219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Tampa South RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (813) 645-1202
CGID4665

Tampa South RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
108
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   7   7   8   6   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$39
This is a case where one huge negative was more than made up for by a ton of positives. The big negative is that this park is extremely tight in many spots. We had trouble getting our 42' RV into our site and got stuck in the soft sand doing so. But once we squeezed ourselves in then our 1-1/2 week stay was wonderful! The staff is terrific, the residents are some of the friendliest we have found, the amenities are in great shape, and there are lots of fun activities planned for almost every day. It is located beside the Little Manatee River and you can occasionally spot a manatee or even a dolphin (we're told). This is a pretty little RV park and well worth the effort to cram your RV into. We wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$54
Great campground, super staff!I This resort is a great place to stay, super nice facilities, clean, updated, FRIENDLY residents and great activities! love this place! feels like HOME! Tammy does a fantastic job! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
This is a great campground with nice roads, nice pull-through sites and only a sprinkling of permanent residents. The staff helped us greatly with a site after being disappointed with a nearby campground. The laundry room was immaculate and reasonably priced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$42
A friendly park right off of Rt. 41. The roads were tight, sites are close together and there is train noise, but we managed with a 42' rig. Everyone made us feel very welcomed. Some of the sites are right along the river with a great view. You cannot kayak directly from the campground, but there is great paddling right down the road. Close to produce markets and shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
This is a nice place. Big rig friendly NO the roads are tight and hard to maneuver backing into a site was like impossible. The staff were great and helped. First site was blocked by a car from another site. Then on to a smaller one but we made it. Just wonder how to get out. The area is nice, but a ways from shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$19
Above rate reflects Passport America discount. We hesitated to come to this park based on previous reviews advising of train noise and bad smells.We opted to take a chance and found neither of the above to be a problem for us. I would however recommend requesting a site towards the back of the park. We were very close to the road and road noise, particularly on the weekend from motor cycles was rather unpleasant. The park was clean, pool a good temperature and seasonal campers were friendly. We would not hesitate to return as we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$34
A very nice RV park on the river and with nice amenities. Friendly staff helped us to our site, utilities worked well, and we had a clear view for satellite. Access to and in the park was easy for our larger RV. Park was FULL during our 2 week stay, our site was small and very close to our neighbors, as we expected for south Florida during the winter. The snowbird residents were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Nice park sponsored events on a regular basis (pot-lucks, dances, golf outings, etc) and the park faculties (roads, pool, etc) were all in like new condition. There is a pretty river that runs beside the park and we were lucky to see dolphins in the evening as the tide was going out. The downside to this park, and it is a BIG downside, is the railroad that runs very close to the front of the park. And the engineers blow the train horn several times during every pass, night and day, and it is LOUD. During our 2 week stay I never got used to the train horn, it woke me up every night several times. If it weren't for the trains, this would be a perfect park. As it is, I don't know if we would stay again just because I didn't get one full nights sleep during our entire stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
This is a very well kept urban RV Park. Aside from two very important points that need to be emphasized, most of what has already been written is still true today concerning the rest of the parks offerings. If you should find when making your reservation that you will be in over flow, you might want to reconsider staying here. These spots are not much more then 15 feet from the edge of very busy SR 41, the Tamiami Trail. In addition you are not more then 50 yards from an active rail line that feeds coal to the Tampa Power Plant. And yes it runs throughout the night. In fairness when walking farther into the park it is significantly less noisy. Just don't expect not to hear these things even from the back of the park. The other issue is the effluent treatment facility in the front north side of the park. It can and has given off odors while we were here. There are also numerous signs throughout the front of the park saying that it is a effluent disposal sight. While I'm probably one of the last people you would ever call a tree hugger, I'd want to find out more before I'd feel comfortable staying here for longer periods of time. The overall facilities are otherwise wonderful and the staff and campers are all welcoming. This is one of the nicer urban parks I've stayed at. I'd have liked to stay farther back in the park to get a better feel for the overall noise level in the park. As full as this park is, however, I bet would be a rare occurrence. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
Very nice staff, clean campground. Good cement pad with picnic tables. Incredibly beautiful boat dock/fishing area. The seasonal campers there were friendly as well. Interior roads were good, pool looked clean. Nice access to highways to get to beaches, etc. LOVED viewing the manatees! We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
