214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Jolly Roger Travel Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 68 user reviews. Phone: (305) 289-0404
CGID4636

Jolly Roger Travel Park

Camp Information
Sites
183
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   7   8   9   9   9   9   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$56
Decent park with clean restrooms. Plan on having your weekends filled with music coming from 5 different campsites up until 10 pm. This it the least expensive park around and unfortunately it attracts the campers looking for a cheap place to stay with 15 people on one site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$56
Our rate was for off-season/Good Sam. We had a waterfront site, which I recommend. Awesome sunset views! Waterfront sites sit at a seawall which is a good spot to snorkel. We saw lobster, manatees, stingray, small tropical fish, sea cucumber and a small sand shark from the seawall. Restroom/showers are brand new & beautiful. Some sites are not as level as others, but not unmanageable. 50 amp/water/sewer/cable were good. Spray for ground bugs as we had a major attack inside of some kind of ant within an hour of setting up. There are small efficiencies to rent if someone wants to come with you & you don't have room. Many sites have a cement pad and roads are paved. Clearly work is being done to improve the park & that is always good. Sea grass odors can be overwhelming at the waterfront sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$62
The roads are paved, sites are grass or gravel. Hook ups were well placed and worked. Sites have a small patio, some have shade. The park was clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
Very good location. Very friendly staff. Our site was in the middle. They are very close together there, but we had room to put out our awing. The premium sites are very wide and long. The owner has plans to upgrade alot of the sites to wider and longer. Park was clean and well kept. Rate reflects Passport America for 5 nights and regular rate for the last 2. Owner might not take Passport America in the future, but will continue Good Sam discounts. Would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$74
This was our second stay, and the owners continue to make great improvements. This year: totally renovated beautiful bathrooms. We like the old section for its tropical foliage, but some sites are a bit tight: not a problem for our 22’ Class B. This park is like a bustling village with a very pleasant atmosphere. Many seasonals, other short- term visitors. Many people gather down by the long waterfront docks to watch sunset each night. Staff could not have been nicer or more efficient. There was even a very well-attended complimentary burger party at the waterfront pavilion on a Friday night, with campers bringing covered dishes. We'll be back again for an even longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$55
We have stayed in this park the last 8 yrs., it was enlarged 3 yrs. ago. Now has a beautiful pool. Great place to stay, best price in the Keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$44
Most sites are grass with plenty of room. Most have satellite access. Staff was very friendly. They require a pet deposit of $30, refundable if you and your pet behave, which is very reasonable, considering some pet owner's irresponsibility. Nice swimming area. Excellent Wi-Fi. Not crowded, but probably will be in January and February. Cost reflects Passport America rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
We stayed here a month and I really loved this park. It's very clean and the staff is very accommodating. The pool area is very nice, it's heated in the winter and cooled in the summer. The older section is tighter but we have a 40 foot motorhome and my husband pulled right in with no problems. The newer section has plenty of room and they planted 30 new trees during our stay, so there should be more shade. The snorkeling was amazing. They have a nice little swimming area. In all the places we have stayed they, by far, have the fastest WiFi. The only draw back is it's about 10 miles into town, but during the busy tourist season I can see where that would be a huge plus! We will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
I liked this park mostly for its location. It had Gulf water front property. The water was very calm and warm. I didn't technically use the bathhouse but only because it freaked me out. The doors were propped open with a cinder block so you could walk up and look in. The lack of any privacy made me nervous. There was also a ton of sand fleas, plenty at the sites but even more in the fenced pet area. The sites weren't concrete but the ground was generally even. Price reflects Passport America. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
