223451 User submitted reviews online!!
Candlestick RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (415) 822-2299
CGID464

Candlestick RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
165
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$97



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   7   4   6   7   9   7   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$97
Cost was too much for too little. Another concrete parking lot, with hook ups, and no space between sites. Picked this park for location to the city (about 7 miles from city center). It has a shuttle bus that takes you into the city for $12 per person. In its defense, we spent most of our time in the city so just needed a place to sleep and shower. So amenities were not that important. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$79
We were very happy with Candlestick RV Park. It is a great place to stay while visiting SF. A bit spendy, but this is San Francisco, so worth the bucks. Shuttle is very handy. Spaces are a little tight, but had no trouble with our 39 foot 5r, with 4 slides. Hook ups were all handy and clean. Management and staff very friendly and helpful. Mini Mart in the office area carried a lot of items and RV Supplies. Park has 24 hour security guards. Will definitely stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$79
I'm not sure why people have given bad reviews to this campground. If your going to visit San Francisco in a RV, this is the place to stay. Clean, friendly helpful staff. The shuttle service is excellent. They were willing to take us or pick us up when we wanted, and at 12 dollars round trip the price is good. No room to hang outside by your coach but the city is the attraction, not camping. So if your looking for full hook ups and easy access to the city, this is THE CAMPGROUND to stay at. We will stay here again when visiting the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$75
For the ease of getting to downtown, this place would be a 10. Sadly, the campground has deteriorated since our last visit five years ago. There are many live-ins and the construction projects next door make for an ominous future. On the weekend we stayed, a sports car time trial rally was being held across the street which made for extra noise. The campground is clean enough and the manager is the nicest person around. This helps a little. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$79
This park is nothing more than a parking lot with hookups. It is located right across the street from Candlestick Park which looked dreadful. The sites are very tight. We were able to open our 2 slides, but had no room to extend our awning,which is OK because there was no room to put out our chairs anyway. No cable TV is available but our antenna got very good reception. The Wi-Fi was very slow and we were right across from the office. The laundry is large but so is the cost. Washers were $2.50 and dryers 25 cents per 5 min.The cost of our site was very pricey.On a positive note there is a nice recreational park just down the street with walking trails and biking trails along the bay. It is also very convenient to San Francisco sights. The only reason we stayed here is because there are very few choices in this city and it was all we could find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Super nice people that own this! An excellent central location. Laundry room immaculate with a dozen washers and dryers. Management was great at helping us find a spot that accommodated our larger RV and allowed us to park an extra vehicle. Thumbs up! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$58
Worth every penny. Close to town. Not fancy, but as advertised. Nice staff. Clean and no frills, but convenient for everything an RVer goes to San Francisco for. Close to attractions and interstates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$75
It is a parking lot with hookups. Wi-Fi worked well during non-peak hours. It's not a bad way to see San Fransisco. The park is located in a tough neighborhood, but they have very tight security. The restrooms/showers are very clean. Prices at their store are high. Stock up on supplies before arriving. Take their bus to China Town, or rent a cab. It's the only RV park in S.F. I'd stay there again to see more of San Francisco. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$69
Nice park that is Chinese owned. Good shuttle bus to downtown (Chinatown) Operates accurately. Clean restrooms. Good place to stay while visiting San Francisco. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$69
Recently spent two nights at the Candlestick RV park in San Francisco. Despite some of the negative comments made about the park and the area we enjoyed our stay. It was very quiet at night, well lighted and security at the entrance. The staff was very friendly and the restrooms were clean. The shuttle to Downtown for only 12 dollars round trip was a bargain and they were happy to add a later pickup time when requested. We stayed here when there wasn't a home game scheduled so when a game is played I'm sure all sites are taken. No doubt there will be considerable more activity than usual during a home game. I would stay here again and you should consider this park if you are looking to stay close to San Francisco with easy access to the freeway. Sites are close together and there was some trash no doubt leftover from the just recently concluded football game. A spa or pool would have increased our overall rating. However, considering that it is a park designed for travelers visiting San Francisco and other points of interest makes the location ideal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$81
