223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Mayflower County Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (760) 922-4665
CGID4571

Mayflower County Park

Camp Information
Sites
152
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   9   8   8   7   8   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
Rate reflects Passport America Discount. We stayed when the park was not very full. If you came here during their peak season sites would be very close together. Campground is on a grassy field and fairly easy to level. Site were not long enough to leave the truck / trailer attached. This was okay for a one night stopover, but would not be my first choice for a longer stay. Verizon, AT&Tm and Sprint all had very weak coverage for data and phone at this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
End site with great views. All grass camp area. Weekly and monthly rates excellent. Bumpy interior roads. Passably clean restrooms. Odd dump station, honey wagon weekly. Next year we'll stay for a month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
The rate is for a primitive site. We love to find places like this a few miles off the interstate. Very quiet at night. No generators allowed, we love that concept. Airplane noise as of 6:30 in the morning. Most dry camping sites are for smaller RVs except for #1 and #10, which are easy to back in to. However, watch out for some bent trees when making your turns inside the park. There was a picnic table, but no fire pit. Site was about level. Our Verizon worked well. Wi-Fi is offered, but we didn't try. We'll bookmark this park for an overnight stay when traveling again in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
This is a great place to camp. The views are incredible, the entire park is full of trees and somewhat-dead but often-watered lawn (this is in the desert), and it's a wonderful place to go with kids and dogs. Right outside of the park you can take your dogs off-leash to run. We love this park and have discovered that it's even better in the fall as there aren't many people there. In the winter, it's packed with snowbirders who are there for months at a time. While there are no septic hookups, you can pay extra to have your tank pumped 3x a week during weekdays only, or haul it to the septic hookup in the park to empty your tank. Wi-Fi is so-so here; better if you are near the office, but views are better at the opposite end. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
We are traveling cross country in a large Motorhome and trying to economize using Passport America parks. We stopped at Hidden Beaches RV Park. It was well advertised. It was $22 a night with the PA discount, but had limited 50 amp service and didn't seem very appealing. We decided to try our luck just down the same street at the state park. They don't honor PA discounts after September 30th, but it was well worth the extra $8.00. The park is hosted by friendly volunteers. It was almost empty, so we were able to pull in an the back end of the park with an unobstructed view of the mountains and Colorado River. It was peaceful and beautiful. A great spot to sit in the sun and read or fly your RC plane. Not sure what it would be like in the summer, but November was spectacular. There is a community dump site as you leave, but power and water were ample. Wi-FI was a free code that was weak, but with so much beauty, who wants to be on the computer? If you want a rustic getaway for a little more money, this fits the bill! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$34
Level grass sites, try to avoid the sprinklers. Very quite and serene. Worth the drive off the 10 for an overnight. Office was closed but a lady gave us a Tengo free wifi coupon. We hooked up to power only. Would stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Hot!!! It got to 114 the day we arrived, but was 93 by the time we arrived. Friendly staff, good Wi-Fi, right on the Colorado River. Good power, restrooms so so but clean. Best not to park in the first row as the sprinklers ran all night and passing through the tree branches, plastered our tow vehicle with a sticky, oily residue that took awhile to clear. Overall, a pleasant stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
Sunday, April 14 – Mayflower Country Park, Blythe, CA: This is right over the state line from AZ interstate 10 heading west. It cost us $12 with Passport America, but they don’t honor it during the winter months when this park is full. We had a half shade site with water and electric. This park sits on the Colorado River, but it is too dangerous to swim in it and warnings are posted. Check in was efficient and the guy was really nice and informative. There are no reservations; it’s a first come first serve park. Picnic areas are in the park and the bath house serves both those camping and those using the park for the day. The bath house needs to be updated. It is old, used, but it was clean. There is RV storage in the park, lawn bowling, and three loops for camping. We were allowed to pick our own site. On a Sunday night in April less than a third of the sites were taken. Fine for an overnight! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
The rate of 12.50/day reflects the Passport America discount. Sites are spacious but parking is on grass. Driveways are just sand and grass. Some driveways are difficult to get through because of loose sand. The water supply is really gross, as in nothing I could bear to taste. The park is too far from cell towers for reliable service, at least on my Sprint cell. Verizon air card service was weak. The good: the park is in a scenic location on the Colorado River and is a peaceful setting for a relaxing stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$9
