218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Butterfly Camping Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (732) 928-2107
CGID4691

Butterfly Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   9   9   10   8   7   8   6   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$60
Very clean sites, the young man who takes care of the grounds works very hard and does a great job! However, the washrooms had some flaws, no soap in the men's washroom the whole two weeks we stayed, only soap in one container in the ladies room, their toilet tissue is the worst, it tears at each single sheet and I know that sounds silly, but the floor is littered with toilet tissue and it was frustrating. The pool closes officially at 6pm which was a bit stressful if you were trying to get back from outings in time for your kids to swim. However, they will keep it open till 8pm but after 6pm it can close at their discretion. I never understand that as the pool is such an important feature for families. Why limit it especially when paying $60 per night. Also, their miniature gold is $4 per person and my kids paid and left midway through as it was not the best. I don't think they should describe themselves as a resort as there was nothing going on the whole time we were there, but we could have missed it too. Also, the staff are friendly enough, but their signs are a tad bit sarcastic. Oh, and their pool is really lovely, large, clean and heated so that was nice! We did feel quite far from things even though we chose this as it was within proximity to beaches, cities, etc. The long country roads and many lights along the way made the travel seem longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
This campground is heavily wooded (we were in the shade almost all day long), clean and well maintained. The sites feel a little cramped/crowded but that's because there are so many trees. We stayed in a 37' motorhome and it was a bit tight when driving and maneuvering through the park. The rate we paid ($41) is discounted due to the purchase of two Six Flags tickets. We chose a 50-amp pull-through with water but no sewer, since we were only staying three nights and could use the dump station on the way out. There are quite a few seasonal campers set up with decks/patios/etc. for the season. The free Wi-Fi was often unusably slow. Also, both AT&T and Verizon had very poor signals - we had to use our cell booster to get our hotspot working. We'll stay here again if we revisit Six Flags, but otherwise the non-discounted price ($60) would be pretty high for us for 50-amp full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$57
We don't live far from this campground, so when we started camping 5 years ago, we scouted out this place. At the time, we were totally disgusted with the quality of the sites. With a bit of coaxing from a friend, we decided to book a site for July 4th weekend. Boy, we were pleasantly surprised! This campground is kept up nice, seasonal sites are very nice and hard to tell they are seasonals. They do need to trim some weeds on paths, though. The weather did not really cooperate to use the pool but it was a nice size and immaculate. Activities were fun and organized. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Our site (99) was a bit tight for my husband to back into due to the layout of the trees, but, once in, it was private and a good size. Bathrooms were cleaned daily. No golf carts allowed. Seasonals were friendly and polite, allowing anyone waiting first to actually "go first". My son with autism seemed to be accepted by everyone as well. One drawback is there is only one car allowed per site. Everyone else parks in the lot and sometimes the lots are full. We do plan on returning again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$57
We stayed at the Butterfly Camping Resort this past weekend in a Travel Trailer. The sites were clean and as level as can be expected. There was a picnic table and fire ring. The sites were free of leaves and other debris. All remaining leaves from the sites were blown into the surrounding areas. Everything was neat and clean on the grounds. The resort was very nice overall. The people working there could not have been more friendly. They had a big bonfire Saturday night, put out supplies to make smores, and had one of those chocolate fountains going. It was very nice of them to put that together for the campers. This is a family campground. There were lots of kids running around. And lots of dogs. So some barking was expected. We have a kid and a dog, so we fit in well there. They seemed to be strict about the quiet time from 10 PM to 8 AM, and with the speed limit of 5 mph around the campground. They also have a hard shutdown of midnight for all campfires. There were staff cruising around the grounds all the time, which is a good thing. Any of the seasonal sites were kept up very well. There were no old junk trailers at this campground. They have a bunch of nature trails surrounding the campground. And there is a small fishing pond on the property, plus small lake or bog right next to the property. They have a very nice little campground store with reasonable prices, and good firewood for sale. The roads going around the campground were all pressed gravel and well maintained. It was easy getting in an out of there. I only have a few constructive things to say. First, the bathrooms were clean, but they were very utilitarian. Blow dryers, and no paper towels. They were nice enough, but not warm and comfortable. Also, there was no dog park there. We like to have a place to let the dog loose to burn off some energy. And there were small recycling containers around, but no recycling dumpster where you take you garbage. They should add that. Overall this is a really nice campground with nice people. We had a good time there. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$55
Very clean campground. Bathrooms where nice and the activities where great. Well stocked store and a nice pool. We were there with our grand children and had a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$52
We've recently returned to camping here. The staff is very welcoming when we come, and was very accommodating for our site request. There's a small playground, large field and lots of shaded sites. The camping cabins are very nice too. They open very early in the season, and close pretty late as well, which is great! They have many themed weekends, and my kids love going for them! A fun place to stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$52
This is the second time we've stayed here. This is a very nice campground with a suitable playground and a nice looking pool. There's a fully stocked store and the sites are maintained nicely. The bathrooms were clean and accommodating. There is free Wi-Fi but the signal strength is non-existent. The park is pet-friendly, but there are so many dogs that the barking is nearly constant first thing in the morning until quiet time. We are dog people, but it got to be a little ridiculous. There was a nice fathers day breakfast on Sunday and we would stay here again due to the proximity to various places. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$56