Yes, it is a parking lot, but I truly don't know what the negative talk is about this park. The park is totally enclosed and there is security on the gate at night. The office staff is very, very friendly and the outside staff never stopped working keeping the area clean. Free fruit, coffee and fortune cookies are put out daily at the front desk. Granted, the price is a little steep for being on the back side of Candlestick Stadium, but you can't beat the location. It took us 20 minutes, in traffic, to drive downtown. The park has a shuttle for $12.00 (round trip) that will drop you off downtown, starting at 0900, and bring you back, last bus at 2100. The laundry was big and clean as was the store. The store was a little pricey but pretty much has everything that you need. I will add that you can exit the park and walk to your left toward the water without a problem. I would strong suggest that you NOT walk 6 blocks to the right, especially after dark unless you are packing. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2011
$60
As others have stated, this is nothing more than a parking lot with lines! They must have bought and paid for their 5 star rating. The park is dirty. They advertise "Pet Friendly" but have no place to walk our dogs. There are no trees to be found in this park, and the spaces are so close to each other you can hear your neighbor flush! Our view out the front window of our motor home is what looks like a junk yard that has a pretty nice cat population! And yes, the fence has razor wire on it! We will not be back to this park and I do not recommend you coming either. Happy camping everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
Not much to do here, but it has peaceful, friendly people. It was nice to have a shuttle take me to Chinatown. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$69
We wanted something close to downtown S.F. and that's why we ended up here. It is basically a parking lot with painted lines and the spots are very narrow. We only have a truck camper, but fortunately the site left and right of us was empty, otherwise with the windstorm we had, the RV's would probably have touched each other. And yes, the razor wire is still there! I don't know who they want to keep out - or in? With the help of a few boards we were able to level our camper and the WI-FI worked just fine. The showers are another story. They are all tiled, even the ceiling! However, the shower heads and the controls for them should definitely be replaced. I tried all showers after having seen how the first one worked and then ended up in the first one anyway. It took me several minutes to make sure the water was spraying more or less in the right direction and not over the curtain and as well to find the right water temperature. More than one hook would be nice and maybe a bench - and definitely another shower head. I don't know how often these facilities get cleaned, but they haven't seen much more than a mob on the floor. I think $69 for something like that is a bit too much and as there was a S.F. 49er game the next day in the stadium across the road, the manager was asking $105 for that day. Therefore we left and most probably won't return. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$80
San Francisco needs more RV parks, I understand that the real estate is costly, but this property is nice in a lot of ways, and terrible in others. The bad. First location: it is situated in a not-so-nice neighborhood and there was construction going on directly on the other side of the fence from where we were located. The fence was covered with Razor wire to keep people out I was told. Maybe that's a good thing, maybe it's bad. Second issue I had with the place: I reserved a spot many months in advance and asked that I get a corner spot, I was assigned spot 89. However, when I got to the park my spot was given away and I was told that there are no reserveable spots. When I gave them my confirmation number, he said that I was in a middle spot, and that is where I was stuck as it was the 4th of July weekend. Third: you are in a parking lot with hook-ups. Near some of the sites is a vent pipe from the sewer, the smell was less than I had expected for the price I had to pay per night. Now for the good. The showers were clean and they were secure with a key that you had to pay a deposit to use. I did get my deposit back at the end, but be certain to return your key before you leave. The park main building was newer, and it is directly across the street from the Candlestick park. I don't think I would camp here again because of the switching out my space and thinking that it's alright. Also, for this price, get some internet in the park. Afterall it's San Francisco, not the deep woods of the Sierras. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2009
$50
