weekend-folks cruise the campground all night long looking for an open spot. We wish they would have posted a "No Vacancy" sign at the ranger station. We got no sleep here at all between the cruisers, barking dogs, and drunken yahoos next door. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$8
This campground is one of the four main ones in Shenandoah National Park and the closest one to the north entrance. The Appalachian Trail surrounds it and there are many hikes in the area to take and many to some great waterfalls. It has a nice layout and opens up around May 15, so when we were there the deer stroll into the park with no fear of humans. Eight bear were spotted around the area of the campground, and driving here bobcat jetted across in front of us and then stared as we went by. 25% of the sites can be reserved and the others are first come first serve. It was empty on the weekday we were there in May but on the weekends it is usually full. Hiking, observing nature and wildlife and driving the Skyline Drive are the favorite things to do. The day we were here was sunny and clear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
It is the first campground inside the National Park when entering from the North. A rustic campground with no hook-ups. There is a fairly steep downgrade entering campground. It has a good dump station with fresh water available to fill tanks. Camp fees don't include the $15 access fee for the National Park. Sites varied from wide and level to narrow and steep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
We have camped there only one time while visiting Lurray Caverns. The check in and payment were on the honor system. The site that we chose was right near the restrooms for convenience of the children. The restrooms were well lit and clean, even during the off-season. There was no odor at our site from the facilities. It was very quiet and really beautiful! We were high up on the mountain and the view of the winter sky was fabulous! There were so many stars to be seen, it was absolutely amazing. We were in a "primitive" area, which means that there was no on-site water or electric hook-ups, but isn't that what camping is all about? Some or our "neighbors" were up late with a campfire, and we borrowed their ax to split some wood as we ran out before heading to bed. The site was large and flat and well shaded in parts. We will definitely be returning to Matthew's Arm in the future!! :) We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$16
This CG is at mile marker 22.2 on Skyline Drive in the park. The trip into the park from Front Royal was very easy; we didn't notice the grade, probably because the speed limit is only 35 mph. Most sites in the CG are shaded by nice tall oak trees (nice except for the acorns that pelted us constantly and forcefully on a couple of very windy days and nights), these paved back-in sites tended to be a bit sloped fore and aft as well as side to side. There were sites in a more open area (about C150 to C170) that looked a bit more level. We have a 30 ft class A and had plenty of room to park our toad in front of the RV, we did not see any sites that looked large enough for a big rig (40+ ft) and a towed vehicle but there may be a some that we missed. The roads to and throughout the CG were paved and in good shape. Bathrooms were clean, simple flush toilets; there are no hook-ups, laundry or showers at Mathews Arm but it was peaceful and the autumn leaves were lovely. There is a campstore at the Elkwallow wayside about two miles from the CG. We had several deer wander through the campground. There is a dump station with two ports that is well situated a bit away from the entrance to the CG. We liked the Dickey Ridge Visitor Center and in general the north end of the park seems less congested than the central and south sections, we would stay here again. Campground closes at the end of Oct. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com