214402 User submitted reviews online!!
Elephant Butte Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (575) 744-5923
CGID4616

Elephant Butte Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
230
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   10   10   8   9   9   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
We stayed in the South Monticello Campground. Some of the campsites are first-come and some can be reserved. We stayed on #18 (nice lake view). It can be reserved but can also be first-come if it's not reserved. Check with the camp host or pay attention to their red and green signs. Nice paved roads, level gravel sites, covered picnic tables. South Monticello is best accessed from Exit 89 on I-25. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
This state park was highly recommended to me by two different couples last summer, so I was looking forward to spending six days here and had made a reservation. Even though I had a good view of the lake, I was disappointed by the dirt and dust. For two days, I completely stayed inside, not even going out to take my trash out because the winds were kicking up some serious dust storms, even to the point where they were keeping people off the lake. Even with doors and windows closed all the time, I felt like I could feel grit between my teeth. There just is not enough vegetation to keep the dust down. Roads in campground were paved but many other roads were not, contributing to dust and dirt. In addition, the lake is a long way from the campground I was in--Lions beach, site 64. Good Verizon service, however. Not much in the way of nature or hiking trails. I will probably not come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$14
Outstanding view of the lake. Very clean, well kept park and sites. Very friendly, helpful staff. No laundromat at the park less than a mile away. Great walking and hiking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$4
The camp hosts are incredibly helpful. We straggled into Elephant Butte Lake State Park with a crippled motorhome, well off-season. Everyone from the camp hosts to the park's rangers were helpful, tolerant, and friendly. The bathroom near our site (Lion's Beach) was not heated, but the showers were always clean and there was plenty of hot water. My wife took to 35 degree showers a little more slowly than me. ;-) The two week stay limit was no real problem because we broke up our park time between Elephant Butte and Monticello and Riverbend Spa in TorC. We stayed from mid-December to mid-March in 2014 and loved the place right till we headed home. Our dog thinks the lake is her private playground. Elephant Butte is a fun little town, too. There are several excellent and reasonably priced restaurants, generally good services, some terrific RV and automotive repair shops (Big Victor's Automotive saved our trip), and some groceries are available from the service stations. TorC is 5 miles away for everything else you might need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
This is a big state park facility. Stayed 2 nights. The spaces were tight for our 40' fifth wheel. Not very level either. Power and water pressure was fine (our two previous NM state park visits both had electrical issues). Rather long walk to the playground from our site. It is doubtful we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
This is a very nice state park. We stayed in a site with water and electric. The sites are large, with gravel and a concrete pad under the picnic table. There is a nice clean fire ring. Staff are friendly and greeted us on arrival. The park is clean. The staff rakes each site after it is vacated, giving the site a welcoming feel when you arrive. There is a dump station. Good Verizon service. Walmart located in Truth or Consequences a few miles away. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
The only reason this state park did not get a 10 is because the sites don't have sewer. We had a perimeter site and it was spacious with good separation from our neighbors. Restrooms/showers were old but clean. Close to town for services but nice and quiet at camp. We did not try the parks WiFi, but our own 3G Verizon service was good. Would not want to camp here on holiday weekends as it is said to be a zoo! Low occupancy when we arrived on Thursday, then campground was full over the weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$4
We stayed here 3 nights in the lions beach campground loop. All sites have water and electric hook ups and paved trailer pads, cover tables on a concrete slab, and a fire ring. Well kept, camp hosts and rangers are friendly, the bathrooms are in older buildings with two showers and kept clean; but the buildings are old and could use an upgrade. The state park’s WI-FI connected every time but it is slow; overall, the park is clean; the marina is a great place to spend a few hours and can rent boats. T or C is only minutes away from the State Park to pick up supplies or have lunch/Dinner in town. The $4 price is with a New Mexico State Park camping pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Our second time visiting this park, and we stayed in a different loop (the one with lake view). While we enjoyed walking down (and down and down) to the very low lake and letting our pup have a swim, we did not love the camping here this time. Our loop was crowded and full of campers with poorly trained dogs who barked and growled and generally made a nuisance All. The. Time. (This happened to us the first time we stayed here, too.) If you can get one of the end/corner sites that has room around it, that might be better, but we shan't stay here again. Will find somewhere closer to TorC, which we love visiting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
This wasn't waterfront, but our campground (Lion Beach) had a great view down onto the lake and bordering buttes/mountain range. High sandy desert with scrub, pretty if you like desert! Each site has a covered table. We preferred Lion Beach, even though it has only 30 amp electricity, because of the great views (on northwest end) and spacious sites, each having a desert willow tree to add shade. Friendly staff. In late October-early November, weather was fabulous. Good for daily walks or bicycling. Not much doing in Elephant Butte or nearby Truth or Consequences, but we weren't here for towns! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