Rate reflects Passport America Rate. When we first checked in we paid for 3 nights at $27 per night. The clerk told us a special summer rate was in effect. Since the park was more than half empty she gave us a site that was more in the middle of the park but the patio was a broken up concrete mess and there weeds every where. We decided to stay an additional 2 nights and when we went to pay there was a different clerk in the office who said she was the manager. She immediately was abusive to me because we had been given (and had paid for) an incorrect rate and put into the wrong area of the park. She then tried to charge me the difference in the two rates. I told her no but I would pay the rate that she claimed was the correct rate which was $39.50. I then said that if we didn't have plans for the day that we would leave. She said that would be fine with her! Really nasty! Another drawback was the laundry room. It was very hot out but the laundry was not air conditioned so I did not use it. The only saving grace to this park was the lovely couple across the road from us. We shared a drink with them each night we were there. We will never stay at this park again. I have never been treated this rudely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Rate reflects PA discount, really $44 w/tax. Just north of Marathon on Grassy Key. Nice location on water (bay) and all sites have cable included. There are new sites (no shade trees) that we actually would have preferred - our 38' FW had a bit of trouble getting around the corners as we exited. Wonderfully nice front desk people. Strange dog policy - you have to leave $30 (cash) as a deposit and if you get any warnings (i.e. dog off leash, don't pick up, etc...), then you lose your $30 (or so they say). We got our $30 back, and it's probably just a rule to keep people more aware, but was strange. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
PA rates are offered even during the winter for selected spots in the old area of the park (near the highway). These sites are serviceable but are not well maintained. The new area and near the water are much larger sites and well laid out. The management crew are fast and friendly. WI-FI at our site was better than in most parks. We would stay again if PA was available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$83
We stayed in what was considered the "premium" area where the sites were spaced a little better and have a new concrete pad. Rig and truck parked on grass but this wasn't really an issue, and the site was fairly level. No view of the water from these sites, but the sites that are on the water were smaller and closer together. The older part of the campground was also closer together and a lot of the concrete pads were broken and falling apart. Wi-fi was decent and worked most of the time, decent array of cable channels, clean laundry room, clean pool, nice fenced in dog walk area. The park has a nice wood dock and a boat ramp to get into the water, pretty sunset views and good location to Marathon for groceries and restaurants. In general I didn't like the Marathon area, but I did like that this RV park is so close to several beach areas for swimming and kayaking. Cocoa Plum was just right down the road and allows dogs on the beach. Sombrero beach wasn't too far, and we found some great mangrove trails from there for kayaking. Also not too far from the Bahia Honda State Park. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the park and would go back there again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Price is based on Passport America rate for 5 days. This is a delightful park with very helpful staff. It is a great place to explore both the Upper and Lower Keys. It is very close to The Turtle Hospital and the Dolphin Research facilities. Both are worth spending time visiting. The sunsets from the dock are incredible. The roads are paved and there is grass at the sites. There is cable. We will stay here again and will recommend it highly to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$60
A nice, friendly campground in a busy winter hangout. We got Passport America for five nights and then paid "retail", for two. A very nice, new pool there. I'd go back. Wind on the oceanside sites forced some folks to move, so be aware. No trails unless you drive a bit. Excellent shopping in nearby Marathon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$40
Located just north of the 7-mile bridge. This is a lovely retreat from the tourist-intense culture of the Florida Keys. Campsites are level and roomy, though there aren't shade trees. The campgrounds are located on the Gulf Side and there is a great dock area for swimming and boating, as well as simply relaxing and watching the water. Waterside locations are slightly more expensive. I stayed here four days using it as a base camp while touring the Keys. The staff was very friendly, providing me information including the location of a great dog-friendly beach on the Atlantic side of the town. There is also a nice pet area. I snorkled on the beach in February, and the water was wonderfully warm. I saw fish and touched sponge, but you are warned to leave the local lobster colony alone. There is a $25 refundable fee if you have a dog. I drove off without remembering to get it back and found it in my mail when I arrived home. In summation, this is a great place to spend time in the Keys. It is in the middle of the Keys and is an economical alternative to other areas. While the state parks in the area are less expensive, it is nearly impossible to get sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
Nice and clean. Nice new pool. This campground has been improved since 2010 when we stayed there. Nice location in the keys. Used Passport of America to get half off. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$78
