218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Curry Hammock State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (305) 289-2690
CGID4632

Curry Hammock State Park

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   9   8   5   9   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
We agree with the previous review but as for the "shuffling", that's the price you pay when reservations are made for specific sites. With that said, this was the first time we were able to book this site. We had site 11 which had plenty of shade but still were able to get satellite reception. Our only disappointment was that we had no view of the ocean because of the sand dunes. I believe that is the case of all sites. Restrooms are built up on stilts to protect them from high water from hurricanes (as is in most Florida State Parks). Plenty of hot water-solar/electric heat. We had a great stay of one week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Find another place to park your RV in the Keys with hookups that's not a slum for $40/night other than a state park. You can't. Curry Hammock is awesome. The park is small, quiet, & clean. The staff even rake the gravel at every site. The park has a nice beach, but lousy swimming even at high tide. You can drive 15 miles down to Bahia Honda and pay $10 to swim/snorkel off what is probably the best beaches in the Keys. Still cheaper and better than anywhere else. No TV service, but we had 4 bars of 3G on Verizon at Curry Hammock, only 1 bar of 1X at Bahia Honda. My only complaint about Curry Hammock is my complaint about all Florida State Parks...the Reserveamerica.com reservations system is awful. We booked the days we wanted but were going to have to shuffle sites 3 times. The park staff was able to move us into a site where we only had to shuffle once. We noticed on RA.com the park was booked for the weekend we were there, but there were several open sites. Book the days you want even if it's on multiple sites and hope there are openings where you don't have to move when you arrive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$43
There are no bad sites in this small park. Certainly, the ocean-front sites are lovely but we have no problem booking anywhere here (already booked for next year - this is a high-demand park). The nearby beach is small and subscribes to conservation principles which keep detritis on the sand. The water is calm because of an offshore reef which absorbs the Atlantic wave action. Keep an eye out for Man-O-Wars, however. Sunsets/sunrises can be spectacular! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$42
Our second stay here. Again - we enjoyed our stay here as this is a top class campground. Book early and get your self one of the few sites facing the sea. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$46
Not sure what happened with the last reviewer, but we found the camp hosts to be the nicest and most helpful we have ever found. The rangers were not really personable, but they were still professional. There is an outside shower just under the bath house near the beach access that is available for washing your feet, or showering off the sand and salt. Very accessible and in full view along with a dish washing counter and area. Sure, the natural flora and fauna is starting to take hold, since there was none after they cleared the area when they built this new park. It is a state park and is meant to be natural. I did not give them a perfect "10" due to not only no sewer hookup, but no coin laundry at the bath house like most other state parks. Makes it tough to stay more than a week. The only coin laundry is all the way into town. We made a lot of trips with our little grey water portable tank to the dump station. No TV signal on a roof top antenna, but it is the Keys, and this park is very remote. Not the park's fault. My AT&T cell phone and internet worked just fine. One thing I wish they would change is the Hawk Watchers that totally take over the bath house in September and October. They are constantly in the way with their tripods and equipment, making it uncomfortable to get by them to use the showers. Park needs to re-locate them to a different spot, they don't belong at the bathhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Do not believe the photos you see on the Reserve America website. They are way outdated. The sites are much overgrown since those pics were taken. We had to move a picnic table to be able to let out our slides or they would have hit the trees and shrubs. The campground host became belligerent because we moved the picnic table but it was the only way we could get past the overgrown brush. We reserved an oceanfront site according to Reserve America website, but when we arrived we couldn't actually see the ocean because the brush was too overgrown. And the smell was horrible from the sea grass on the beach. C.H.S.P. was the only state park in Florida that we went to that would not allow you to walk on the grass, or use their water to rinse the sand off of your feet. They are very strict about everything and the CG host patrols the park like a constable trying to catch campers violating (his so called) rules. We were glad to get out of there, and won't be going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
This is a great park right on the ocean. Sites are well spaced. Only negatives being no TV reception on antenna and no sewer hook-ups. Near resort type stores and restaurants. Charter fishing near by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
This is a gem of a State Park, very well maintained, road is paved, pad is gravel, water, electric but no sewer, 50amp, easy access, big rig access, space and privacy around the RV, shade trees, the c/g is located behind the dunes along the oceanfront, beautiful clean beach, shallow waters just perfect for a kayak or canoe, picnic table, barbecue, showers and composting toilets which are very clean and do not smell, no WiFi, very quiet and peaceful both day and night, good gate security both day and night, Publix and Winn Dixie 7 miles down the road, lots of great restaurants close by, plenty of sightseeing. The staff are friendly and helpful and do a great job of keeping this c/g so immaculate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$43
