219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Blackwater River State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (850) 983-5363
CGID4588

Blackwater River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   7   9   10   9   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
This is a very clean and beautiful campground. The interpretive trails are nice with lots of nice long bridges for the low areas. There is a small beach on the river, although the trail to it was flooded when I was there. There is additional access just down the road a short distance through the public use area. There is a posting to watch for "Gators", but it is Florida after all. I paid $20 per night plus tax via ReserveAmerica, not bad for full hook-ups. Lots of shade, most sites wide enough for large RV and toad side by side on the level pea gravel. The exceptions are sites 1, 2, and 4, which are smaller and have less shade. Cloths lines are provided along with both a fire pit and cooking grill. The playground has shade too. Most sites have vegetation between them so the seem private also nice spacing between. Sites 5, 6, and 29 have concrete pads, though they must be for handicapped campers. I was surprised to get most of my Dish Satellite channels, as my AT&T Internet fluctuated from 0 to 3 bars at my campsite. There is overnight parking for big rigs in the public use area for $5.33 per night. I would have given it a 9 or 10 except that the only dumpster I could find was in the public use area (quite a hike with a bag of trash) and the inconvenience of the registration office being only open between 5-7. The campground is well marked in both directions from I-10. You'll get on HWY 90 and turn at Deaton Bridge Rd (also signage for the park), drive about 3 miles on a decent road over a couple of bridges to the park, then about 2-3 miles to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
This was a wonderful state park with paved interior roads, 30 level gravel sites, strong 50-amp power, and water to all of them. Book this one early, it is very popular! Sites were spacious and widely separated from neighbors. All sites had sewer, a table, and a fire pit with firewood for sale at the ranger station at a reasonable price. The reception to our Verizon phones and MiFi unit was good. It was mostly quiet during our stay, and we enjoyed bird-watching and taking several long walks. There was a canoe rental company just down the road that offered rides from our car to the starting point, then we just paddled a few miles back to our car and took off - this activity is not to be missed! Bathrooms were clean and nice, as were the showers. Grocery stores and other businesses were quite a distance from this isolated park, so come prepared with plenty of supplies. We would have rated it higher except for a couple of items. The rangers were rarely available except in the evenings, which was inconvenient when we wanted to ask questions about hiking or other area attractions. The hiking maps that were offered were useless and trail head markers were non-existent. The other downside was the military helicopters flying over at low altitude almost constantly on several days during our week's stay, and that certainly took away from the serenity of this beautiful place. However, we would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Beautiful sites, seemingly recently upgraded. Stunning location if you like hiking. Florida Trail across road. We booked site by phone but later found it is easier to use the on-line reservation system as parks are very crowded at this time of year. We would have liked to stay longer. Immaculate level spacious sites. Need your own Internet access. Would have loved to stay here longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Stopped off here on the way to Disney World. It is a little off the beaten path but it was a welcomed rest stop. Other than the roads being a little tricky at night and the tree that was hanging out in my parking area and made backing in tricky, everything was fine. Very small and secluded place for a good nights rest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
Really enjoyed our stay. Checked in on Wednesday afternoon and checked out on Sunday morning. Since we arrived before 4 pm we went straight to our reserved site and then went back to check in between 4 and 6 pm per instructions. Rangers and host were very friendly and helpful. Site was gravel but perfectly level. A few other sites in the campground are concrete. All utilities worked well and roads were in good condition for driving or bike riding. Restrooms were clean. It was quiet the first two nights but louder on weekend nights since the campground was almost full. Good area for biking, canoeing and hiking since it borders the state forest. The park is pet friendly, but pets are not allowed on the beaches inside the park. However, we were able to let our lab swim by driving out to the end of Boat Ramp Rd in the state forest. Milton is less than 15 miles away and is worth the drive just to get donuts and blueberry turnovers from the Milton Bakery. We hope to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
Blackwater River State Park is a nice, clean, and quiet park in north Florida. The 30 spaces are arranged around two loops with a central bath house between the two loops and a campground host on each loop. The gravel lots were level and well maintained with a built in BBQ grill and a fire ring. The river is just down a very short path. While we were in the park, they were experiencing river flooding so all of the beach areas and boating access areas were underwater. We would like to come back when the river is at a more normal level. Choose this park for a nice quiet camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