We stayed two nights in the park and had decent TV reception (about 10 stations) and great WiFi connectivity. The lake itself was down to about 17% of normal levels so it was quite a walk to the waterside. We spent most of our days walking the area with our dog and had a wide, level spot with a covered picnic table. The surface of the site was pea-gravel and was raked by the host between visitors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
We stay at the South Monticello Camping Area in spring and fall. Beautiful sites with great views of the lake and hills across the way. Roadrunners, fun. Big open sites with a covered picnic table area, big clean restrooms, a dump station, and hiking trails. There is a boat ramp, but the lake has been too low the last year to use it. Great for satellite dishes. Some sites are reservable in peak times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
This place is not only cheap, it is incredible. The lake is stunning as well as the panorama view of Elephant Butte. The free Wi-Fi was faster than any other RV park we have stayed in. The only down side is the fact that they don't have sewer for your gray/black water on the site, but there is a dump station in the park. This park is out oftown, so it is quiet. We not only rode our bikes all over the park, but kayaked around the "Butte". We even got off at the island and walked around and saw fish in the lake, and little lizards scouring about. We stayed here last year and returned because we liked the park so much. It is very clean. You can buy an annual pass and it will only cost you $4 a night...what a bargain. It is also very close to Truth or Consequences where we enjoy going over to and soaking in all of the various hot springs. If you visit hit the Happy Belly Deli; the food is delicious. We will return again next year for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
Really nice park, we stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it. I was surprised to see that they installed WI-FI throughout the campgrounds. I will take my laptop the next time and see how well they work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$16
Nice campground, we were in the Monticello area. Easy back-in, level sites, facilities worked well. 10 mile drive from the office where you check-in. No virgin mobile signal. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
This is for the Monticello campground about 10 miles north of Elephant Butte and can be accessed from exit 89 on I-25. The campsites are roomy, spaced, level and very well maintained. TV was available by antennae. Did not try our cell. Nothing much around but excellent if you want peace and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$14
if you don't need the restroom and showers, this place is great with wide blacktop sites with water and electric, very inexpensive. Unfortunately the showers and toilets were nasty - we did not use the facilities. A good state park if you like boating, fishing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
This review is for the South Monticello campground. This campground is the newest one at this state park, built about 2 years ago, and is located about 10 miles north of the other park campgrounds. The two loops on the east end have great views of the lake which is currently at historic low levels. This campground has about 50 large sites. Some are pull throughs and the rest are easy angled back-in sites. Interior roads are paved. Each site has a nice layer of gravel, a grill/fire pit, water, 30 & 20 amp power, and a concrete pad that contains a picnic table covered with a shelter. The sites are spaced far apart with a feeling of privacy. Vegetation is typical southwest desert shrubs, Yucca, Creosote, and Mesquite. The nearest civilization is Elephant Butte and Truth or Consequences. Since the campground is remote, the night skies are dark and the stargazing is great and one can see the Milky Way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
We stayed in the Quail Run Section because that was what was assigned to us and we had never been here. We had a semi-view of the lake. Our site was not level at all. We were slopping down hill. We put blocks on the truck and one side of the Fifth Wheel, but were still not level. It worked for one night. Wi-Fi worked well and was free. Sites are paved with a little patio area. The park was about 85% full. Not sure why it is such a big attraction, I guess because it is the only water nearby. It looked rather dry to us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
We stayed at the South Monticello campground in mid October which is considered “off season”. The boat ramp at South Monticello is closed because the water level is extremely low. The campground was only about a third filled with just a few boaters. There are two vault toilets and one bathhouse with flush toilets and showers. They looked clean, but we did not use them. There is also a dump station located at the entrance to the campground. The inner side of the loop had pull-thru sites and the outer side had back-in sites. All of the sites were extremely long. These sites could easily accommodate a large rig, car and boat. The interior road is paved but a little narrow and the sites were on crushed gravel. All sites had 20/30/50 amp service and water. The electrical voltage was good. Each site had a covered table and fire ring. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well. From I-40 take exit 89 onto Martin Ranch road. Don’t take exit 92. According to the camp host it is a rutted dirt road. At this time of year it was very quiet and peaceful. We would definitely come back again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$4
