223495 User submitted reviews online!!
Lodgepole Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (559) 565-3341
CGID474

Lodgepole Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
214
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   9   10   8   7   7   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
The park is great with lots of great hikes. The campground has large boulders lining the narrow roads and sites. We have a 26' trailer and were not able to make the turn into our site row. By backing down another road we were able to make the attempt into the site. It took quite a bit of jockeying to get in to the site. The campground was designed in the days of 16' trailers pulled by cars. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
We arrived in early April to the whole area covered in snow, so none of the sites had been cleared, we had to park our RV in the car park, but as we were the only ones there we could get close to the restrooms as we wanted. The restrooms in the evening weren't very clean, but by the morning they had been cleaned. A very scenic area, I would think even more beautiful in the summer. The staff in the shop were very friendly, not much food, but plenty of snacks (biscuits, crisps and sweets). I would avoid taking an RV up, we were in a 25", too big. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Beautiful scenic park in our National Parks System. Lot's of hiking trails with a few paved. Great shuttle system to Moro Rock, Crystal Meadow, Sherman Tree (including handicap access), Museum, Dorst and Wusachi. They run about every 15 minutes and offer easy transit around. Market, laundry, visitor center and showers (10 minutes for $3. Not used by me, but by friends who reported it nice and clean) all within easy walk or bike ride. Many easy hikes right from campground, but lot's of snow on ground still (and 2" more when we left on June 6th!) making hiking boots a good measure, necessity depending on trail. Sites are nice and fairly level, although do follow site length restrictions as some are very short. There only seemed to be one camp host and generator run times were not followed by all (the reason I gave it a 9), but since the park was only 50% full at the most it was a moot point. Lot's of wildlife (even in the camp) and an overall amazing place to visit. There is also absolutely no cell reception within 20 miles of the camp too. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$9
We stayed along the edge of the big parking lot near the river, not in a formal site. Many sections of the campground were closed. The dump station was open but no water to flush the hose. We had to get water from the spigot on the outside of the restroom building. Campsites are pretty lumpy and sloped, and a little close together. Within walking distance of the visitor center, market, post office, etc. A good spot from which to explore the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This was an amazing campsite. We pre-booked the first night and then spoke the the ranger at 9 am the following morning for a site for that night. We were given another site but still at Lodgepole Campground. This area is beautiful as you are amongst the trees and we had deer come right up to our RV when sat out in the evening. Here we stayed at No 22 and No 175. No 22 was closer to amenities but No 175 was close to the Tokopah Falls and this is where we had the deer near us. I would recommend this campground to anyone!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
In the middle of the park. Very quiet. Beautiful natural surrounding. Shuttle available to Sherman Tree, which is a few miles up south. For big rigs not accessible from the south due to steep and narrow winding road (#198), but only accessible for rigs bigger than 24 feet from the #120. When heading for Bakersfield, go back north and then drive to Bakersfield. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
Very nice park, the views and activities just about out weigh the negatives. We were all in awe of the giant sequoias. Nice visitors centers and stores, a little higher price, but they are in a National Park. There is a gas station at Stoney Point about 13 miles away. If you have a RV or trailer that is 30 feet or longer it will be difficult to manage the campground itself. There are curbs throughout the Lodgepole campground itself. It is easy to see people have had trouble based on how torn up the curbs are. Once we got backed in everything was fine, I was a little bothered by all the campfires, the smoke just lingers in the campground if there is no breeze. To me this is more of a pop-up trailer or tent campground, but it is the only site I could get in the park and I reserved over 3 months in advance. One last little thing, since there are no hook ups I would like to see the shower facilities open earlier than 8:00 a.m. There was such a back up to get into the showers the wait was up to 8 people. Then the showers closed at 8:00 p.m. And to make it better when I went into the restrooms at the visitors centers, men were using the sinks in the bathrooms to bathe, it was pretty disgusting. I just smelled like campfire for a day or two. But again the magnificence of this park out weighs the bathroom problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This campground is not necessarily motorhome friendly, as there are no hookups and the parking space is just that; the picnic table, fire ring and food storage "bear box" were about 20' behind the RV down a little slope. Don't expect cell phone service. Campground road is narrow, our 28' old-style Airstream Argosy and the numerous rental Class Cs could handle it, but bigger rigs beware (also, do not make the mistake of going into the end of the campground where the tent campers are, as that road is very tight). That said, it's a picturesque place to camp, and the amenities (showers, store, visitor's center, fantastic new park shuttle to the tourist highlights) are all within five minute walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
What can I say, Sequoia is my favorite place on earth! Our site was about 75 feet from the river with partial shade. The site was rocky away from the parking area. We didn't see any bears but did hear one being chased from the other end of the campground. There is a restaurant and store a short walk from our site. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on the food. Even in the middle of summer it wasn't that crowded. I will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$22
What can I say? The trees were wonderful and the scenery is the best. I would take this campground over any private parking lot, even though it had no hookups. You can see most of the sights including Giant Forest and the General Sherman Tree. RV and bus parking is available at these sights. The kids loved all of it, and the drive up. Make sure, if you are in a vehicle or trailer longer than 22 feet, that you use the Hwy 180 route. That is the North Entrance of the combined Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Park. Lodgepole had fresh water to fill up your tank and a dump station. Stayed here in a 30' rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com