217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Sacramento West / Old Town KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 73 user reviews. Phone: (916) 371-6771
CGID455

Sacramento West / Old Town KOA

Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   8   9   7   8   8   8   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$47
This park is adequate for visiting Sacramento. pull-through sites are long enough, but utility placement can cause problems. We had to go out and buy a new sewer hose in order to hook up. Cable is adequate, not great; Wi-Fi works well at times, works not at all at other times. Park can get very crowded when full. Water pressure was somewhat low. Small laundry was $1.50 per machine, with one machine broken the whole time we were there. The pool was clean. We appreciated that, unlike some other KOAs, they did not charge us a "visitor charge" when we had visitors for a couple of hours. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Well located if visiting Sacramento and that is the only reason to stay here. The park sits between two freeways and is very noisy. The sites are narrow and the hook-ups are problematic. The campground is clean and well maintained for an older park, but the noise, tight sites, and misplaced hook-ups are the negatives, if visiting Sac it is one of the few options, not sure if we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$53
I'd give this park 6 1/2 stars. We showed up without a reservation. The first site they gave us had low branches that needed to be trimmed that prevented us from getting to the site. The friendly staff then found me a better site. That said, all of the sites are way too close together. We could put our slides out, but they were right on top of each other. The site was gravel and I had to put my trailer on blocks to level it (many of the other guests had done the same). The wifi wouldn't load basic websites. The bathrooms and showers were very clean, though the pool deck had a soaked (I hope it wasn't dirty) diaper on it. This is a good place to stop for the night, but not much more than that. The owners were really nice, and they hosted a free marshmallow roast. There's a Starbucks right across the intersection from the park with a nice cul-de-sac with room to u-turn and park our truck and 38' foot fifth wheel and that upped the rating by half a star. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
We were very pleasantly surprised with this park. It was right off the highway and there was a little noise, but it didn't bother us. The sites were a little tight with our slides out, but the shade trees and lots of grass were very inviting. They offered a nice dog park and they even had a food truck offering breakfast and lunch. They made a nice breakfast for us. We were in the area to visit family and this worked well for us. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
Level sites – mostly pull-through. All facilities including Wi-Fi very good. Lots of activities for kids. Convenient to the freeway. Easy to visit Old Sacrament. All facilities good including Wi-Fi. Staff very helpful and friendly. Do believe rate was high. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
Rate was with a KOA membership card, 30-amp. Level gravel/dirt sites and most are pull-through. Every other site has utilities on the wrong side so you must run your electricity and water under your RV. Most with shade and picnic table. WiFi worked great, 35-channel cable TV. This is an older KOA, playground could use an upgrade, community fire-pit, family orientated. Some freeway noise at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
The campground was located right of the freeway which was nice. Its off the path of an industrial area. Close to Old Sacramento and the State Fair. Staff was very friendly. Facility was clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
We have stayed before when going to Southern California and like before, this was just a stop-over. Clean, friendly staff, check-in is easy, nice supplies in the office, and all in all a very nice, well maintained RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
We've stayed at this KOA before, and we will again. My only complaint is that the sites are narrow for big rigs with slides on both sides. You have to position your rig precisely to avoid hitting either the trees or the utilities when you extend your slides. The WI-FI tended to bog down in the evening, so we used our mobile broadband which worked just fine. The staff was friendly and efficient, and the park is well-maintained. This is the best of the choices in the Sacramento area. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
We had a reservation for 2 nights but cancelled the second night after viewing the showers and bathrooms in both areas of the park. There was a weird odor and they were very dirty. This is definitely a kid friendly park, they were all over, running through sites. Check in was easy but the young lad at the desk rattled so many items so fast I had to ask again where the site was. There was a power interruption at our site and 2 adjacent to us. This was remedied. Folks were always walking through the sites. I will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
This was our very first stay in an RV park after a (stressful) very first day driving a rental RV. Hence, we can't really compare to what is usual - yet! Management staff were helpful and welcoming - giving support when my water hookup kept leaking. Toilets and showers were adequately clean, as was the pool. My family and I, who tend to be a bit fussy, had no hesitation using any of the facilities. We brought our own AT&T MiFi, which had good reception. I cannot comment on the park-provided Wi-Fi. Our drive-through site was easy to access, as was the RV park itself, even for a neophyte like me. The only significant disappointment was that, by the time I had finished setting up, the front desk was shut, so I was unable to reward myself with a beer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