Jolly Roger Travel Park is an excellent place to stay in the middle of the FL Keys. We camped here for 10 days in the new section of the park, Lot 70. The staff is excellent; they greet you the minute you arrive and direct you to your site. The campers are friendly and it is a pet-friendly park, as long as you obey the pet policy, which is completely reasonable. There is a dog park where we met great people and their dogs. It's just 5 miles from a Dog Beach, Coco Palm Beach. Took our dog there almost every day. My only suggestion would be to have two washers in the laundry repaired so that they fill to capacity. They do accept Passport America in Jan., Feb., and Mar. which many Fl campgrounds do not. Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$70
We stayed here 2 years ago mainly because it was in the Keys and the only park that accepted PA (5 nights). We returned to find it much improved: new heated/chilled pool, a new section of larger sites, laundry/shower/rental building repainted. The men who escort you to site and give instructions for parking are great--wish we could take one with us! Gorgeous sunsets from the shore or docks. I think at least half the guests had dogs. A nice clean park that is well-maintained and has the best rates in the Keys. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
I found this park on the Passport America site, and then came here to confirm whether it was a place I would want to stay. This was the only park we found in the Southern Florida Coastal area that honors Passport American in January, February and March. In fact they honor it all year round! The daily price I show is the 50% discounted rate. You can only use the discount for 5 days, but that is perfect for our purposes. This is an older, but being improved continually. They have a new pool, and have added a bunch of new sites compatible with big rigs like ours: we are 62' long with our car hauler trailer. They had us drop the trailer at the entrance and then after we were situated in our site they brought the trailer over to our site with a tractor. Perfect! They have free, quite fast WiFi, and the park is well maintained. We would definitely stay here again in the future! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$79
We camped here 3 years ago and found a lot of work has been done to improve this park. They added grassy sites, all so nicely landscaped, and a new swimming pool Now all which needs improvement are the showers which are pretty impractical. There is no soap/shampoo holder, no hooks for towels or clothes, and no seat except in open common area. I understand this is their next project. Iit will make this park tops as the staff, the looks, the friendly guests, and the amenities make this park very attractive. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
Had a very good stay here on short notice after realizing we had booked one night too few elsewhere. Our first use of Passport America, and rate was by far best available for the Keys in winter. PA guests stay in older section which is fair and everybody wins. Our site was narrow (between the concrete patio and the pump out fitting) but fine. No problem backing in because the park manager guided us in within minutes of our arrival and came back to help with the cable hookup. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Beautiful pool. Clean bathrooms, big laundry room. Nice pier where you can sit on a bench to watch sunset. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$39
Rate posted reflects Passport America discount. We were pleasantly surprised when we pulled in to this park. It was far better than we expected and we would definitely stay here again. The heated pool is new and nicely landscaped. Our site was an acceptable size, we had no problem with WIFI, staff were very friendly and helpful. There are approx. 40 new sites, all with grass, patios and paved roads. The older area has sites with shade, grass and patios as well. The waterfront area offers a place to snorkel,fish, launch boats or relax and watch the birds from the boardwalk or covered pavilion. A perfect place to watch the sunset. I would have given the park a higher rating if the few older, mossy trailers near the front of the park were not present. We did not see any one around these trailers, but they did distract from the overall appearance of that part of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$81
Park was nice, but had a lot of full time RV's. Park was clean and the staff was great. If you are looking for a park with WI-FI this isn't the one you want. The WI-FI here is slower than the slowest dial-up there has ever has been. For the price of this park they should either have a better WI-FI or remove the statement, that they have WI-FI in their ad. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$44
We stayed at Jolly Roger for just one night, under the Passport America rate. The campground is clean, the manager is super friendly, and we wish our schedule would have allowed us to stay longer. We will return again for a longer visit next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This park was very clean. Located on a beautiful spot on the gulf. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$39
Rate quoted is Passport America. Limit 5 days per year. Convenient and reasonable (for the Keys). In process of installing a pool. Boat launch and moorage. Higher rate for water front sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$55