The rate reflects the monthly fee of $275 which includes electricity, water, thrice weekly honey wagon service, free Wi-Fi (much improved), and limited antenna TV. This is definitely not resort-style living, but a charming park for snow birders seeking value, pet-friendly surroundings, friendly neighbors, helpful staff, loose rules, some group activities (lawn bowling, potlucks, ice cream socials)and spectacular sunsets. It gets rather crowded and cramped in January with folks staying here rather than nearby Quartzsite, Arizona, but thins out nicely as activities wind down there. We stayed here 6 weeks last winter and 3 months this winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Super quiet, good-sized spots, very popular winter destination for snowbirds. Beautiful sunsets. Lovely views. Some permanent RVs in one part of the campground. Large campground. Very pet friendly. Many places to walk dogs off leash right outside of the campground. This place literally shuts down around 7 p.m. - it's very quiet all night. We've camped here before and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
I've got to give them credit for "trying". Latest bond issue improved the entry area, maintenance & administration buildings. Gate keeper on the way out (we came in too late to see them the night before) informed us that another bond issue was scheduled to upgrade the rest room/showers which appeared VERY basic from the outside. Great access to the Colorado River but actual sites are simply quasi laid out over sand/dirt/grass. Would probably give it another shot to see how that other bond issue affected the overall layout. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Our overnight stay was $22 plus $1 for each dog. It has a nice looking brick pavers at the entry road with nice looking masonry buildings for the administration functions. The actual camping area is more rustic though. It consists of gravel roads with a fair amount of grass areas throughout the campground. We pulled in here for an overnight stay and rather liked the place. It has quite a few tall trees scattered throughout. There is a boat launch ramp down into the Colorado River. At this point the river almost looks like a wide canal with swiftly flowing current. There is water and 30 amp electric but no drains at the sites. The high mineral content of the water makes it less than desirable for drinking. Bottled drinking water is suggested. The sites are not well defined as to where you should park. The hookups are located at the front of the site as you pull in. While we were there a tank truck came around to pump out RV holding tanks. This is I believe a service several times a week for the monthly snowbirds during the winter season. We dumped on the way out, but there was overflow water sitting in the concrete basin surrounding the 4 inch drop inlet at the dump station. This campground is in a quiet location. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Rates: $18 dry camping, $22 with electric, $110 for 7 nights. There are lots of shade trees and mild winters which makes this a great snowbird location. It's quiet and pretty, surrounded by mountains. Dogs are supposed to be leashed, but there are nearby dirt fields where you can take your dogs off-leash. This is not your typical cement or gravel park, nor are there excessive rules about leaving your stuff outside. (I noticed a lot of comments about snowbirders who live here for months.) There are also lots of activities here, such as potlucks, book-sharing, etc. We'd certainly come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
The river is pretty and the lady checking us in was nice. That's about all the good I can say. Roads are awful with big ruts. I was told to pull into any available site. It was difficult to tell where one spot was and the next ended. People were every which way - diagonal, straight in, backed in. The bathroom/shower was dirty. There was no soap or towels/dryers by the sink. The Wi-Fi worked well. It's free for the first day. There was no cable. Most of the time I got one station. I won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$10
This Park is owned and operated by Riverside County. We feel it is the best in their system. We had the most enjoyable stay last winter. The atmosphere is friendly with many snowbirds from Canada and well as the northern United States. The park is located on the Colorado River and is only 25 miles from Quartsite, AZ. It is generally quiet and clean! Although it does not have sewer hookups they operate a "honey wagon" that pumps out your holding takes 3 times a week for long term stays. They offer an excellent monthly rate during the winter! This park has been the best place we have ever experienced! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
We have been here many times over the past several years. The people are always nice, and the snowbirds are very friendly. We found that many of them have been spending the winters here for over 20 years. There is Yard Bowling every week that many people participate in. The spaces are large. Large enough to park sideways in your spot if you want, and people do. The water is OK for showers and toilet, but I would not drink it. Filtered water delivery is available, and many snowbirds do this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
This was our second time to use this park. Many snowbirds stay here for months at a time. In the area with the water and electric hookups the sites are extremely close together, arranged rather haphazardly and have no privacy, but folks seem to enjoy all the socializing with their neighbors. If you like a real neat and tidy campground, this isn't it. People have stuff all over the place, but everyone seems quite good natured about it all. For just a short stay we like the dry sites even though they can be a little tricky to maneuver into. This time we got a site with a view of the river and some nice big old shade trees. As with the last time we stayed here, the campground host allowed us to hook up to the water faucet near our site. People have commented on the water. In general, when traveling in the Southwest we use tap water only for showering, doing the dishes, etc. We stick to bottled water for drinking. We like this campground as a base for seeing Quartzsite. It's a lot prettier than anything you'll find in Quartzsite and a lot more quiet too. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$22
