214792 User submitted reviews online!!
Cal Expo RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 73 user reviews. Phone: (916) 263-3187
CGID453

Cal Expo RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
197
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   7   8   6   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We were in the far lot which is a fairground parking lot (big gravel) with power pedestals. There was a small strip of grass nearby with signs that dog could not use. Nice fenced in pet area farther away. It's fine for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Very centrally located to Sacramento's museums and other attractions. Good fenced in dog park with grass and poo bags + hose and water bowl. Wi-Fi works about as well as you can expect these days. Meaning, it works, but so slow you use your own. Spaces are either gravel-dirt or asphalt. Utilities are good, with 50 amps. Quite a bit of freeway noise. If you don't mind noise then the rating for this park is an 8. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
Parked at the far north end of the gravel. Not too crowded right after the County Fair ended over Memorial Weekend. Lots of activity early across the fence. Trucks and street sweepers with their backup beepers. Next time, would stay in the paved area for more quiet and better Wi-Fi. Very convenient and staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Our second stop here. Staff are friendly and helpful. Location is great for local shopping as well as hiking/biking trails. Decent pet area. We stayed in the gravel lot and they're all level. One of the few parks where they have obvious recycling bins for plastic and glass. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We have stayed here several times. Staff very friendly and accommodating. This is a very pet friendly campground with excellent fenced dog run that is a little small but pick up tools supplied. Satellite worked well as well as some local,stations. Will stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Easy in and out. We were in the well lighted gravel area which had numerous streetlights. Most of the gravel sites looked level, but not ours. The location is convenient. Plenty of things to do. It is in the middle of the metropolitan area, but close to the American River. Wi-Fi was OK. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We were visiting a friend and stayed there a night. The park people were excellent. The rest rooms/ showers were the sort where each is an individual bathroom. They were great. The WiFi was fast and easy. That is important for us. The part we stayed in is completely paved, and lots of pull-throughs with lots of turn space. In and out was a dream. Set your GPS for the corner of Exposition and Ethan. Go south on Ethan from there and Keep Going without turning off. You will find it. If all else fails, phone the office. The signs on Exposition can be misleading. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$28
This campground is centrally located to visit and explore the Sacramento area. It is not a destination in itself. We were in the back area and our space was 60' long. The hookups were good, the spot was mostly level. The sites are rock and you can put out a mat. The campground is right on the river biking trail but there is a dike if you want to walk along it. There were no trees or bushes. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
Rate is for a full hookup pull thru site. No discounts. We stayed in the gravel area. Both the paved area and the gravel area offer no privacy at all. But while the paved area is pretty sloped, the gravel area sites are fairly level. Good hookups where you want them. We didn't use any facilities. Our Verizon Mi-Fi worked very well, so we didn't try the offered WiFi. Pretty quiet at night, given the location right in a big city. The adjacent horse race track shuts down around 10 pm. If you like to ride your bicycle, there is the American River Bikeway going along the RV park. Also a great opportunity to take your dog on a longer walk. Paved and mostly flat it is very enjoyable to take a 7 mile ride right into Old Sac. Going the other direction will take you all the way to Lake Folsom, where you can connect to even more bike trails. We will stay at Cal Expo again when coming through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
Last time I reviewed this park I said it was ten dollars overpriced, but now I think its only five dollars overpriced. There is a price for convenience and I guess five dollars is not bad. We stayed out in the gravel lot on a end site which is very level but also you hear every car that creeps by on the gravel; I looked out about two in the morning and saw a sheriff creeping through the campground which is good, but if you're not on the end its a little bit quieter. We like this park and will continue to use this park when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$28