This review is for the South Monticello campground (50 sites) of Elephant Butte Lake SP, which is several miles north of the campgrounds by the main entrance. We first searched for a site at Quail Run, Desert Cove and Lyons Beach campgrounds. We found those campgrounds unacceptable due to unleveled pull-through sites, the potential for rude campers, loud noise, and boating groups. By making a wrong turn we ended up at South Monticello and for us it is a gem of a campground. It is a stark contrast to the other campgrounds of the State Park. The campground has a huge wide paved loop access road, wonderful layout, with spacious gravel padded sites. There are about ten pull throughs and they have the 50 amp power. Each site has a ramada with a large table. There are no shade trees and the primary vegetation of the campground is Creosote Brush. The scenic views from the sites are terrific and it's a quiet place. The lake level at the time of our visit was so low there was no lake. The boat ramp was high and dry. This made for a near empty campground and the boating crowd was nowhere to be seen, which contributed to the natural quiet sounds. Verizon service here including 3G was great and fast. We extended out stay and will likely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
Stayed 4 nights at South Monticello campground, this state park is outstanding. Large level sites, lots of room, 50 amp power without any problems. If the lake was full, this place would be offscale good. One of the best state run RV spots anywhere! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
We stayed at the Lions Beach campground of this park. The site was large, easy to back into. Electricity was good, restrooms were old but clean. Good Verizon internet and Sprint cell phone signals. Just not really attractive area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
This was one of the nicest state parks. We stayed one week at North Monticello Point. Very clean, as the sites are cleaned and raked on a weekly basis by the camp hosts. Camp hosts were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We had a very nice view of the lake and surrounding mountains. Easter week-end was busy, but it was still quiet and peaceful. I would most definitely make an effort to come back here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
Elevation about 4000 feet. Water pressure 40# steady. RV sites are paved, level, large, well separated. Many have ramadas. Can be dry and windy. Park is environmentally handicapped; aluminum can recycling only. Good Verizon signal. A few Albuquerque and Las Cruces TV stations by antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
This is one of New Mexico's best state parks. We stayed in the Lions Beach loop and our site had a great view of the lake. Each site comes with 30amps, water, concrete pad with Cabana and paved parking. Only drawback, no sewer. Our weeks stay there was so nice we extended our time there five additional nights. The camp hosts were very friendly, the campground was spotless. We have stayed here before and will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
This park has several improved camping areas, many spots with 50amp. Sites have electric and water, and there are a couple dump stations in the park. Sprint broadband works well here. For non-vacation weekdays in March I was surprised how packed the campgrounds were: almost 95% occupancy at the non-reservation sites. However I was able to find a nice pull-through site in the Quail Run campground. It's a bit further from the lake, but sites are much roomier as you get further from the lake. The site was perfectly level checking the levels, although did not appear so prior to pulling in. A new 3-lane pay station just opened, although the rest rooms could use some renovation if there is money left. Lots of blowing sand everywhere made it hard to experience the lake and trails. I saw a couple rigs camped in the free beach area, but one must be careful not to get stuck. I found the toll booth and campground staff courteous, and was greeted by the host within a couple minutes of arrival. I was hoping the park marina would rent small fishing boats, but it does not, just larger boats such as 10 passenger party boats. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$4
The following review is for the Quail Run and Desert Cove campground loops. Both have 50 Amp electric and water hook-ups. There are 47 sites in the campground. Ten of the sites are paved pull-throughs and there is one gravel/dirt pull through site. Nine of the ten paved pull-throughs are steeply unlevel. They present a real challenge to level any type of RV. The one and only level paved pull-through is occupied by a campground host. I wonder why New Mexico State Parks (NMSP) even bothered to construct the pull-throughs since they have extreme slope. I wonder why they allow the host to occupy the one and only level paved pull-through site. We had the spacious semi-private level gravel/dirt site. It is a somewhat dusty site when the wind was blowing. The electric and water are on the opposite and wrong side of the site. If NMSP could relocate the electric box, Site 18 would be a premium site. The back-in sites are paved and some are level. Sites are spacious, surrounded by native vegetation, and most have a view of the distant lake. The lake level, currently, appears to be 40-feet or more below the normal level. The campground host seem to have an unfriendly nature, projected loud TV sound into the campground and did little upkeep of the sites. The restrooms were in need of better cleaning. We found the same fecal material on the walls our entire stay. After ten days the dumpsters were overflowing with trash. Park roads and access roads are in great need of a repaving project. We will likely not return because the campground is neglected and we likely would not get a level pull-through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
Great place and wonderful view of the lake. Camp host was very friendly and the sites were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$8
Price is based on a night of boondocking on the beach. We have done little dry camping and thought we'd give it a try here. Once you pay your $8 you can plop your rig down just about anywhere you like. Most choose the beach, and some park quite close. The main reason I'm writing this review is to warn my fellow RVers if you opt for the beach, be very careful where you go, especially in a heavy motor home. You'll still have a great view of the lake 50 yards from the water where the sand is hard-packed. We tried to get closer and needed to be towed out. This is a great park if you're into boating, jet skis, and other water activities, but not much else. We would stay here again, but probably in a site with hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