A OK stop between Indio and Phoenix. Friendly staff. Sites are not marked. Park on grass/sand. No reservations. But the park was only about 1/3 full. I took two spaces and parked in C11/C12 facing south to get good satellite TV. Very hard water so I did not hook up water but used water from my fresh water tank. The park is 'run down' with very little maintenance taking place. Speed bumps - ugh. But for $22 a day well! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$17
It is a great price, but it's difficult to figure out where to park. Roads going to campsites hardly exist, but the price is right and the WiFi is free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$11
Nice, quiet place to crash en route between PHX and Calif grandkids. Accepts PA (half-price) Oct-Apr, sure cannot figure out why not the whole year. It seems to be a boater's paradise, folks come with watercraft to launch on the Colorado River. We stayed here in both directions during Apr/May travels to visit the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
Very friendly and attentive. There are no sewer hookups, but the honey wagon arrives 3 times a week. This is not a resort and makes no such claim. The restrooms and showers were clean. The snow birders have created many activities that anyone can participate. Monthly rate of 250.00 including electricity makes this a incredible deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$14
Very nice county park on Colorado River, just north of town. Park is all grass with sites clustered around utility poles servicing 4 RV's. Layout seems haphazard. Very friendly staff and residents. Hookups are electric and water only, but pumpouts are free 3 times a week. Very well kept grounds with good walking areas. Very good value for long term stays, only $250 a month, electric included. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
This park was a dissapointment based on the 10 it received from a previous visitor. We found the grass sites very bumpy to get to in our motorhome. The electric hookup was 50 amp, but we had a "caution light" constantly on our SurgeGuard. There were obvious "long termers" here for a long time: plants planted around, etc. It was very good for what it was, but don't expect a "10" resort or even an "8" RV Park. Nice trees, shade, and river access for boaters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
This is a really nice County Park that is also a Pass Port America park. We paid only $9 for a 50 amp site with water. Beautiful green mowed grass, picnic tables. Shade trees. Huge park with hardly anyone in it. Right on the Colorado River. We will come back if ever in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
We spent 3-5 months during the last 3 winters here. Quiet and peaceful during the snowbird season. No highway noise. Bathrooms are old but clean. Honeywagon makes the rounds 3 times per week and is included for a week or longer stay. The birdwatching is good and there are mature shady trees,and beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Staff, volunteers and visitors are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$15
An oasis on the Colorado River, and very popular with folks staying awhile. Parking for the most part on the grass, with tall (Cottonwood?) trees all around for shade. Bathrooms not so great. Very reasonable weekly/monthly rates, friendly staff & campers - lots of folks there for the winter. A few miles to Blythe; nice desert town. Not too far to Quartzite, AZ (but a LOT more civilized) and the Arizona border is just a few miles away if you want to save $$$ fueling up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$17
This was a welcome discovery for us. We did not want to stay in Quartzite amid all the hoopla and dust and were pleased to find this county park along the Colorado River just a few miles west of the AZ-CA border. The water/electric sites are all crowded together in one area of the park and it was pretty full with snowbirds. We opted for a site in the no hook-ups area and had it pretty much to ourselves. Some of these "dry" sites have access to a water tap and the camp host had no problem with our taking a site where we could connect to one (although she did warn us that most people drink bottled water. We had a nice view of the river and beautiful old shade trees all around us. One caveat - this part of the campground is a little tight to maneuver in, but the sites themselves are spacious. It's the trees that you have to watch out for. They crowd the access road and some have low hanging branches. I'm glad they are leaving them though for in the summer they must provide very welcome shade. We saw lots of birds here and it was quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
Nice place, but dusty and don't drink the water. They should plant the fields around the park to keep down the sand storms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$18
This park was a pleasant surprise. Hidden just past some of the less desireable campgrounds Northeast of Blythe. The sites are all on grass, 50 amp electric and water, and very quiet at night. All the hosts were very friendly and the park was spotlessly clean when we were there. We liked the convenience so well we used it again on our way back through a week later. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com