The rate cited reflects the weekly rate of $195. When we stay at this park, we always request a site in the rear, gravel area. The sites there are level and very large. The sites in the front, paved area are generally quite sloped, and some have the sewer connection at the very rear of the site. The 50 amp power was very strong under load. Water pressure was adequate--around 40 PSI. Wi-Fi was available, but not very fast; I was seeing about 250 Kbps download speeds. Since the park is right in town, Verizon 4G service was excellent, about 8 Mbps download. The American River Parkway passes adjacent to the park. It's a great place for running, dog-walking, biking, etc. Hint: in a motor home in hot weather request a back-in site against the west fence in the gravel area. That way the afternoon sun won't be blasting in through your windshield. All the pull-through sites in the rear area face west. There are about a dozen back-in sites on a cement slab at the east end of the back lot. They have all their connections behind the sites, so it can be a long stretch for the sewer connection (and windshields face west in those sites). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
This park is really just an asphalt parking lot, but is still a great place to stay. We would have stayed longer, but the Wifi was down for the entire long weekend. There is a really good sized fenced dog walk, and a ton of walking and biking trails next to the park. Expect some noise from the exhibition park and be prepared to block your wheels and level your RV since the park is on a bit of a slope. After deleting spanish and religious TV channels from the roof top antenna we found 15 good HD TV channels. Park staff are friendly, and the RV park itself was very quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Sacramento and vicinity are notoriously lacking in nice, quiet, secure RV parks. Although lacking some amenities like a pool, etc., this one is fine. In general, the park is well-managed by friendly, competent staff. The paved parking area is a bit sloped, but the gravel parking area in the back lot is quite level. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. The noise level was very low except for the rare occasion that some big event at CALEXPO was occurring at night. The lights just were not that bright -- I don't know what the other reviews are referring to. Also, although it was a large paved parking lot area, there were quite a few trees planted throughout and surrounding the park. To the side and rear of the park there is a bike trail that connects to a very large system of bike trails along the American River. The location is central and it takes only minutes to get to downtown. The security was good -- surveillance cameras, large fences surrounding the park, and police/security cars patrolling the area. We enjoyed our stay and have returned to stay again. This is where we stay on our frequent visits to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
I stayed at the Cal-Expo RV Campground for nine nights and found it to be accessible, friendly, efficient, and well equipped. Our fairly large group of 200+ units was accommodated with ease. Pets are welcome, on leash, and a Bark Park is provided for pets to play off leash. The Park is adjacent to the American River Pathway so hiking, biking, and birding are very close by. The restrooms and showers are clean work well. This isn't a back to nature experience, but if you are visiting for work or a convention it is much better than a hotel room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
I recently stayed here with a large RV club. The park was very well kept. It's mostly a large gravel lot with some spaces on asphalt by the office and restrooms. The park has very bright lights on all night long so bring something to cover your skylight if you have one in the bedroom and like a dark room at nighttime.I have stayed here in the past and it is very convenient for visiting the Sacramento area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Great location, shopping, and plenty of restaurants. Big rig friendly area, with gravel, large pull throughs. Best dog park area we have been to this year; Grass with a high fence. Office staff was very helpful. Good Wi-Fi. Nice golf course along the river about 1 mile away. Will Return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This is a gravel parking lot. Some back in sites, and small pull thru's have trees, but the majority do not. The site was long and narrow, mostly level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This park is in a good location for activities in Sacramento and area. It is next to a green belt. The spots are not very level in the front part. We have stayed here a lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
We stayed in site near trees and grass. Looks as if other sites on a sea of gravel which could be very noisy. Horse race track near but noise no problem at all. Site we had was level. Over air TV channels good. Staff very helpful. Would certainly stay here again although can be a little difficult to find believe it or not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Calexpo is a great spot for a stop in Sacramento because there are very limited affordable RV parks in the area. Shame for such a large town to have so few parks that cater to large motorhomes. Rate reflects the monthly rate. Host are great, sites are roomy and power is what you would expect. All being centrally located so this is a plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
Positives: this park is relatively quiet, considering that it is next to a Harness Racetrack. The internet was OK, the water pressure was good. The close proximity to the American River Bike Trail allowed for many recreation options. Negatives: part of the park is little more than a gravel parking lot, with rigs positioned next to each other even though there were many empty spots. Additionally, there were enough security lights to make one feel that it was the middle of the day, all night long. The section that is paved, is unlevel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
