223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Falling Waters State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (850) 638-6130
CGID4627

Falling Waters State Park

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   8   7   9   5   8   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
This is a quiet campground, convenient to Route 10. Sites are mostly gravel and some are small and difficult to back into. If you have a big rig, I suggest you call the campground to discuss site sizes before booking online. Bathrooms and showers, while not huge, are clean. The playground inside the campground is no longer there. However there is a beautiful playground and picnic area in the public portion of the park which also has a small swimming lake. There are nice, woodsy trails to the falls and sinkhole areas. Good for a few days stop. Rangers and staff are all quite nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Site was not level, Bathrooms freezing. Hot water was not reliable. Barking dogs all day. I won't come back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
Small convenient park off I-10. Perfect for a short stay but would not be a destination park for me. Bathrooms were spotless every time I went in. Sites vary in size and privacy. Some looked very level, others required some extra help. Nice trail system to stretch the legs but not a challenge. Water fall was flowing and worth the walk. Chipley is a small town but has basic amenities and just a short drive down the road. I would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Nice park, most sites are small, be careful if choosing on line. Washrooms are heated and clean but a bit old. The waterfall is "awe inspiring" and a must see, great hiking and biking trails. Nice small swimming lake with super soft sand beach. Not a great park but good for one or two nights so you can see the falls. Easy access to I-10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Nice clean park. Nice wooded sites. Waterfall was just a trickle When we were there due to not rainy season. Has fishing and swimming area. Clean showers/ restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Small State Park with easy on/off access from I-10. Roads are narrow and sites are small. Their definition of a pull-through means a small area that curves at 180 degrees with trees on both sides. If you are 40 foot or bigger it will give you pause to rethink asking for a pull-through. You are much better off with a back-in. We like parks with more space. Also, no satellite will all the trees. And, many trees with low hanging branches on the way to the park entrance. Not sure if it’s county property or private land. The waterfall is overrated. Just my opinion. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Beautiful park right off I-10. Sites were typical for any state park. We were lucky and were there when water was actually falling, but the park is beautiful anytime. Trails go directly from the camping loop to a small swimming lake. It didn't look that appealing. Can't beat the price and location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
Small rustic, very hilly park with narrow roads and off level sites. Very heavily treed. Sites are large and well maintained. Friendly and helpful ranger lent us a tool to fix an electrical problem we had. Birds all over the place, nice ambiance. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
Monday, February 24 – Falling Waters State Park, Chipley, FL. This park is only a little over a mile south of interstate 10 in Chipley, FL. There is a Wal-Mart just about .6 north at the same exit in the Panhandle Region. It was raining the day we arrived and had been since the night before, sometimes drenching rain. We drove down to the trails with the waterfall and sink holes before we set up camp, and it was well worth the stop. Very interesting trails, and the waterfall is the largest in the state disappearing into a sink hole. There are more trails head to the lake for swimming and others to all the sinkholes. The campground has twenty four sites, and some are pull through, and all have water, electric and grills. Many are not level since the campground is on the highest hill in Florida about 324 feet above sea level. The cost was around $24, and on Saturday nights there is a ranger led campfire get together. One can swim, fish, hike and picnic here. Good overnight stop or stay a little longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
Park offers hiking, swimming, and monthly presentations on wildlife. The waterfall was running while we were there. This is really a wonderful park. The only complaint is that it is a really small park with really small sites. If you are more than 36' be prepared to be on a tight fitting site. Our cell and Verizon broadband worked well. The restrooms were clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
Very small campground but nice. We had a pull through site. Campground is at the very top of a hill that looks down on the lake. Paths to the lake are very steep but worth the walk. We did not go in the water but there was a swimming area. Ranger was very helpful with suggestions on restaurants. There is a Wal-Mart very close which is convenient. We were here on a Saturday and Sunday and park still had lots of openings. We had rain on both days but on one morning we did go to the waterfall which was running. There is a sign as you come in the park that depending on the weather, it may or may not be running. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
We stopped for two days because we could not get into Florida Caverns campground, turned out this a nicer campground. Some of the sites are a little tight if you are in a big rig, but we were able to get around in our 40 footer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
One of the nicer Florida State Parks. Quiet and the spaces had some room. Beautiful area despite there being no water in the falls at the time we were there. Small campground, but clean and nicely maintained. A side note - the nearby town has all the basics, including a Walmart, but this is a "dry" county. If you want something other than beer to drink, bring it with you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
Lovely park with nice hiking trails. The sites are extremely un-level and a bit difficult to get settled into but good privacy between sites. The trails are good for walking but I would not try to bike as they are bumpy and better for hiking. Very pretty terrain but definitely not good for the larger rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
Nice park, but when we were there so were legions of mosquitoes. That was the only drawback to our stay. Shaded, paved sites, dark and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$19