Beautiful State Park, rangers and camp hosts very helpful. Paved roads with level fine gravel sites. FHU's are well placed and work well. We had to maneuver a bit to back a 42' toy hauler into site #26, but it was doable. We were able to find Dish network satellites after moving our portable dish onto our roof (Superbowl weekend), but all sites have beautiful pines and are not very satellite friendly. Verizon voice service was fine, data was erratic but usable. Dog friendly with usual leash and building restrictions, excellent walking paths along river and around lakes. Restrooms were extremely clean. About 10 miles to grocery and fuel. Daily trash pickup at site. Host rakes and cleans sites after each use. Minor issue: close proximity to heliport, daytime noise can be annoying. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
What a nice surprise this park was. Full hook ups, good electric, clean level sites. The town is 10 miles away with all the shopping you can use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Great State park that is far from the highway and in a very beautiful setting. Great sites with full hookups. The river beach is great and it is just a nice place for a night or for a week. We stayed in site #5 and it was a very wide concrete pad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
This is a small Campground as far as sites go. We stayed at this park as a overnight too and from our trip to Louisiana. Sites are nicely graveled sites. Sites are gravel base, each has W/E/S, outdoor grill, firepit and picnic table. Camp check was easy and very friendly ranger. Host on the campground takes pride in the camping area. The bathrooms were spotless, host wife cleans the restrooms and never heard a complaint from anyone about it being dirty. Plenty of hot water in the showers, nice clean toilet, showers and nice shower heads. We did not explore the whole park as we were here for one night going and one night coming but would definitely keep this on our books to stay again if we travel that way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Excellent park, quiet, well spaced sites with tree privacy. Minimal leveling on the pea gravel. Great sandy beaches on the river. Bathroom and showers were spotless. Campground host very friendly. Gate closes at 5pm. Call mid afternoon to get code if you are checking in late. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
This is a beautiful park among pine trees, very quiet. Large sites, clean and well kept, easy biking. There is a sandy beach within walking distance by the river and you can rent canoes and kayaks nearby. Nice walking trails and pavilions that you can rent for large functions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
Wonderful state park. Very private sites and extremely clean. Lots of great walking trails. New bathhouse. Cable TV would make it just about perfect. This was our second trip here and we would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$12
Very family friendly state park. Nice site, though not as shady as other state parks. The river is clean and they have an outfit out of the park where you can rent tubes, canoes, and kayaks. Lots of swimming places. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We stayed here for one night with 3 small children - wish it could have been for longer! This is a beautiful park that is well maintained. The host was super friendly, even offered to help us back into the site. We stayed in site 25, perfect length (we didn't need to disconnect our 35' trailer) with lots of privacy. Playground was great for my 3 and 5 year olds. Wish we could have explored the trails and beaches, but we didn't have time. Definitely a good value - just need to make sure you reserve early for this gem of a park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Very nice small, quiet, park. Most sites have gravel surface but a few spaces are concrete for handicap access. The park is well manicured by friendly staff. All spaces have full sewer hookups even though this is not specified on Reserveamerica.com. The staff picks up your trash every day at your camp site. Good AT&T cell service. I had difficulty getting a Direct TV shot through the trees on the south side of the Titi loop. Other sites were more open with better satellite access but offered less shade. It’s a short walk to the Blackwater River from the campground which was great for floating on tubes or just sitting in and relaxing and cooling off. We had a wonderful time and plan to visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
