223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Patagonia Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (520) 287-6965
CGID4687

Patagonia Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
107
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   8   10   9   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
The winter volunteers (all boat and bird tours and family programs cease in mid-April when the Visitor Center closes) are a welcoming and knowledgeable group that make the camping experience pleasantly memorable. The park is very busy with families camping, fishing and boating. I gave it a 7 because the majority of the campsites are not level and require multiple lego blocks to approach any kind of level state. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Another one of those great Arizona State Parks. This one has spaces scattered around the edges of a lake/reservoir, in mesquite, juniper, and cottonwood trees. There are extensive hiking paths, boats and canoes for rent, and guided boat tours of the lake. Most of the sites have shade. There are many restroom blocks. Ours was always clean and functional; although, the floor needed repainting. All the restroom necessities like paper, hand drier, soap, shower soap dish and clothes hooks, etc were present. There is no curtain between the shower stall and dressing area; since the water comes out of a non-adjustable nozzle with the approximate force of a fire hose, make sure you put your towel and dry clothes out of the over spray area, and protect any sensitive body areas! There is even a foot-washing basin, but no outside sink for dish washing. The staffer we usually encountered was helpful, efficient, and a bit of a kidder. I was again amazed at how quiet and courteous most of the campers were. Patagonia Lake, like the other Arizona State Campgrounds we’ve stayed in this year, is very quiet and relaxing. The birding is excellent. Be aware that there is a campground store and gas station, with pretty high prices, but for any shopping you will probably have to drive about 15 miles to Patagonia, or 30 miles to Rio Rico. There are a coffee house (Gathering Grounds), a great little bakery (the Oven) and an eclectic/organic foods mart (Red Mountain) in Patagonia. There are big stores and cheaper prices in Rio Rico. We would very definitely return to this campground. We paid $25 per night for four nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Very nice state park--we have been to 6 of 11 with camping. We stayed in the west campground with a view of the lake. New beach with sand is almost finished. Enjoyed the birding trail and exploring the Sonoita preserve. Plan to return in May for the Mariachi festival and will stay in the east campground for a change. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Great place. Paved roads and paved sites reasonably flat but there are some on the side of a hill. Go to the web site and look at the picture and dimensions before you book a site. Reservations are recommended for weekends and pretty much from March through the summer season. It's the only body of water around this part. There's lots of nice hiking and if you want to paddle around it's a nice lake for that because most of the power boats here are here for the fishing. Verizon MiFi works well when the park isn't too crowded but gets very slow when all the sites are full. Showers had plenty of hot water and good pressure, the only downside is their industrial type shower head. It's a nice place and we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Grand birding park what with riparian and lake and high country areas. Beautiful lake with some sites that can only be reached by boat. Well maintained with paved sites (some hills) so check web site for views and information. Web site is user friendly. Surprise is that southern Arizona is a winery area with a number of nice ones in or near Sonorita. Will definitely be back again to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Great Park. Fairly close to the City of Patagonia. No over the air TV available. Well maintained, clean. You may need reservations on a weekend--the park was close to full when we were there on a weekday. Good for pets. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$26
This is one of our favorite parks. We've been here 3 times now. The park is kept very neat and the birding is fantastic. We were in site#11 and it is Way off level. We needed 4 blocks to get close. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
The only negative is lack of sewer hookups, but there is a dump station. We stayed in pull through site #5 and it was quite unlevel. (Something that was NOT depicted in the website photo.) After leveling though, it seemed to be the best site in the park! It was on a slight hill, and more private than most, with a view of the lake and surrounding hills. If we had slides on both sides of our rig, we might not have fit. Also, there is a steep driveway to the site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
We absolutely love this CG and have stayed here several times. The sites, restroom and showers are always clean. We only wish they had sewer hook-ups at each site. The online reservation system is fantastic and allows you to see a picture of the specific site, the driveway length and type of hook-up. Be aware that many of the "back-in" sites are fairly short and may not accommodate a very large TT or 5'r and the tow vehicle. We prefer staying on the "East" campgrounds as they are a bit quieter. There is a nice store at the marina with a good stock of supplies. If they don't have it, the drive into town nice and easy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$26