This is just a parking lot with lines, too narrow to put out an awning, no picnic tables or a place to put one. You can't even sit outside there is no room. If the park was full then I don't think it is big rig friendly as you couldn't get in or out it would be too tight. It is the only RV park close to the city which is nice, but I will not stay there again. If they say they have Wi-Fi then it should work at all sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$74
This is as others described, a parking lot with painted lines between the sites. The sites are small, given that it is the only park in San Francisco where you will not have to drive for an hour and pay the bridge tolls. The 28-day rate is one of the cheapest in the bay area at $960. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are well maintained, and if you use the shower closest to the door there is plenty of water pressure. We made reservations 6 months in advance to ensure that we would have a space for our awning and screen room, and the staff lived up to their promise that we would have the room. The neighborhood is an inner-city area, but my wife and I used the public transportation, walking to the bus stop one block away, and we never had a problem: just be aware of your surroundings. (We did have some items stolen from our vehicle at Treasure Island, a long way from the park). I would not suggest being on third street late at night. The Wi-Fi only works around the office and there is no cable TV, which is not a problem with a satellite dish. It would help if they added some access points through the park to give all sites Wi-Fi: would be a great benefit to the guests. The biggest complaint that we had are with the other people that were staying in the park. Many are using the tent area for a bathroom for their dogs, which is against the park policy. Who wants to put their tent down on top of dog urine. Other people were allowing their children to run through the park on skateboards and unsupervised just waiting for an accident, as well as disturbing other people's peace and quiet. This again is supposed to be against the park rules, but does not seem to be enforced. There was a group from France who were the most inconsiderate group, yelling and laughing right until the 11 p.m. quiet time. This was the only time we had an issue with the park staff. After the second night of listening to this, we asked the security guard if he would talk to them, this was at 10:30 at night, and he stated he would not until 11:00 p.m. When it is supposed to be quiet time. We would stay here again, especially if the rules start being enforced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$75
What a joke: rude people and lousy service and facilities. I would rather drive an hour than to stay here again. This park is not clean, located in a scary neighborhood and no one here seems to care about their park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$79
Man at the reception was very rude. Places are very small. Showers give very little amount of water. Neighborhood is scary. Absolutely not worth the money. Worst RV park we were in at the highest price (even Disneyland RV park was only 57 euro's a night.). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$69
I've been traveling the USA for three months now. I'm from the UK, and am appalled at the level of service from this park, compared to the 15 or so I have stayed in previously. All without exception have offered and delivered a first class service. Unfortunately for me, this site is my last stay at an American RV park. I asked if my e-tickets could be printed out this morning. I was told to come back after 3pm, which I did, only to be told to come back at 7.30pm as the person on the desk was the only one who could do this for me. So I came back at 7.45, only to be told by him he was in the middle of a down load, and that would last till he went home, and turned his back on me!!!! Well thank you so very much for your help and support. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$74
If you need to be in the city this park is adequate. The park is a parking lot type with narrow sites but it does have location, location and easy access to the freeways. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$70
I don't know why people camp here other than for football games, it's right across the street from the stadium. It's a parking lot. Spots so tight there wasn't room for a picnic table between us and out neighbors. All the RVs there are rental RVS. The shuttle 4 miles to downtown is $12 each way. The area is seedy and the sign out front is all broken. Like people threw rocks at it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$74
I drove to this park to inquire about a long-term rate. While the manager was friendly, the park itself was in major need of refurbishing. The spaces are small and narrow. The spot they wanted to assign me for my 38' 5th wheel was only 25' long. The place caters to the football crowd, and from what the manager told me, expect big, loud parties there in the campground during the season. The place is really nothing other than a paved parking lot with painted lines, and a few outbuildings. I really can't think of any word to describe this place other than it's a dump, and I wouldn't stay there for any amount of money, not even for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$80