This is a charming campground of two loops set in the forest with the Blackwater River a five minute walk away. Sites are very nice and level. There are even clotheslines at each site. Bathrooms are spotless. Sites are set in the forest and well shaded. You can walk to the river and sit on the white sand or just sit in the river and talk to those tubing or canoeing by. River is one of the purest sand bottom rivers in the world where one finds sandbars and places to stop and swim all along it. The Florida birding and canoe trail goes through here. It is beautiful. One should reserve because only half the sites were filled on this Thursday night but the campground was considered full because all the sites were reserved for the weekend. Other campers told us that weekends and all through the summer this campground is full. Outfitters will take you 11 miles upstream to canoe or tube downstream and meet you at a bridge just below the campground. Price for tubing was reasonable. You can also rent a canoe for all day or three days and canoe the whole trail through this park of 31 miles and camp on the sandbars. We were so glad that we came here even for just one night but would need two to really enjoy the tubing or canoeing on the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Classic quietness can be had here, 10 out of 10. Five minute walk to river beach. Two loops, one surrounds play area and the other is very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Clean and newly renovated park with fine rock sites, well spaced. Has a friendly host. Located near Blackwater river for swimming and canoes. Has many trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
We spent a very pleasant two weeks In this very pretty and clean campground. This was our second stay here. Finding full hookups in a state park is wonderful! The hosts also provide trash pickup every morning! The only thing that would make it better would be laundry facilities. You have to contend with the military training helicopters flying over on a regular basis but you get used to them. Check before coming in the spring as they frequently burn the pine forest In the park. Due to several rains during our two weeks we didn't have to deal with the smoke but it could be a problem for some people. Plenty of hiking trails and it was a good bicycling area. We'll be back again some day! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
This is a great site and the best State Park we have stayed at in Florida. Our site was large (concrete though some are gravel). Has full services and excellent bathrooms and showers. We would definitely stay here again. Located 12 miles form I-10 (from the east) and about 6 miles from I-10 (from the west). Great walks, canoeing , beaches and river swimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Blackwater River State Park continues to impress. The staff and volunteers do a great job maintaining this park making it one of the best in the state. The trail system takes you along the Blackwater River for some really nice views and picture taking opportunities. The river is very popular with kayakers and you can sit on the white sand beaches for hours watching them paddle by. A mostly quiet campground until the peace is broken by barking dogs whose inconsiderate owners fail to control. The rangers should evict campers who tie up their dogs outside then leave for day. Other than that we had a great time at Blackwater. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
This is one of the nicest RV parks I have ever stayed at! Everything was beautiful and well kept. Lots of room between sites. The only thing I didn't like was the helicopters that flew over frequently but this is out of the parks control and wasn't that big of a deal. If you are looking for a place to stay this is definitely a premier RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
This park is a gem. Everything about our weekend at Blackwater River S.P. was excellent. The site was spotless upon our arrival. The restrooms were the cleanest we've ever seen in a campground be it private or state. This is a small park so traffic was rare. Children ran around enjoying themselves during the day but there was absolute peace at night. We brought our kayaks, as did many other campers, and enjoyed a slow, 8 mile trip from Bryant Bridge to the north ending at Deaton Bridge in the park. The river is marked letting you know when you're entering the state park. We encountered many groups with tubes, canoes, and kayaks and everyone was friendly. The beaches along the river (including the ones associated with the park) are white sand and perfect for a day in the water. The camp host is to be commended for his work in keeping Blackwater one of the nicest state parks we've visited. Looking forward to the completion of the trail bridge so it can be reopened to the public. As I sit typing this review I'm trying to think of anything that might be considered a negative. I'm at a loss. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
My family and I have camped here several times this summer and have yet another spot reserved in September. The fees for all state parks increased from 12 to 22 dollars but we feel this campground is well worth it! They are still renovating the walk way from the campground to the river so until it's done you'd have to use the Main Trails to get here. Bike riding, hiking and walking are the main things to do at this campground besides canoeing or tubing. Both are lots of fun! The river is cool and refreshing on a hot Florida day. The campsites themselves are graveled, many equipped with clothes lines, fire pits and a grill. Some of the sites are very short so when you make your reservation be sure to look at the site length before hand. We'll definitely be camping here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$12