Another beautiful Arizona State Park. Some sites are difficult to get in with a big RV, some pull-through sites are steep. Not a lot to do if you don't have a boat, but there are some hiking trails. Clean restrooms/showers. Stayed 5 nights & would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Very nice state park. Lots of things to do here. All kinds of boat rentals; a general store, marina store, newer clean restrooms and large private shower room (east side). Great for boating, fishing and bird watching. Small cutesy town of Patagonia is near by, as is Nogales. We stayed on the east side comprising sites 1-37. Recommend the following sites as they are very roomy: 1-2,6-9,14,19-37. Sites 3,4,and 5 are very private and on a hillside. Getting level may be a problem. Sites 15-18 are small and the picnic table is on a lower level. Not much of a lake view anywhere because of all the bushes along the shoreline. Sites on the West side are very small and closer together. $5 fee for reservations brought our one night stay to $30. You might need reservations on weekends, all year. Entrance sign said "Campground Full" but there were a few sites available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Nice, quiet state park with paved electric sites, a pretty lake with very neat arched walkway over the fishing bay, and great off-road trails around the area to explore the Patagonia mountains. Verizon signal is great...until you come over the last hill and into the state park (where it then is lost). Fortunately, if you have a cell signal booster, you can get it back again from the campground sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
A great park, heaven for birders. Lovely ambiance and natural setting. Half of the park is closed for electrical upgrade and the second half is closing in a few weeks. They have guided bird walks many days of the week with really knowledgeable volunteers. This would be a 10 if they had sewer connections. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
They are putting electric and water in so half of the campground is closed. That's the good part! I don't know how many people are allowed in one site, but it seems to be unlimited. This was the worst campground I have ever stayed in. There were multiple tents and campers in one space. On the Friday night we stayed, seems the "ranger" was gone that night. People were up all night partying, my husband finally asked people to quiet down at 5:30 A.M. and the people threatened to beat him up. There were people partying everywhere. Saturday, the ranger returned but was still unable to keep things quiet until almost 11 pm that night. Music was played so loud that things were vibrating in our camper. Garbage was over flowing and people were yelling and screaming until all hours. We went to the camp store and that was nice. I did not feel safe here and will obviously not return. I have camped in state parks all over this state and all over this country and this is one of the worst when it comes to controlling other campers that I have ever seen. So if you are 16-25 years old and want to party, come here, if you come here to relax and have a nice time, don't bother. Either they are under-staffed when it comes to rangers, or the rangers are under-qualified. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Patagonia Lake is a fantastic park. Sites are mostly flat. Lots of nice shade trees, and views. The lower sites seem closer together and less private. A well taken care of park with a beautiful lake and lots of birds and wildlife. The only negative is that like other AZ State Parks, there are no sewer hookups. It is close to the border but we did not see any indications of border issues while in the park, and it feels secure. We look forward to visiting again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
A very nice campground. It's not too green at this time of year, January, but the usual desert plants are here and interesting. The bathrooms and showers are good and warm too. A big thing, for us anyway, is a guided Bird Walk on Mondays at 9:00 AM. We saw one rare bird and many other species during this three hour journey. Staff has been cut drastically, but a willing and able volunteer did an excellent job. There's a marina and small store that are open convenient hours. Only ten miles or so to two small towns for shopping, gas and propane. A good stop! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
When we paid at the entry booth, they assigned us a specific site. Some sites had partial shade. Our site #9 was in full sun, which was fine for early November. We were in the water and electric campground loop. Our row had an odd hookup arrangement. They were 10 feet behind the site and down a hill. We had to use an extension cord for the electric. The fire rings for our site and the adjacent site were only 5 feet apart. Other sites had a more convenient layout. The lake and surrounding desert hills make for a scenic location. There’s a hiking area where you can walk near the shore or in a tree-studded meadow. Watch out for fresh cow pies. We like the scenery in this part of Arizona and plan on visiting in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
A pleasant park in attractive countryside. On registering at the park entrance we were told to drive around and select whichever site we wanted. There were 2 U-turns involved in the drive around. One was too tight for our 37ft 5th wheel and we finished up trapped against a 4ft boulder on one side and thick protruding tree branches on the other. Lots of help from other park guests and much backing and to and from and branch trimming allowed us to extricate ourselves about an hour later. Because of this U-turn we were unable to access all the sites involved in that road loop. Many of the other sites were too small for us. Eventually we found a site that suited us and spent a pleasant 13 days there. We didn't fish here - the AZ license was rather expensive for out-of-state people - but we learned that those who had fished had good success. Enjoyed the wildlife - deer would wander thought the park in the evenings - probably going to the lake for water. Lots of birds if you're into that - we're not! The park was full for the 2 weekends we stayed there. The park does not accept reservations so we'd suggest arriving early if you want to ensure getting a good site - especially if you have a long rig. If you're full time (as we are) and you plan to stay here for some time, we'd recommend being fully stocked for supplies before arriving. The nearest store is 10 miles away in Patagonia and is outrageously expensive. The next closest store is a Safeway and Wal-Mart in Nogales about 17 miles away. We enjoyed our stay here but probably wouldn't stay in this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We really enjoyed this state park. Site was large and several would easily accept our 36' 5th wheel. We stayed in the electric hook-up section. It was 30 amp and not very strong. We had to use our autofomer (sp?) to have strong enough power to use the microwave or air conditioner, even with both the refrigerator and water heater using propane. We stayed from Tuesday to Sunday. The two weekend nights the non-electric sites were full. That section has small sites. A great place for birders. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
If you like birds, this is the place for you. Within 20 minutes of hanging out our thistle and sunflower seed feeders, we were besieged by gold and house finches, siskins and all manner of other birds. We camped in an electric site at the far east end of the campground, near the birdwalk starting point. Was very quiet, with a nice view of the lake and mountains. We arrived on a Monday and had choice of electric sites, but as the week went on, there were none available and people were forced to the dry camping sites. They have a nice little visitor center, evening talks, weekend pontoon boat tours ($3 apiece) and a perfect setting. You can get a (free) pass for hiking in the nearby natural area, and the nearly daily birdwalks are free. The Elegant Trogan is everybody's target, but there are tons of other great birds. We added five new ones to our list the first day! And restrooms are immaculate, showers very clean and spacious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
This park is not as well managed as the other 7 state and county parks in AZ that we stayed at on this trip. Most of the sites are just average-to-not very good. Neighboring sites are frequently too close, either behind or beside. When campers fire up the campfire, the smoke fills everyone’s rigs. The best electric sites by far are 26, 24 and 22 which are really spacious, private and back up to the lake with a partial view. Only 34 of the 106 sites have elec and water, and people are aggressively seeking these sites every morning. Not sure if there are any workcampers or hosts because we never saw anyone ride through to check out the sites. Two vehicles maximum per site but a few people jammed 3-4 vehicles in their sites and nobody in authority questioned it. Some camper’s music blared during the day, which really needed a ranger to get them to lower the noise. The trees needed trimming as backing in to some sites resulted in branches scraping the RV. This is a world class area for birding and there seems to be a lot of fishermen enjoying this small lake as well as families enjoying the outdoors. Better management, more hookup sites and better site design are needed. We may not return until improvements are made. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
Great park with sites on small lake, loads of birds. Really large sites with tables and fire ring. Birding trail is about 200 yards away. They do boat tours and rentals. Would rate it a 10 if there were sewer hookups. Area is center of world class birding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
Sites were paved but not very level. Washrooms and showers were barely adequate, not heated, showing a lot of signs of age. Fire rings at sites were poorly placed and in many cases unusable because they were too close to RV's. Hiking trails in the park and in the adjacent state trust land were excellent. Hunting is allowed in the large tract of state trust land. Wildlife viewing and birding and quail hunting are big attractions. Nogales is only 18 miles from park entrance. Access points to the Coronado Forest are nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
We were leery of this park because of another review here on RV Park Reviews. The park was spotless with no trash or dirty diapers around anywhere. The sites with power and water are small, meant for smaller rigs, but the undeveloped sites are big enough for any size rig with easy access. No services at these sites, though. Generators can be run until 9:00 p.m. There are 4 Park Rangers living at the park and someone is on duty 24 hours a day, so safety is not an issue here. Birds are everywhere with plenty of guided bird walks. 21 miles of hiking trails; you have to have a permit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2006
$22
Very dirty place. Dirty diapers laying around and lots of junk. Didn't have electric the first night moved the next day to electric spot. Very loud, not very clean, crowded and spots were hard to get into. I would not stay here again. Most units had two or three families staying. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$22
This is a nice state park but some things need to be updated, especially the restrooms and the showers. No heat in the restrooms either, no shower curtains. Nice small lake with ranger guided pontoon boat tours for $3. Quiet at night. Only 34 sites have power and water. Dump Station, small store. Small village of Patagonia 7 miles away. All sites are dirt and small gravel and most sites are not level. This is a birdwatchers paradise and caters to the birdwatching crowd. More species of birds than you can count. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com