223582 User submitted reviews online!!
Mt Lassen / Shingletown KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (530) 474-3133
CGID478

Mt Lassen / Shingletown KOA

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   7   9   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
We spent 3 nights here during the 4th of July weekend while we visited Lassen Volcanic NP. This was a jewel. The campground was clean, site was level, and the owners/staff were outstanding. The cookout and breakfast served for the holiday was excellent and enjoyable. This is our 7th stop during this summer's vacation and so far is our favorite stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$46
This was a nice park with a lovely woodsy atmosphere. Staff kept the grounds immaculate (even to the extent of stamping "KOA" in the sand for a cigarette disposal receptacle). We were granted permission to have mail delivered during our stay, and even successfully received a needed part for our RV. We were only able to reserve a site with full hookups for part of our stay, so were forced to move to another site with no sewer partway through the week. The move was not difficult and both gravel sites were fairly level. We enjoyed the pool and can report that the bathroom and shower facilities were convenient and clean. This park does offer recycling. WiFi was pretty good, but our Verizon phones hardly worked at all from this location. We found the staff to be quite friendly and helpful. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$43
Excellent park in beautiful setting. Large pull throughs gravel sites if needed. The website says you must unhook if the rig is over 40 ft. We unhook always, but had plenty of room for two vehicles. Lots of room on the sites that would accommodate larger rigs. They even have the deluxe KOA sites complete with lawn furniture and gas grills. WiFi is free now with good coverage. Staff was first rate and friendly. Nice store and overall facilities were neat, clean and inviting. Will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Between an 8 and a 9. Bumped up because they could write the book on how to be friendly, helpful, and flexible. Very nice hands on owners, but all staff get an a plus for customer service. Very pretty, good location for Lassen. What could be improved: offer free Wi-Fi, for $42-46 per night, should NOT cost $10. Lots of dust, maybe a little more paving? Sites were a bit close when it was full. Amazing dog run, but did not use it because our dog came out of it too dirty. Needs something on top of the silty dirt. We would stay here again - enjoyed our visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This park is staffed by a group of friendly people. After registering, I was guided to my assigned site. The park is nicely shaded and has an interesting layout. Rather than row after row there are large sites at odd angles which gives a feeling of openness. One drawback with the scattered layout is that people tend to walk or drive through sites The cable selection is basic basic. The fact that several of the major networks dropped out of service during my stay led to my lowering the rating given. The Wi-Fi service is offered on a pay basis through Tengo. Considering the rate that the park charges, one would expect decent Wi-Fi at no cost. I used my Verizon broadband. There was only 1 bar of signal, but I survived. The cell service here was even worse. Many of my calls were dropped at some point in the conversation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Nice wide level spaces. Beautiful little park--well run, nice folks. Convenient to Lassen NP. Wi-Fi is Tengonet and overpriced at $10 per day. There is free Wi-Fi at Library 5 miles down the road. No ATT phone service. Laundry could be larger. It is used by guests and staff when changing over cabins. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
One of the best KOA's we have stayed in. The sites are large and most of them in the shade. The staff was very friendly and showed us to our site. This campground was very clean and well kept. The location was very good for visiting Mt. Lassen National Park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
Beautiful, well maintained campground with lots of big trees. Very friendly staff. All utilities worked. Most sites are a bit tight for a big rig, but not bad. Wi-Fi available for a fee. I was told it was not very good though. Verizon was very weak. Didn’t use it, but the pool was popular. Great launching off point for local hiking and exploring. Don’t miss Burney Falls (about 45 mins away). Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
One of the nicest, most comfortable campgrounds we have been in. Largely due to two factors. One is the setting - beautiful trees and spacious sites. The other is the owner and manager and their spouses. They are the best hosts we have come across. Very friendly, their advice spot - on, and the pride of ownership is reflected in every aspect of the park. Will definitely return to this ideal campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$72
Since we were having such great weather, we decided to take our two granddaughters for once last camp-out. Our tent trailer was packed away for the year so we rented a two room cabin and brought our camping gear in the car. The girls had a blast at the campground,and loved the cabin. Even though the pool was closed there were still plenty for them to do at the campground. We took a short road trip to Burney Falls and the Subway Caves. We always drive by this KOA on our way to another campground and thought about stopping. I'm so glad we did. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
Stopped here for an overnight without a reservation. The office was closed, but the manager drove up in a golf cart and offered to open the office, look up my KOA Membership number and proceed to check me in. After selecting a campsite, (#33) with full hookups, she led us to the site and assisted with backing in. Great service. As mentioned before the sites are gravel, but there is no dust...except in the K9 Corral. It's dirt...no grass, so the dogs got dirty really fast. Everything worked as expected, and we were very pleased with this campground. The pool was closed for the season, but wouldn't have used it anyway. I agree with previous reviewers that the staff is very, very friendly and accommodating. I'll stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This is the cleanest, prettiest, most well run campground we have ever stayed. Not close to shopping or restaurants, close to the National Park. Wi-Fi is $10 a day charge, Verizon barely works here. Do yourself a favor and spend some time here. Gravel site, no dust at all, large fenced dog area, not many tenters, the place looks brand new. Small grocery store in Shingletown has everything including hardware and prices are a little higher than average. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
