220520 User submitted reviews online!!
W W Clute Memorial Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (607) 535-4438
CGID4581

W W Clute Memorial Park

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   6   7   9   8   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Sites are tight with little to no shade. Bathrooms are clean and well maintained but old. Mostly seasonal rentals but they were all friendly. Close to the gorge, the track, the wine trail and downtown. We would come back if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
Nice park right on the end of Seneca Lake. Good size park with a lot of very neat seasonals. We definitely would like to be seasonal here too. Since we were traveling, we only stayed 3 days. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
This campground sits directly across the street from the south end of Seneca Lake in Watkins Glen. It is a convenient location for exploring wineries and other Finger Lakes attractions. The sites are not overly spacious, but adequate for our 3 slides and awning. The road through the middle of the campground leads to the town boat launch, so was busy, especially on the weekends. Lots of seasonal sites here, mainly in one section, all were well kept. This park is a good value and convenient to town. Walmart is just across the bridge, about a 5 minute walk. The town is about a 10 minute walk - boat tours, restaurants, ice cream, shops, etc. Our Sprint cell phones had strong signals, the Wi-Fi worked well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
This park is mostly fully of seasonal or long term campers. Many of the sites have permanent wooden decks but are well kept. A few have small refrigerators and plastic storage compartments outside. The seasonals also take up the best sites that have a view across the street of Seneca Lake. There is no pool here. You need to cross the street into a nice park that has playground equipment, picnicking and day use to go swimming in the lake. The roped off area is very rocky and mucky (no sandy beach here). The bathrooms are older but clean. WiFi was pretty useless and would not stay connected. However we had been warned at check-in that they were having problems with the WiFi. Cable TV was fuzzy. Fortunately there are only a few small shade trees so no problems with our satellite TV. Easy biking distance to town and Watkins Glen SP. Expensive for what you got, but not much choice in town since the State Park can't accommodate big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
The park is reasonably well maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful. Hookups, Wi-Fi and CATV all work well. Water pressure is high so bring a reducer. Strong Verizon signal and easy satellite setup. Sites are a little smaller than I would like. Marina is adjacent. There are many long term residents though they seem to keep their standards up. A few rigs are older, but none are derelicts and there was no rowdy behavior. Town is an easy walk away. Bottom line is, if you are coming mainly for the camping experience then this is probably a bad choice. If you want a decent, full hookup home base to explore Watkins Glen and the tourist attractions around it Clute should do nicely. My rate is based on a monthly stay. They also have weekly and daily rates. If I'm in the area again I will stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$43
If you are looking for a "State Park" feel, this is not the place for you. The RV area is a bit of a field, with a few young trees planted here and there. However, the non-camping part of the park makes up for this in spades! It is right on Lake Seneca, with a large clean waterfront, and great picnic areas. The park is fairly quiet, but centrally located. It is a 2 minute walk to WalMart, a 10 minute walk to town, and a 15 minute walk to Watkins Glen, which you MUST SEE! We stayed 3 nights and never needed a car. We were in site A9, at the back. All was good, except cable was fuzzy and Wi-Fi a little spotty. Definitely going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This community owned park is a good place to stay. There is little for children to do on site, but being in walking distance to the town with all there is to see and do, that shouldn’t be too much of a draw-back. Most of the sites are not shaded or private but they are spacious. Many seasonal sites but well-kept. The staff was wonderful, helping us to check-in, find our site and give tips on where to shop, eat, sight-see. We didn’t use the shower/restroom facilities. We stayed for 10 days. The WiFi a little slow but dependable and many cable TV stations. We drove through the local KOA and would much prefer to stay in this park. It is a public park (not gated) so there is some local traffic going through the main road, mostly boats on trailers going to and from the marina—but there are speed bumps and they keep their speed down. I would recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Nice city park right across the street from Seneca Lake Park. Full Hook-ups, cable TV, pull throughs. Showers were very clean and roomy. Lot's of things to do in the area, and walking distance to town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
As with previous posters we're rating this CG a 10 for location, as well as the superior staff. They were very friendly and helpful with information about the wineries, things to see/do, etc. The convenience of the lake/shops/town all within walking distance was great. The sites were level, but not overly spacious and/or private. VERY easy to get in/out of the sites. We stayed here 5 nights and would easily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
A great park which would've rated a '10' if they had a pool. Super location, CATV, WIFI, and check-in people. Beyond doubt the very best community-run facility we've ever encountered. Given the beauty of the finger lakes region, our enthusiasm for NY wine and the quality of this park, we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
