214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Panamint Springs Resort (Privately Owned) was rated 5 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (775) 482-7680
CGID4659

Panamint Springs Resort (Privately Owned)

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   10   5   7   2   1   7   2   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We were prepared for basic but not as basic as we got. Overpriced for a very rough and rocky roads and site. Not big rig friendly, restrooms and showers desperately in need of refurbishment as with all of campsite in desperate need of maintenance. Try to ensure you have as much gas or diesel as possible as the prices are outrageous as is ice and the few other items in the general store. Cannot recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$15
Ok you're 49 miles from Big Pine and 27 miles from Stove Pipe Wells. There is nothing but desert, steep roads, and great vistas. The only reason Panamint Springs Resort is here is that it has year around water available. They have full water and sewer hook ups with 50 amp service available. We were the only ones hooked up to the power and our surge protector kept kicking in. Their power comes from a generator at 128v and tends to spike. The water they have is not all that tasty but is safe. The roads and sites are dirt and rocks you have to watch overhanging branches and maneuver with care. The sites are reasonably level. Your cell phone will not work there. You can drive 8 miles one way and 12 miles the other and maybe get them to work. This is a good place to come with full batteries, fuel and water tanks and empty waste water tanks. The shower was clean and the water was warm to hotish. Fuel($6+/gal) and some limited supplies are available in the store. They also have a restaurant but we didn't eat there. Full hook ups are $30/night. I'd stay there again but I wouldn't make a habit of it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$7.5
Anywhere else I would probably rate this place a little lower, but this is Death Valley. Where else in this park can you get a nice campsite with water and a hot shower for $7.50? It's got a nice view, good restaurant, gasoline (almost $6 per gallon) and mini mart. You'd be a fool not to stop here and recharge before hitting the wide open spaces. The staff is friendly; they let us choose between several spots...and it was busy, veterans day weekend. I walked the entire campground. Although we were in a tent I would have easily fit my 30' fifth wheel in a lot of sites. There was a good vibe there among campers; very few partiers. Mostly serious Death Valley hikers and explorers ready to hit the road/trail/etc. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
Rate reflects 15 for water hook-up only plus 5 for the dog. Understand that you do not have a whole lot of choice in Death Valley. You can stay in the National Park or boon dock outside on BLM land. All the RV parks are glorified parking lots and although this one was better than most it was right on the Hwy. The showers worked intermittently and are in much need of repair. I just got lucky and was able to get a hot one early in the morning. To do again, I would boon dock the day before I planned to drive through the national park. I prefer to enjoy a beautiful area in a much more secluded fashion. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
We stayed here as a group of eight motor homes and were visiting the Death Valley area. This RV park is in a remote area. All of the hookups worked perfectly including 50 amps. We had beautiful views out the front of our coach. The spaces are rock and dust. But this is in the area of Death Valley so you expect that. The Wi-Fi was free and was a bit weak from our motor home. The Wi-Fi was also a bit slow. We ate a couple times in the restaurant and it was fine. This is likely the best full hook up RV park in the area. If you are coming to this area to see Death Valley you should remember that distances are great here and this is in the valley just to the west of Death Valley. It is about 50-60 miles to the Furnace Creek area of the park from here. I would have rated this park an 8 except the driveways from the main road to your space need some work. And there are a few RV tire killers you have to watch out for. My Verizon service did not work at all here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
This park is less than you would expect even in Death Valley. The water smells bad and pressure is non-existent. The electric power is weak causing lights to go dim in my RV. There is no Wi-Fi as advertised. BUT, their reservation policy is the worst. We reserved 5 days but elected to leave after the first night due to the poor condition of the place. They had per-charged our CC and say they would not allow us to cancel no matter what the reason. They charged my CC and my bank is backing them because I signed the receipt when they scanned my card. Simply put, avoid this place as they are not honest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Beware! There is absolutely no communication via cell phone or local phone at this location. Internet service is marginal at best. Fuel at the resort is outrageously priced, significantly more than anyplace else in the park. Sites are primitive, compared to other RV parks in Death Valley. Very remote location on west side of the park. No play areas for children. Access for large rigs very difficult. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