There is nothing wrong with this park except to say that some of the sites need too much leveling fore and aft. The asphalt has been sloped to allow draining but someone overdid it. Its location in Cal Expo should not worry you unless you come during an event which puts out more noise than you want to tolerate. Sacramento is a great place to visit and spend a few days. Do not forget to go to Old Town, then go again after dark. Also, there is a tremendous bike trail right behind the campground. Go west toward town and never see a car or east and follow the river. Trail is paved and level. You might even see some deer or a coyote or two. Enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We have stayed here many times. Very convenient to restaurants, shopping, services, attractions. Gravel annex lot is level. Paved lot sites are not level, not even close. Wi-Fi is excellent. Very little shade, but excellent satellite TV reception. Very friendly and helpful staff. We will stay here every time we visit Sacramento. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This was a last minute place to pull into as I was extremely tired. No pool, a gravel lot, and full hookups but no one was around. Boring because there are no neighbors in the park which has over 700 spots. No shade, boring, no action. OK for a day or a week but not much more than that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This place is pavement and gravel, a scattering of trees, but mostly it is just asphalt in the front half and gravel and dust in the rear half. Friendly staff, and a "Manager Cat" named Mabel who is quite a character. Very limited items for sale in store. Ice when they do not forget to go buy some and restock it. Close to the Fair Grounds, but not easy walking distance since even though you can see it over the fence from your RV you can't walk there. You have to go a 1/4 mile around to the back gate if they will even let you in there. If your working the fair they generally will, if your attending it you have close to a mile to get to a gate that will allow you entrance. Walking distance to Buca de Bepo Italian, a couple chain Mexican watering holes, Panda Exp, Petes coffee, The Habit Burgers, (VERY GOOD), and a longer walk to Red Lobster and an Outback. Within a mile of Allied Trailer and many others if you need parts or want to shop for stuff, they also do service. Overstreet Auto also does RV work and they are within a mile or so. A visit to RV Doctor George is a treat and you might just find that widget or whatzit you have been looking for because he has been parting out trailers and RV's an buying out old and failing parts places for decades! Lots to do in Sacramento and surrounding area. Nothing to do at Cal EXPO RV Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Restrooms and showers were clean and unisex. There were 4. Site was level with gravel and dirt with no need for blocks. We parked in the back half, whereas the other part was asphalt. We think that would be the part that is not real level. (It looked like it sloped.) Road was also dirt and gravel in the part we were parked in. The park seemed quiet and was somewhat lighted. The managers were kind and helpful but closed shop at 5:00 PM. Park is well maintained. We stayed to do sightseeing in the capital and other sights for 5 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
This was a no frills campground. No trees or grass, just graveled lot. Very friendly hosts, quiet for most part. Would stay again as it was most reasonably priced and near where we wanted to sightsee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
The main reason I rated this high was in comparison to what is available in the area. Hard to believe that a town this big has such limited RV parking. Sure, if you Google RV parking here you will get 6 or 7 parks that after visiting 5 or them found almost all were very old trailer or mobile home parks and all backed up to a freeway or hwy. So since we had to stay here for family CalExpo wasn't bad. Don't get me wrong...no resort here but felt safe, clean and easy parking. They have three area's to park in. The big cement area was popular but the grade here always leaves the front of the motor home jack way up. The gravel area is level, easy to maneuver the night lights made it like day time. We found the ten spots (where the host parks) level and were back-in's perfect for us. No amenities here but quite comfortable. Their laundry room sure could use an upgrade though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
Basic safe place to stay. Mostly large parking lot w/ hook-ups. Wi-Fi very poor and sporadic. I only stay there because Sacramento has very little to offer the RVer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
