223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Redstone Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (970) 963-2439
CGID4584

Redstone Campground

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   6   7   10   7   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Steep price but power and water hookups at site in one of the most beautiful parts of Colorado. Road noise is considerable, at least on weekend days and early evenings: kind of a downer in a beautiful setting like this. NO verizon service except at General Store in Redstone. Otherwise Carbondale 20 minute drive away. Good digital TV reception: Grand Junction and Denver stations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This was our third time to stay at Redstone. We chose this campground because of the spacious sites and the fact it's one of the very few USFS campgrounds with hot showers. Unfortunately, no one told us when we made our reservation that the showers were broken. We discussed this with the host and considered leaving. The host said she didn't know if we could get any money back (we paid for a week) but she wouldn't charge us for the second vehicle we had at the campsite (friends of ours). But...on the 4th day one of the workers came to our camper and told us the showers had been repaired. We had been using our camper shower but the campground showers are much nicer! In spite of the shower situation, this campground remains one of our favorite USFS campgrounds. You do get road noise from highway 133, but it really dies down at night, and we didn't have any issues with noise. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
Nice campground located on a hillside above the Crystal River. The campsites were level and there were a mix of back-in and pull-through sites in two loops. Some small trees, but not a lot of shade. There were two composting toilets at the bottom of the hill and two showers and two flush toilets at the top of the hill between the two loops. The showers were free and used solar power to warm the water. As the campground is in a narrow canyon the highway noise carried up to our campsite but traffic died down in the evening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
The reason I gave this campground such a low score was the double site we had and the power problems. We were in site # 6 with site #7 next to us. The site was configured so poorly that when the people in site 7 arrived the power box was located next to the rear of our coach. They were about 40 feet short of reaching the electrical box. We lent them an extension cord but they still couldn’t reach it unless they parked right next to us. We plugged our power in earlier and didn’t have anything running in the coach. Later when we went in and we turned on our AC the power kept going on and off. Our low power/surge protector wouldn’t allow the power in. We spoke with the camp host and he was ADAMANT that it wasn’t the sites problem. He almost had us convinced too. We dry camped that night and left in the morning stopping at an RV park to ask if we could check our power in one of their sites. Plugged in and no problems! Unfortunately this park was booked over the weekend and we weren’t able to stay. We have stayed at 2 other parks since Redstone with no power issues. Redstone is beautiful and we were really looking forward to spending a week there. No Verizon cell signal and some sites are in the open so you can probably get your satellite in. Nightly rate is with our Golden Age Passport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
We stayed in the Mechau loop (site 15) and we liked the campground. This loop offers no hookups and tends to be VERY dusty. If people obey the 10 mph speed limit then it's not really too bad, but all it takes is one car going over 10 mph and your RV or tent will be full of dust. There is one shower per toilet house (composting toilets) and ours had no hot water while we were here (the others did). The terrain is very wooded and the views from the campsite were of the rock walls forming the canyon, not really of the mountain peaks (which would have been more appealing). The river was very high while we were here, so we did not venture near it. It's across the paved road outside the park and down a fairly steep grade. The nearest dump station is rumored to be in Glenwood Springs (but we couldn't find it), which makes this a short-term place for most RV camping. NO cell service on any of our carriers here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
We really enjoyed this campground. We were in the Allgiers Loop, which has 30 amp electricity and water hookups. There are many spaces that can handle large rigs. Our RV is 40' and it was no problem. The canyon is beautiful, and the little town of Redstone is fun. Don't miss the Redstone Castle tour. The restrooms were immaculate. CAUTION: There is no dump site here, so plan accordingly. We plan on camping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Redstone is a good base for exploring this beautiful part of Colorado. Frankly, there are few alternatives if one wants any hook ups. Set in a deep valley, the campsites are attractive and offer a variety of site sizes and configurations with pull-throughs and back-ins, some capable of accommodating large rigs. There is a choice between dry campsites on one side( Redstone II loops) and partial hookups with W/E on the other side (Redstone I loops). Overall, this may be one of the best choices in an area bereft of good campgrounds but it is certainly expensive for a NFS campground without a dump station, the nearest DS being some 20+ miles away. Drawbacks: the showers, whilst clean had a water flow that was at best a weak stream and there were several dogs wandering about off leash. Overall the concessionaire does a credible job of maintaining the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
What a great USFS campground! One of the best we have stayed in. Absolutely beautiful country! Water and electric only, no sewer hook-ups and no dump station available, be prepared! Hosts were VERY friendly and helpful. The surrounding area is gorgeous, the Towns of Redstone and Marble are must-sees! We had Space #17 that was an absolutely HUGE pull through with privacy and lots of space. Campsites here are really spread out. Easy driving distance to Aspen, about an hour. Will definitely be back some day! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
Very clean environment with fantastic views of the area. The hosts were very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
What a pleasant surprise this place was. It's a forest service cg, but has spacious, level sites with both water and electricity (careful - the closest dump station is about 25 miles away, east of Glenwood Springs. Ask the host where it is, or dump at your next destination). There are 3 loops, and the 2 to the left as you enter are the ones with electricity/water. You can hear the Crystal River behind site 26, but that's the host's site - the only one on the river. The rest are stair stepped up the side of the hill, so each has a great view. There are several "shared" sites - meant for parties of two rigs each. The forest service does "ranger talks" each Saturday evening; we were there for one about bears and mountain lions. The small bathrooms are waterless, self-composting toilets. The larger ones have showers, and the water is heated by solar panels. It was nice to have showers here, and they were very well kept. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$26
This is a great national forest campground just one mile from Redstone, Co. and beside the Crystal River, very clean and spacious sites. Redstone is a neat little town to explore and the town of Marble is the site of an old quarry where the marble for the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and Lincoln Memorial came from. Campgrounds is also very handy to Aspen and the Independence Pass road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com