206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Indian Springs State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (770) 504-2277
CGID4527

Indian Springs State Park

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   5   7   10   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$29
Very nice park/campground. Rolling hills with level sites on wooded lots. Quiet and rustic. Would spend more time if ever in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$29
Nice, Clean park. Sites are staggered and often do not have any privacy barrier between them. Sites are large so even though they are right next to each other there is space between. Only a few campers this time of year - Camp Host said the park is VERY busy during the summer months and reservations are a good idea. Popular day use area - lots of picnic areas, swimming, cottages, and access to water from the artesian spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
The old roads in the park are not made for long trailers. However, you can force passage as you swing into the left lane to avoid scraping the RV against the stone walls on the right. There is no designated RV parking at the Park Office. You might have to park off the shoulder before the office. There is a space after the office on the left for a long RV. Check in with reservation was quick and easy. Sites I would return to are #38, #42 and #43. They are about 30 something feet deep with parking for two vehicles. There is a fishing dock adjacent to site #43. There is a fishing dock at the dam. Good points are the history of Indian Springs. Location is about 30 minutes off Interstate 75. Jackson GA. with grocery stores is about 8 miles from the park. There is also a good catfish house at High Falls State Park about 8 miles away and is open to 9:00. Fresh Air BBQ is about 6 miles from the park. There is a couple of small shops just outside the park, with limited groceries, and fewer tackle selections. Bad points is the swimming beach and miniature golf are about 1 mile or less from the campgrounds. The only Wi-Fi is at the office. No full hook ups. Bath houses are old and show their age, but they are clean. There are dish water drains around the campground. But black water will have to go to the dump station. We will return to the park in a few months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
The park is very nice and the camping area is spacious and adequately shaded. The grounds were clean and well-kept. The sites are relatively large and not too close together. As normal there was the one group who didn't think the 10pm quiet time applied to them. Overall, however, it was a good experience and I will go back if the occasion arises. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This is the oldest park in the Nation. The bath rooms were not clean. The camping area is high above the lake with little, to no view of the lake. One camping loop is closed because of erosion and is not usable. The swimming area at the lake has severe erosion. The bath house was closed. The lake swimming area was heavily used and ok, but could be a lot better. The rest of the park is ok. I would call before I booked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
This CG was the first stop on our Georgia State park spring break. We enjoyed camping here and would like to go back when all the little shops in town open. We were a week to early. Our son enjoyed playing in creek, so did most everyone else. It seem to be the local cool off spot. We also enjoy playing mini golf at the park as well as bike riding. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
After deciding we'd weather the cold, we went on a camping trip to Indian Springs after a friend's recommendation. It was the best decision we have ever made. It was only 1 hour south of Atlanta, and it was so serene. The bathroom was clean (and very warm), the sites were spacious, and the trip was very restful. We enjoyed visiting High Falls State Park during the day (this is a very busy campground, we prefer the quiet). Open Air BBQ (down the road) was yummy. We loved their $30 special. The lake was bigger than I thought, and there were plenty of letterboxes hidden for our scavenging enjoyment! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
Loved it here! Only thing I would have to say, and this is for all state parks that I have been to, is that the shower heads and curtains need to be updated! All are clean but very out dated! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
I believe this is one of the prettiest state parks in Ga. There is lots of shade but also lakefront sites. The grounds are well maintained. There are a lot of nice level paths for walking in the park as well as to the nearby village (which is just outside the park entrance). There are plenty of activities for the kids. If you don't want to cook one night there is a great bbq place a few miles down the road! The camp host we had was a little cranky and possessive but he moved on to another job within the park. The rate reflects Friends of Ga. State Park 10% discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