Beautiful campground right on the Atlantic Ocean. About half the sites are ocean front with just native vegetation between. Most sites are well screened with good privacy. Short walk to beach. Can launch kayaks from here too, and there is a fabulous kayak trail through mangroves that's worth the trip by itself. Friendly and helpful staff. Small park so hard to get a reservation, no sewer connections either, but that's quibbling. It's great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
Stayed here almost 2 weeks for the first time and loved this park. We are looking forward to our return next year. Camp hosts and rangers were the best. Bathrooms and showers were very clean, though sometimes the smell in the vault style toilets was unpleasant. We had site #14 which gave us a sweeping view of the waterfront with our Class A motorhome on the back in. On survey of the park we found sites 9, 13, and 19 to be on our favorites list. Our site was perfect for toting our light canoe down to the beach to enjoy the no motor zone for easy and enjoyable paddling. Only thing I did not like was the mosquitoes. They were really awful, even though they area was sprayed by helicopter and twice by truck..the little biters were vicious. Did miss not having anywhere to go for Wi-Fi and this park does not supply a washer and dryer as many state parks do. It was a gaffing 4.00 a wash load at the only laundromat in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
We just love this state park. The campsites are level and cleaned after each camper leaves. Plenty of room and right on the ocean. We will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$43
A newer state park created in 1991. The sites are well laid out with privacy in between I would rate from good to very good. The sites will accommodate just about anything you can bring, plenty of maneuvering room. Only a few sites have an ocean view, check the park map on RA for those ocean side. There is a one way system in the park so some sites are naturally left back in others right. Some sites are "7" shaped which allows you to pitch a tent or dining fly off to the side. The sites are level and topped with some very fine gravel. Underneath the gravel the ground is like concrete so if you wish to stake out awning supports, it's tough driving in the pegs. We liked the park, the bike trail runs through it on the opposite side of US 1. We rode it to Pigeon Key and back one day. Very enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$43
We stayed at Curry Hammock for 2 nights in May. We had no reservation for the first night so we were lucky to get a spot. There were only 2 spots available on the day of stay and they go fast. We made reservation for the 2nd night through Reserveamerica.com. Reservations can only be done 1 day in advance. The price for the RV site was $36 plus tax, which came up to $43 per night. The campground is on the beach, but there is only one access to the beach. Although the beach was nice, there was lots of seaweed and water was very shallow and grassy. It's a great beach for sun bathing, but not for swimming. Some picnic tables on the side under the shade of trees. There is one large building with showers and bathrooms, which were all clean and spacey. Kayaking tours with rangers are offered. Unfortunately we did not have a chance to go. Campsites are clean and nice, a little bit too close to each other, but not too bad. They are filled with whitish gravels, there is a table, grill and electric and water hook ups. Dump station is on the way out and is easily accessible for free. Campground is very well maintained, people were very friendly and quite. There are small tables with the names and short facts about local plants, which I thought was very nice and interesting. Overall had a great time! We will come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$36
This is one of the best maintained state parks in the Keys. The sights are large and very well maintained.Marathon is just a few miles south with Major stores such as Kmart,Winn Dixie & Publix. If you like to bike there is a bike trail that runs along Hwy #1. Also good Kayaking with kayaks to rent in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$38
Clean and Quiet. Great place to go kayaking. Quiet sites with plenty of room between sites. The sunsets were beautiful. We will definitely come back. The bathhouse was good and I will be interested to see what the update looks like. The only place to find water deep enough to swim in is in the park area where they launch kayaks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$38
Beautiful!! Great private sites, nice beach, well kept campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$43
We loved this park. We were fortunate enough to have a great waterfront, #14. It is very well spaced. Lovely beach and great kayaking. We are hoping to go here again, very soon! The only thing that would add to this park as everyone has said would be septic hookup: but the dump station is very easy to get to. We Loved it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
We paid for this campsite almost a year ago so I don't recall the nightly rate so I guessed at it. Only reason I gave it a '9' rating is that there are no laundry facilities which some state parks now have. Other than that, park is absolutely beautiful, there are 3 campground hosts who take very good care of it and the sites are almost all very private and spacious. We stayed in Site #25 and it was very nice. We used to think Long Key was one of the best, but this park is far superior AND much closer to town than Long Key. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$43
This park is a treasure. I can't say anymore but one thing. NO-SEEUMS! They can be brutal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$43
What a treat! If this campground had sewer connections, it would have been a 10 for us. Was clean, tidy and the gravel freshly raked. We had a site with a grand view of the sea. Has super bathrooms. You will more than likely have to book early to get a space here (especially in the first row towards the sea), but if you do make it we will be surprised if you don't like this campground. We will be back: definitely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$36
Great place to go canoeing or kayaking. We saw several iguanas in the mangroves in the park. Very quiet sites with white gravel base instead of messy sand. We will definitely come back. My only negative comment is that the washrooms had chemical urinals’ and toilets. They were kept spotless, but you could still smell them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$43