This a well maintained RV Park on the Little Manatee River, a few miles south of Ruskin, and adjacent to Highway 41. The majority of the occupants during our stay were the early Snowbirders and a few long term or seasonal residents. Everyone we met were very friendly and helpful. The staff here is accommodating and professional. We had a deluxe site and they are much more spacious than the standard sites. Our site like many other deluxe sites have a few well placed trees providing periods of partial shade. Each site has an extended concrete patio. The RV pad is grass or packed crush shell based gravel. The access lanes are paved. There is an attractive moderate size pool adjacent to a functional clubhouse. We really liked the well maintained docks because they provided us with a safe place to fish the river. Across the highway there is a rail line with activity three to four times a day. There is a rail crossing across from the RV Park so the train horn is loud. There is also, periods of traffic noise. We stayed here at the Passport America rate for five days. We would stay here, again, only at the discount rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This clean, well-maintained park is directly off of US-41 but is not particularly close to anything. It is mostly occupied by long term rentals in well-kept units, but transients are made very welcome. The campground overlooks the Little Manattee River by way of a two-level deck with picnic tables and fishing facilities. There are long, level pull-through sites which accommodated our motorhome with car on dolly with room to spare. The interior roads are paved and our site, of crushed coral, had a concrete patio. The large clubhouse has great facilities and a large library. The only two negatives: 1)there is no on-sight campground store and the nearest Walmart and food stores are approximately 20 plus minutes away; 2)a major train line runs parallel to route 41, with several crossings near-by making you aware of the several trains per day and night passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
The staff at Tampa South RV Resort were great, very friendly and helpful. We wanted the Passport America rate and ended up with a local rate which was even better. The sites seemed a little tight when we first looked at them, but no problem moving around with the motorhome. The sites were nice and wide which was nice since we had family visit while we were there. A lot a permanent people there, but all of the units were fairly new and kept up very nicely. They are located right on a river with a great little dock and viewing platform. Next door is a local park that offered a great place to walk our dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
This park is a nice park, it isn't Fort Wilderness but it a nice place to stay. We stayed for the month of March, though most are seasonal and yearly campers. This year the monthly rate was increased by $150, to discourage people for staying such a short time I suppose. The management would like to rent out all of the sites to long term 3-6 month campers who get a better rate. We have camped here for several years and like the campground and its location. But if the rate continues to increase to penalize the short term campers, than it maybe time to look elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$21
The park is on US Hwy 41 so there’s constant road noise. Very clean and maintained park. We were guided to our site and the help was appreciated since the interior roads and sites are narrow. Many permanent/seasonal residents during our stay. The permanent homes are well maintained with nice landscaping. The sites are very close together and it was crowded, as can be expected during winter in Florida, but it was a surprisingly pleasant park. Each site has a concrete pad and a large, good condition, wood picnic table. The park has very few trees so there would not be any shade in the summer. Free Wi-Fi at site with a steady connection and decent speed. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a very clean park. We spent about 5 days at this park. They have cable TV, but it is for the people who spend the winter, so each person has to call to have it started which says you'd have no cable if you were just there for a few nights. We were invited to come for a Friday night dinner at the rec hall. Apparently, this is a normal thing they do during the winter months. We didn't use the pool, but the area and pool looked very well kept. They have a lovely boat dock on the river. We'd definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
This was a very clean and well maintained park. They had both potlucks and community breakfasts during our four night stay. Boat docks and a nice picnic area with fishing was available on the river. Sites are mostly sand so you will have to deal with a little sand in your rig. Our only complaint was no cable TV We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
This is a nice park located near Tampa area, Bradenton, and Sarasota. We stayed here for a month and toured the beaches up and down the coast. The sites are packed sand and shell with a concrete pad for sitting. The roads are paved, it has a heated swimming pool, laundry has 5 washers and dryers in good cond. The staff is very friendly and they offer many get togethers for breakfast and entertainment. One drawback was the no see-ums that came out mostly at night when there was no wind, I guess being near the river may have something to do with this. It is a great place to stay and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
The owners were very nice and the clubhouse was neat and clean. Unfortunately, the grassy areas were weedy, clumpy, and needed mowing. Due to the time of year and proximity to the river, the "no-see-ums" were vicious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
Really pretty view if you get a site on the river. The pool is sparkling clean and the owners are very friendly. Having said that, we were glad to leave the sand and scrub. It got into everything. Our dogs had to be bathed twice in two days. We wouldn't go back unless there's some sodding done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
We are completing a 9 night stay here and we've thoroughly enjoyed it. If you love to fish, this is the place for you. Tampa South RV Resort is located directly on the Little Manatee River with docks available for your boats. They also have some really lovely fishing docks here with cleaning stations. The pool is lovely and kept at the perfect "walk-in" temperature. Some of the sites are snug and there are some folks here year-round, but their rigs are, for the most part all in good repair. The view is priceless. The managers are wonderfully friendly people ready to help in any way they can. The park is lighted throughout with 50amp available everywhere. I would love to stay here for a couple of months next year. We loved it here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$12
Passport park and very reasonable for this area. Helpful host and site guidance. Dusty and closely-spaced sites. Dumpster overflowed and close to sites. Dumpster very smelly even when empty. Required long walk to restrooms to avoid walking through sites. The campground did refund 2 of the initially-paid 5 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
The campground is under new management and they are doing a very nice job of fixing it up 20/30/50 power at new posts at site. Right off Tampa Bay. Staff and owner are friendly and helpful. Belong to Passport America We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com