217805 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Parker State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (254) 562-5751
CGID4648

Fort Parker State Park

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   7   8   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
This is a nice state park with lots of shade trees and a beautiful lake. The park has canoes for rent. Many of the sites are uneven with significant slope from rear to front. It would be impossible to level a motorhome on these sites. We stayed at site #18, a pull through right on the lake. That site is a little uneven but we easily leveled the motorhome. We made the mistake of staying in the park on a holiday weekend. There were dozens of screaming children everywhere in the campground. I'm not talking about children playing, I mean SCREAMING!. It sounded like a slasher movie run amuck! All the parents appeared to be hearing impaired. They were yelling at each other to be heard over the children. One 8 or 9 year old lad in the camp site next to us was particularly endearing. His favorite activity was pounding a large stick on the picnic table while screaming. His parents were at the campsite, they didn't seem to notice. The morning we left everyone packed up their children and left. It was blissfully quiet. Ft, Parker is a nice place but if it's a holiday weekend I'd rather stay in a Walmart parking lot next to the interstate and train tracks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
This is a Texas state park on a lake. Nice facility in a relatively out of the way area. We only stayed one night as a stopover on the way to Austin as it was not too far out of our way. Nice facility with plenty to do if you are so inclined; kayak & canoe rentals, lake swimming, boat ramp. We were there on an off season week day and there was only one other camper in the park. Sites are old design,not very wide and a bit unlevel. We used one of the pull through spaces and it was very tight. Do NOT (as the ranger suggested) try to do the U-Turn at the end of the CG road with your toad still attached but unhook before you turn into the CG road. We made that mistake and had to unhook in mid turn so we could back up and continue the U-turn. There is a large parking area just past the CG turn that you can use for that purpose. Water/electric were fine, with dump station available on the way out. Beautiful quiet sunset and abundant wildlife on the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Very nice park! We were one of about 6 trailers that night. The park is not well known which makes it nice for people who hate crowds (like me). We had our pick of about 15 spots. The park ranger told us to just go down and pick a spot, set-up, then come back and tell him which one we picked. All of the sites have a view of the lake. My only complaint (if it really is one) is that the frogs get really loud at night. The sunset over the lake is breath-taking! I will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
This is a smaller Texas State Park campground on a smallish lake. It is very shady which is great on a hot day but not good if you must have satellite. As noted, the sites tend to be smaller and sloped, but we certainly had no problem in our 27-foot rig. I left "big-rig friendly" checked as yes, but I am doubtful that a really big rig would be very happy here. It would likely be very difficult to level and the roads are fairly tight. We had a nice shady site tucked away at the very end. It was nice and quiet and fairly dark, which we like, even though it filled for the night. There is lots of room for strolling and birding and a small swimming area for the kids. The staff were very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
Nice quiet park. Sites are REALLY unlevel. No sewer. Verizon aircard worked acceptably. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
Nightly rate does not include park entry fee of $2 per person, per day (BUY AN ANNUAL PARKS PASS!!). Clean, well maintained, smaller CCC-built park with very friendly staff. The park fills on the weekend so make sure you call ahead. The park is quiet, has beautiful scenery, a few hiking/biking trails, LOTS of trees and birds, a lake and observation/fishing piers. W/E on side near the rear, excellent over the air HDTV, weather and cell reception. Asphalt road into the camping area is narrow and a bit rough; some trees are close to the road but the road is do-able. Sites are asphalt, "not quite" level and are NOT the same length/width. The camping area is built on a slope so there are leveling issues - front to back and side to side; some sites have both problems. The sites by the lake seem to be more level than those on the other side of the street. There are two hiking/biking trails - one is wide, dirt/stone, and maintained whereas the other is not. A previous reviewer recommended Sites 13-17 and I concur; we stayed in Site 15 (back-in) and recommend it. I would return if I was in the area but would not make the park a destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
Fort Parker is a nice little getaway. I agree with the other reviews. There are canoes and kayaks for rent, a NICE playground, and a nature center. If you like bird watching, you will be in heaven. The park was quiet. Campsites 25 & 24 or 1 & 2 are good sites, if you're travelling with friends. The other sites, #'s 13 - 17 were more level, more shaded, and offer more privacy from other campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$17
Excellent little park sort of in the middle of nowhere that's great for a weekend getaway. Pretty view of the lake from most campsites. Sites near the back of the camping loop were fairly flat and level, those toward the front are somewhat sloped but easy to get into. Nice play area for kids. Nature center building has a good sized meeting room also. There is a historic cemetery in the park that is very interesting to walk through with settlers' graves. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$15
Very nice historic park in Texas. Small with only 25 sites and a 750 acre lake. Definitely will visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com