One of our favorite places and getting better. Friendly staff, new pool, boat launch, boat docks, fishing, swimming, boating. What's not to like? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$76
We stayed here in a second row, but this ocean view site is as far away from the noisy road as possible. The view was the best. The site was very unlevel with large, broken concrete patches. The whole place looks pretty run down, there was even a decaying rat beside the laundry. It was the first time we felt bothered by all the dogs. The staff is very friendly. Regarding value for money, the place is totally overpriced. We will never come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$41
Stayed here for one week to use as a central site to visit all of the keys. Great place, friendly staff. We had a site 15 ft. from the water (absolute oceanfront) with an incredible view. Ocean sites were very wide with plenty of room and level. Sites are hard sand packed with grass on both sides for your RV. Very quiet park and pet friendly. We had to put a deposit down for our pet and when we left the park we forgot to stop and pick it up. Friendly staff mailed us our deposit back. Very honest and helpful. Close to restaurants and shopping. We would come back here again. There is no pool, but they have a swimming area roped off along their shoreline. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Rate reflects Passport America discount. A 'nice' park, but not really a 'great' park. Facilities are a little run down. Don't like the shower curtains used as toilet stall doors: very uncomfortable feel. Having to push a button almost every 15 seconds or so for shower water grew a little tiring. The pull-through sites in the middle of the park are tight: felt like I was crowding my neighbor when I put out the slide. Not sure I'd stay here again, considering no pool. The swimming area left a little to be desired. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$55
J.R. is adequate but not exceptional. About half of the "park" is not used and looks pretty bad. Sites do have 20, 30, and 50 amp power service, water (low pressure as is all the keys), and sewer. There are no activities here other than dock fishing and snorkeling. Marathon is the address but you are really about 6 or 7 miles north of Marathon. Some shade in certain spots. Gulf side spots are very close to water with accompanying salt water spray. Passport America is honored for 5 days only and certain spots only. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Owner is out of state. This is a reasonable place to stay if you want full hookups and reasonable rate. Just 60 miles to Key West. We might stay here again if we come down the Keys again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
This CG is hard to rate. In the beautiful keys, great out here. But we have noticed that pretty much all the RV parks down here are on the main highway, need to be as there is just not a lot of land available. Noisy highway, but nice laid back park, staff was very friendly, everyone in the park was nice. Tight spots on the interior but some good wide sites. Price is Passport America, so we did not get a premium site. Beautiful Gulf coast location. We would stay again. Great Verizon service. Did not use the Wi-Fi, but heard it was good. One thing, they do not have a sign "up the road" to tell one you are there, we drove right by there, good thing there was a out of business facility a 100 yds down the road to turn around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$84
We had a site on the seawall that was really nice. The sites on the interior were not very good. The Wifi was fast most of the time. The people in the office were very helpful. Sites are close together which is normal for the Keys. I would return in the future if I could have a seawall site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$72
Very old RV park. Laundry room clean but dryers are so old they don't dry very well. Sites on beach are very nice with a few small palm trees. The remaining sites are just layer out on grassy areas and some have shade. Lots of snowbirds so they have lots of stuff layer out all around their RV's that made it look very messy. Some sites have a lot of junk around them (boats and parts). Office folks are very nice. There is a wading area next to the fishing pier. Wi-Fi was terrible. Half the dog walk was used as a parking area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$69
We decided for our first trip to the Florida Keys to stay in Marathon. This would give us about a 1 hour drive in either direction to visit Key West and Key Largo. We chose Jolly Roger for our 2 week stay because it was priced better than most parks in the area. Our site was a pull thru and was not near trees, so it was easy in and easy out for our big rig. Some interior sites would be a bit more tricky to maneuver. Our one neighbor's sewer hookup was so close it was right next to our patio/picnic table and the other neighbor's awning was a foot from our living room slide and way too close. Water pressure was poor and the electric went out several times. The staff are just as nice as they can be, but despite their helpful attitude, it doesn't change the fact that this is a very old park. To upgrade the restrooms/showers and laundry would take a major cash injection. While it was not the staff's fault, the sewage smell from the rotting seaweed along the seawall was pretty bad. We were glad we didn't pay the big bucks for the gulf view sites where the odor was unbelievably strong. We loved the Keys and will definitely come back, but unless this park undergoes some serious facility improvements, we will pay the extra money and stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$86
