218706 User submitted reviews online!!
Trade Winds RV Park of Vallejo was rated 6 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (707) 643-4000
CGID4758

Trade Winds RV Park of Vallejo

Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   3   7   5   8   8   9   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
First of all, this park is NOT big-rig friendly....at most it's big-rig "squeeze-in". Short and extremely narrow gravel/dirt sites. The site was barely long enough to get in our 38' fiver; we parked the truck diagonally across the back and barely got it off the street. We could not put both slides out completely without hitting the utility post. There is a tiny concrete patio and a picnic table, but we had to move the table off the patio and put it partly under our slide in order to be able to put down the steps. Bathrooms were clean, but dingy and the one time I went to take a shower, there was no hot water at all. Laundry was very reasonable ($1.25) but one washer and two dryers were out of order and sometimes you had to wait for a machine. Wi-Fi worked well, but you only got one free hour a day. You could buy more time, though. The people in the office were very nice and helpful. One big problem: crime in the neighborhood. There was a sign on the office door announcing two thefts from cars recently and urging everyone to make sure everything was locked up. Also there were signs about making sure the laundry and bathrooms doors were locked as there had been vandalism. There is a somewhat low-class motel next door and an open gate at the back of the park into a rather rough-looking mobile-home park. I didn't feel comfortable there, as there was no security at all. In its favor, it was conveniently located to I-80 and the ferry to San Francisco. Unfortunately, there was a lot of noise from I-80, which was right on the edge of the park. There's a dearth of RV parks convenient to San Francisco, but I think we wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Pros: Staff is friendly and attentive to needs. Park is pretty well maintained. Access to the park was confusing at first, but turned out to be pretty convenient. We had a patch of grass at our spot, as did most other spots, and the general facilities were clean and usable. Cons: if there was wifi or cable, it wasn't available to us for some reason - we had none. The area where the park is located is a bit seedy. We had no issues and we were there for a month, but some other tenants were not so lucky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
We chose this park so we could get on the ferry shuttle to go into San Francisco. The ferry landing is 3 miles away. The park is old and could use some maintenance. The sites are very tight but we were able to maneuver our 42 foot coach into a space and open our slide outs. We were, however, very close to our neighbors. The sites are fairly level with good hook up location. If using the Internet, you have a one hour use free each day. You can purchase additional time in the office. We chose to use our Verizon internet service which worked well here. The office staff and host were very helpful. The front section is for overnight stay guests with long term sites in the back. Many RV's appear to have been there for a very long time. Park is adjacent to the freeway and an old mobile home park. Not in a desirable section of town!! Now for the bad news. This is a high crime area and the manager and park host admitted they had lots of trouble with vandals. Our car was broken into and numerous items stolen. Since one of the items taken was a hidden spare set of keys to the RV we decided to leave the park immediately. The park manager was very willing to refund our last two days fee. I would strongly advise folks to avoid this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We went to this park so we could get on the ferry shuttle to go into San Francisco. It was a good location for getting to the ferry. The park has some confusing directions, however once there and you see the layout you will not have any problems. There is a huge pitch at the entrance/exit. The park is old and could use some added maintenance. The sites are very tight, but you will fit and be able to open all slides. The sites are level and have good hook up location. If using the Internet, you have a one hour use each day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
The rate shown is with a Good Sam discount. This is an older park with pull-throughs for overnight. The roads are paved but sites gravel with a cement pad. Office girls very friendly and informative on local attractions. The park is directly off the interstate and you see and hear it all day and night. Grocery store within two miles and ferry to San Francisco is three miles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Rate includes Good Sam discount. Right on freeway. Front section is for overnight stays, back section for long term. Selected based on reviews and aerial mapping. We needed to stay close to Berkeley without taking RV into the city traffic. The office staff and host were very helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This park is easy on and off I-80 east of San Francisco and San Pablo Bay. Close to the ferry dock that runs to San Francisco. Good water and electric. Room to walk dogs .Very helpful hostess and host. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
We did not stay at the park but were forced to cancel our reservations. The park cancelled our reservations with no penalty fee. Very gracious. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
OK park off the interstate but nothing more than a parking lot with hook ups. Sites are really narrow and and aren't wide enough to accommodate slides on both sides. Probably won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Good basic park, price is right for the amenities offered. Access to I-80 makes it any easy drive to many places. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We arrived here right at 5 pm because our planned night's stop at 2pm had no one on duty. Trade Winds office and residents were very friendly and helpful, and we were in a space immediately. Though a bit narrow, all hookups were in top shape and each space has a picnic table. This park is large and attached to mobile home and long term RV areas, but the overnight is easy in and out, and has laundry and showers centrally located next to the office. Not a place to vacation, but excellent value for overnight or local business stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Older park with sites that are just large enough for my 40' RV and toad so long as it was unhooked. Sites are narrow. Convienient location for the east bay area and San Francisco. This was the third time I have used this park. Call a few days in advance for reservations due to office hours and few sites available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
Over the holiday weekend, Trade Winds RV Park did not answer their phone but used an answering service. The answering service was friendly and told us to go in set up and pay in the morning when the office would be open, we got to the park at 1:30 in the afternoon on Jan 1 2011. Went in the next morning to settle the bill. The lady in the office, did not get her name because she did not offer it, was extremely rude. Told I did not park my truck in the proper area, even though nothing was marked. Spaces are extremely small and not level at all, took a 4 inch block on one side too level trailer. Freeway noise was loud. Will not stay there ever again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
