218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Jellystone / Lake Monroe was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (812) 824-3322
CGID4692

Jellystone / Lake Monroe

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   6   10   10   8   9   4   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Two outdoor pools. One zero entry for the kids, and another rectangular pool for kids and adults. Also have a small indoor pool for the rainy days. Nice clubhouse, game room and jumping pillow. The kids love the planned activities. Labor Day weekend, they had a DJ, activity tent, and plenty of action. The only drawback for me was the campground is all gravel. Other than that, the sites were spacious and clean. The wooded sites are mainly reserved for the seasonal campers. Would go back if the opportunity presents it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$53
Our rate included a 10% military auxiliary discount. The park was very clean with great facilities. As another review I read said, it had probably the cleanest bathrooms and showers I have seen at a campground. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We loved how clean and well kept this campground was. We stayed for two nights while visiting a friend. They offered great kids activities: pool, mini golf, crafts, etc. The bathrooms were very clean though a negative was the timed shower that operated like a bathroom sink where you push the button to get an allotted amount of water. Button was tough to push and only offered a minute or two of water--no temperature control either. The biggest issue we had with this campground was the total lack of shade; kind of like camping in a parking lot. During the July heat wave, this was very unpleasant and we felt like we couldn't possibly just hang out and enjoy our campsite. It was however a really lovely place and in the right weather or with a great awning on your RV it would be fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Second trip to this park. Very nice facility. Pool, "Ranger Station", sites, all meticulously maintained. Wi-Fi service is very good. The left side of the park is overnight, to the right are seasonals, but the park maintains strict control and there are NO "permanent campers". A security code is required to enter after hours. The park is minutes from the Lake Monroe launch, 20 minutes from Bloomington. We were in town for a softball tournament at Winslow & Twin Lakes parks, both of which were easily accessible from the campground. This is our #1 private park to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Park name is now Jellystone Lake Monroe. Campground is extremely nice. Very nice spots with easy access. Internet works very well. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$47
We liked this campground. It is now a Jellystone and a bit expensive. The sites are level with decent spacing and grass between the sites. There weren't a lot of people here during our stay so we had no one around us. We walked the park and all the sites looked nice and there are some nice tent sites also. The only negative was at our site the sewer was above the site which made for some "milking" upon dumping. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Great family campground!! Tons of activities for the kids, the Jumping Pillow and 3 pools were a big hit with our kids. Nice pull through sites that are level. The only drawback was lack of shade and they closed the outdoor pool at 8pm and the indoor pool at 6pm. During the summer months it would be nice for these to be open longer. They don't have a lifeguard so really don't know the reason for closing them up early. We will be going back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
Never received confirmation of reservation via email as promised. When we arrived the site we had reserved was no longer available. Sites are very crowded. No shade. Gravel pull through, I had to use a board to move gravel around to get level. My trailer is 25' and my door was centered to concrete pad, electric was to far away and had to barrow extension cord, same with sewer. Restrooms and showers nice. Outdoor Pools were empty. Indoor pool more like hot tub to hot to swim in and room over 90 degrees inside. Bring extra cord and sewer hose if staying in smaller travel trailer and lots of leveling blocks or a shovel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
New owners: now taken over by Jellystone group. This campground is a work in progress and in a few years will be quite nice. Grass is not well established, and trees are new and small but nice. Office was disorganized and confused probably due to new management. Pools all closed and being redone. It is quiet, clean and friendly. The camp is close to Lake Monroe and 20 minutes from Bloomington. Sites are long and moderately level. Wi-Fi worked only half of the two weeks I was here. $40 was way too much for what I got and they charge $5 for each visitor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$9
New CG with sites in an open field. 50 amp so we can use 2 AC if needed. Good paved roads, gravel sites some with concrete pad for picnic table. Stayed here under AOR, $9.63/night with tax. 12 miles south of Bloomington so not much around here unless you like the outdoors. 1/4 mile dirt track for race fans & an outdoor drive in movie 4 miles away. If you want some peace & quiet you'll like it, no street lights. Lots of well maintained RVs parked on sites with no one there, must be seasonal or weekenders. CG is well maintained, showers and bathrooms very clean. Sprint coverage is slow but works. Outdoor pool closed now, 9/18 but indoor pool looks very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
Stayed here for four nights. Mini golf course is in need of a lot of work. Indoor pool a little small but nice. Sites are a little unlevel but nice size with cement pad for picnic table. Fire pits at each site. Would stay here again. Rate is because we are Coast to Coast members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Newer park with no shade. Our sewer hookup was uphill from our site which doesn't work out too well. Grass was in bad need of mowing. Nice pool, miniature golf needs work. Close to lake Monroe. Good water pressure on sites. Not sure we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