This KOA is on Interstate 80 about 10 minutes from downtown Sacramento. The places you would want to go are on the West side (Old Town, etc)of Sacramento so this is a good location. It is easy on and off. Hard to believe it is a KOA because there are no RR tracks right next door. In spite of being next to the 80 it is fairly quiet due to a large sound wall. The Wi-fi was a bit iffy, going on and off. It was a holiday weekend, and the place was packed so Wi-fi was being used to its max. Places are tight and had to have management trim a few limbs off a tree to avoid scratching my paint. All in all not a bad place, and I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$70
The rate stated is for a weekend. Sites are tight. The wi-fi was very weak, even though we were just on the second row from the office. We needed help with the dump site, and someone was there immediately to help out. It's a busy place with lots going on. We'll stay here in the future when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$48
Trailer Life is way off on this one. It's really the only game in town for us to visit family in the area: so it's ok for that. The sites are too close together. (My neighbor was grilling right under our window). Wi-Fi was up and down and the cable TV channels were limited and some were fuzzy. Not worth the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$29
Staff is friendly and helpful. Sites are level, pull through, and graveled. This campground has easy access to I-80 but the road noise is not too intrusive. Big (~1/4 acre) clean pet area. Laundry and bathrooms are clean with plenty of hot water. Trash pickup at your site. Food wagon on site will deliver to your site. Well stocked store. Activities planned on weekends. Free Wi-Fi. Propane refills on site. As a single female camper, I feel safe in this campground. Rates based on monthly stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
This is our 2nd stay at this RV park. Extremely friendly and accommodating hosts. Nice well stocked store, free movies. Very easy on/off freeway. Nice treed level sites, picnic tables, and on waterway with lots of birds of all kinds. Tent sites available on water as well as little rental cabins. Will definitely recommend to friends and come back again to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$41
Friendly folks, awesome pet area, tried the food wagon and had a pretty good breakfast delivered to our door !! Had the super bowl going in the rec room with snacks. They also provide garbage pick-up at your site. Close to Interstate but noise not bad. $$ reflects KOA discount. Our second stay here and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$46
Typical old KOA with spaces too close together. Trees are so close that if I had a slide on the right side I wouldn't have been able to open it. Sites are narrow and dirt, if it rained it would be mud. I would stay here again as the other choices in the area are not much better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$41
The RV park is not the best choice for someone who wants to visit Sacramento and does not bring a separate car or other vehicle. It was slightly too loud to relax. It is nice for families with children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$52
Well, the staff was friendly and helpful that much I can say. I can also say that their pull-through 50 amp sites don't have enough spacing to open your awning. This place also seems to draw a crowd that I was not comfortable with and would not let my kids out of my site. The pool was very cloudy and had a bunch of debris that was not plant material. Nice enough to stop on your way through town but not a place to stay beyond that in my opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
Nice facilities, pet friendly, kid friendly, great staff. Close to shopping and old town. Would stay again when in town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
Not outstanding, but a decent choice if you need something close to Sacramento. Paved roads, gravel sites, free Wi-Fi (not very strong), pool, big clean dog park, friendly staff, quiet at night, convenient to Sacramento. We will come back if we're in the neighborhood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
Typical KOA: sites are too small and roads aren't wide enough for a 45 ft big rig. There are 15 50 AMP pull through sites only. We stopped for one night without our car trailer so we fit. Wouldn't come back with the rest of our rig. AT&T and Verizon work here. Trees weren't too large for the satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$51
Clean facilities and park, K-9 fenced area was great; sites are narrow, easy access to highways. Stayed here 4 nights and would stay again. Nice meeting room, laundry and trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean facility with limited shade. Hot place in summer with bugs galore (mosquitoes very bad). Convenient to freeways, city, attractions. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
Clean park, friendly staff and great dog run. We like it for it's convenience. Very busy park, so reservations are recommended, especially if you need 50 Amps, because they are limited. They call these premium sites, but we found them very narrow with little room for the table provided. We had an end unit which gave us more room. The Wi-Fi signal was very poor and unusable most of the time. The sewer connection was confusing with "do not use" written on 2 of the hook ups and the one available was difficult to reach. Actually think the 30 Amp sites provided more usable space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Very nice campground with friendly employees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
This is a decent campground, kind of standard for a KOA. They have amenities for kids, playground, paddle boats and bikes for rent. The sites are hard pack gravel, no grass. Picnic tables at each site, and a community fire ring where the staff will roast free marshmallows for the kids. The dog run is large and grassy. The staff was friendly and the park clean. Surrounding area is businesses, and freeway noise is present. Good place to visit many attractions in the Downtown Sacramento area. Not many 50 amp sites, but our 30 amp site worked well. It was hot when we were here and the park filled up with a RV caravan group. We had no issues with power drop outs. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