Staff did EVERYTHING to make your stay comfortable. Customer Service is their priority. No pool, but great swim area in the gulf. Just an old-fashioned park with great, friendly people. Plenty of organized activities, large area to walk and bike, laundry on premises, shade trees, ocean front spots, very well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$80
Cute park in Keys. Small sites. Camp Club rate got us a crummy site. Paid much more for decent site. Staff is friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$19
WiFi not very good. Grass RV parking. Concrete patio. Stayed total of 3 nights. Really enjoyed the park and our stay. Laundry room could use some attention to dryer functionality. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$90
We camped here for 3 nights while we were visiting the Keys. The park location is great for that, as it is located right off US 1 about half way out to Key West. I thought it was a little expensive as there were no Passport America sites available, so we ended up on the seawall in spot 169. All of the seawall sites (most expensive) are right on the gulf water and are very scenic. However, our site had very poor cable TV reception and the AC voltage was constantly fluctuating between 117 and 105 just before causing the electrical management system in the motor home to reset the breakers. The AC power in the park is not very strong and we could only use one appliance at a time. The restrooms and showers are located on the first floor of an old hotel unit next to the office. Although they were fairly clean, they were very small and had shower curtains for stall doors. I suspect this was because if they used a solid stall door, they would be too small to use. There are two stalls, but one was always clogged when I visited the Men's room. I will not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$36
We stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas. We had a pull through site on the interior. The site was grassy and level with a cement patio. All the picnic tables were new and areas of the park were being renovated. The bark park was closed because of sand burrs, but a burr free area was provided for dog duty. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our fellow travelers were good neighbors. The sites are oriented perpendicular to the bay so the RVs are in line with the wind. We were here during a little cold front and could hardly tell the wind was blowing because of the orientation. You need to drive to the beach or groceries, but who cares, you're in the Keys. There is an off-leash dog park a few miles down the road. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$45
Older park but kept very clean. Has easy access, very nice staff, good for cycling. Has a nice beach about 5 miles away (Sombrero Beach). Will definitely return in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
Staff was great!! Thanks to one who taught me something about unhooking a 5th wheel that I did not know. Not only did the staff lead us to our site but helped us get backed in, unhooked and level. We had a great waterfront site with beautiful views of sunsets and the gazillion lobsters along the seawall. They have a nice boat dock if you want to fish or if you have a boat with you and there is a nice area for swimming or snorkeling. They provide cable and good internet WiFi. The location provides a good central location for other activities and services. We have stayed at other RV parks in this area and this will be our first choice for future visits. If the park had a pool we would give them a 9. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Staff was very nice. We got a beautiful water front site, were planning on staying there 2 nights and stayed 8 nights. It was clean, pet area was NOT good. We took our pet and always always clean up after him. But these so called pet runs can be very hazardous to your pet. Be sure and wash their feet off after you go in one of those. But overall, it was a great park and like I said, the staff is great. We WILL go return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
We spent 3 weeks at this park. It was very enjoyable. Staff was very helpful, and take whatever time is needed to discuss questions, and other needed information. The park has great views of the gulf, especially if using a seawall site. The sites that are not on the seawall are all unique with a wide variety of different trees. All amenities worked fine, with the cable TV (almost like satellite availability) and the WiFi was the best we've used in our 3 months of travelling. The rate was an off season rate, normally would be $77 which is considerably lower than a lot of other parks, that didn't appear to be as scenic (a.k.a. desert park). Apparently, they are going to be upgrading some sites in the near future. We have a 30' travel trailer, but there were lots of big rigs. This would be my #1 choice on a return visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$76