After making the long winding steep decent into the valley from the west side we made our first stop at Panamint Springs. We talked to the owners son who greeted us warmly and gave us more information about the area than we could ever remember. We decided to stay one night and check the area out and we are still here three days later and we are considering staying for at least another week. There is simply too much to see and do. This park is very quiet and comfortable for us. People need to remember that this is the desert and the desert has a different culture and lifestyle. If you want paved sites and all of the amenities of a 'resort', you need to stay in Pahrump or Las Vegas. The park now has Wi-Fi and its free, but somewhat slow. Good power that is supplied by a diesel generator. That's right, no power company, no cell phone reception and no local TV or cable. That's life in the desert! Enjoy it. We looked at all of the other campgrounds in the area and we are most comfortable here. Furnace Creek does have good Verizon reception. Come stocked up. Food an fuel is very expensive in Death Valley due to the remote location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
The staff here was very unfamiliar with the campground. He admitted he had never even crossed the street to see the sites. The fee was much higher than our AAA book claimed, and the sites needed to be cleaned up; we found broken glass near our tires. The restrooms/showers were disgusting. We were glad to leave after one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Nice long site with hookups, but whoever is supposed to be taking care of the place seems to be missing in action. Bathrooms and showers were filthy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
Almost missed it. Well hidden from the main road (a complement). Check in is located in the general store across the road. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great view across the valley. Wi-Fi only provided in the hotel lobby across the road, and didn't work while we were here. Only stayed one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
This is the worst RV Park I have ever seen. The "Host" sleeps in a old trailer that has seen better days. His junk car is on cinder blocks. If you make an advance reservation and then decide you do not want to stay here when you arrive (which will probably be the case), then they bring out the "48 hour cancellation policy". I suggest you avoid this trap at all costs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Beware! This place is a trap! Make sure you want to stay here before you give them your credit card number! We made our reservations via their website but when we arrived and saw the place, we changed our mind. It is awful. They told us they have a cancellation policy and we would have to pay for the weekend whether we stayed or not. So we stayed. The website makes this place look like Paradise but believe me, it is not. The campground is across the road from the office. Check out the campground first before you pay to make sure you want to stay there. (I suspect you will not.) The cell did not work which was expected in Death Valley. I did, however, expect the Wi-Fi to work as advertised. It did not. The campground host said he hears that compliant all the time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Based on other reviews, we did not expect much and we got exactly that. Sites are not maintained at all and roads are full of pot holes. We had to be extremely careful entering the campground to avoid dragging the rear of the camper. Viewing the stars late at night was spectacular and was spoiled only by the sound of heavy equipment running somewhere in the desert (mining?). But we can say that we stayed in Death Valley!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Good campground for access to Death Valley - 1000 ft altitude means not as hot as the campgrounds in the valley floor. The campground manager was quite abrupt - in fact rude might be a better word. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
Spent two nights there in Dec. 2008. I was on 50 Amp service and I thought I was experiencing electrical problems with my Rig. My ground fault interrupt tripped several times. I was using my heat pumps and one of those tripped. The other one's compressor stopped working. When I left and connected to another power source all worked well except for one of the heat pumps. It cost me $300.00 to have it repaired. The repair person said it was most likely caused by power surges from the generator at the campground. I would never recommend anyone staying there unless you are in a tent and don't require any electrical services. I later discovered that this has been a problem at this campground for a long time and the owner is evidently not concerned with it. And he doesn't reimburse you for any damages it may cause to your rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
Good location with full hock ups to see Death Valley. Wi-Fi was spotty if at all. Beautiful desert nights to see the stars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
I was only one a few brave souls. I had space number 12, nice and quiet. Restrooms and showers were decent and clean. Had some issue with the 30amp power the first night around 2am and I had to hookup to the 15amp power. The grey water/sewer hole destroyed my hose., When I pulled it out it smelled bad and was off gassing, I had to throw it away. I would stay here again though, in the Spring time! The restaurant was very good and expensive as noted by other reviewers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