Park was OK for a stopover. The site they assigned us to had 3 sewer connections and all of them said do not use so we had to call them and tell them we were going to another site. You would think they might have known that the sewer didn't work in that site, but oh well. The front office staff seemed somewhat disinterested. We felt like we were annoying them by checking in. But, in spite of the lukewarm welcome, the cable TV and WiFi worked well and the site was ample size size so we didn't have to unhook our tow car. Would stay here again as a one night stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$41
The new owners have made some great improvements to this park. First and foremost is the friendly, fun-loving atmosphere. They want everyone to have a good time - and it shows. We were given our choice of site away from others for our late night check-in. The dog park is very large and nice - a vast improvement from the previous small cubicle. We love that all well-behaved dogs are welcome - regardless of breed! Everything is clean and tidy, our site was level and the store is welcoming. We will definitely use this park time and time again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$49
We were pleasantly surprised by this park. It is very convenient to the freeway, but there was little freeway noise once you are in the park. We had a long pull through site. It was barely wide enough for us and our neighbors to have all their slides and awnings out, but it was easy to enter and exit. Our power pedestal was under our neighbor's awning. They only have 14 full hookup 50 amp sites, and a few of them were rather short. The staff was enthusiastic and cheerful. The large dog run has dog treats and waste clean-up bags in it. The 50 amp power was excellent, and there was adequate water pressure. The rate I paid was $48 for each of the first three nights, and $54 for the fourth night because it was Thursday before Memorial Day weekend; they consider that a "Special Event" night. I discovered after I arrived at our next destination that I had left our water pressure regulator and valves on the hose bib. I called them, and they sent somebody out to retrieve them for me. They held them until a friend of mine could pick them up to mail on to me. There are only four washers and driers in the laundry, but the cost of the machines was quite low. Except for the high price, this is a park I would return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$41
Staff is friendly and helpful. Sites gravel and level. Bathrooms are clean and basic. I recommend this park. Accommodates every size rig. Though not fancy, it is far and away the easiest, most reliable, cleanest, safest RV park near Sacramento. I have stayed here often because I use my RV for business travel to make calls in Sacramento. Cable TV is not very clear. Staff tried to fix it but admitted they have trouble throughout the park. WiFi is strong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$44
We stayed here on a very wet weekend. Apparently some of the sites were a bit flooded, so that host was kind enough to assign us a very nice dry site close to the office. Could not find a cable connection in my site #7. Reported it and someone came over promptly to provide a cable connection from the next site. Toilets and showers were clean and functional. It was nice of the hosts to keep a heater on in the washrooms next to the office. This made a lot of difference as it was rather chilly. Convenient location close to the freeway and a few places for food and coffee. Nice campground and hosts. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$43
The owners and other folks who work there are very nice. There was a great deal of puddles due to a large amount of rain and I know that couldn't be helped. Sites are pretty close together so everyone has to be considerate of their neighbors. Our neighbor next to us had 2 large dogs. We never saw him walk the dogs. Just chained them up outside his 5th wheel several times a day so they could relieve themselves. Their chains were pretty long so we couldn't get things out of our MH compartments if the dogs were out. Plus we risked stepping in soggy dog waste. Two times we asked maintenance to pick up piles, in our campsite, and they did. The office did offer to move us to another site but we didn't want to unhook, etc., to move. In 40 years of camping I don't think we've seen such an inconsiderate dog owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$41
We had a space at the back of the park which I should have gone and looked at before parking there. I would have requested a change to one near the front closer to the office. The ones at the back are very small (both length and width). I had a heck of a time positioning the 40 foot 5th wheel so it cleared the roads on both ends, and the trees on the sides so the slide-out wouldn't hit anything. Had to move a couple of picnic tables out of the way also. We were also right up against the neighbors. Just overall very tight in the back. The sites need some gravel work too. Many were muddy due to recent rains. They had dumped sand in a few places, but that really doesn't work. There was no room in my site for my tow vehicle. Had to park in an empty site adjacent and across the road. The WiFi worked but was a weak signal probably due to our distance from the office area. Also had to fiddle with their cable TV splitter to get a good signal. The rest rooms and showers were clean and well maintained. Easy access off the interstate and very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. In the future I'll either be sure I had a site at the front or would shop for a reservation elsewhere. This campground is what I would consider a backup for me in case nothing else was available. It's just an older property that KOA needs to do some upgrade work on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
