223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Rocky Hock Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (252) 221-4695
CGID4621

Rocky Hock Campground

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   4   8   3   3   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
Weekly rate (7th night is free). Quiet country campground that we used as a base to visit Historic Edenton and the surrounding area. Sites have full hookups and a clear view of southern sky for satellite antennas. Facilities include fishing pond, boat ramp with access to the Chowan River, smallish 9-hole golf course, laundry, showers, and game room. Also on site is David’s Red Barn with live music and dancing every Friday night and one or more Saturdays each month. The camp office is unmanned, but the owner/manager is just a phone call away. We stayed in a 25’ rig on site 10, a pull-through site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
This place is family owned and operated by the nicest group of folks you ever want to meet. We parked right next to the 9 Hole golf course! On Friday nights we attended a live country/blue grass performance by a group of people that have been doing this for over 30 years at David's New Red Barn. Most come for country/line dancing. They don't serve liquor and everyone has a great time. They have fishing in their private pond and river canal. Our site was level and quiet. They have a ultralight landing strip next to the pond. We would definitely stay here again. I would give it a 10 except that it doesn't have cable. Go there and enjoy the hospitality! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
I read reviews from previous campers who made negative remarks about bugs and the bathhouse. We camped at Rocky Hock anyway because it's November and the bugs are not an issue. Plus, we wanted to visit Edenton, and this is the only campground that offers full service within 25 mile range. I want to reiterate the complaints about the bathhouse. It is literally rotten. There are probably 30 campsites, but the bathhouse holds exactly one shower and one toilet for women and the same for men. The game room is quite run down. Like from the 60s. The sites are nicely spaced, but there is no screening between them. I would only camp here if your rig provides full bathhouse facilities and you don't mind full view of all other campsites. I gave the place a 4 because the grounds were neat and the owner was helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Rocky Hock is not exactly a destination point, but there are several positive attributes to describe the campground. 1) It was easy to find; the signage was great, just follow the blue camping signs. 2) The sites are really large with easy access so you aren't on top of one another; a real plus since we were in a 41 foot Class A. 3) There is a par 3 course. 4) Our dogs were welcome. 5) We could choose our own site. We stayed in both a non-lake site and a lake site; go for the lake site. 6) There is a really nice "red barn" that is open on the weekend with live country music bands. 7) Relax by the campfire. 8) Visit surrounding farms for fresh produce. 9) Best of all, the family that owns the campground are extremely nice. Some of the other reviews mention gnats and mosquitoes; you are in the middle of cantaloupe and watermelon farms, so yes, you can expect some bugs. The restroom facilities do need some updating. Still, if I am back in the Edenton area, I'll go back to Rocky Hock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
This campground did not have restroom facilities. However, that is not what bothered me. The gnats were terrible and they bothered us all day. Also there were these little burrs that stuck in our shoe strings, socks, and in the dogs fur. They were all over the grass area and felt like pins sticking us. When the sun went down the gnats left but the mosquitoes were so bad we couldn't stand to be outside. I would not go to this campground ever again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
The positives about this campground are the sites are large, and, David's New Red Barn. It is a new on-site building which has entertainment/dancing on Friday and Saturday nights. Anyone who enjoys country, oldies and gospel music will love this place. The family that owns this campground and entertainment facility are very warm and friendly. The negatives when we stayed here were the gnats and the building that housed the game room, restrooms and laundry. The locals told us the Rocky Hock area has gnats from Spring through Summer because of the melon farming. We couldn't be outside without being covered by them. The restrooms were not clean enough to use, the fluorescent light in the men's room was out, and very dim in the ladies. The game room's pool tables and miscellaneous other furnishings were covered in dust and hundreds of dead bugs. There were three clear plastic trash bags of molding garbage of food and paper plates in one corner that had not been removed during our three night stay. This building appears to be a very old farm building (lumber is peeling off the exterior), that probably should be destroyed and a new facility built for the safety and health of their guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
This may not be the most modern facility we have ever stayed at but it was one of the nicest. Be there on a Friday night and get treated to a good old fashion country music get together performed by three generations of locals. If people make the difference then this one tops the list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2005
$20
This is a new CG and the owner goes to a lot of trouble to make his guests welcome. Overall it is clean and well kept, however since they're just starting out it's still a little rough around the edges. Their prices are very reasonable and reflect the owner's effort to attract new business. They are the only CG in the area that I've been able to find, however they should not be considered a 'last resort' by any means. I've stayed there twice this year (for 3 nights each) and would not hesitate to go back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com