We loved that this park had vegetation and trees. Many we saw in the Keys looked like desert sites: all sand and gravel, no shade. This park also had a very attractive waterfront area. Marathon is a good location for visiting, since Key West and Key Largo are each about an hour's drive. We would definitely consider staying again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$77
I just spent a week here in early March 2010 and had a seawall campsite. The weather was poor (high winds and cool), so I really did not get a chance to enjoy the waterfront (gulf side) but it would have been lovely. The staff was attentive to the area, very friendly and assisted you to your campsite. The wind, tides and waves splash water and sea grass up on the seawall AND onto the RVs, but the staff was quick to clear it off with a tractor. Since it was so windy and cool, I did find a public beach down the road on the ocean side. The sites off the water were much more protected, and if I were to go again, I would opt for those. The laundry was clean but more dryers were out of order than working. Now the reason I will not return: the showers! I think that paying $77 a night should warrant a shower. The setup for these is ridiculous since you have to pull a chain to make the water come out with no control over temperature. I totally understand the need to conserve water, but this makes no sense at all. Since the sites all have sewer connections there is nothing to prevent people from having long hot showers inside their rigs. It really inconveniences those of us who travel in smaller units (mine is a Class B camper van) and I believe I paid enough to have a decent shower! To me it is unacceptable and until they rectify that, I won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$36
We have stayed here several times. It is one of the few parks in the Keys that accepts Passport in the winter. Free Wi-Fi, a plus. Staff very friendly. Location is halfway between Key Largo and Key West, so very convenient for exploring the Keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$72
There is nothing to write home about with this park. Very pricey for what you get. This park has markings of an old trailer park. With some work, this could be a very nice park. They are working on some improvements with the common areas down by the water. The laundry room needs some TLC quickly. We will not stay here again unless they make some major improvements. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$67
We stayed here on our PA rate so they parked us close to the road, but we were glad they did because winds were high (coldest winter in 25 years, too), and the folks along the ocean took a beating. Sites are very closely packed, but most have concrete pads (ours did), and are clean and well maintained. They're obviously designed for big motorhomes. We had to get an extra water hose to reach all the way back to the spigot, and it felt like camping in the city: skyscrapers all around us with the rigs. The sun went down early! But the people were very friendly, and they gave us more assistance parking than any other place I've been. I didn't NEED the help, but the guy knew the spot already and got us spot-on to the ideal location. That's a nice touch. Each site has a picnic table, although it's considerably smaller than the ones you find in state parks. Like some other reviewers have commented, I did get that occasional sewer smell. No idea: the whole island chain is only feet above sea level. There could be dozens of reasons for it. We put up with it. Laundry facilities were large and we were glad to have them, although they were somewhat more expensive quarter-wise than we've spent elsewhere. Everything in the keys is more expensive, so this didn't feel excessively out of line. We did notice a lot of dogs when we came. The owners were better than most, but it's still an annoyance to have a child napping and a dog yipping away, especially with the sites so closely packed together. Dogs aren't the campground's fault, they're the owners', but as I said: close proximity in this park may test your patience if you're unlucky enough to be next to a yippy-dog owner. Wi-Fi service was: acceptable, and it was free so we got what we paid for. They don't have much bandwidth, so during off-times it works great, but when the other campers all get online after it gets dark, it slows to a trickle. We ended up using our mobile broadband card much of the time. They were experimenting with a new service when we arrived. They had a propane vendor come on site, with a sign-up sheet to get your tanks filled. This is a great idea, and I hope they continue it. During the summer we don't use it much, but in winter camping we go through it like crazy, and I travel with extra spare tanks. As it turned out, we ended up not getting our tanks filled from the vendor, because they charged a delivery fee. That seemed out of line to me, since they were apparently charging everybody the same fee, and their truck was already on site. The delivery fee on top of filling my little 20lb tanks would have doubled the price. The delivery guy was at least kind enough to mention this himself, and suggest that I take my tanks to their filling station in town. But still, if I had had 30s or larger on there, I would REALLY have appreciated this service. I hope Jolly Roger keeps it up. I don't understand why more campgrounds don't do that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$37