We stayed here for one night on our way north. Nice people, good location. However, it was raining the day we stayed here, and the third row of sites (where we were situated) is on low ground, with no drainage, so we ended up camped in about 4 inches of water. As in, the entire campsite was under water, no ground for yards around us. Also, the bathrooms were nice enough but had a strong septic odor -- not properly ventilated. The showers were also difficult for me at 5' 9" -- I was looking down at the top of the shower head. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$41
This was a "bait and switch" experience. We went onto the web site and filled in the info about unit (35' 5th wheel) and needs (30 amp, sewer, water and no cable). Result was $35/night charge. This is what we had paid at most places on our trip but was low compared to experience at other KOA. So, 70 miles out we call to confirm and are told that there are no non-cable sites available and price is $38/night. OK, not what the web site said but still better than usual KOA. So, we arrive at 5:15 and are told that there are no 30 amp spaces available and it's $41 for the 50 amp which we do not need (the place looks). We think this is a scam but rather than fight Sacramento rush hour traffic we'll accept the "bait and switch"). We go to the site and there is a 30 amp connection available. We go to the office and they tell us "we don't trust you so even though the 30 amp is there we charge you for the 50 - take it or leave it"). Sacramento traffic! so we stayed. Last time for us with KOA. They are slime as far as we are conned. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
We did a two night stay here while attending a family event. It is conveniently located right off the highway. The park itself is very calm - however there is a constant din of highway noise, planes going overhead, and trains at 2am. The sites are somewhat close together - but OK if you are not put right next to another camper. Nice amenities with pool, rec. room, laundry, store, lake with boats, volleyball, tetherball, horseshoes, etc. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Fenced pet walk is very small - not enough room to run and romp. It could easily be made much bigger with such a large field around. Overall, a decent, clean, and friendly place to stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
Gravel and asphalt everywhere. Hard to walk dogs in the heat. The large grassy area that was available was dead. Clean park. Friendly office staff. Couldn't find any other parks in Sacramento that looked clean or safe. This one fit the bill. All attractions must be driven to. Hookups are kind of weird. Hookups for next site over were on our site. Good cable TV has lots of channels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
Friendly check in and a nice quiet RV park. We used it for a layover between Pismo Beach and Redding. Overall this park was nice and clean throughout. The WiFi was consistently good. We were not dissapointed in the park after reading the reviews. The kids can keep busy with rental bikes. Has nice restrooms and clean. Easy to find and looks like no problems with exiting as with some parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
We stopped here to park the motor home and visit friends in the area for one night. Easy pull in and friendly staff. Pet area was very small but location of the park was good for visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Staff was very friendly at check-in. Sites are gravel with no grass. Many have shade trees around them. Each site has a picnic table. I had trouble with my cable TV and after calling the office, one of the managers sons came to the site and resolved the problem. The park has a pool and bikes you can rent. We stayed only one night but I would stay here again. The price is a little high, but if you have a family, it's worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
Nice clean park conveniently located to downtown Old Sacramento. Enjoyed our 12 day stay here. They offer a military discount also. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$47
What a pleasant surprise! The new ownership has done tremendous work in creating a GREAT park. Well maintained grounds and sites, common rooms are clean and well equipped. Even has a full kitchen for campers and an air hockey table in the game room! The baths and showers are well maintained, trees on the sites are trimmed, camp hosts in the office are pleasant and efficient, camp store is well equipped. There are many events planned for families, a clean pool area, and a large play area for children. There is even a field for either a baseball game or soccer. It was a nice surprise to see such wonderful changes. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
New owners are putting a lot of their heart and soul into improving this campground. I can't wait to return next year to see all the changes they have planned. Even now it is a terrific camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
This place has been cleaned up over the last year. Very nicely done with new paint and patched pavement. Extremely helpful staff! We stay at KOAs just when necessary and this one is nearest to relatives so it meets the criteria. Sites are gravel, as with most KOA parks but it was nice and quiet even though plenty of folks were there. Had a problem with wi-fi but it was fixed by morning and worked fine. KOAs tend to be a bit pricey, but some are real nice - most of the nice ones are in states other than California. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
The owners were amazing!! They made the stay a lot of fun for our family. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
Nice park: very much a KOA. WiFi was very weak. Has a very central location. It's close to the freeway, but quiet. Sites are a bit narrow: we had to move so the slides could open. Restrooms were spotless! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$39