First time at this resort. Very nice place. spotless. bathrooms were nice. Showers were so so, but according to other campers, the owners are constantly making improvements. Really had a wonderful time. Pool was beautiful, playgrounds for the kids were great. Rules were strictly enforced, no problems with noise or unruly people, even though it was a holiday weekend. Wi-Fi is free. I am getting used to being nickered and dimes for everything at campgrounds up and down the East coast, so that is a drawback, but try and find somewhere that is not the case anymore. There were a lot of seasonals, but they kept them separated from the other sites, and unlike other campgrounds there were no decks, etc. attached to the seasonals. I would not hesitate to go back to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$52
My site was clean, maintained and fairly level. I feel for the price they should give you the Wi-Fi for free instead of the rates they were asking. The price for fire wood was a lot compared to other campgrounds we visited. One of the employees who was driving around in a golf cart motioned me to slow down to the 5 MPH speed limit which was really difficult since I was doing 8, but later I saw him going faster than I was. The pool was very clean and well maintained. They say you can fish there but the lake is so clogged with lily pads it is impossible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
This is an overpriced campground and when having guests visit, they charge $6.00 per person for a day pass. So if you have 3 or 4 people come to visit you at the park you are looking at a charge of 18-24 dollars! This is more than it costs a whole car full to do something like visit a national park. Staff is not helpful and in fact are rude and like to argue. Do not stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
This is our second stay at Butterfly and the owners are doing a great job! Each year making improvements and making this a great destination. The bathrooms are immaculate, showers laundry, pool..just great. They are getting strict on visitors and quite times etc., which we appreciate..making this a great place for families not for people looking to party. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
I am giving this a 3 only because the bathrooms were clean and the pool is nice. If not for that, I would have rated it lower. The attitude of the owners is awful! The seasonals are out of control and definitely make you feel uncomfortable. I will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
Our over-all experience was not a pleasant one. The bathrooms were clean and the pool was clean also, but that's as far as it goes. It was like staying in a very bad neighborhood. The seasonal people seem like they run the place and they are trashy people to say the least. There were a lot of funny looks and a lot of clicks hanging around at all times, including night time.There seemed to be a lot of drinking and bad language throughout the whole weekend. I did not feel safe with my family there. I would not recommend this place to a family. There are too many good campgrounds in the area to stay at this one. I do not expect to see this campground stay in business for long. They should be ashamed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
This was the first time at this park and most likely the last. First of all on the phone they were less then desirable, that should have been my first clue. The price for a campsite is for two adults and two kids, all others are extra. It's not like they have a lot of activities, if it rains, which it did, there is nothing. Check in is in the store so you have to wait in the line of kids buying candy and deal with a teenage cashier. When I asked for the activities list she said we only do things on weekends. Our site was nice enough, until it rained. In the morning we stepped out of our camper into three inches of water. We couldn't even sit outside. The campground was empty yet they chose to give us the lowest spot available so everything from the dirt road drained into our site. To top off the trip when we arrived home I spent an hour picking about one hundred pinhead size ticks off of my daughter. Not a relaxing vacation at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Butterfly is a smaller, clean, well laid out campground. It was wooded pretty well for privacy. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. The pool was immaculate and very large. We stayed Mon-Fri and had the campground virtually to ourselves. It was very quiet which we loved. 15 min to six flags, 25 min to the beach. The General store was well stocked and all employee's were very friendly and helpful. They should get rid of the mini golf as its in bad shape. We will stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$46
We really enjoyed the campground. The pool and playground seem very nice, although we did not use them. The roads are fairly easy access, the trees are trimmed back nicely. Easy to get through with our B+ MH. One downfall is that the roads and sites are all dirt, which is somewhat messy. Our site was plenty big and there were good privacy shrubs between sites. Easy access to hook ups as well. We went to the beach towns for day trips, and that was an easy drive. Six Flags and Outlets are close by as well. We will come back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$49
This is a very nice campsite. The pool was just beautiful. The staff was very friendly and family oriented. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$44
Nice and clean. Looked more like an RV parking lot with trees. Definitely big rig friendly. Just not a camping feel to the place. We will not be going back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
The campground was clean and the staff were nice. The campground is sandy which was something I wasn't used to however, it really didn't present any problems except for more dirt in my camper. Maneuvering is a little tricky but you can manage. The miniature golf course is in disrepair and should be free to use. Hopefully the money they charge (not a lot, $2.00) will be used to fix it up. We stayed here to visit Great Adventure. I probably would stay here again, however I will look for a different campground first. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$44
Very nice CG. Very clean, nice sites, and very friendly staff and owners. Going back this weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$44
Great park, family friendly, friendly staff, clean and that movie screen was awesome. Had security keeping it family friendly at night, while still allowing fun. We had a great time and we shall return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$44
This CG would get higher marks except for a couple problems. Main problem is that the pool is only open till 6pm everyday! This is the only CG we've gone to that closes this necessary activity sooo early. Most wait till at least 8pm. Remember some of us can't get there on a Friday till about at least 6. The other problem is no soap in the bathrooms. I know its trivial but most of us (I assume) wash our hands after using the bathroom. This is a great filler campground and one of the best in NJ. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$47
Be aware that you will be charged $5 per hour if you check-in before 3:00 PM. We arrived at noon and had to pay an extra $15 in addition to the nightly $47 rate. Big rig access to some of the sites is difficult due the large number of trees at the entrance to sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$42
Very friendly CG. Owners are very active in all activites. Will go back again and again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com