206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Wenatchee State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (509) 763-3101
CGID4556

Lake Wenatchee State Park

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   8   1   9   7   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$23
We were only able to book a standard back-in campsite with no hookups, so access was a bit tight. For us, the ideal campsite would have been in the South loop where the main beach and play areas were. Park was clean and every site was full, which is typical for a WA state park on a summer weekend. We'll go back, but we'll do a better job of picking a site which will make a huge impact on my family's fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
I had never been here before and was surprised by the number of sites there were. Our group had 2 sites right next to each other according to number but wasn't as the map had shown. I thought they would have been more spaced out than actually were but it worked out just fine. The restrooms were clean for the number of people who were there and the ones down by the beach were even cleaner. The host were great! I even took a stroll on their cart delivering fire wood to the other campers. Good time but off weather. Will return! We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
This is a beautiful park, and the fact that it was very quiet during the July 4th weekend was really appreciated. The one thing that knocks the score down is the mosquitoes. They are thicker than flies at a garbage pit; we burned through 4 big citronella candles and two bottles of Deep-Woods bug repellent over a 4 day weekend. The beach has two parts, the lake side which was warm but rocky, and the river side which was sandier but frigid from the snow melt. The bugs were still thick, even resting 20 feet offshore. TV reception was non-existent with the antenna, since there are several mountain peaks between nearby Leavenworth and the park. We don't have a dish, but the trees kept interrupting our Sirius/XM reception. My wife & daughter used the parks showers and reported them clean, but outdated. My daughter didn't put her jeans on the stall doors hook, and they got pretty wet from the overspray. There was plenty of hot water and the structure was clean and bug free. Water pressure in the RV was fine, as was the 50A service the few hours we needed the A/C on. That night, we ran the electric heaters and they performed fine, even with both TV's and laptops running. Word of warning: The park still has part of the south campground closed due to diseased trees, so if you have a long motorhome you will not be able to maneuver around that loop. Make sure you reserve, and enter, the North campground. Finally, the park is about 30 road miles from the city of Leavenworth, and there are lots of deer and elk in the area, along with some bears. Drive at (or under) the speed limit in the area; the does like to walk down the middle of US2 at dusk, fortunately a beep of the horn drives them back into the brush. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
This state park is very nice. All the outside pull-thrus in the North campground loops have water and 50 amp electricity. A nice job has been done trimming almost all trees to prevent scratches. Loop 2 in the North campground was closed for some tree removal and all of the South campground was closed for the same reason. Access to boat launching and beaches for swimming in the summer were excellent. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
This park had to close early in the season due to an emergency. Check the park website for updates as to when it will reopen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
This park was packed for a fall weekend! We arrived about 10A on a Saturday and only found 3 pull thru full service sites. The area was experiencing a cold front so the water was turned off at the sites. I have a 40ft American Coach and had troubles with the pull thru. We ended up at site 101, tight fit but we managed. So peaceful and quiet. A lot of trees so OTA TV or satellite was not possible, that's OK we have a large selection of DVD's. Close enough to Wenatchee we did get the local radio stations for news. My Verizon Wireless service was solid 4 bars, blackberry worked very well. Just watch your corners as its tight for a bigger coach, but so beautiful and worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
Located 20 miles west of Leavenworth, this is a good campground if you want to get back to nature. Nice walking trails located near the lake. Larger RV's and fifth wheels should use the north campground as the south campground has tighter turns and smaller sites. Limited sites available for larger RV's. It is a very popular park - we arrived at 4pm on the Friday of Columbus Day weekend, and we were lucky to get a site, let alone one that would accommodate our 40' RV. The sites on the outside of the loop have electric and water, and the sites on the inside of the loop are for dry camping. The electric / water sites are semi-circular pull-throughs and the turns on many of them are too tight for long RV's. The dump station located at the entrance is well designed and accommodates two RVs. We would give the park a higher rating if some of the low branches were cut back, and the pull-through sites were designed better for larger RVs. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
This is a very popular park in the summer. It's so popular that "reserved" signs don't always get posted at the camping sites. At the park entrance, there is a sign specifying that if you don't have a reservation, you can pull into an "unmarked" site, but you are still required to check the "posted list" at the pay station. This applies both to the utility and regular sites. I didn't have a reservation and I had to move twice because an unmarked site ended up being on the "posted" list as "reserved." The camping sites are not very level but heck, it's a forest! Site #120 is the worst for not being level. Although this is a utility site, I recommend that you use this one for tent camping only. The entire area of Site 120 is a very steep "dip" and I don't see how any type of RV or trailer can get level on that one. I had pulled into this slot, and ended up moving a third time after deciding I couldn't deal with the "dip" in that site. I eventually found a site I could stay in. I have stayed in this park before when I didn't have electric leveling jacks and it was a pain to get level. However, this time, I had the electric jacks, and no problem (except for Site120)! The "community waste dump" at the entrance of the park is set up so that two RV's can dump at the same time, and it doesn't matter which way they come in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
If you like serenity and being in the woods, this is the campground for you! We stayed here in off season and during the week, and there was hardly anyone there. The lake is just minutes away along well-maintained hiking trails, though in the northern park (where w/e hookups are) there isn't a beach for swimming. The south area has a nice day area with a beach. A dump station is conveniently located at the entrance to the northern campground. We were able to negotiate the northern area with a 40-foot rig and toad. Don't try it in the south, however. Roads are tight, rough, with very sharp curves. The restrooms were very clean, hot showers 50 cents for 3 minutes. The only problem we had was one leg of our 50amp circuit was not hot and they didn't seem to know how to fix it. There is a small convenience store, cafe and bar nearby, but not much else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
The north entrance to Lake Wenatchee State Park contains the RV spots, both utility and non-utility. The south entrance appears to be only for tents. The "utility" spots are located on the outer edge of Loop 1 and Loop 2 of the north entrance. The utility sites contain a "half circle" RV parking spot, on dirt, where you "bend" your RV around the half circle in order to connect to the post (more difficult with the larger rigs!). The "half circle" was very uneven, but it's a forest, what can you expect? I use Lynx blocks and I gave up trying to get level. But, on the good side, along with your RV parking spot, you get a very spacious picnic area and a tent pad. TV reception via antenna was sufficient, not perfect, but sufficient. You can get the networks and PBS. A popular lake and boat ramp are within walking distance, and there is a store for some supplies. If you choose to dry camp, the non-utility sites in the north entrance have good back-in slots with the same spacious picnic area and tent pad. There are sufficient trees for adequate shade, but spaced far enough apart that privacy is compromised. You can see all your neighbors and they can see you! The reason for the trees being spaced apart is the result of a posted forest management plan which actually made sense to me, even though I'm not a botanist or vegetation expert. I enjoyed my stay despite sleeping very unlevel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$22
The north camp sites are better suited for RV's as they have power and water. I believe all the sites have been upgraded to 50 amp service (our site was anyway). Awesome privacy. Wonderful hiking. Great swimming. Lots of play areas for the kids! Only improvement we'd like is sewer hookup - but it is a State Park. We left this campground to stay at Thousand Trails with some friends. Funny, we kept driving back to this park to swim and play! We would absolutely stay here again. It's wonderful! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com