We stayed here for two nights on a quick get away weekend. The staff here is wonderful and the convenience store is well stocked even for the spring time with the essentials. The bath rooms and showers are spotless. The laundry facilities and the Recreation hall are great. Some of the buildings are older, but they are completely up to date inside. We were able to walk to the nearby Starbucks for a coffee. The dog park is simple but just what the doggies ordered to blow off some energy. We will definitely be here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
Very nice hosts and office staff. We stayed in winter so the camp was empty. Big, big fenced area for dogs. Nice little stream next to the CG. KOA is right next to the freeway so there is noise at night. We would definitely stay here again because the people were so nice! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
The people were wonderful! The park was clean. They were updating some sites, that is good news for the 50 amp people. They probably don't have anything to do with the lake but it was dirty, mosquito infested and pretty ugly. Would I recommend this park? Absolutely! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$47
This was our first time at a KOA. The campground was clean, well maintained, plenty of friendly staff and lots of kids activities as well as a huge field to let the dogs run. Sacramento just happens to be hot hot hot in August, thank Dog for the clean pool. The only thing I would recommend is maybe a sign at check in advising to use mozzy repellent at dusk. We got eaten alive and I met another family that had the same problem . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
Excellent location, close to Old Town Sacramento, which we were very interested in. Not a lot of fluff, but we read this sites reviews and didn't expect a lot of fluff. Office personnel were very nice and helpful. Store had a pretty good selection of basics and extras. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$49
Nice place, kids enjoyed the pool very much. People were very friendly. Would stay here again. We stayed at four "KOA's" in two week and noticed the same thing with each one. At night you need lights to find your numbered space. I noticed there were solar lights but they were not working? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
A nice KOA Park, along with standard KOA features they had paddle boat rentals for the small lake they have. The sites where a little on the small side, but we did fit. We would stay here again for any extended stays in the Sacramento area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$46
I will never understand why a park owner would create long pull-throughs, then stick trees so close that you can't open your slides!!! Such was the case here. The tight trees also complicate your satellite reception. Overall however, this is a good location; very clean with picnic tables at every site. The reception was very pleasant (nice people) (great cookies)and they escort you to your site. Sites are gravel with paved streets. They have propane, and decent cable reception. Great for over-night and would be a good base for downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$45
Wi-fi seldom worked, campstore very poorly stocked unless you only wanted beer or wine, campstore hours were very limited even in the summer time or during holiday weekends. During our stay winds were very strong and dead palm tree branches were blowing out of the trees and into campers. It would have appeared that the trees were not being trimmed properly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$43
For our purposes, the location was perfect (we needed to get to the Capitol and we could do so on surface road not nearby freeway). We camped here during major winter storms (rain, hail), so it wasn't terribly pleasant. Practically empty, but we had to be next to a decrepit camper that had to be jump started frequently and who had to run the genny all the time. Ick. Noisy. Also a lot of freeway noise. Convenient to downtown, safe, and clean, but not a resort site so pretty overpriced for what you get. Wifi works fine. Staff is nice. Just not what anyone would call scenic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$42
We've stayed at several KOA's and we found this one to be very nice. It is somewhat close to I-80, but we didn't hear very much road noise. The park was not very full on this weekend and we were not parked next to anyone. About one-third of the park seems to have long-time guests. The bathrooms were quite clean and warm. They kept a heater running all the time which was nice for that middle of the night bathroom visit. It was very quiet without any children running around. There is also some pretty good barbecue in the nearby strip shopping center. We'll stay here again when in the Sacramento area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$44
This is a typical KOA, expensive if you don't need all the amenities and recreational features they offer, but for the location there isn't anything better. The sites are long but not overly wide and there is no grass or other landscaping. They're angled so that you're not necessarily right next to your neighbor's windows, but it's still fairly close quarters. They do allow rig washing in the campground, which is nice; the office staff seems very helpful; the laundry is on the small side but spotless. The cable TV seems good and the Wi-Fi is adequate, if on the slow side. We'll stay here again, for the location if nothing else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
The office staff very pleasant and helpful. There's a small lake in the rear of the park, and we were there in August, so the mosquitoes were out in force. The mosquitoes were nothing compared to the absolutely huge spiders hanging over the walkway and doorway to the bathrooms. The tent area in this park is very large, and it was filled with families and very noisy children and teenagers on the weekend. It was much more quiet during the week. It's close to a freeway, and Sacramento doesn't have much in the way of RV parks. In spite of the spiders and mosquitoes, we'd stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