The campground and facilities were very well maintained. The restrooms and showers were particularly impressive, especially considering the busy holiday weekend. Our 11 year old son really enjoyed himself. The indoor pool was open when we arrived, the outdoor pool opened the next day. They also had foosball, air hockey, pool tables, and other games in the office building, much of which was free. I noticed craft activities for the kids well, and Sunday night they did karaoke in the parking lot. Overall, a very pleasant weekend. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Bloomington. One additional note: Their rate is for 4 people, not 2, making this a much more 'family friendly' park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
Narrow paved interior roads with sharp intersections requiring running in the grass for turns. Sites had thin layer of base stone without compaction to support leveling jacks. Site was sloped, leveling raised rear wheels off the surface. Sewer connection was to the extreme rear of the site. Sloping grass patio area with unusable table. WiFi was weak. Campground was designed for big rigs. Road work and gravel to level the sites would improve the rating. For $39, I expect better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
Very nice and clean campground! Plenty of things for the little ones to do. The inside pool was very nice and clean. Very helpful staff, we plan to stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
This is a member's only park, but you are allowed to camp here 3 times at a nightly rate to try it out. We did get a great deal, we just had to listen to a sales pitch which wasn't that bad. We camped here in early April so the indoor pool was well worth the trip for our kids. Play ground and mini-golf was okay, nothing spectacular. Campsites were level and gravel and spaced far enough from your neighbor. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We were the only people there at the time so it was extremely quiet. Their trails are fun and there is a couple of waterfalls to explore off the beaten path. This resort has much to offer if you are willing to pay the membership fees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Newer park located about 10 miles south of Bloomington and near Monroe reservoir. Quite a few seasonal rentals in the park but all in all, it was a satisfactory park. Sites are long, somewhat uneven and have gravel surface. Only a few sites in the park have concrete pads with picnic table. Sites are spaced out so you don't feel too close to your neighbor. Even though the temperature was in the 90's, the outdoor pools had been closed for the season. Wifi did not work at our site. Please note that your credit card will be charged the full amount of your stay when the reservation is made, a practice which I don't like. In spite of the shortcomings, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$8
This is a newer park (2005), and is affiliated with Coast to Coast. Our visit was early in the season, so the outdoor pools were not yet open. There is an indoor pool maintained at 85F. Most of the sites are pull-through, and can accommodate big rigs. The laundry has only one washer and one dryer, and is open 24 hours a day. The streets are a little narrow for bigger rigs, as are the width of the graveled sites. The sites are spacious enough; however, the graveled part is narrow in width. Most rigs, when pulling in or out, will cut the corners of the site, and will run across the grass. This is a minor consideration, as overall, this park is well maintained and quite nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
We stayed at Cedar Ridge Camping Resort during October, a couple of weeks before Halloween. They had alot of activities planned: hayrides, trick-or-treating, pumpkin-carving contest. They also had a competition going for decorating your campsite. Very clean facilities; showers and bathrooms were in excellent condition. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The entire campground was well tended and pleasing to the eye. We would definitely return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
New and very nice park. The staff very friendly and helpful. The park is paved although the sites are not but we had no trouble leveling at all. Some of the pull throughs are long enough to park a boat on also along with your rig and tow vehicle. they have a few rules but nothing unbearable. You cannot take in firewood so make a note. You also cannot leave with any. check out their website for more info. They have 2 pools and working on a 3rd one. The one with the slide is very shallow. Only good for very small children in my book. They have a free 9 hole mini golf course. Nothing spectacular, but nice amenity. The trees will bring nice shade in a few years; the campground was laid out nicely and very clean. Had several seasonals spread throughout the park; but all seemed newer and in excellent shape. We would return again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
The park staff was very friendly. For a park that is new and still improving, it was very nice. Small mini-golf course, playground for the kids, it is set up for families. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
We full time in our Bus Conversion. We spend at least 2 weeks every spring here because of the quick access to Lake Monroe, Hoosier National Forest and several other state parks. WiFi is available at the campground and we found it strongest near the office. The pull throughs were very large and many of them were concrete. The bathroom was large and clean and we really enjoyed playing miniature golf and swimming in one of 3 pools. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would strongly recommend this campground to anybody wanting to stay near Bloomington. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
This park opened in May of 2005 so not alot of mature trees yet. Very clean and quiet park, of course we were practically the only ones there at the time. Full hookups with individual heat tapes on each of the water outlets, really nice in January. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com