This is a beautiful state park with a waterfall. We were here just one night and wished we had planned for longer. The pull through was a little tight but doable, and the cement pad made leveling simple. The playground would be a delight for any child. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
This was an overnight holiday weekend stay on our way to the panhandle. Park is clean with a few things to see, the main one being the tallest waterfall in FL. Campground itself is small, but sites were good sized but not very private. We were next to the bath house path so we did get extra traffic near our site. This is not a great park for biking if you dislike pedaling uphill. A couple of hiking trails are available, but we only did the one to the falls. Not many choices near the park for supplies, and it's only about 15 minutes to I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Nice, small state park. A few lots big enough for 35' Class A. Sites rather close together. Free air TV was fair. A good park to use as a base for Eden Gardens, Falling Water, Ponce de Leon Spring, and Florida Caverns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
This park is located 384' above sea level - the highest point in Florida. The roads are paved and very hilly. There are several sites that are big rig friendly with 50 AMP. The sites are "just wide enough" and are mostly very heavily shaded. It is very quiet with a lot of nature and animals around you. The restrooms/showers are well maintained and clean. There are several educational programs available provided by a very knowledgeable Ranger staff. There is hiking, fishing and swimming. A great place for a weekend with nature and relaxation. Stayed here 2 relaxing days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
The price was definitely right. It was tough for our 40' motorhome to back into site due to all the trees along the road. The site was not very level, but was large enough to handle our RV and toad. The site had a lot of privacy due to all the trees even though other campers nearby. The waterfall and history of the area was a pleasant addition. We did not use the showers, etc so have no comment on them. We were the only big rig there - others were fifth wheels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$9
We were very pleased with out stay at Falling Waters. It was just a short distance off I-10 making it an ideal one night stop on our way through the area. It had the added attraction of the waterfall and nature trails. The park is very well maintained and clean. There is a waste dump station and dumpster for trash. The hook ups looked like they were all new. The sites weren't paved but they were fairly level. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
Small, beautifully kept SP campground. Very friendly staff. Stayed two nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
Falling Waters is not as nice a it once was. The swimming area is pretty nasty and smelly. Use to love going there was I was younger but as an adult do not like being there. The caves are still a nice thing to go and see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
Upon entering the park was pleasantly surprised with a friendly gate person and quaint park. When we got to our site #7 we backed in and found that it was very narrow and had some large pine trees that limited where we could park and use our awning. I spent over an hour trying to level my trailer and after several tries and 12 inches of blocks I never did get it level. I talked to several other campers on either side of us and they all said they couldn't get their rigs level. I Contacted the Ranger and he was nice and said he would contact Reserve America to try and get a us a refund. I feel with a little work and a lot of gravel this could be a nice park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$17
This was a wonderful park with lots of things to do. The park has a beautiful waterfall and lots of trails to explore. The park has a place to swim in a lake although a sign at the lake states "Alligators could be in the area". I asked the park ranger about this sign and was told that the alligators have not been a problem but that all fresh water parks in Florida must notify campers that alligators stay in fresh water. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$9
Great place. It was in the middle of a beautiful pine forest. Clean. The bathrooms and the showers were spotless. Quiet and very natural. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
Small campground with a lot of large sinkholes & small swimming lake. Waterfall only after it rains. Ours was a small campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
Overall enjoyable and relaxing weekend. All hook ups were good and park is clean. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$12
Older Florida state park. This is a small state park that is centered around Florida's highest waterfall. Several nice (but short) hiking trails. Also has a small swimming area. The campground is older with 30 amp service. Most sites are not suitable for larger rigs but there are about 4 or 5 that could handle a 40 footer although it would be a tight squeeze. Most sites are nicely shaded with private patio areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
Very nice little park that is great for a long weekend stay. Wonderfully spacious, shaded sites with a tad of growth between most of them. We were in a 5th wheel on the end in site #24. Recently refurbished, the bath house was spotless and centrally located. Playgrounds had great equipment. Swimming lake was nice and the trails were very well maintained. Waterfall is beautiful and a site not to miss. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2005
$16
Florida State Park guide says the RV length limit for this is 35 ft and that seems about right. Some sites are fairly deep and some are quite shallow. A number are set-up so that the water hook-up is on the side opposite the power hook-up because the water for two sites comes off of one pipe with two faucets. We have a 30 ft class A and one of the curved pull-thrus (site #5) worked well for us. Sites are mostly level with packed sand surrounded by pine trees. The bathrooms were heated (ineffectively) by an electric space heater so it was chilly but they were clean and the showers fairly sizeable and private. Dump station can only be reached on the way out of the campground. The trail from the campground past the lake to the sinkholes and falls is easy, pretty and well worth doing. We liked the campground and would recommend a visit to the falls. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com