220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Doran Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (707) 565-2267
CGID4560

Doran Park

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   10   7   2   7   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$34
Just stayed there 7 nights dry camping. Place was booked heavy for MLK weekend. We managed to grab a first come first served spot, of which there are only 20-30, and some are only deep enough for small trailers or tent trailers. You are allowed up to 10 days in those spots. Very close walk to the beach. Most sites are reservation sites which have to be made 10 days in advance. Those sites have the best views of the bay and Pacific Ocean. The rate is now $32 plus $2 per dog. Dump station is $7, any credit or debit card. Check in was cash or Visa, Mastercard, no American Express. They just repaved with new asphalt, except the campsite areas. The turnoff from the highway all the way to check in and the main road is all fresh, very nice. Satellite service with our Kingdish was spotty, but AT&T air card worked great. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Great beach. For northern California. The beach sand is fairly soft on bare feet. Ready to walk to. It can get foggy and windy. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
We were very pleased with this campground. We stayed 2 days with son and granddaughter, and we had a great time even in February! The fog horn was not really a problem, after awhile you get used to it. The beach is nice, people are nice. There is water available to fill your tanks and a dump station for when you leave. We found the camp hosts friendly and helpful, the bathrooms clean and the campers to be considerate. We will definitely be going back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Spectacular setting with the beach across the street from the campsite. Amazing wildlife and spectacular views from the Head! Fog horn was a bit annoying but nothing ear plugs won't fix! Can't wait to go back!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This campground sits on the bay and does have some beautiful settings. It's too bad that California outpriced and outspent itself so it's State Parks had to suffer. Because now you go to a County park which have jacked their prices right under the State Parks, yet virtually give you nothing except a fire pit and maybe a random water spigot. We camp as little as possible in this state, probably because we remember what it was like when it was reasonable to camp here. (To bad). I can't believe they took the one affordable outing and messed it up. We stayed here one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
I have always been a fan of Doran Park, until this last (ever) trip. Sonoma County has done absolutely nothing to maintain the park. The areas are overgrown with noxious weeds, which are loaded with fox tails, making it difficult, at best, to walk your dogs. They have also become very unfriendly and grumpy. The front tire of my tow vehicle was slightly touching the sand and they gave me a notice that I was in violation and had to park completely on the pavement. I would have been okay with that if the enforcement was consistent. However, a motorhome was parked sideways, with both front wheels completely on the sand and remained that way for four days. The park is no longer a value for the money. It is now $28/day, plus an $8.50 reservation fee, plus $2/night per dog. For $9 more I can camp at the Marina RV park with full hook ups, and a view of the bay. Needless to say, I will not be returning to Doran Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Nice park on a strip between the bay and the Pacific. No waves because of a breakwater. They charge for dogs after you arrive. Bathrooms and showers were OK. Our site was long enough so we didn't need to unhook. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
This place is great. A super value for California ocean camping. The county has done a good job keeping the park up. No hookups, but a free dump station is available. Pretty level asphalt to park on. Fire ring and table at each site. We stayed on the bay side for 2 days, then moved to a site on the jetty that backed up to the Pacific. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Windy sites. Shell campground, sites 25-27 are protected. Shell loop has pit toilets only, but showers are within walking distance on next loop. No hookups. Great beach for kites. Limited bike trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Nightly rate reflects disabled pass discount. We stay here several times a year and are never disappointed. Easy access to campsites. Restrooms and showers are clean and well stocked. Camp host is friendly and helpful. The park rangers are very active, driving through several times daily. I would have rated the park higher, but the main access road is in need of extensive repairs. Lots of nice people and an all around good time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
Just got back from Doran yesterday. We cannot wait to go back! Clean, great hosts, great rangers, wonderful campground. We stayed 3 nights, and wish we could have stayed longer. They had a wonderful beach model wheelchair that they loaned to us for my brother so he could go to the beach. Very nice extra! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
The positive; great views, close to ocean and Bodega Harbor. The negative; not much privacy between some sites during peak season. Weather was great two of three days visited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
I will stay here again. The park host keeps everything in order and is very helpful. The sites are nice, all have fire pits and water is close. It is normally very windy so it is nice to have the fire at night. Some of the sites are large enough to pitch a large tent with the RV so the whole family can camp together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$19
We had a site looking right out onto the beach and into the water. We couldn't ask for a more picturesque setting, too bad it was so windy. The wind kicked up so much that the sand from the beach was blowing into our mouth, ears, and for those without glasses, eyes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$19
Great views from all sites. Jetty was quite crowded, but smaller campgrounds were equally as attractive and not as popular. Plenty of room for big rigs in the individual campgrounds, especially Shell and Gull campgrounds. Some jetty sites too short for monster rigs, with pilings in the way in some places. Sites are level with plenty of room for hang-over and side by side parking for pull vehicle, with good separation for privacy. Dump station is very tight and narrow, although it was clean. Park people were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
Just a flat spot of asphalt with no amenities, but the location made up for it. Jetty Campground was a little noisy because of the boats coming and going, but the beach was awesome for walking. Try for one of the 2 campgrounds further back, especially along the road with an ocean view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
This is a nice place to go if you can get in. You have to make reservations 10 days ahead of time and people can book the sites a year in advance. Good Luck! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$24
Nice campground on the beach. Its great if you have your own shower as the showers are a little rough. It is right on the beach with the sound of the ocean to go to sleep to. I love it here and have come many times. It does have its windy days, so bring some games in case you are stuck in the Rv. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
We like the set up at Doran beach with the privacy and the ocean nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$17
Nice campground right on the beach. Some sites are ok for larger (36') motorhome but the overhang is over vegitation. Campground is right on the beach. We hear that the surf is safer here than other nearby beaches. Can be windy. No hookups and reservations highly recommended. Dump station on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$17
This is dry camping with flush toilets, showers, water, and dump station nearby. This park is beautifully located on the tip of the peninsula between Bodega Bay and Bodega Harbor! There are a variety of things to do and see in and around this coastal paradise. Fishing, hiking, boating, sightseeing, relaxing at the camp site, kite flying, windsurfing, whale watching (seasonal), and playing on the beach are all popular. We camp here several times a year especially when it gets hot in the Sacramento Valley! Having a quiet generator is a must (if you want to keep your neighbors happy). The sites are well spaced and vegetation makes some sites somewhat private. Reservations well in advance is a must although there are 19 first come first served sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com