This is an older park, as many old RVs attest. One has spiderwebs all over it and it looks like it has been "in-place" for years. It is centrally located if you are going to SF or the Napa Valley. I-80 noise is noticeable but if you turn on your AC fan it helps mask the noise. Pull-through sites are adequate in length for a 40 footer but they are very narrow. Can't open slide and pull down window awnings without hitting neighbors slide. All gravel sites that are fairly level. One strange aspect of this park is that the office is only open from 9 AM to 12 PM and 2 PM to 5 PM. They have a board that lets you know what site you are in, but the bathrooms and laundry have codes to get in. If you get in late, you can only hope another RVer gives you the code. There is no dedicated pet area, only a small strip about 3' wide at the south end of the park for pets to use. Our rate was the weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is an older RV park and is in need of updating. We were in a back-in site which was very cramped to get into. We didn't really enjoy much about the place, but there was a pleasant aroma due to either honeysuckle or jasmine plants growing, I can't recall which it was. I was under the impression we'd have a Wi-Fi connection, and that was one of the reasons I selected this park. It turns out you can use one hour of internet time and then need to pay $6 per day per computer for access. One of the reasons we like Wi-Fi is so we can have access to the TV guide site. We were sorely disappointed. We both found the bathroom access codes annoying since they are completely different numbers. Additionally, my husband frequently couldn't get the cipher lock on the men's restroom to open. The lady at the desk was friendly but had the same problem. They really need to replace it; once it does that there's just no hope and it's quite expensive. There was a grassy area in the over-flow area our dogs used, but I saw no waste so folks must be cleaning up after their dogs. There was also playground equipment in that area. Unfortunately the area seems to have deteriorated. The park itself seemed pretty safe but the surrounding area was kind of iffy. (Our dogs barked and growled in the middle of the night but we weren't sure why.) We couldn't find a restaurant until we crossed over the bay. We were concerned we'd return from dinner and find our trailer burglarized and our dogs missing so it was unnerving to be away from our trailer. Of course we were surprised by a $5 toll bridge to return. We will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This RV park is your basic parking lot type. No amenities to speak of except that you get great wireless reception if you're in the pull through sites. However, it's a great RV park if you're using it as your hotel room where you're out sight seeing all day. It's very centrally located and provides conveniently short distances to Napa, Sonoma, and the bay area. Right next to the 80 (I never heard any freeway noise!) that adjoins you to all other freeways you'll need to get to all sight seeing areas you want to visit. Also, it's right down the street from Six Flags amusement park. I would recommend to anyone that needs an RV park for the purposes I described above. I'd definitely use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is an old park right next to a freeway that needs some major updating. Pull through sites were narrow and you had to unhook your tow. Sewer connections were uphill and we are not quite sure why. Dogs were welcome, but only had flower beds to use. Quite a few full time residents that have been there for a long time. The staff was quite nice. However, we will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
A basic parking lot-style RV park that's right off I-80. It's a little tricky to get into--even with the TL map and directions we still missed the frontage road the first time. The owners were friendly and helpful. The lounge where Wi-Fi is available is only open during the day, and the cable TV gets about a dozen channels. The bathrooms were clean; unfortunately, the water in the showers would occasionally turn scalding hot for a few seconds before going back to normal. Our site was a level pull-through. The highway noise was pretty loud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Not fancy but a great place for visiting San Francisco or nearby cities. Near the freeway so there is some noise but it is not objectionable. I don't understand the comments about the neighborhood--it may not be fancy but certainly OK. This is our four or fifth stay here as we have relatives in San Francisco. We will continue to stop here when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
This is an OK RV campground. It is very small for large motorhomes. Our slide was about 12" from our neighbor's awning. The only positive I can see is the location. We were only 40 minutes from San Francisco. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
It is not often you get to see an owner who really doesn't like her customers. Things would be great if she didn't have those pesky people around to bother her. This is your place if you want this. Lots of little signs all around. WiFi in office only, and locked when office people not around. There is a 180 degree turn from I-80 that a motorhome has trouble with. Sites unlevel, very bad road noise. I do not know what other parks are available, but will sure try to find out next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
Tradewinds is a nice park, convenient to a lot of things in the Bay Area. The sites were a little tight/narrow, and being so close to the highway (while convenient for touring around) meant that there was a bit of highway noise. Overall, though, the facilities were neat, clean, and well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
This park is hard to find unless you make a hard right from the southbound exit off the freeway onto the service road. Sites fairly close together. Lot of freeway noise. Public phone has been taken out of laundry room. Nearest one half mile away at bowling alley. WIFI did not work and modem in library available only when office was open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
Average, small sites (not room for awning), gravel park. OK for the night. Cable TV is only 12 or so channels, (tricky approach into, so ask for directions when reserving) Once again I told them I needed WIFI at reservation so they accommodated us with a site directly across from office; they do have DSL and dial-up in lounge. No pool, etc. Dog friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
Hard to find someplace in the San Francisco area, this one is quite convenient. 5 minutes to the cross-bay ferry, 10 minutes to Six Flags Marine World, 20 minutes to Camping World or the Jelly Belly factory. Several long-term residents, apparently. Didn't see any kids in four days. Fair amount of noise from highway. Tricky to find - pay very close attention to the directions. Excellent laundry, lots of machines. Not a "resort", but a really good base to explore from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$30
Nice Park, level sites, easy access, low freeway noise, close to SF. Wi-Fi is only in their lounge, can't get signal at site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com