One of the best state campgrounds in the Keys. All that is missing is sewer hook ups and paved sites. Very nice and well maintained park. Our site was freshly raked before we arrived. Our site had a large 25'X25' attached picnic or tenting area. Sites are large and deep enough for larger rigs. Some rules are rather restrictive, probably due to the park being so new. No fires are allowed except in BBQ's, and no washing out of boats anywhere in the park. No boat launch in park for anything motorized. A soft dirt beach was available for kayak's or canoe's. Very nice overall. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Sites have a gravel base instead of sand with a nice buffer of vegetation between sites. There is no shade in park as it was built only 4 years ago. Those on the beach side do not have direct access to beach but can see it from their sites. Short boardwalk between sites #13 & 15 to beach. Beach was clean and wide with some seaweed on it. Campground looks pristine. It has all the latest Eco friendly systems in place. There are plenty of color info signs to tell you what the native plants are in the campground loop. Each site has w/e and a stand up grill but no campfire pit. 1 bathhouse that was very clean though it did smell a little from the composting gases. Day use area has a playground, kayak rental, fishing, and picnic pavilions with a large grassy area. Day use area is adjacent to camping area separated by a wooden fence. Info states that there is a walking trail but we did not see it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
About six of the sites were directly adjacent to the beach; others are close by. It was good swimming beach. Kayaks are available to rent and there is some beautiful kayaking through the mangroves nearby. There are some hiking trails across US highway 1 that are part of this park. Only downside is there is no shade. Restrooms and bathhouses were always clean and were close to the sites which are arranged in a circle around the bathhouse and restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
First let me tell you that this campground was very clean. They claim ocean front, but you are actually several hundred yards from the ocean and separated by dunes covered in shrubs. You are not allowed to walk on these shrubs and have to walk a good ways to find the beach access. Once you arrive at the beach you will find the shore covered in dead grass. If you dare cross the grass you enter the sea,the bottom of which is covered in slimy, slick, grass. They have kayaks, but they are way overpriced. There really is no place to fish. The snorkeling is pretty non-existent. The bathrooms are clean, but have no air and are "composting toilets". It is the out- house principle and they stink. I would not recommend this park unless you like watching the grass grow. I also would like to mention that their is no store in the park, so bring it with you when you come! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Great little park! We were camped on the water and enjoyed the view and kayaking. Close to Marathon so shopping was convenient. We travel in a motorhome and had a nice "L" shaped site, large and all pebbled, no sand. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$32
This is a beautiful well maintained Florida State Park. It is not very big so getting a site here will take some early planning. We just managed one night on our way out of the Keys. The restroom facilities are clean and new and the maintenance is top notch. The views from nearly all the sites is terrific. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
Probably the prettiest park that we've ever stayed in. The camp hosts are so friendly that the park seems like one big happy family. The bath house was great, clean and large. Kayak rental and fishing was super fun! Hope we can come back sometime soon. Marathon is a short drive with plenty of stores and restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Curry Hammock, listed as Marathon, has 28 sites. We stayed at Curry Hammock State Park for just one night and it is delightful. We had a water site. The park is clean and they imported a lot of white sand for this summer. Our site was just a walk away from the ocean and there are some trees for shade in parts of the park. Bathrooms are clean but the toilets are upgraded pits, but there are showers. This park has only been open for about 4 to 5 years. It is always closed after Memorial Day until November, but this year they are staying open all summer. It did not show on the computer yet so if you want to go during this summer call for now. We did have reservations the second weekend in May, but there were still sites available. There are over 1000 acres and there are thatch palms where the white-crowned pigeon finds his habitat. Two miles of the Overseas Railroad trail for hiking and biking to Marathon goes through the park. It’s a great place to kayak and canoe. We did snorkel but I can’t say it was as good as Bahia Honda. Plan to return. Was very peaceful with a nice breeze even on a hot day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
Absolutely the best volunteer hosts in the Florida State Park System. Sites are spotless upon check-in as are the restrooms and showers. The beach was recently recontured to better attract nesting sea turtles but in the process providing a more natural looking beach. New in 2008 is the park now being open 365 days a year (previously closed in the summer). Very reasonable kayak rentals from he rangers office. Curry Hammock was completed replanted with native plants and trees only some 3 years ago so there is NO shade. Camping in the summer, while available. may well be uncomfortable in the afternoon unless you have very good air conditioning. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$31
