218180 User submitted reviews online!!
Rainbow Lake RV & Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (575) 630-2267
CGID4540

Rainbow Lake RV & Resort

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   10   6   4   5   3   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
I have stayed here before and again enjoyed my stay. Only time I wasn't happy was one weekend when some of the cabins stayed noisy till near midnight. I stayed in the rear of the park which most of the time was very quiet. Trash truck does come very early twice a week. Limited laundry to use but you can pass the time upstairs playing pool. Lots of wildlife wanders through the park. It is very close to the Inn of the Mountain Gods Casino which is handy. Stayed 3 months and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
The park has cabins and RV sites. It is very crowded. We were there in the off season so we didn't have any problems, but, it if was full, I don't know where you would park. It would also make it very difficult to move the rig in and out of your space without having other people move their vehicles. Spots by the front were very noisy with traffic. The good part is that they were very friendly. We also moved to the back of the park the second night. Those sites back up to the National Forest which is awesome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
This RV park is in a beautiful location right next to a National Forest. I mean, you walk out the door of your RV, and in a few yards, you are in a National Forest. The spaces are too close together and most are not level. There are only 2 bathroom/showers, but they are nice and very clean. The staff is great. The WiFi was better than what I would expect and there was a huge selection of cable TV channels. Yes, it is a bit run down, but I would stay here again just for the access to the beautiful forest, the very friendly staff and lots of great folks who come every year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
This is a wonderful place to stay and get away from the desert heat. We stay here regularly. There are great activities nearby and a beautiful park about 3 miles up the road. They keep everything clean and well kept. Family friendly and pet friendly atmosphere. We will be going back! The staff is always helpful and nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
This was our first trip to Ruidoso, and had small children thinking that the trout pond would be something a little more special than it was. It is basically a big concrete pond with large fish you can feed. As for the sites, we were at the back of the park right up against the national forest. This part was great as we would just go straight out the door and head into the forest for hikes. The sites however, were really close together. Could not even extend our awning all the way. The views are great, though. We spent more time behind the trailer than out the door as we had more room there. The staff was great and extremely kind and friendly. Great place to ride mountain bikes (in the forest) and hike. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
My husband and I have been staying at this RV park for several years. We love the park because of it's location on Carrizo Canyon Road. The park itself backs up to the Lincoln National Forest. Great hiking & ATV trails. The surroundings are just beautiful you truly do feel like your way up in the mountains. Close to the downtown area and the Inn Of The Mountain Gods. The park itself is in great need of maintenance. We have watched this park over the past few years deteriorate. RV sites are very close together and they advertise pull throughs and I only see two sites that might be considered a pull through. I don't know if I would call this park Big Rig friendly due to the fact I have seen some motorhomes have difficulty getting their slides out. Be prepared, sites will require some leveling. Never seen inside the cabins, but they look nice from the outside. The Wi-Fi is a joke: must be right in front of the office for it to work. The trout pond used to be a neat place well maintained and stocked with fish. It is still stocked with trout, but the pond itself is falling apart. The cement sides are cracking & buckling. Sad Site! During the summer months the park is always full I think that is due to the great location. We camp here is a 38 foot rig and I give the location a 10 but the park itself I can only give a 4. I hope the owners realize what a true treasure they have and take action and make the necessary repairs. The owner's and staff are very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
This park is clean and in a nice setting, but it is very small and too many spaces crammed into it. I was told in the check in we had a pull through spot, but it was back in and with 36 footer, we barely made it after have neighbors move their vehicles. If the spot across from ours had been occupied we would not have got in. We were about 18" from each of our neighbors. Too close for our taste. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Escapees Members: No longer a 15% discount park (listed as a 15% discount park in the 2010 Escapees Travel Guide). Manager claimed no one from Escapees had contacted them in 6 years (doesn't sound like Escapees!) and that they do not honor the 15% discount. She pleaded ignorance when I brought out the book and showed her the listing. So they basically were getting a free listing attracting Escapees to their park, then when they get here they renege on the discount (bad business). They receive the Escapees magazine for free and display a big Escapees sticker in their window, also...the manager did give us a 10% discount. With tax it came to $34 a night, which is pricey for what you get here. I called Escapees, related my experience, and they have now been dropped. As far as the park goes, the only redeeming features as far as I can tell are its proximity to town (less than 5 minutes), and the immediate access to Lincoln National Forest trails out the back of the park. Did not use the bathrooms or laundry. We were parked in a site off of Mud Canyon Rd., which is a gravel road, so quite dusty. They really pack you in like sardines here, too. The site was spartan with no picnic table, just gravel. It was quite noisy on the weekend we were here with kids running around hootin' and hollerin' till 1 in the morning. The "lake" is a misnomer - small fish pond with a few rainbow trout and koi. misnomer. We are moving to another park. We won't return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
Campground is somewhat difficult to locate, even with good maps due to poor street signage in Ruidoso. The entrance to the Office is split away from the main campground, bisected by a stream. One has to circle back to enter main camping premises. There is an old, deep concrete tank (formerly a trout hatchery?) that was over grown with mat-algae over the summer and by our visit in November was ripe. Owners are draining and skimming it, but the appearance is an eyesore and generally a nuisance. We parked nearby the stream which was nice but not safe for young children. Camp borders on forest, good for hiking with kids. Found no amenities for young kids in this camp. Ruidoso is a very interesting town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$26
We recently stayed at the Rainbow Lake RV campground and really enjoyed it. The staff was friendly and attentive. All services were top notch with a well regarded Cafe on the premises that the locals frequent. The office/lodge/gift shop was very convenient as well with a big screen TV (old but in working condition), shuffle board and pool table for relaxation. One of the best features of Rainbow Lake is that it backs up to a National Forest that was great for walking our 2 dogs. We noticed signs that said "ATV's" were OK but other vehicles were not. One last item of note is that it is very close to the Inn of The Mountain Gods Resort and Casino which was obviously good for the gambling, but also had some great restaurants we tried out. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$35
Nice campground, fairly new. Very polite staff. Park used to be a fishery. Restaurant is available from Thursday to Sunday. Park features a gift shop, trout feeding pond & hiking & biking trails. Has a laundry room. Carrizo Creek runs thru park. Rallies are welcomed. We liked this park & look forward to staying there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com