We stayed in Monticello South but getting to it after checking in at the Visitors Center in Elephant Butte was a real challenge. The map they gave us was not to scale, there was no inset w/ the Monticello South campground and the road we had to take was not labeled correctly. When we turned down the road that had a sign for the campground the actual turn into the camping area was very poorly marked. Once we found our site and got settled we loved where we were. It appears they are in the process of developing this area but it would be a great help if they could hand out current maps and give better directions. Now that we know where we're going we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
This is THE place to stay near Truth or Consequences. Roads and pads are paved making it the least dusty park in the area. 50amp sites are available. There is a dump station but no sewer hookups. Views of the lake are awesome. Hiking, biking, boating, fishing, this place has it all. And, the price is right. It is a state campground so there are no amenities like pool, hot tub, wifi, etc, hence our 8 rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
I have camped here twice--fall and spring. I enjoyed it. Everything was clean and quiet. The restrooms are clean but they have a well used look to them. It gets very crowded in summer. Lots of kids, lots of boaters and lots of noise. The last time I camped there I was at Lion's Beach Campground which has sewer connections. It has a lake view and is smaller than the other campgrounds. Don't miss the Geronimo Springs Museum in downtown Tof C. It looks like just a store front but it has loads of interesting stuff. There are lots of eating places close to the park as well as trailer repair and trailer storage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$10
We stayed in one of the sites overlooking the harbor and lake in our Motorhome. We chose the site next to the childcare playground so our 3 sons could play. We stayed here Christmas night on our way South to get a little warmer. Having our family Christmas dinner as the sun was going down with the view of the lake was wonderful. There were no facilities as we were in a dry camping site. We would happy stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$14
Another great NM state park. We stayed in Desert Cove with electric and water, but there are sites for every kind of camper. Beautiful views of the lake and nice loop trail for exercise. We liked the recycling program, but the camp hosts didn't do anything to enforce quiet hours. Family next to us left their untrained dog tied up outside all night. (Note that we saw a fox hunting a rabbit and a pack of coyotes in the campground!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$4
We stayed at the "Monticello South" section of this state park and highly recommend it! The site is sparkling clean and spacious, very well kept and the view is spectacular. The facilities are first rate and very quiet, with many species of birds flying over. There is a wonderful walking trail that is great. We will stay here whenever we are in the area. Wonderful spot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
Nice sites at the campground nearest the Visitor Center, 'tiered' with good views of the lake. Neighbors a little close but otherwise very pleasant; covered picnic table, gravel neatly raked. Decent space for a tow vehicle. Toilets and showers were dated but functional; the hand dryer in ours was broken. No soap: ever heard of Swine Flu? How about Hepatitis? It is a windy place with lots of birds, and friendly park people. Great views, nice playground. We would definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
We stayed here during this past Memorial Day Weekend and found this park to be extremely busy but well kept. The bathrooms were kept clean despite the volume of people using the facilities. The front gate personnel were always polite and happy to see you. I can recommend that campers with children stay here. The beach area is beautiful and plenty of things to do to keep the kids busy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
We stayed at Lion's Beach. Nice large sites, on a bluff with full view of the lake. Fairly clean showers. Nice camp host who left helpful message on our windshield regarding tag needed for our extra vehicle. Has paved level sites, shady table with a fire ring. The only problem with Elephant Butte is it is often windy, therefore dusty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
South Monticello Campground Very nice park stay although if you are not into water sports you might find yourself a little bored. Bring your boat, kayak, wave runner and fishing rod. We were in a site right by the bluff overlooking the Rio Grande. The nearest town is Truth or Consequences. (5 miles) There you can find a Walmart, do some hot springs (Riverbend), and dinner at Los Arcos. The early bird dinner is worth the money. The nights at the campground are quiet. We used our aircard and it worked sporadically. As a state park, they only offered electricity and water. The dumping station was by the exit and it was easy access. The pullthru's are not by the lake. PS: Be prepared for strong winds. The winds were so strong one night we had to close all our slideouts we were concerned that our awnings would be ripped right off. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
Clean N.M State Park. Great view of Elephant Butte Lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
I agree w/other reviews, we stayed in Lion's Cove A64; camp host was VERY pleasant to us. If you're unfamiliar w/camping area, I'd sure get here in daylight .. big rigs stay on pavement as sand is soft, and many 'roads' and/or 'loops.' Pads are mostly level but sloped (some steeply) to back-in. Grand views, quail, coyotes, bunnies and we had night-time quiet too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$14
