214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Mesa / Apache Junction KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (480) 982-4015
CGID4745

Mesa / Apache Junction KOA

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   7   8   7   10   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
While this park is kind of dog friendly, upon check-in you be told if you dog barks you will be asked to leave, if you have one of their vicious breeds you will be told to take them to a kennel otherwise don't stay. It is basically a desert with no grass, very small gravel hard on a dogs paws, would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$36
This is a gem of a KOA! Nice site size and very, very friendly staff. We had a beautiful view of Superstition Mountain. Nice and clean campground. My only complaint is that the WiFi was less than good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$50
We stayed here for two nights for a quick trip to check out the Superstition Mountains. All of the employees were very friendly and helpful. Our spot had our curbside facing southwest and even in our mild winters, the full sun was brutal. Without issue they quickly moved us to a different spot when we asked. The park is all gravel but it is clean and fairly level. If you can, get to the back of the park to avoid some of the road noise. The dog run is somewhat comical but not a big deal as they don't hassle you if your dog goes elsewhere as long as you clean up. Regarding cleanliness, employees, etc. this place is great. The only reason I didn't rate it higher is simply because it isn't a luxury park. That said, it is great for a KOA and a clean place to stay in the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$36
Best KOA I have ever seen. Nice wide spots and roads. Very friendly and helpful staff. Pool and spa were very clean. My only complaint is the little, tiny dog run, which could be easily expanded. Location is great close to freeway, but not so close to hear it. Would definitely stay here again. Wish the rest of the KOAs were like this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$46
OK park, desert setting all gravel and sand. Not good for dogs paws but livable. Electric good, Water pressure very poor had to turn on the water pump to take a shower. Work campers run the place and most of them were very nice, owner lives on the property but has very little interest in the guest . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
We came here for one night as we wanted to visit some of the attractions near Phoenix. The park is beautiful with cactus and small trees, well kept by a very friendly couple, facilities work well. Not too much shade, but they do what is possible around here. No shop available. 35 minutes to Rawhide, a typical family place in the old Western style - great for a Swiss family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
This was my second stay here. I like the park because it is one of the few area campgrounds that are not age restricted and it is convenient to the Phoenix area highway system. It seems the vast majority of Phoenix and Mesa area parks cater to snowbirders and are 55+. The park is nothing special, just your basic gravel parking lot with a sprinkling of shade trees and small plots of desert plants between sites. It backs up against the intersection of two relatively high-traffic roads, so there is some constant low-level background traffic noise. It wasn't loud enough to bother me. The hosts were friendly and helpful in pointing out area attractions. The Wi-Fi worked with no problems. I would have no problem with staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
Very friendly staff. Gravel and dirt all around but what you would expect for a desert setting. Sites are not level at the front of the park and we had to get moved because front wheels were off the ground and looking at some in the back lots of boards under the rigs. All that said it is one of the few with pull throughs so we will probably come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
Rate shown is based on a weekly rate. Nice park, but it is a desert setting so the sites and roads are dirt and gravel. This does create some dust that gets into the TV. Our back-in site was very roomy and looking at the other sites, most seemed the same. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They escort you to the site and assist in backing you in and anything else you may need. The only complaint I have was the Wi-Fi. It is free but can be so slow that it is not even worth using. Mainly the slowdown came in the evenings. To get away from the mega parks and yet still be within distance of everything Phoenix has to offer I would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$44
Staff was great! We checked in late and wonderful lady at front desk had our reservation ready than a man escorted us to our site and helped me back in. The sites were pretty tight but were level and well taken care of. The park is a little far from the city which may be good for some people. Nighttime noise was pretty minimal. We just stayed here one night being we needed to be closer to Scottsdale. Overall nice park, little pricey but, expected from KOA. We would stay here again if need be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Rate is a modified weekly rate. Roads are double wide and gravel. Easy in and out for pull-through site. Water, power and sewer service were good. Site reasonable level. Wi-Fi bandwidth not strong and best to wait until after 10 p.m. for good operation, otherwise it is painfully slow at best. Aerial TV channels were okay and view of Superstition Mountain was vista from our location. Did not use pool or spa but seemed in good condition. Will stay again when next in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