This is a rustic and somewhat primitive RV park by most RV park standards, but it's quite nice by desert standards. The views of the Panamint Valley from the RV park are incredible. During our stay we enjoyed walks in the desert looking at beautiful wildflowers and colorful rocks. There are only 12 full hookup sites in the park. They are all gravel pull-throughs and are mostly level. There are a combination of 26 additional pull-through and back-in sites available with electricity only. Maneuvering within the park may be difficult for large motorhomes due to trees and shrubs. The Panamint Springs resort produces their own electricity using a large diesel generator which runs 24/7 some distance from the motel. It can be heard but is not intrusive. The voltage in the RV park hovered between 132 and 134 volts most of time. Our hard-wired SureGuard surge protector disconnects the power to our travel trailer anytime the power rose above 133 volts (to protect the electronics), so our power was on and off throughout our entire stay as voltage in the park fluctuated. This was quite a frustrating experience at first until we learned we could keep the power on as long as we needed by turning on a higher wattage appliance inside our trailer to lower the voltage slightly. I tested several other sites and found the same over-voltage condition. I spoke with 3 different park employees during the 4 days we stayed who said nothing could be done about the dangerously high voltage. It was needed to compensate for the long wire run from the generator to the park. I understand this is a common situation encountered when RV'ing in Mexico. I'm amazed that it doesn't cause problems for more guests of this RV park. Water was plentiful and the pressure was excellent in the park. Free Wi-Fi is provided with good signal strength in the park. When it works, it's quite fast. Despite the voltage, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
Some nice, shaded sites, many with great views. Popular with tent campers and people who like to cook out and sit around the fire. Women's room had only 1 sink (another had been removed from the wall), and a mesh door, which made visits, and especially showering, very cold. One of the toilets leaked, so the floor was always wet. Not the friendliest staff, but they seemed to be overworked. Great beer selection in the motel store. Gas station store didn't sell milk, and the station was out of gasoline. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$27
This is our second year in a row at this RV park. Ownership changed March, 2006, just after our last visit. The new owner has spent the past 10 months renovating the guest rooms. Not much has been done to the RV Park, however, this is Death Valley: sand, rocks. Very peaceful setting with amazing views of the Panamint Valley, and sand dunes. This is not Palm Springs, and there is no grass. Sites are level, and hookups are easily accessible. All sites are pull through. I made my reservations online through their website, and received confirmation via e-mail within an hour, along with the space # I had been assigned. Checkin was swift, and pleasant. They give a 10% AAA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2006
$27
We made reservations 6 weeks in advance and when we arrived our space was taken (one of only 12 full hookup sites). Check in girl was indifferent and new owner of 9 days said our reservation was "out the window" and only offered us a no hookup site. Shabby campground that is dirty and rocky with an owner that has a "too bad" attitude. We did not stay here. Needless to say we will never go there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2006
$30
We deliberately picked this park because of advertised full hookups. However, the sewer dump at each of the open sites was located a foot above ground level. As the downspout on my tanks is only that high, I was incapable of hooking up to any site (each site is stepped slightly from the next). I ended up turning completely around before I left and using my neighbors (downhill) sewer. Thanks, Kind Stranger! This would not be a problem for someone with higher mounted tanks, such as a fifth-wheel with flipped axles. Other than that, good park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
Except for the restrooms, which needed a little TLC (we used our motorhome facilities), this is a great place to spend time during the winter: elevation is 2000'. They have a wonderful restaurant on site, plus rooms for rent, a small store for things you may have forgotten, and a Shell gas station. The views are great, and there are plenty of shade trees, which are not really found at the other Death Valley campgrounds. This is also the only place in Death Valley National Park where you can get some cell phone service. I have Verizon, and was able to make and receive calls. This is a good jumping off site for visiting the many attractions of Death Valley National Park. We did a day hike to Darwin Falls, the source of water for Panamint Springs Resort, visited the sand dunes at Stovepipe Wells, hiked up Mosaic Canyon (amazing!), and visited the charcoal kilns in Wildrose Canyon (http://www. nps. gov/deva/Charcoal. htm). At about 7,000 feet elevation, there was snow on the ground. Well worth the drive. Next visit we will see Scotty's Castle, Furnace Creek, Bad Water, and the many other sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com