206553 User submitted reviews online!!
Virginia City RV Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (406) 843-5493
CGID4577

Virginia City RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   7   6   1   1   7   3   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Campground has gravel sites, good utilities but no cable and no stations available on the antenna. It is within walking distance of town if you are in shape and don't mind a short walk along the roadside with no sidewalk. Owners and hosts are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Very nice. Stayed three nights when we intended on staying only one. Friendly, helpful and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
What a difference from our visit last year! The new owners have definitely made improvements in the park, and the staff is very friendly. We traveled with our two dogs, and this year is was very pleasant. If you have had a bad experience before, I would recommend giving them another try. The rates are reasonable. $35/FHU, $30/W/E. Cabins too. The bathrooms are very clean. I loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
We were reluctant to stop here due to previous reviews. Then we saw they had changed hands. So we stayed one night and it was fine. They are indeed under new mgmt and the new owners are apparently trying to change previous reviews. The scenery is beautiful, and it is located very close to Virginia City. No discount for GS, etc., and the price seemed too high. Gravel sites which were a bit of a pain to get the MH level. All in all though, I would stay here again. Free Wi-Fi which worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
This park is under new management by RV people who own the park. The last owners let the park go down but new owners are working hard to clean up problems and rebuild the place. Park is OK and I think you will see a large change here soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
If you enjoy camping in a campground that more closely resembles a prison yard than a campground you have found the place! The commandant and his prison guards will keep a close eye over your every movement and will not hesitate to yell or demean you at any perceived infraction of the 3 page rules list. The guards are extremely unfriendly and aggressive to the point where you can feel they might actually physically assault you. The campsites are close together with no real grass and a lot of mole holes and gravel. The bathrooms are very crude and plain and also closed from 10:30 a.m to 12:30 p.m.. If you need a bathroom during this time the "hosts" will gruffly inform you that the closest one is in town a mile away. We never felt alone as we camped as the guards would constantly stare at us and even walk around the edge of our site watching and listening to our every word. Checkout is at 11 a.m and if you aren't 100% out of the park by then get ready for an aggressive confrontation and threats of police action as you will be informed that you are trespassing (this did not happen to me but I witnessed it happening to others). This was by far the worst RV park I have ever had the displeasure of staying in. The people and places in Virginia City are great and well worth the visit just pass this RV park by and find somewhere else to stay, you'll thank yourselves for it later! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Quite amazing this campground is in business. A for sale sign out the front - possible for the cabins or perhaps the whole campground. Owner was extremely rude, very upset about a tent on the grass. Wanted it moved immediately, stood there to see if we did move it. We in fact moved it, out of his park, and our whole party as well. Were going to stay for 2 nights in Virginia City, left after only one due to this owner. Called the Chamber to let them know how 2 big families left the town after only one night stay. No response from Chamber. Would never stay again, too strict, too rude and quite frankly, felt this owner would resort to violence to get his way. Virginia City however was pretty good, for 1-2 day visit. Easy to do the town in an afternoon and just keep on travelling. Don't even think of camping here. Looked like a nice KOA just 20 minutes west in Alder. Wi-Fi worked intermittently due to power failures. Water hook ups had a short thread, difficult to get a good seal. Bathrooms under construction. Nothing remarkable about this RV park. Hope some one else buys this place, it is in a convenient location. Beware if you do stay and lock your doors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Park was quaint and secluded. Could have used a little mowing in places but considering that the snow had not been gone long, it was OK. Managers were helpful and courteous, seemed concerned about us being comfortable. I understand park is under new ownership. Former owner was a bit of a tyrant but we enjoyed our stay here in spite of him. I will return and am sure will find it just as cozy and probably refurbished, painted, mowed and enjoyable. Hope they consider that folks travel with pets and put in a small dog run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
When we were here the park was up for sale and it had been neglected. The managers were very friendly and nice. The owner, however, wasn't pleasant and made our visit uncomfortable. It would be nice if the park was "dog friendly." A divided play yard (one for big dogs and one for small dogs) would be great. Maybe it's something the new owner will consider as many travellers have dogs. Our small dogs got out once and the owner yelled at us from across the park to keep our dogs inside!!! So glad to hear the park is under new ownership and we look forward to our visit this summer. With new owners, those who wrote bad reviews might want to consider trying this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