Well, where to start. First of all, they are the only park in the greater San Fransisco area, so they hold the market there. The sites are small, really small. The park is right next to the 49er's stadium, which is right next to the ghetto. Don't walk outside the park! My nephews went outside the park, against their better judgment and were approached by some of the locals, wanting to know where they were from (gang banger talk). I was kept awake at night and woken up by the sound of gunshots every night! I finally called the police to do an area check at 1:00 AM because I hadn't seen a patrol car since I arrived in the city. I would never stay here again, especially since they are overpriced for what they give you and are in a lousy location. I would stay in Marin County and make the drive if I decided to come back here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$70
First and foremost ignore your GPS system; always take 149A from north or south 101. There are tough neighborhoods very close. Facility security is good, with a fence and guards all night. That said, you are right next to an admittedly poorly maintained, California State Reserve. I found it a pleasant place to observe the wildlife, including great blue heron, and to walk the dogs. This area can have a bay smell, but the sunrise in the morning is worth it. The cost is the highest we have seen, but it is all about proximity to the city. Sites are narrow, and you have to be a bit creative to position your slide outs. We did not use the shuttle. The campground web page suffers from overstatement. Restrooms were clean but everything including the laundry, was expensive. Wi-Fi was free and you get what you pay for. Do your email/browsing in the morning and very close to the office. Performance at night will just frustrate you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$50
If your primary goal is to visit San Francisco or watch 49er football games or Giants baseball games, then Candlestick RV Park would be an adequate choice. Even though the spaces are very tight and the amenities are not plentiful (no cable TV, very weak Wi-Fi, no shade), Candlestick RV Park makes a good jumping off point for numerous activities. The staff is very friendly and quite knowledgeable about the San Francisco area. One note, however, do not take exit 429B since that will route you through the rough Hunters Point area. Instead, use exit 429A. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$65
This park is grossly overpriced. Sites are so narrow that slides could touch. Bags of ice cost $3 each. Laundry costs $2.50 to wash and $0.25 per 5 minutes to dry. Machines require $1 coins but they have no change machine. Laundry also lacks anything to hang clothes on as they dry. WiFi would not work at our site so I had to park next to the main building to get emails. However, bathrooms are very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2006
$50
I cant believe they claim they are a 5 star rated rv park, do people get paid to write their review to say that??? I think their website is deceptive, the only 2 pics they show are very vague and the rest of the pics are of San Francisco, a first sign? They dont say they dont have cable and they dont say that the shuttle is $10.00 per person not space and they drop you off in downtown, "phew" Need I go on?! The spots are smaller than Walmarts parking spots and I cant even open up my awning, there is nothing around for miles, unless you brought a tow vehicle, your screwed. Thats the last time I go there if I visit Frisco. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$49
This campground calls itself a luxury 5 star rated RV park. Unfortunately, it offers nothing except hookups. The sites are so narrow that we had to move our fifth wheel back a foot so that our stairs weren't over the other site's sewer hookup. It is located directly across from Candlestick park. I'm sure it makes it's money off football fans. That's fine but it you are here to see SF the only thing that this park has going for it is how close it is to the city. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$60
This is the only park in San Francisco and it isn't the easiest place to get in and out of. When you get there it is a semi parking lot, asphalt with some green spaces. The sites are small as we couldn't put the awning out as the next door neighbor had his slide out.We were backed up to the spare on the site behind and there was hardly room enuff to park the car. I would advise staying outside of town unless you absolutely have to. Also, the area in front of the park was used as a race track almost all night long. VERY PRICEY. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$49
Location, location, location. It is the only park in the city. The entire park is asphalt, and the sites are seperated by a painted yellow line. It is surrounded by a security fence with a gate which makes you feel safe since it is located in an inner-city neighborhood. The electrical connections are not well maintained. We had to move twice to find a 50 amp receptacle that worked. The park was very clean, and bathrooms and showers were immaculate. The staff was friendly and informative. Parking the tow car was a problem, as was driving to and from your site. Reservations are a must. Overall, it was very nice and I would stay there again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com