Rate reflects PA rate including taxes. We stayed here 5 nights near the road which is where PA members are parked. No worries for us we were pleased to have the PA rate at this time of year for 5 days. The staff were friendly and efficient. The park is dated but apparently changes are in the works. It is almost exactly halfway between Key Largo and Key West so very convenient for exploring the Keys. Sites are tight but have concrete pads so your rig stays clean. Seawall is nice to walk along or sit on to view the sunset. Water pressure is very low so fill your tanks if you want a decent shower. The Wi-Fi and cable TV worked really well and the pot luck on Friday night was fun. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$36
We checked into this park and they were fumigating their bathrooms and small hotel complex so can not comment on them. We were there on the passport america rate so they put us in a spot close to the road instead of the waterfront even though park was mostly empty. There was Night work going on on the road so I was a little unhappy but figured arguing with management would get me no where so I let it go. The Park was pretty clean we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$37
Very nice campground. Friendly helpful staff. The only negative is the showers. The mens requires pushing a button every 30 seconds and the womens requires holding a chain down to get water. No control on temperature. Good waterfront location with a nice dock and some snorkeling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$62
This is a tough park to review. Mostly everything in the FL Keys is quite expensive except the state park campgrounds (which you need to reserve a spot 11 months in advance to get into the state parks in the keys). Jolly Roger is probably a "best buy" @ $56/day ($65 for an "interior plus" site, pay for 6 days and get the 7th day free). However there is a state/local sales tax of 11.5% which makes the final price $62/day. They also have much less desirable (close to US-1) Passport America sites at better rates. 50 amp electric, sewer, cable and Wi-Fi seemed to work OK. When we arrived, the park had a strong malodorous smell of rotting seaweed (sulfur smell). We had to keep our rig "sealed up" with all windows and vents closed to help reduce the awful smell. A cold front had just passed and winds were strong from the north, pushing the sea grasses up and over the seawall bulkhead and filling into the boat ramp. In some places the sea grass had piled up several feet high. Once the winds subsided, I ask the management when they were going to take care of the problem. After some terse discussion, I suggested they get a "front-end loader" and dumpster to remove the rotting seaweed. Apparently, they had complaints from others as well and eventually did clean up the mess (and the associated odor). Water pressure was very low. We needed to fill our tank and use our water pump during our stay. Our site had previously been a permanent site and the sewer connection was located underneath our chassis, making our sewer hookup difficult and dirty. Also they put us next to a derelict trailer, missing an axle being held up with a bottle jack and no apparent repairs were being performed. Quite a bit of "sprucing up" of the park still needs to done. That being said, I believe the new management is really trying to turn this campground around and would give them a try again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$34
Very friendly and accommodating. We had major truck problems and they allowed us to delay our arrival not once but twice. The sites were tight but manageable; the traffic from the road was loud as we were near the office (which made for good wifi!). Clean laundry area. Interesting waterfront area for sitting. Passport rates honored at this time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$50
The park is fine. Shady. Friendly group of campers that seem to party a lot. Dog friendly, and there is an actual dog beach nearby. We don't use bathhouses so can't comment. Biggest problem, as noted by others, is the WiFi. They claimed they had just put in a revamped system, but if so they need to try again. Very weak, really not usable except up near the office where there is little comfortable place to sit anyway. If this is important to you, ask hard questions before booking/selecting site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$63
This is one of the shadier campgrounds in the Keys. Many of the other campers were really friendly, and it's a dog-friendly place. There is no beach but you can drive or bike 3 miles to Curry Hammock State Park to get to one. You can boat or fish or swim (if you have aqua shoes) right at the campground. There was a big sign in the bathrooms that said they were for "campers and tenters without their own facilities," which we ignored. The bathrooms were old, with shower curtains on the toilet stalls as well as the showers. The showers in the woman's room had pull chains to run the water--when you let go, the water stopped. Not a problem if it's warm out. The faucets had sort of lukewarm water and were push button. The Wi-Fi works near the office. Our daughter, 12, was $5 extra per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$65