The positives: The store was really nice. The people who worked there were really nice, and seemed to be working hard to plant more flowers and fix up the place. We actually elected to leave sooner than our reservation and they very politely refunded my money. The negatives: Unlike many KOAs, this was not really a family friend place. It is a giant, gravel parking lot with no trees or bushes between sites. There is just a picnic table and hook-ups between each site. There are no fire pits, nothing that would suggest camping. The pool is very small and was closed for repairs when we arrived (in mid July). It is very close to the interstate. Usually KOAs are nice places to take families with small children, this place is simply a place to hook-up while you are staying in the Sacramento area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Very nice for a KOA. Gravel spots. Very clean. Friendly hosts. Easy on/off I-80. Some 50 Amp available. I would not hesitate to stay here again. I noticed the same thing as a previous poster. We had them park someone right next to us when there could have been a little separation and the park was only about 25% full. Could hear the freeway, but not an issue. Some sites are a little narrow. Our fist site we had a large post near the the next site's sewer and could not put out our awning, but were able to move to a different site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$44
This campground had ample room to maneuver my 45' rig. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was adequate. The KOA is located in a metropolitan area, and there were several "locals" tenting with numerous children of all ages. The noise level was high, but quiet hours were observed and enforced. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
This was a very nice park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It has a nice pool and Saturday morning pancake breakfast. The campsites are a bit too close together and the pads are gravel. But we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$42
Conveniently located directly off of I-80 in West Sacramento. Friendly and helpful staff. Most sites are gravel, with a few paved. Some freeway noise, but not unbearable. Park is clean and well maintained. Only negatives we observed were 1) even though the park was only partially full, the check-in staff could have done a better job of leaving at least one space between people currently there and new arrivals. 2) even though the rules state that you are not to drive or walk through empty sites, the staff ignore those rules. This is rather irritating when you have the door open and are watching TV or other activities. This is especially annoying when you travel with small dogs as they get excited and like to "protect" the homestead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$40
I read old posts and was reluctant to come here, but I needed a KOA near Sacramento. Well, you can forget the old posts. There is new management. 11 sites have been upgraded to 50amp. One of the bathhouses is brand new, inside and out, and spotless. The other has been completely redone, and is also spotless but not new. As we got here they were painting, and planting flowers. The only complaints are that the site water pressure measured only 35PSI and there is considerable road noise, but it didn't keep us awake. Starbucks, Subway and Denny's is within walking distance. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$42
While this park has been cleaned up from the time we stayed here 3 years ago, it still needs some work. For $42 a night and only 30 amp is a bit much. And even running one air the voltage was 112 which is near the bottom limit of acceptable. With the typical KOA dirt sites it was not an attractive park. Too bad Sacramento has no nice RV parks given the fact that there is so much to do there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$38
This park is a nice stopover if traveling in Central California. Fairly level gravel pull throughs with full service. Some grass next to the pond. There is a pond and camping facilities. Many permanent residents, but are located in the back of the park. Friendly, accommodating staff. Allowed off-leash dog exercise in a grass field adjacent to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Beautiful and well maintained. Felt very safe here, and actually saw security at 2 in the morning! Bathrooms and showers are old, but clean. WiFi is excellent! Sites are clean, easy pull through for us, plenty of room. Office/gift shop is FANTASTIC. I would LIVE here if I could! Lake access, fishing, etc, not a lie like many other websites. What they say on their site is what you get. THIS IS A GREAT FAMILY KOA! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2005
$40
Excessive fee for service provided. Extremely poor customer service. Personnel were not in control of park and were not helpful at all in helping us locate a suitable spot. Some sites that are assigned to larger rigs are too small with low hanging branches. Shore power in some sites are on passenger side. We were assigned 3 sites before we took control and found one that wasn't already occupied. Was a waste of money! We won't be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$39
This KOA is located off I-80 just behind a small industrial park. Although in a rough part of town, it is fenced in and feels safe. The campground was very full and had only a few open overnight spots. It has all the amenities that one would expect from a KOA. Our main complaint is that the price they are asking seemed too high at $39 a night. Since they are about the only game in town, they can ask what they want, but we won't return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Good for a short stay. Very convenient to I-80. Typical KOA. Sites are narrow. Eveything is graveled. Few small trees. On the positive side, all utilities worked properly. The instant telephone hookup is great! All parks should have them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com