This is a nice park. It is just across the street from Seneca Lake where they have a swim area with lifeguards on duty. My only complaint is there is no shade so it can be quite warm in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Location=10! This is THE place to be. The spaces are gravel, adequate and level but not roomy, and there isn't anything between them. Only a few with shade & many seasonal sites. They have 4 Wi-Fi points, but signal where we were was never more than about 60%, BUT...the good out-weighs the average. You are directly across the street from a park and public beach with swimming at the southern tip of Seneca Lake (2 min walk). There is a marina right there! 5 min walk to the Wal-Mart and 10 min walk to the Seneca Harbor and downtown! 15 min walk to the wonderful State Park! So close to so many wineries! Yum! For location, this place is a 10. The service is friendly and good and check-in is quick. Bathrooms were spotless and trash picked up daily. We loved it and will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
While this is a nice park, I would rate it as just a bit above average. The sites are roomy but not overly large. All sites appear to be level with picnic tables and are grass/gravel. The services work well and the Wifi has several channels and is some what slow at times. The cable service includes 83 channels and is very strong and clear. All and all an OK park but not a 8,9,or 10. Nightly rate is for a weeks stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
$245 a week. We are in a drive through site. What makes this park really special? Nothing. BUT: what they do, they do perfectly. Check in is a breeze and they really make you feel welcome. They also have a boat launch and marina. Daily garbage pickup. Dependable wireless internet. Seventy-eight channels on cable TV and few trees to block satellite access. You are close to EVERYTHING! Park is pet friendly and people pick up after their pets. Every space has a fire ring available. Lots are of ample size. We love this park, recommend it to everyone and will return! Beware: they have HIGH WATER PRESSURE at 80lbs. Use a regulator. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
The price reflects a 1 week stay rate, daily is currently $40. The park is perfectly located to explore Watkins Glen Village on foot. A Wal-Mart is a 5 minute walk and the staff are super friendly and helpful to visitors. Restrooms/showers were very clean. 50% of the park is seasonal and it gets fairly filled up during the summer season, advance reservations are a good idea. Sites (gravel) are level and adequate for any size rig. Its not a luxury park by any means but I rated it a ten on the basis of its cost/benefit for anyone visiting the WG area. They have multiple Wi-Fi channels and we had no service problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Very nice park with easy to get to spaces. Level, gravel sites. Easy walk to lake shore. Very friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
Nothing to complain about, but it’s nothing special either. Close to center of town and a perfect location for touring the Wine Trail or hiking The Glen (Bucket list). High water pressure, use a regulator. Renovated bathrooms, behind the office are handicap accessible and spotless. Fairly priced. Cordial staff assists you to park in accordance with strict municipal rules. Kids would probably be happier 6 miles up the hill at KOA. We were happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
A city-park campground, sites were spacious, grass pads, interior roads paved, very convenient to the village of Watkins Glen which was a very quaint community with free concerts in the park, etc. About 2/3 of the sites were occupied by seasonals, but well-maintained. Mandatory 10-foot spacing between any awnings or part of RV from each neighbor, so spacing was nice. Has view of the lake. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$99
We stayed in a deluxe kamping kottage. It was VERY nice but very expensive; we could have rented a vacation home and have been right on the lake. Overall just ok! $320.00 We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
This park is in a great location. You can walk or bike to shopping and restaurants. Right across the road is Senaca lake and there is a boat launch within the campground. The park itself is fairly basic, but nice. Sites are plenty big and the people running the campground are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at this campground again if I were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We spent a week in WW Clute Park in Watkins Glen and found the park very pleasant as well as the staff. Any problem you may have is handled professionally and quickly. The town of Watkins is within walking distance, restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. The park is across the street from Lake Seneca and most of the sites have a view of the lake. Each site provides ample space between units. We found the people very friendly in both the park and the town of Watkins. WW Clute RV Park and Watkins Glen are on our list as someplace we intend to return to often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We stayed here for 7 nights while we explored the Finger Lakes area and stayed for the Finger Lakes Wine Festival (GREAT FUN!). The campground is right across the street from Seneca Lake and there is a large park on the lake so it's great for dogs. The camp sites are fairly wide so you don't feel crammed on top on one another. There are a fair number of seasonal campers so there's a community here. That has its good side and its bad. The good is that everyone looks out for each other. The bad, at least for our site, was that there's a communal campfire near one of the bathhouses that is used until 1AM in the morning with some fairly raucous folks on the weekends. We could close up and turn on the A/C and drown them out, but if you like leaving the windows open, make sure you get a site away from the fire ring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
This is a very nice park located across the street from Seneca lake. The sites are large and the staff is friendly. They even offer to change your site if you are not happy. There is a super wal-mart within a 5 minute walk. You can see the lake from many sites. We had a great time. This campground is also pet friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
521 E 4TH St across the street from Lake Seneca. Stayed on site #C5 with 45 foot motorhome. Wal-Mart 3 blocks away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com