This is a great place to stay! I recommend it 100%. We had a beautiful site and there was lots to do: Lassen National Park is very close by, as well as Hat Creek for fishing. Also nearby is the small area of Manton for wine tasting. Too bad you have to pay for Wi-Fi, but it did work well when we paid. Bathrooms here were spotless! The whole staff is so friendly and accommodating. Give this place a 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This is probably the best KOA we've ever stayed at. Super friendly staff, well laid out, clean facilities, nice events for the family. The only thing needed to make it perfect is a free Wi-Fi system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
We loved this spot. Clean and wooded. Great staff. Easy to Lassen National Park and Burney Falls. We were here with another MH and found it easy to get in and out of the park. Limited TV, but major channels. Wi-Fi funky. Even our Verizon card was hit or miss. But in this park, you just enjoy the park and the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Incredible stay. Few campers. Other than the rain we did not feel the need to leave. But, we unhooked and spent afternoon in Redding. Lots of recent upgrades. New gravel, nice basketball and volley ball. Easy on our Lab. Friendly and helpful staff. Use your surge protectors though. Will return often. One of the best owners/hosts we have ever met. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
This is a very nice park. It is not one that attracts large motor homes. We have a 42' and were by far the largest in here. It is miles off the freeway, 14 miles west of Lassen National Park. In my humble opinion this is a better park for tenters, kabin renters, and small RVs, than for big rigs. We had no problem getting into our space. And there are a couple of other spaces for large rigs. Most of the campers here were in tents. And I want to say that they were wonderful tent sites. Immaculate, with fire rings, little fences and so on. But there are some considerations if you have a large RV and want to use the phone. Cell phones don't work here. Yes they do sort of. If you sit right next to the cell phone amp it works maybe, sometimes. The trees for sure will block your satellite dishes. Neither of mine worked. This is a park with extra things all around. For instance the dog park had toys like a gymset for the dogs. There were lots of kid friendly things too. And the people here are super. Now here is the biggest downer. Remember no satellites. The internet here is pay: 10 bucks a day. And it is the speed of the old dial up when it was really busy. Meaning, you pay 10 bucks and it hardly works. This park is really like a park in the National Park, but it's private with a few extras. If you have kids, want to go to Lassen, and are in a tent or small RV this is the place for you. Big RV: maybe not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
This is the nicest KOA we have stayed at. The staff really tries to keep things clean and everyone happy. Our spot (#4) was large, level and shaded. The only thing keeping it from a 10 - is the internet fee, lack of facilities including bathroom, trash and recycle when the park is full. Stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
I wish I could give this park a better rating but it was very expensive ($42 + $10 for internet) - so I felt a little ripped-off. The location is pretty and there is a fenced area for dogs - and all of the normal KOA facilities. When I tried to reach someone after hours because of a problem (there were three big dogs running loose through the campsites), no one answered the intercom. Laundry room is also expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$41
We were greeted by a warm, friendly couple who were the manager's. They had us walk the sites, allowing us to pick the best one for our motorhome. We have a 40' class A and it was tricky getting it around to the site. Fortunately, the park was not crowded but I could see this being a real issue in a busier time. The place is really nice with a laundry and showers. A very dog-friendly place too. They have a dog play area with numerous obstacles for the dogs to play on. The only gripe I have is they charge for Internet. My wife and I both have laptops so we had to pay $20 a day for access. In my opinion, this is crazy in this day and age. Five to seven years ago I would expect to pay, but not today. So, if you came here with several kids and a few adults, and each had a laptop, you are in for a large added expense. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
We have stayed here before and it is a lovely campground with a great staff. There were two drawbacks for us, however. They charge for Wi-Fi and they are very, very limited with site access for big rigs. They plan on expanding the park in the next couple of years, so hopefully it will be more big rig friendly. Most sites are wide and staggered, which affords some privacy, the trees are huge, well-trimmed, there is nice landscaping and it is quiet. We would definitely return as Shingletown is a beautiful area close to Lassen NP and away from the city hustle and bustle of Redding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
This was a one-night stopover on a trip back home and was a nice stop. We had a long pull-through site tucked in the trees behind another site. When we first arrived the office had a power outage and couldn't process our prepaid reservation, but they showed us to our site and even loaned us a longer coax cable for our portable satellite since we needed to get it out from under the trees. Once their power came back on and we went in to register, I was told that I still owed them money. I'd made my reservation, and paid for it, when my KOA Value Card was still valid. It had expired a week before we got to this campground, and KOA chose not to honor the prepaid reservation. I know it's just a buck or two, but it still irks me. Our overall experience was fine, though; this is a nice campground with VERY friendly management who work hard to maintain it and make it look good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