This is a nice state park right on Elephant Butte Reservoir. The fees were very reasonable. There were pull throughs with 50 amp service. Many of the sites are not level and that was a problem for us since we were in a motorhome. Each site has a covered picnic table which was nice but made it difficult to turn and pull in. Once there, we enjoyed our visit. The ground is all sand so it's like being at the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Very nice campground with good sized campsites or you can camp on the lakes edge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
The grounds of this park are (given where it is) really quite pretty. And they have an interesting and informative nature walk through the desert. We were in one of the upper loops which afforded some view of the lake and backdrop of hills. This was nice. Restrooms were clean, as was the campground. Some of the loops closer to the lake had very small back-in sites, offering little privacy. The town itself has little to offer other than huge RV and boat storage areas. We stayed one night (although we planned to stay 3-4). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
This review is based on the three campgrounds available on the Truth or Consequences side of the lake (south end) Quail Run & Desert Cove have 50 amp service & water at the sites. Lions Beach has 30 amp & water. Some sites are available first come/first served. Others are reservable. NM State Parks charges $10.60 service fee to make a reservation. You can also camp lakeside (dry camping) for $8 a night. Signs indicate you are driving on soft sand and to enter at your risk - we saw lots of tents and smaller trailers - no big rigs lakefront. This is a beautiful park offering lots of nature & peace and quiet. If you are looking for good New Mexican food we recommend La Cocina which is located in town. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$14
This is a very large lake-oriented New Mexico State Park. The facilities are excellent and the price is too. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$14
Beautiful park, however crime is out of control at this state park. We had our 2 ice chests stolen the 2nd night we were there, as did several other campers. One couple had their tent, clothes, sleeping bags, etc stolen as well. Per a maintenance man this has been going on for a couple of months now. They were unable to catch the people or even locate the ice chests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
I really enjoyed this campground. There are many campgrounds to select from. We stayed at Quail Run, I believe. I really liked that they had personal gazebos available for each site. All of the sites had a great view of the lake. The only complaint I had was that the campground manager, I can't remember her name, was very rude to my aunt when she referred to her dog's barking. She said "What do I have to do to get that dog to shut up!" She could have been more tactful. Otherwise, I enjoyed very much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
We have stayed here several times during the off-season. We camped at Lion's Cove. The campgrounds were very busy (due to spring break) and we were glad we had reservations. The sites are always very nice, clean, and have a covered picnic table and fire ring/grill as well as electric, water, and in other campgrounds (not Lions Cove), a handful have sewer. We enjoyed watching the bunnies and quail. The only complaint we had is that there were several groups camped on the beach and one party in the campground that was very noisy and rowdy with music blaring until 4:00am and kept us awake! They also left a trail of trash! We were wondering where the ranger or sheriff was to tell them to keep it down. I called the main phone number but was greeted with an voice message that did not leave a contact number for emergencies or problems. We know that this state park has a reputation for rowdiness especially during the summer. We will not camp there again until the off-season late next fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
A very pleasant surprise after 8 weeks of commercial campgrounds. We enjoyed the privacy this park afforded. And the wildlife everywhere. A typical beautiful desert park with a lovely sunset each evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$14
We have stayed here a number of times. It is a convenient stop for overnight or longer term. There were not many campsites taken this time of year. The sites are clean and well spaced. We stayed at Lion's Cove, Loop A. The only other sites taken in this row were the 4 campground host sites. We stayed at the other end in site #59. We were told at the visitor center that there were no reservaton sites reserved and to camp at any space. The next day, the campground host was somewhat rude. She came to our campsite about 11:00am did not even say hello) and asked when we arrived. She told us we had to leave that day because the site was reserved. This was not true. That is probably why this row of sites were all empty and the next loop, which were first -come, first-served sites were more filled. I think she misunderstood the park policies. If the reservable sites were not reserved, you can camp there. This is true of all New Mexico state parks. Her behavior was a turn-off and not very welcoming. We will overlook this and will camp here again at a later date. Funny how some people can give you a bad taste in your mouth. Too bad this person is a campground HOST. She sure does not act like one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$14
Spent 3+ months here volunteering. Largest SP in New Mexico, with unlimited "primitive" camping in the desert, more/less waterfront...$8. Rate shown ($14) is for water/electric & a covered picnic table. Pull thrus @ Quail Run loop will handle 98% of big rigs. Back-ins @ Lion's Beach are quite scenic. Two dump stations. Quiet town, limited groceries, coupla good family restaurants. Secondary location @ Monticello is new & nice, BUT, about last mile + is dirt road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com