The campground was very clean with level, gravel sites outlined with timber rails. I was impressed that the sites each had a clothes line, lit electrical box, water, and sewer. We stayed in site 10 which had plenty of room for our family of 6. The beaches in the swimming area have been covered with clean, white sand and you can see the bottom in the location our kids were swimming at. The only drawback was that the boardwalk from the campsites to the swimming area is being added / renovated so we drove around to the swimming area instead of trudging through the mud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Beautiful, tidy campground of spacious, level, newly graveled sites amidst pine & deciduous woodlands. A few sites relatively private, with woods on all sides; some sites close together or back up to other sites, with only a wooden rail between. Bathhouse newer, reached by boardwalk; tiled, very clean. River has fishing, tubing (just outside the park) and swimming areas; nature trails available, though they were flooded when we were there. Road into the park can be flooded at times after heavy rain. Very peaceful - no road noise - but there are Navy helicopters flying over at all times of day (and sometimes after dark), due to a nearby training facility. Park charges a daily admission fee of $3 but this is included in camping fee, no extra charge to registered campers. Park is isolated, with only very small towns nearby, and there are no stores within the park. Campground host & rangers friendly & helpful. We would have loved to stay a week or more! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
As noted below Site 11 is very big. However, sites 12, 13, and 14 are very closely spaced. In fact, 12 and 13 are very close to each other and pretty short. Except for walking along the nature trail, and I guess inner tubing with the alligators, there ain't nothing' to do here! A great place to just relax and do nothing. But don't expect there to be a lot of nature to enjoy. The nature trail is pretty short, though the hike through the various pavilions over the blackish-clear waters is beautiful. The closest convenience store is several miles away. Park was very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
Sites are definitely big rig friendly. Except for three concrete ones near the bathhouse the sites are gravel. All are level. Ample space between each especially 19 – 29. Paved access roads with no overhanging limbs to dodge. There is a small playground, hiking trails and nearby canoe rentals. Lots of tall trees so there may be some lack of satellite reception depending on the site. The overflow is a looped paved road/parking area that makes for a nice place to do a boondock over night if you are self-contained. I downgraded a point for lack of a laundry, but this is one of the nicest state park campgrounds I’ve been in. It was completely full with some overflow. Best to make a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$12
Camped in site #11. Site was huge! This park has recently reopened after a major rehab. The showers were not available all weekend because the tile was curing so did not use them. BH was very clean. All sites have stand up grill, fire ring, and 20/30/50 amp and sewer on them. Our site we could hear a small stream behind the site, very relaxing. Playground in Magnolia loop right across from our site. Rangers put trash at the front of the sites. Swimming is available in the Blackwater River and is very cold and clean. We tried to hike the trails but there had been a recent rain and all of them had portions underwater so no full access to them. Relatively close to Pensacola(30 miles) but BWR is out in the country so bring whatever you need. There is a canoe outfitter down the road that arranges trips. We saw deer at night as well as heard other animals but did not see them. Rangers are not stationed in check in location until late afternoon. Drive in and park in your site and come back later to check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$19
This is truly one of Florida's best campgrounds. The sites are spacious, woodsy, have lots of privacy, and are really quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2005
$14
We camped here so we'd be close to the Blackwater River, which runs VERY close to the campground. To my knowledge, there are no sites ON the river, but they are within a five minute walk. We came for the express purpose of running a section of the river from Bryant Bridge to Deaton Bridge. We camped in a pop-up with two other couples who also had pop-ups. First, the rating of a 5 should not be misconstrued as bad. It was OK for us, but some might not like it. The camping loops are on dirt/sand roads so there is quite a bit of sand that will get tracked into your RV. Having said that, it IS Florida. The sites are large enough, but some are larger than others. This is true in most campgrounds. The bathrooms were clean and usable. One toilet did get stopped up one morning. When I came back in the afternoon, it had been unstopped and cleaned. The bathrooms are not heated though. There was a small playground for children. No pool. If you have kids, they can certainly play in the river. It's clean and shallow. As far as staying multiple days though, your kids would really need to be content with nature. There is nothing else to do. For that matter, it's the same with adults. Unless you are canoeing/kayaking the river or doing some minor hiking that's available you'll be bored. So anyway, this is a good place to stay to run the river. Just don't expect more than a place to stay. And one other caveat. We stayed here in the off season. I have been told that it is a total zoo in the summer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com