This park is about ten dollars over priced but sometimes you have to pay for convenience. The park is located on the fair grounds and backs up to the Horse Track. It is a clean and tidy park so no complaints there. There is two sides to the park a paved side and a gravel side for longer rigs with trailers. The gravel side is very level and is the side where we stayed while the paved side is probably better in adverse weather but very sloped for rain run off which means most motorhomes have there front wheels off the ground. Again convenience out weighs the costs so we would stay here again if need be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Paved sites are a bit sloped, but you can level. Great staff and good Wi-Fi in paved area. Gravel sites are close to stadium and noise. Will have to use air card here. Super dog park. Small laundry has no folding table. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Rate reflects a monthly rate. We usually stay for a month each time we are here. We have family in the area and usually here twice a year. The place is a black top parking lot, but works especially in the winter time when we are here for the holidays. Restrooms, showers and laundry are clean. We have not had a problem here at all, they also have 24hr security because there are always events going on at the fairgrounds or racetrack. Pretty quiet most of the time and centrally located. Easy access into the park and you are close to shopping centers, mall and plenty of restaurants. I recommend this park to everyone. Wi-Fi works good. $595 includes electricity which is good, cause it get hot in summer and cold in winter. Don't have to use up your propane for heat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Their website says Wi-Fi is available, but it wasn't operating in the 3 nights we were their. This appears to be a common problem so don't rely on their Wi-Fi. Free Wi-Fi is available just north of the park at McDonalds and Starbucks. Only the asphalt part of the park was open. Several of the motorhomes were jacked up so high that the wheels were off the ground. Our site was not as slanted, but the levelers I normally use were not enough to completely level our RV, but enough to keep the refrigerator working. The 3 camp hosts who manage the park were very friendly and helpful. The restrooms, showers and the grounds were clean and well maintained. I plan to return here again, but I'll bring jacks next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a sloping, black top parking lot with hookups. There is a gravel lot to the rear that looked level but we were not offered any of those sites. The dog walk is at the far end of the lot, a bit of a walk if you are parked near the office. The laundry room is small with no room to fold clothes or hang them. We only spent one night here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This campground worked out very well for downtown Sacramento. We took the advice of an earlier review to take a gravel space in the back. Worked great till it started to rain. Some of these spaces hold a lot of water. On our way in, we noticed a row of concrete back in spaces that are long & level, & dryer (401-414). Those parked in concrete spaces back of office, are on jacks almost all the way up. We are pleased enough with this park to return next time in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
A small laundry room (3 washers and 4 dryers) with no rods for hanging clothes or folding space. While I was there 3 washers were running at the same time and the sewer drain overflowed. The front section sites are on a bit of a downhill slant but nothing that can’t be accommodated by 5th wheels. This park is very centrally located for shopping, movie theaters, dining, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Good place for an overnight, especially if you like acres of gravel and open spaces. Also great if you have to be at the Expo grounds. Wide spaces, can get tight if full. Lots of amenities in the neighborhood. Personally, I'd try something else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
The rate cited reflects a weekly rate. Good 50 amp power, large sites, and a good location for visiting Sacramento. We have stayed in this park before, and they have added an off-leash dog area since last year. We prefer the gravel area in the back because the sites are level. The adjacent American River Parkway is great for walking or biking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
This is a very nice RV park, well located in Sacramento, offering funtionality and position. For those looking for value and not requiring too much in the way of facilities, this RV park is ideal. Avoid arriving too late as traffic in this area can be very heavy. My wife and I have stayed here many times and always feel safe, especially with the excellent lighting. I would normally have rated this RV Park as an 8 or 9, but due to our RV being surrounded by cigarette butts, I felt a seven was more appropriate. I hope I can upgrade my review on our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
We've stayed at this park before when passing through Sacramento and have always felt safe inside the grounds. There are essentially two separate RV parking areas, one is all paved (basically a parking lot lined off into sites) and is clean but not quite level. The other is a larger gravel lot that's a little bit more "free form"; we prefer this part. All utilities were fine, and park Wi-Fi worked OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Staff is friendly and efficient. Lower lot is gravel with hook ups and is relatively level. Security is not an issue as campground is monitored, and police randomly patrol at night. Location with access to the American River Bike Trail is a biker's delight. An 8 mile ride to Old Town Sacramento will lead you to plenty of things to see, do and eat. From the levee you can see the trotters exercising on the fairground track ,and it's a great place to walk the dog. Wi-fi did not reach the gravel lot, but Verizon aircard worked. We have already make reservations to return. It's not a beautiful park, but it works for us! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We were a little put off by previous reviews, but because we have been to Cal Expo as visitors at State Fair we decided to try it out. Boy were we pleasantly surprised. Our reservations were taken over the phone and because we were arriving after 5 p.m. our paperwork was awaiting us on the bulletin board when we arrived. We paid the next morning. The grounds were spotless, we leveled up with no problems on the asphalt. The gravel sites were not available since the State Fair had just ended. We went to Tex Wassabi for dinner with no security issues. Camp Hosts could not have been friendlier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