This was one of the nicest campgrounds we ever stayed at. The KOA is nestled in the woods with large private sites. Everything was very clean, well maintained and the staff is very friendly. The campground is just beautiful. They offer a really large pet playground and there are also trails through the woods. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
This is a wonderful park. The managers and staff are delightful, helpful people who obviously love their jobs and take great pride in their park. And, they should! It's beautiful and well maintained. Here you can enjoy a rustic setting with full hookups! Mt. Lassen NP is just 20 minutes or so away, and Burney Falls is about an hour. Lots to see from here. What would make it a 10? Wifi and cell service. We had to drive the 5 miles or so into Shingletown to make calls. And, the campground wifi was turned off during our stay. They are working on a better solution. And, a new cell tower is scheduled to be installed nearby later this year. With those two additions, we would give this place a 15! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
What a great park - we loved it! The staff is friendly, the grounds and facilities are extremely well-kept, and the area is beautiful. The campsites are not especially private, but they are spaced a reasonable distance apart. This park is located among the trees and has a nice cozy feel to it. We had a great experience here and will definitely be coming back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$41
We absolutely LOVE this campground! On average, we camp here with our travel trailer at least twice a year. It is a small cozy campground with plenty of pine and fir trees; quiet, clean, and close to Lassen National Park (about 20 min drive). The owners take such great care of this gem of a park. Many KOAs are not nearly as nice as this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Very nice park. It's exactly what we look for when camping. Something that has the look and feel of "camping" with all of the conveniences of full hookups. Staff was very helpful. I saw the maintenance people going over each site as soon as the previous campers had vacated. All of the utilities were in good working order. Cable channels wee a bit limited, but that's ok. WiFi worked very well. The only reason I dinged them a point was for the fact that there's not really a good placed to hook up a toad for a motorhome. If you don't have one of their limited number of pull through sites, it's nearly impossible without blocking everybody coming in or out. The good news is that there's a rest area about a mile west down CA44 from the park that has plenty of room. Very quiet park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Wow! Nice place! I am not normally a KOA fan, and I do not rate 10's easily. This place earned it. Very nicely layed out park in the woods. Very clean, neat, and tidy. Very good interior roads and pads are mostly level. Management has even gone and erected small sections of 6 ft. tall fencing in most sites for added privacy. I think this is a nice touch. Nice open area at the back of the park to allow dogs to run. Staff and management in the office were very polite and helpful. If we're in the area again, we would stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Nice park set in trees. Park is in process of expanding. Wi-Fi free but signal week. Great staging location to Mt. Lassen Park. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Stayed over the 4th of July week. Great area in the trees with various trails for walking your pets. Worth the drive and I will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Nice park - the managers are very nice and helpful. The only drawback was the layout - you really had to look to make sure you were still on a road and not driving through a camp site. The other problem we had and it was no fault of the campsite were inconsiderate kids on their way to and from the pool using our site as a shortcut. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
Awesome KOA--one of the "Presidents Medal" winners. Nice pool, great managers, clean everything, good store, etc. Lovely place to stay when visiting Mount Lassen--though the national park campgrounds at the entrance to Mount Lassen looks excellent as well. This KOA has nice separation and landscaping between many but not all of the sites, so you don't feel horribly crowded--though we had a large motorhome just next to us. I took off one point for cramped quarters and lack of WiFi, but this is a great place, and we recommend it without any doubt. Great place to stay when visiting Mount Lassen--which is also a great place to visit. The peak has 30 feet of snow in July, when the surrounding areas are 100 degrees! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Beautiful Campground. Quiet, Peaceful, and relaxing. Far enough from "civilization" to make the road outside almost deserted thus no traffic noise at night. Most helpful staff with well maintained facilities. We will stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$33
The Mount Lassen KOA in Shingletown California is well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
This is one of the best RV parks we've ever seen. It was a nice drive in off I-5 and only 30 mins from Lassen NP. The park is clean and beautiful. It rained the last two days we were there and we didn't even mind. All the sites are big and covered with gravel, no mud anywhere. There were tent sites and cabins. The staff was polite and very helpful. We will return soon and highly recommend Mt. Lassen KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$27
Sites mixed in among the trees. Sites mostly level but they do follow the "lay of the land", some could be tricky for hitching to your rig. All gravel roads and pads, with some lawn around some sites. Very clean, with seven wooded acres with very nice walking trails. Excellent, almost silent at night. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Very clean RV park, gravel roads and pads the showers and bathrooms were always spotless. Owners and camp hosts very friendly. They guide you to your site. Large dogs not a problem, they have 7 wooded acres below the RV and tent sites for owners and pets to walk (off leash) Very nice place. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com