Nice park, friendly staff, friendly people in the park. No permanent mobile homes. We had a water view and it was a large site. Most sites have plenty of room. Nice quiet area, dog friendly, good roads, easy in and out. Would definitely stay here again. Only drawbacks would be the sandspurs and the Wi-Fi didn't work at all sites. It worked for a while then quit. They didn't get it fixed while we were there but you could go to a site closer to the office and it would work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
Very nice campground in the middle Keys. We stayed there just before the "prime season". The cost was $20 per night with 50% off PA rate. This could not be beat for the area. The cost does go up in December. Mgmt was both friendly and helpful. We are making arrangements to go there again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
We stayed four nights. Great, clean, friendly and very helpful. Need Wi-Fi on sites, was only at office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$56
This is an older campground that used to be a Mobile Home Park but after a hurricane wiped it clean they made it an RV park only. You will not find pads for the RV to sit on and some sites are not very level but the friendly staff and great location make up for it. The park overlooks the Gulf and you can walk the sea wall at night looking for lobster. The snorkel area is fun and the park has activities that help you meet your neighbors. I will come back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$56
RV Parks in the Florida Keys are extremely expensive, especially during season, and this is actually one of the more reasonably-priced ones. We decided to splurge for this month and got a really nice spot with a view of the Gulf of Mexico out the big back window of our fifth wheel. The park has lots of trees and grass and most of the sites are quite spacious. Marathon is about midway in the Keys, so you have the opportunity to go either west to Key West or east to Islamorada and Key Largo, although it’s still quite a distance either way. The staff here is extremely friendly and helpful, and they have a few activities such as potlucks and free hot dogs for lunch on Fridays. They advertise wi-fi, but only within a short distance from the office. Maybe the number of RVers constantly gathered at the picnic tables around the office with their laptops will eventually convince them they need to add some booster antennas. The laundry was busy almost continuously, with 4 washers and 4 working dryers (out of 8 total dryers). Maybe that was because of the extremely low water pressure (it took half an hour just to fill the washer tub). In fact the water pressure was so low in the entire park that we just kept our water pump on all the time. But it was fun watching the pelicans gather around the fish-cleaning station whenever someone came with their catch. And every night several of the campers would gather at the edge of the water to watch the sunset, a Keys tradition. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$36
This is a neatly kept place with spacious, shaded, and grassy sites. Originally a mobile home park, it is now purely an RV campground. The docks, marina, and swimming/scuba areas are nice features, and the staff are friendly. We liked it so much we extended our stay by a day. We paid the Passport America rate for full hook-ups, which was a great bargain for the Florida Keys! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$89
Good central location to swimming, beach, fishing and Key West. Very quiet. Lots of space. Great sunsets. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$65
We went to this campground intending to stay two weeks and ended up staying six weeks. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites are large. We were able to keep our trailer on site with us. They helped us find a propane delivery service. The water pressure was low, but we got used to it. The guests gather by the pier in the evening to watch the beautiful sunset. They are very pet friendly and have a bark park that was close to our site. We enjoyed this travel park and we're looking forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$70
In the process of upgrading. Some maneuvering to park but there is assistance. Boat ramp and small harbor: for an additional $300 per month. We will have been here over 2 months. Nice seawall for lobster watching. About 4 miles north of Marathon proper and grocery stores. You really need a toad to get around. Kayaks available. Swimming at the seawall, it's shallow and safe for snorkeling. Wi-Fi at the office only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$65
This campground is OK but nothing special. It's worn and needs attention -- cement and tiles are broken, most dryers don't work, and in general the infrastructure is crumbling -- although there are some signs of work being done. We did enjoy watching fish off the seawall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2005
$67
Pros = location mid-point in Florida keys, staff helpfulness, functional and well located hook ups. Cons = bad odor on waterfront (vegetation at low tide), tight roads and spaces for large rigs (cars on edge of roads by necessity). Nothing special for amenities. Given limited space in the Keys, probably fair value for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com