We just arrived here today after leaving another RV park in town that was a dump. This place seems nice inside the park, but I'm not too sure about nearby riff-raff. (We saw a homeless guy with his cart/home parked in the street as we drove up to this RV park.) There is a sign when you check in, to lock up your bikes or put them inside your trailer if possible at night. Then, only a few hours after our arrival, a car parked right next to the RV park, was broken into and had its window shattered while the owner was biking on the trail nearby. This happened in broad daylight! So, I'm at a loss where to stay in Sacramento. Is there anywhere here that isn't a dump or swarming with thieves? The other reviews of nearby parks all seem bad, too. BTW, there is free Wi-Fi but it is very weak. I'm using my own 3G card for internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
I stayed at this park for 3 months last year while having eye surgery, and found it very well taken care of. This year there are sewer fumes noticeable throughout the gravel area (not potty smells, but fumes); many dips in the gravel which became lakes during a rain. In a fairly empty park they assigned large motorhomes right next to me on both sides, making it difficult to park my truck, and many other aggravations. The location is excellent; the laundry room is reasonable and clean, but I hope I don't have to stay here again. Note: nightly rate is a guess. I paid $595 for the month, up $45 from last year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
The sites in the paved section are quite sloped. Wi-Fi doesn't work at the gravel section, but close to the office it was OK. Location is fantastic if you are visiting the Sacramento area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
First time at this park and didn't know about the heavily sloped sites. I was curious as to why they don't park rigs first in the flat area, or at least offer it. It was never mentioned to me. Aside from the slope, I found the RV park to be quite suitable. I liked that it was beside the river park, and I was able to go for an enjoyable bike ride for a whole afternoon, and still not see half of the park. I would return to this park, but I would ask for the flat area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
We have stayed at this park many times when visiting family in the area. It's only a parking lot, but the sites in the gravel section are level, the utilities excellent, and the location convenient. Many sites in the paved section are quite sloped and quite a few there have the sewer connection at the very rear of the site, at the uphill end of the site. The laundry only has three washers and four dryers, and no place to fold clothes, so I always use a laundromat a few blocks away. Most of the sites are pull-throughs, and any size rig can easily fit. The staff are always pleasant. Be sure to call for reservations if there is a chance that there is an event going on at Cal Expo (the state fairgrounds). They will leave directions to your site on the bulletin board if you arrive after they close up at 5:00. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This park has two sections: a large paved lot with a mix of 30 amp and 50 amp full-service sites, and a large gravel lot closer to the fairgrounds and stables, also with full-service sites. Site spacing is very tight (difficult to deploy slide-outs and have room for the toad parked next to the rig). In the paved lot, most sites are sloped enough so that leveling could be an issue. Mostly satellite-friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This is a mediocre park. We camped on the asphalt and had a tough time getting level. As stated above, there are no trees or shade and no extras. It is OK for a one night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Two sections for sites. The first section is asphalt and most of the sites are not level, so make sure you bring blocks with you. The second section are gravel sites, which seem more level. Sites are close together, and if the park is crowded, you will find it hard to let out your awning & find a place to keep your car. No problem walking my dog. There is one section of grass that is off limits to pets, but go into the gravel section and there is grass for pets. WiFi was accessible from my coach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
As mentioned by others, it is a giant parking lot, with very close together spots where we were (site 444). No picnic table. Dogs were allowed but signs and instruction not to use grass. I have a hard time with that, as the dogs make a larger mess that is harder to pick up on the gravel; also the grass was full of weeds and not pristine itself. Did not feel comfortable due to when we pulled in a lot of folks milling around the grounds and actually blocking our site along with the cars next to us blocking our backing in. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