The owners are apparently insane. Our family and some friends of ours decided to go for the weekend to Virginia City to see a play. Both of our families have children. After pulling up to the "Office" and being rudely treated by some angry passive-aggressive woman (one of the owners?) who made it clear she did not want us there, we received our THREE PAGE list of rules and restrictions (that should have been our first clue), on what we could and could not do at this little piece of RV heaven. Skeptically, yet still hopefully optimistic, we pulled into our treeless, dust-bowl of a campsite. No sooner had we opened the doors to let the children and the dogs out, he (The Owner) came barreling out of his cabin and bellowed at us from his front porch. "Get your damn dogs on a leash NOW!!@ZXX. Regardless to say, our optimism immediately evaporated and we tossed everyone back into the cars and drove back to the entrance where the office was to collect our money. My husband went in and moments later I hear the Owner screaming and swearing at my husband, saying he was going to call the sheriff. My husband kept saying "Fine, we'll leave, but I want my money back." It went on from there and when The Owner came around from the back of the counter, everyone feared that he was going to attack my husband. It was absolutely crazy. Long story short, don't stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Our WORST camping experience so far: First, we are retired folks, an electrical engineeer and a research chemist. Quiet and not troublemakers. I don't usually post reviews, but wanted to warn other RV'ers about this terrible place. This small canpground at first appeared to be an ideal spot from which to explore the Montana Ghost Towns of Virginia City and Nevada City. It was within walking distance to Virginia City, but the atmosphere was totally spoiled by the militant and unfiendly owner who handed out a three page list of rules written in an aggressive and unfriendly fashion, which perfectly mirrored his attitude. Our misfortune was to have a site right in front of his house. He wasted no time and was yelling at us for a leaky water hose while my husband was actually trying to set us up, tighten all connections, etc. RULES AGAINST EVERYTHING!!! The price for any infraction was stated @ $30, accompanied as well by the threat of being booted out of the park with no refund. Also,the ladies bathroom was a stark, not clean, cave: Dirty bare concrete floors, sinks were crudely set on two-by-four framework. Showers large but not well maintained. Book swap was actually book sales @ $1.00 each. I will say that the wife made an attempt to be friendly but was completely overshadowed by the actions of her mean-spirited spouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
I had the misfortune of thinking this was a nice RV Park. What a mistake. The male owner is a maniac who passes out THREE pages of his "RULES" and then runs around on a 4-wheeler hoping to 'catch' a violator so he can yell at you. His rules even threaten that the police will be called if he decides to kick you out for not following his numerous 'rules'. Very few other campers were there when we were in July 2008 and I can see why. Several other campers were also shocked at the behavior of the owner. He has no business being in the RV Park business. Maybe that's why it's currently For Sale. I hope someone buys it soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Do yourself a favor and forget this place! This was the worst experience we have ever had. The owner is a jerk. I mean very mean and cruel. We pulled up and saw that there was another family being helped so we decided to do a circle around to see if we wanted to tent camp or cabin camp. The owner rushed up to us on his four wheeler and asked us what we were doing. We told him we were just scoping out the place to see if we wanted to tent camp or get a cabin. He gruffly stated that there is no scoping allowed and that we were to have stopped at the office first. We headed down to the office and parked, and he rushed up to us once more and told us to leave the campground. We were stunned! We asked him why and he said because he did not want us staying here if we were rule breakers and could not even obey the rules posted on the front gate. There were no rules we checked on our way out. I started to tell him that we were going to purchase a site and he started yelling to get off his property! He was irate and we just left. I am so glad he showed his true colors before we stayed! My husband is a pastor and we have 3 little ones and our car was loaded on top of the luggage rack too so he knew we were traveling. We are very clean cut, upstanding people. I am only saying this because I can understand if we were rough looking people who were causing trouble. It was not like that at all. This owner is on a power trip and why on earth does he own a campground if he hates people? Also don't we have a right to see the place before we pay? It says all sales final so I am sure people pay and then just leave this dump after they see it and after the owner yells at them for something. Look at all the posts on here and stay away from this one! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
First, I have to say that I have stayed on a number of RV parks thru Idaho, Montana and Canada, this was the worst. It was not attractive, dump you might say, grass dead, weeds all around etc. My gripe was really with management. We went to Virginia City for the Cowboy Poetry Gathering. Always fun. While we were setting up our 5th wheel, my brother-in-law came to find out where we were going. Owner met him on his way out, yelled at him for not checking in and was calling the police to arrest him for trespassing. My mother-in-law went back to the RV park and explained that they were part of the party that she got reservation for. After the poet gather we all can back, part went to bed, this is 9:10, some of us set out around the tables talking. Quiet time is 9:00 and we were in our camp site. The owner then came out and told us that we had woke him and we where to be in our trailers and could not be talk outside. We disagreed and he called the police on us. He was going to have the men thrown in jail and evicted. When the police came they just ask us to go inside. Parked on a corner of the lawn, ask to move because it was stressing the grass (what grass, it was dead). Brother-in-law had to park pickup in park area and the next morning was charge $40. for parking. I will never go back, because he made us feel criminals. I have always had great experiences in other RV parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
This is the very worse experience we've ever had in a RV. This place is a dump! On a scale of 1 to 10 it's a minus 10 Dirty, run down, sites are too close, bad sewer smell, TERRIBLE RV park. We booked over the phone and were mislead by owners over the phone. Very big mistake! Virginia City and Nevada City are a great historic old west stop, A must see. Stay at the Nevada City KOA if you need a campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com