This is a typical KOA, kind of cozy. We had a level site, facilities worked fine. We were escorted to site. The Wi-Fi is painfully slow, but Virgin Mobile Mifi worked well. It is a quiet park, staff were very friendly and helpful. Be aware owners do not allow electrical adapters (staff don't know why, neither do I). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$36
We stayed here three nights. Nice place on the east side of the metro Phoenix area with easy access to and from freeways. Staff was friendly and we were escorted to our site. The perimeter is filled with long-term (seasonal) residents. Wi-Fi was fine at our site, and over-the-air TV reception was good with many channels. Pool and hot-tub available though we did not use them. We did use the laundry, which was fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
Nice, clean park with friendly staff. We use this park when in the area. Close to shopping. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$36
I stayed here for 5 days. Campground elevation is 1,835 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy in the park was no problem. Roads, sites and patio are gravel. Pull through sites hold a 40 foot motorhome towing. My site 96 was a back-in site offered 30/50 amp service & full hookups. Wi-Fi is available at no additional charge. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless 3G Internet and AT&T Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Wal-Mart is 7 miles away and Safeway is 4 miles away. Since this is metro Phoenix, shopping is abundant. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. This is a nice KOA with wide roads and sites. It is well maintained, clean and has good drainage when it rains. Not many people here this time of the year. After the first of the year it will fill up for the next few months. This is my fourth time here and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
The park was mostly empty so it was quiet and relaxing. It is NOT right by the expressway like a lot of KOA campgrounds. Despite the fact that the campground is a large gravel (small rock) parking lot, the park is beautifully landscaped with the most attractive desert plant life, which includes a lot more than just cactus. Also, the sites are mostly level, the whole facility is very well maintained and the staff was as friendly as could be. The Wi-Fi was good too. We would stay again. Also, there is a lot to do all around the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$44
What a rude, mean manager (who hides in her doublewide, only issuing orders behind a curtain) and staff who run this KOA. Not family friendly! We left a day early due to their poor treatment of our small family with a service dog. I would never recommend this nasty KOA to anyone, especially traveling families. Truly, watch out for this one! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$36
This is a very nice KOA park. It is desert but we had trees all around our site. The sites are gravel and ours was level. All utilities work fine. The Wi-Fi was strong and free. There is some road noise since the park is close to some main roads. It is also near all necessary shopping and restaurants. The scenery is great and the area is nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$55
We visited this campground recently, I really just needed a place to park the trailer while we were visiting family. The place is nice and clean and the staff is friendly. The only thing I didn't like was you didn't have a choice in what Amperage hookup you wanted. If your RV has a 50 amp plug then you get charged for a 50 amp hookup. Not really fair, I only need 30 amps to run the fridge and 1 air conditioner if it was really hot. If I wanted to run both ac's, then I would have asked for a 50amp hook up but I don't always need it. This is the only campground and only KOA that has ever had this silly policy. Its not really that big of deal but it just kind of rubbed me the wrong way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
This campground has nice views and landscaping. The staff is unfriendly and unprofessional, not helpful at all. If you have kids, this is not the campground for you. The pool is cold and the park is only a merry go round and swings. When we stayed, the campground was nearly empty, however the staff chose to park all campers/motorhomes right next to each other. It was difficult to understand why, with the park so empty, they couldn't give people a space in-between each other. We liked the setting and cleanliness. It is too bad the staff was so unfriendly. We hope any one else that stays has better luck then us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
This was a great campground with super friendly staff and a very enjoyable stay. Our site was mostly level. Absolutely gorgeous scenery nearby. Only difficulty we had was when we were 95% set up, we were asked to move to a different site that had 50 amps even though we were happy to stay in the 30 amp site we had been escorted to. (Something about the fact that our 5th wheel is 50 amp capable, it was confusing.) Wish we would have been put in the correct site to begin with, but mistakes can happen to anyone. It turned out that the new site was actually a nicer site than the original one, so all's well that ends well, right? Only one other comment: this is certainly a dog friendly park, no unusual or unreasonable rules. However, the park map shows a fenced "dog relief area" which is not even as big as the living room in our 5th wheel. Not worth even going in, it's like a cage. We simply walked our little dog around in the gravel and picked up after her there. All that said, we would absolutely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$36
Spent two nights in a travel trailer. Very easy to find. Beautiful views from the campground. Sites were level and there was reasonable space between the sites. The office staff was not very professional. We had to wait for the staff to finish personal phone calls before they acknowledged our presence. The Sundance Lounge (recommended by the KOA staff) next door to the KOA served good food in large portions. Needed propane. The maintenance staff was very friendly and professional. Like the other reviewer said, they should get rid of any reference to a dog run. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$31