A little pricy, but I still liked it. The gravel sites I think are better then the asphalt. More level. Very quiet here. Nice hiking trails near by. Easy in and out with a HDT and 35 ft trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
The park is becoming awfully expensive for a parking lot. Workers insist on stacking everyone up and leaving rows empty rather than giving everyone some space. But it is handy for visiting friends and/or family in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
We stayed here so that my wife could attend a conference near the Arden Fair mall. This location was great because it was centrally located to things we needed while we were here. It was very quiet. It is a large asphalt slab with water, Electric and Sewer. We were about 50 yards from the Office and could only marginally maintain a Internet connection while we were outside. We could obtain no connection from inside the rig. There were a bunch of Wifi signals out there, but I think they were part of the video surveylance system 'cause none of them would authenticate. The park is as advertised for the most part, just really wish the wifi worked better. Maybe the high tension powerlines cause interference as well. I don't know. We would stay here again if we needed to be in this area. Happy camping! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
I spent 3 months at this park, and paid a monthly rate which amounts to approx $18/night which included electric. Cal Expo is in an excellent location, close to every kind of shopping and easy to get to and from freeways. The office staff were very friendly and helpful, and contributed to a pleasant stay. This park has a limit of 30 days' stay, but can be extended for medical reasons. Wi fi is available in the office bldg only. I prefer a park that is clean, safe, and convenient, with a friendly staff, and this park would rate 100% in these categories. Someone who is looking for swimming pool, spa, horseshoe pits, etc. would be disappointed. I plan to stay at Cal Expo whenever I am in Sacramento (at least once a year). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$32
Clean and tidy in the park. We arrived about 5:20 pm so no staff member present and therefore no key to the showers. Given it a 5 due to the WiFi not working (we had partly chosen the site based upon our need for an Internet connection), when I asked in the morning I was told that the IT guy had changed things around and it hadn't been working for a while. Whilst pleasant, the staff member didn't seem to be bothered that they were not supplying what they had advertised. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
We camped at CalExpo for three nights over the July Fourth weekend. We had picked up a new motorhome at a dealer in Sacramento and wanted a full-hookup campground close to the dealer in case anything went wrong. As per other reviews, CalExpo is good for what it is: full hookups, including many pull throughs. There are no amenities, such as pool, spa, shop, or playground. You can access the paths along the river near the entrance for biking, jogging, or walking a dog. Large mall nearby with multiple chain restaurants. There is nothing natural about the park. The smaller rigs go in the asphalt front section, and the larger rigs go in the gravel back area. There are more trees in the asphalt area, but there is generally little shade. Just enough space to put out awnings and slides in each spot, but the (very nice) folks in the front office were spacing people as far apart as possible so we weren't crowded at all. There is supposed to be wi-fi, but we were told that it didn't reach the back area. Great place to watch July 4th fireworks or visit the State fair or Raging Waters, not much reason to stay there otherwise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
This is an asphalt (or gravel in one area) parking lot. The sites are close and big rig maneuvering is fine. They put the 42s and larger on the gravel lot which is okay with some. This is a convenient CG to the Expo. We went to see the RV Expo which was fairly small for what we'd expected. But, we were not disappointed in the location for access to the "Mall," the Expo and restaurants. Its a good stop over but extended stay for the Expo, malling, going to the Horse Track or visiting the city sites. We would return probably for these reasons. The managers were helpful, but you have to call frequently to make sure they have your reservation. Ours was lost. Despite that, they put us in an end site, in the paved area near the front entrance and restrooms. Each of the restrooms are private and separately accessed. They were cleaned daily. We liked being able to walk our dogs down the path near the river. This path is frequently used for horseback riding by locals and by horse trainers from the track. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$32
Central location to many areas in Sacramento. We were minutes from the capitol and to ARCO arena. The staff was very pleasant. They take reservations but don't require a deposit. They obliged a request by us to move due to difficulty backing our rig. Right outside the gate is access to trails along the Sacramento River. Great for walking, biking, dog walks. Also close to shopping (Mall) and tons of restaurants. Many people call cabs to get around. This is mostly paved. Lots of security lighting. Very quiet, though trains can be heard in the distance. No through traffic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2007
$32