We stayed here from Saturday till Monday. When we first arrived, the park was very crowded and spaces were limited, but we came with a reservation and was able to get a spot. The park is very clean, enough space between sites as not to feel crowded. The camp host was most friendly and helpful. Was easy to get any size rig in most spots, some are smaller though, and there are a few pull throughs. Only down side I saw was: it is a first come, first served place, so there could be a tent in a big rig site and the host can do nothing to help to move them. 50amp is available but like I said, someone in a small travel trailer could be here and not give it up, so get here early. You will love this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Very nice campground. Sites are a bit unlevel, but no problem leveling the camper with a few boards. Gravel pad. Well spaced campsites, clean restrooms. Cable TV. What I was most impressed with was the Campground Hosts. They stopped by to say, "Hello, welcome. Is there anything we can help you with?" We even traded reading material. Very nice, made us feel very welcome in Georgia State Parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Very quiet- we stayed on a Wednesday over spring break (ranger said the weekends are very crowded). Very, very scenic. Large sites, lots of room, plenty for the kids to do We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Excellent, close to our home, and we will go back. The oldest historical State Park in Ga. Spaces level and easy to back into. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$12
We stayed here and were very comfortable. We were just passing through for one night, but for one of the first times, was comfortable enough with the showers to use them instead of our camper. Very shaded and secluded. We would camp here again. Good AT&T air card service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
We were at site 77 and it has a very nice patio deck in front on the camper area over looking a hillside. There was no one to the left of us but the camper behind was somewhat close but it was no problem at all. The bathhouses was very clean. The office has wifi but you have to have your own computer. If you like Mexican there is a very good restaurant less than a mile if you take a left out of the park. There is also Fresh air bbq heading back toward Jackson. It's rated the best bbq in Georgia. The Nature trails were a mile from the park and were nice if you like animals. We will be going back in the summer time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Campground loop #2 has been recently upgraded--sites are level, new bathroom. Loop #1 is still okay, just older. Staff is very friendly. The spring is pretty neat but smells of sulfur. Miniature golf, swimming and bike riding were are favorite activities. There is an old cemetary just outside of the campground. Very interesting piece of history. We will definitely go back again to camp. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
This was our first year as campers. Indian springs is about 10 min from our house so we thought this would be great for our first time. And it was. The park was very clean and maintained and you would see security about every 30 min. It became very quiet about 10pm and we plan on going there in May. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$22
Nice park with roomy wooded sites. We camped here Thanksgiving weekend in 2006. Staff was very helpful and provided us with accurate information about attractions available in the area. Some of the sites along the lake shore are a little close together but most are well spaced. Playground for children and a short (3/4 mile) nature trail is available as well as miniature golf and fishing boats. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
This is a great Georgia State Park and the campground has been renovated this year with new gravel sites, wood decks, and paved access roads. Although many sites overlook the beautiful lake, they are not truly "waterfront" due to the steep and long trail down to the water. However, it is possible to stage a boat at the shore and walk to your campsite. Our Verizon phones and internet just barely worked in the campground, but a decent signal is present in other areas of the park. The nearest town, Jackson, has groceries and services with a few restaurants. This is a great "get away from it all" state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
This is a much-improved park from when we were there in March 2004. Area 1 is now overflow-only and, according to the hosts, will not be renovated. Area 2 is newly renovated and very nice. Sites are generally level, and are clean, well-spaced and shaded. There's also a small but nice playground in Area 2. As mentioned earlier, some sites have a deck-type set-up, many of which overlook the lake below. There's plenty to do in the park itself - miniature golf, paddle & fishing boat rentals, trails, a swimming beach, and the springs themselves, which are steeped in history. 2 years ago, we would've given this park a 5 or 6. Now it's a 9. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
This is an excellent facility that can accommodate any RV. The sites are large with excellent water and electrical service. Many of the sites have a great view of the lake. Many have unique patio with retaining walls that were very expensive to construct. The park covers a large area that requires you to disconnect your vehicle or ride a bicycle over many hills. The park has a long history that is very interesting. The office is a historical home of people who were very active in Georgia politics and history. This park is a fine public campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
Just wanted to clarify that pets ARE allowed at this park and all Georgia State Parks...I noticed at the top of the page it said pets were not allowed. This is a very nice park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
Everything was great! Only thing I would of liked would of been a sewer hookup, but not to be expected in a State Park. The 2nd camping section is the new section. The sites are larger in the new section We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com