We stopped for an overnight stay and ended up staying for 3 weeks. Very clean and mostly quiet. Not a lot of activities in the park, but the surrounding area was unlimited in things to do and see. Management was friendly and helpful, and other campers were very cordial and friendly. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
This was a very nice KOA (they all aren't). We stayed here for 10 days as we needed to wait for an awning repair. We were very comfortable, the staff was friendly, the small wildlife abundant, and it was very relaxing. The park is meticulously clean. A nice picnic table on the site (not all worn and broken). The sites were very wide and comfortable. There were not many campers here as it was considered "off season." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
This is a beautiful desert park with lots of room at the sites. The staff were great and helpful, showing us to our site. The Wi-Fi had some trouble while we were there, but staff got right on it. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
Office staff of this park really need some lessons in customer service. Also, many attitudes prevail. We have a 50A RV and wanted to camp in the nicer 30A sites. They denied us on the basis "a 50 amp RV needs 50 amp power." This is completely ridiculous. When we called, they said, "We are almost full for the period you want to stay. You had better book for a week before coming or you won't get a site." On arrival, there were many empty sites. An old trick in the RV park business: make them fearful they won't get a site unless they "book right away." This park is located at a noisy intersection and has a restaurant on site which sends out some pretty rude cooking odors. Wi-Fi here was completely awful. We would NOT return until they improve in a big way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$47
We stayed at the Apache Junction KOA after taking in an Angels Spring Training baseball game. Although this is one of the few (and I mean few) parks in Arizona that is not age restricted, it kind of felt like it. We were charged $3/per child: for a total of $12.00! The pool closes at 7pm, and there is no game room. I asked about using the "rec room" and was required to post a $10.00 deposit for broken pool sticks and ping-pong paddles. By the way, the rec room closed for us at 8pm (we got to use it about 20 minutes) although the sign indicates 8:30pm. The Wi-Fi worked really well and the speed was about 1.5 mbs: about the same as most DSL connections at home. No cable TV was a huge bummer. For one night, I didn't really want to set up the Dish and only had a few acceptable channels via antenna. Was it worth it? After going to near-by Goldfield Ghost Town the following day, yes. Otherwise paying that much and dealing with the traffic for a no-frills park would not really seem worth it for us. The staff was professional and park was clean. All dirt and I did not see a blade of grass anywhere. Spent the following day getting all the rocks and pebbles out of the rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$34
The rate is for an electric and water site, full hookups are more. This is a typical KOA, but the staff was very friendly. It is far west of Phoenix, but welcomes children among many in the Phoenix area that are adult only parks. We stayed just one night. The pool was closed (it had rained) and the hot tub, while open, was crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$31
Good KOA RV park, would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
A very nice RV park, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only drawback was no cable, but with our tv antenna we were able to get good reception on ABC, CBS, NBC and FOX stations. The wifi was exceptionally fast and dependable. Our site gave us lots of room for our fifth-wheel and truck. We stayed there for a week and would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Great people managing this park. Very friendly atmosphere. Park is clean and staff is very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Rude clerk made me wait while she held a 10 minute personal conversion with friend. She bragged how she charged a group of 20 people the tent-no hookups rate. She got to me and charged full rate for two children and one adult. I had a KOA member card and was charged top rate. Hot tub was broken and they had to send out of town for the part. This is Phoenix Arizona. My children wanted to use the bathroom and worker told them "go away." We drove to a grocery to go to the bathroom. Ugly landscaping looked fine compared to operators of this place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
I don't know where to start, other than to say that the KOA parks seem to be going the way of the motel 6 chain. Too old, worn out, not enough maintenance in general. We came in from Colorado with reservations that no one could find. We had asked for a pull through, close to the pool, etc. as I am handicapped. They said it wasn't a problem but still put us in a back in spot, at the far side of the park, next to a group of 4-wheelers and bikers there for the motorcycle rally (no sleep) while nine pull throughs up front went un-used all week. Apparently they were keeping them free in case someone in a Prevost came in. We are throwing our KOA card out and going to the independents. KOA is getting far too expensive, rude to their customers, and are just plain falling apart. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2004
$30
Standard KOA, all dirt sites, the owners were veery good to deal with. It was a fine place to stay for the holidays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com