All the reviews I've read here are reasonably accurate when taken at face value. By that I mean you shouldn't consider some of the comments that are highly subjective. A large field of gravel or asphalt may be just dandy for some folks but if you like to sit outside your RV, this is not the place to do it. There are no trees, no shading structures and no amenities of any kind. No tables anywhere on the grounds, no fire pits, no convenience store, no supplies of any kind including food outside a handful (no exaggeration) of candy bars in the office. Yes, it is near a major mall, freeways and other attractions. That doesn't mean you can walk to any of them. The mall in question is a good couple of miles away on the far side of the Cal Expo grounds. Bottom line is, this is no destination. If you're going to park your rig and jump in your toad to go sightseeing or visiting, it's fine. But don't plan on making Cal Expo a vacation spot. I'm no disgruntled customer, by the way. Far from it. I'm a Sacramento native now living in SoCal. I would love to give Cal Expo a high rating. There is just nothing to it beyond the very barest necessities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
Convenient place for seeing Sacramento - a bit overpriced, but then it is in a large metropolitan area. The lights were awfully bright at night, but does help with security. Sites were large and had good 50 amp power. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
Great place to say if you are in Sacramento area. Very convenient location. You need to leave a key deposit for showers but overall not a bad spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
This is a huge barren gravel parking lot broken only by utility posts, and it's the ugliest place you can imagine. The only reason to stay here is that it is close to town, and we couldn't wait to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Best base camp location in Sacramento. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
I stayed in the gravel section, lot's of room and easy access to the freeways. Paved section is on a slope and would not be usable with a long Motorhome. Wi-Fi worked but had a very weak signal. Needs Cable TV to get a higher rating. Lights from the CAL-EXPO horse race track were very bright and annoying. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
It is a spacious, gravel and concrete parking lots style campground. It is a good park for conveniences. Right in the center of Sacramento. Price is not bad for our monthly rate, although they had raised it from $480 to $550 with electricity a month in the past year. Great location for July 4th and California Fair week. The area is present and easy access to bicycle, walking trail, restaurants and mall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$23
Please note: Many of the comments here are about the KOA park in WEST Sacramento, not the Cal-Expo Park. Owner/moderator needs to change postings to correct campground and I will try to contact him/her. We stayed here two weeks ($160 per week) from mid-September to October 6. The campground is clean and there are regular security patrols. The staff we met were all extremely friendly. The Sacramento bike trail is next to the park and is a great place to jog, walk, ride bikes, etc. We have stayed here many times (we lived in the area for 50+ years before going full time) and will stay here again any time we are in town. Again, the negative notes posted for this park were intended for the KOA park in WEST Sacramento. This is a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Weekly rate is $160. Sites are wide enough for slides and awnings (just). Gravel or blacktop. Quiet location. The concrete slab can get noisy in a.m., and grass area adjacent to slab has sprinklers that can be a problem for anything encroaching same. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Gravel pit -- parking lot. Office staff -- manager -- very unfriendly, could not care less about overall maint. Sewer plugged/backed up and staff wanted to put off plumber call until next business day. Would not trim trees despite their overhang into driveways. Lots of excuses offered for poor grounds keeping despite the fact that they are MAKING MONEY on the RVers. Hosts very nice, but office staff marginal. Overnight might be OK, but wouldn't recommend this for anything more. Too bad there is not more competition in the area as this might leverage better accommodations here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$26
This is an excellent park if you are going to Sacramento. Hosts are very nice. All concrete, but works out fine for a day or two. Park is walking distance to bike/walk trail along the American River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
Not to many options in the Sacramento area. This is basically a parking lot campground. No shade for the majority of the sites. The major advantage is that this campground is near to downtown, movies and shopping. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$26
This park is ok. Some of the people in the office are unfriendly. Great if only staying for a few days. Close to movies and shopping. All concrete, some shade trees. Backs up to a path for jogging and biking. Has small gravel area for pets. Pets not allowed on any grass areas in park. Stayed here in 2005 in Motorhome We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Just a big parking lot. Clean however and near to downtown and the Cal Expo where the Calif State Fair is held. Nothing to write home about. An overnighter type park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com