Park and facilities are spotless. Sites were large and level. Many of them have an "extension" giving you a large bonus area for your picnic table or whatever. The camp hosts rake the pea gravel as guests leave in preparation for the new arrivals. Fishing was good and kayaking was fun. Access to the Florida Keys Overseas Heritage Trail for bicycling or walking is just across the highway. It was a little dicey walking our bikes across, but we waited for an absolute clearing in both directions and crossed safely. Grocery stores (Winn-Dixie and Publix) and shopping (K-Mart) are about 5 miles south. The "no-see-ums" will bother you and bug spray is recommended. Although there was no shade, the 50 amp electric allowed us to use our air conditioners when necessary. The camp hosts were friendly. We loved this park and will look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$17
We spent 2 weeks here. This the best maintained park we have been in. We did not have a water front site but had a good view of the water. Great place to kayak from. Good hiking and bike trails. No pull through site but very easy to back into. No WiFi but Verizon phone worked well. Wish they had sewer hookups. Not a problem if you are only here for a couple days. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
A beautiful state park. Easy drive down to it even with a 40' MH. Sites are large back-ins. No sewer but a dump which is easy to get to. Ocean right at your finger tips or toe tips. Will come back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
Absolutely beautiful state-park campground. Easy to maneuver back-in sites with ample space for our 40' rig, and 50amp throughout. We were in site #16 which was ocean-front and I MEAN ocean-front. You are literally 10 steps from the beach. The beach is primarily crushed shells, so it's a little rough on your feet. And yes, there is sea-grass, however this is prime bonefish area, so you can swim over 100 yds out and it's still 4' or shallower. We swam and snorkeled. Bring your blow-up raft or kayak as there's an island within paddling distance. The showers and bathrooms were spotless and odor-free. All-together a really lovely area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$26
We lucked out and were able to get a 2 night reservation here at the last minute. This is a great campground. Located right on the water and within easy driving distance of Marathon. As previous reviewers have stated there is no shade - yet. This campground was built in 2004 and planted with all native vegetation which is doing well but still growing. The ocean was right out our door, not really a swimming beach as is full of sea grass but very nice to look at. We had no problem getting our coach - 41 feet - into our site and we could have fit in almost any site within the campground. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$26
This is an awesome place to camp. While there are not any trees at the campsites, this was not a problem as there is a constant ocean breeze that blows, we did not need to use the air conditioner during our stay. It is a small campground, it is very quiet, and it is immaculately clean. This is a rare find in the keys, there is a small beach and several picnic tables located right on the beach. Some campsites are located right next to the beach, those do not have the larger side sand areas for tent use, but again you are right next to the beach. The State of Florida did an excellent job in the design of this small campground. All sites have a gravel base, even though I had a site literally 15 feet from the beach, I did not have sand issues in my camper. There are not any sewer sites but you can use a blue tote and go to the dump station. The bathhouse is centrally located and easily accessible to all campsites. The water pressure is a bit low for showers, but again you are in the Florida Keys and fresh water is a precious item here. The bathroom does not have flush toilets, but it does have an elaborate water treatment recycling system built in and odor was never a problem in the bathhouse (I still rate this campground a 10). Sunrise on the beach is an incredible site. Pets are allowed, but they are restricted to certain areas and this is strictly enforced. Although this is a small campground (28 sites), there were 3 park hosts so there is someone watching over the campground at all times, and the Florida Park Rangers also make frequent rounds here. This may account for the reasons that this is such a quiet, clean place to camp. There is a day use area right next to the campground that has a very nice large playground for children and covered picnic tables for families. Several people were camping in tents. Many of the non-ocean front sites have a larger sand area which is a great place to pitch a tent, I did see several that camped in a tent on the ocean front gravel sites also. The location of this campground is perfect. You are about halfway down the keys, so it is about 50 miles to Key West and about 50 miles to Key Largo, so everything is easily accessible to you. This campground rates a perfect 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$26
This State Park is one of Florida's newest campgrounds, it is a rather small campground offering only 28 sites. But all the sites are extra large and they all offer a view of the ocean if you are not lucky enough to get an oceanfront site. All the facilities are very clean and up to date. The park offers a small beach, swimming area and a play ground for the children. There is unlimited biking and walking due to the Over Seas Highway biking/walking trail route which is directly across the street from the park entrance. We had a great time fishing and kayaking right off the campground beach. If there are any drawbacks to this park it is that there are no shade trees in sight, but this was no problem the time of year that we were there (January). I imagine it would be another story in the dead of summer. And remember down on the Keys fresh water is a precious item, so they do seem to have some form of flow restrictors on the shower heads: not a lot of pressure. Overall this is a wonderful park, but remember if you plan to visit in the winter months, you will need to book it way in advance. It is hard to get a site, like all the parks in the Keys. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$25
Very nice park. Large,level sites. Beautiful view of the ocean. Our site was about 50ft. from the beach. Just beautiful. Large nice,clean bathhouse. Very nice day use area with playground. We had great weather in December. Close to 80 everyday. The cg had a security gate. We will definitely try to stay here again when we return to the keys. Only reason for the 9 is no sewer and no laundry. However, we will compromise for this view! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com