223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Smokemont Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (828) 497-9270
CGID4546

Smokemont Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
138
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   9   9   9   8   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
Another typical national park campground. Prior to May 15, only walk-in sites are available, however only in Loop B. The more desirable Loop F as well as all other loops are closed until May 15. Loop B contains small sites more suited to tents and small trailers. We were able to find a couple of sites that could accommodate our 30’ trailer but we had to park the truck in a separate spot. In many sites, the picnic table and sitting area is on the street-side of the trailer. No hookups are available. They do have flush toilets which are kept clean. There is a beautiful stream that flows through the campground and flows right by many Loop F sites. Roads and sites are paved. Sites are fairly level; we did not need to use side-to-side leveling blocks. The is a very faint Verizon signal although we could not get an improved signal using our booster and external antenna. Heavy tree cover prevents the use of satellite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Beautiful park, however definitely not big rig friendly. Yes, sites themselves are large enough, but travel on the campground roads to get to them (and in/out of them) is tough! There is also the issue of low-hanging branches throughout the campground that will brush your RV. Although a nice campground, we will not camp here again and recommend that if you have a >30' towable (FW/TT) or >34' MH, pass on this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
National Park campground. Loop D are all pull through, loop F is all back in. Roads paved. You can get Wi-Fi and cell service down at the visitors center. Verizion data service works well down here. They have a dump station and water down there. Campground generator hours are 8-8. A nice quiet campground with lots of hiking. There are no showers and only 20 amp hookup available in the handicap sites. Plan on a boon docking dry camp experience. Old peoples pass is $10/night. Use recreation.gov for reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
We were here over the Memorial Day weekend. The campground staff were very friendly and enforced the rules. The only issue was the cable was fuzzy and staff tried to fix it. They were unable to but it was the first busy weekend of the year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
This campground is typical mountain / National Park. Most sites are generous and well shaded. We were in D2, a pull-through facing the stream. There was no Verizon cell or data in the Park. A 9 mile drive to Cherokee provided a solid signal for both. We were here over Memorial Day weekend, and although the Park was full, the atmosphere was friendly. As an activity, we went zip-lining with the Nantahala George Canopy Tour CO, it was GREAT!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
Nightly rate is based on the Federal Handicap Access pass rate. This is a very good park! We stayed here for 4 nights and were glad we have 270 watts of solar and 4 golf cart batteries as there are no hookups! It rained everyday and we were in the F section. It was the only section to ever dry out, the others were damp the entire time. We had site F1 and it was nice, partially shaded and allowed morning sun. Beautiful stream you could hear at night, clean restrooms nearby and water spigots so we could resupply using 5 gallon jugs. Construction is still going on and the road to the dump station was often blocked. We will certainly camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Dry camping only here, but worth every bit if you are seeking a quick outing into the back country. Pros - Absolutely quiet at night. Everyone turned off their generators. Climate was perfect. Good bicycle riding on the roads, although the speed bumps were a bit of a nuisance. Great hiking trails in the area along many streams and up to waterfalls. Horseback riding offered and the birdlife is phenomenal! Cute historical church located at the entrance. Dump station and drinking water fill stations were very modern and clean. Cons - No electricity. Also, people tend to walk across campsites as there are no designated walkways to restroom or creeks. Trails can be rugged in areas, so wear boots for the more distant hikes. There are black bears, so food precautions must be taken. That said, we had no problems with bears during our stay. We did encounter one on a trail, and several other reported bears in pairs near the waterfalls. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We loved this campground. By reserving early we were able to get a site where our rear window overlooked the stream. The only thing better would have been to have some utilities but it was still very nice. We appreciated someone's advice not to bring a large RV over on 441 from Gatlinburg and not to come across on Hwy 19. Best to stay on Hwy 74/23, excellent road. Don't miss going over the mountain on 441 to Tennessee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Had a stream site in the generator loop. Sites are large. Campground was quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
A very nice campground. The only problem we had was interference with low untrimmed branches. The F loop is definitely the preferred place for big rigs. We camped in the D loop and had difficulty turning into and out of our site. We witnessed one camper who shattered the satellite dome on his fifth wheel with a low hanging branch. The camp host was marvelous. If they trim the trees we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
A very nice National Park. Paved sites, lots of grass and trees. Dry camping only, but a dump site is close by. If you are in to campy Indian stuff, the town of Cherokee is close down the road. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$10
This is a great place. Sites are large over in the F section. This is dry camping and there are restrooms but no showers. They have a dump station and fresh water available down the road about a quarter mile at the horse stables. There is a nice 6 mile hiking trail at the campground. It is a short drive down to Cherokee for supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Very nice National Park. More rustic if you are use to RV parks. No showers or hot water. Restrooms were clean where we stayed which was in Loop F next to the stream. Great family environment. You can fish, ride bikes, tube and hike. You do have to purchase a Tennessee or North Carolina fishing license to fish in the park. We purchased our licenses on North Carolina's Fish and Game website. Very reasonable price for a 10 day license. We will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
I left my heart in the smokies. This campground for me was still as beautiful as I remembered last time I was here as a child. My kids were also thrilled to hike the many surrounding trails, play in the stream and go horseback riding from the on site stables. This was our experience. The review: most of the sites in the " f " loop, (over the bridge), are more wooded and private, many are on the creek. On our site, we were parked on a paved level area. Many of the surrounding larger RV's appeared to have plenty of room in their sites. Smokemont is fairly close to town if shopping is necessary. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
sites are plenty big. Ours was backed up to the stream witch was beautiful. Level site gravel very clean. Very peaceful must stay if your looking to relax. Spent 3 nights there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
Large pull thru and back in sites. Good hiking from the campground. Beautiful wildflowers this time of year. We camp here often. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$14
We loved this wooded no hook-up, no shower campground. We came into Cherokee and the park on Hwy 19 through Maggie Valley and wished we had taken the 19 truck route instead. The road was much less narrow and unforgiving. We camped in November and most of the campground was closed off, only A and B loops were open. Potable and non-potable water at the dump station had been turned off. We liked site A7 just fine, it was fairly level and quite roomy with a stream just across the way that we could hear. Trailer Life indicates that typical site size is 12 x 27 and the park website says that the RV length limit for this campground is 35 ft but we saw many slightly curved pull-thru sites in D loop that were 100 ft long. They weren't all completely level but they looked fine for big rigs. F loop is an RV only loop that would take a 35 ft RV with some sites in the trees and some more out in the open, several are right on the stream. Bathrooms were simple flush toilets with cold running water, some bugs and a bit of dirt but not too bad. Road into campground and to dump station is narrow but distance each way is less than 1/4 mile. We have a 30 ft class A. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com