206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Spring Mill State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (812) 849-4081
CGID4783

Spring Mill State Park

Camp Information
Sites
223
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   8   9   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
We camped here this past weekend (Labor Day 2013) and had the best time. The park itself has a great deal to do, with a hiking trails, nature center, biking, birdwatching, history, cave tours, and more. They have the best camp store we've ever encountered: fully stocked with just about everything you can imagine (fresh foods of all kinds, RV supplies, activities, snacks of all stripe, a wide variety of cold drinks, even camp cookbooks! Our site (#16) had a steep grade, they called it 'extreme' but we could not level out. The entire spot, except one small patch, was hard packed dirt and the vehicle area was gravel. (A bit dusty since it had not rained in some time.) Water was easily reachable, located between out site and the site just next door, and the electric hookup was immediately next to the parking area. Our electric tested out and worked perfectly, (not often the case) and the water was clean and fully functional. The sites appear to be kept very clean and in good shape all over the park. We saw park staff in repair vehicles working on the bathroom once and repairing a faulty pedestal in another spot. Housekeeping cleaned the bathrooms twice a day when we were here: very impressive! Although the facilities were not new, they were very well kept up with and in great shape. Firewood was $4.25 per bundle at the camp store, and although we didn't buy any, they have plenty of ice on hand at reasonable prices. I'm not sure if the bicycle rentals were reasonable or not, but given the prices for everything else I'd say that they were completely fair. The bikes themselves were in good shape and there were a good number to rent. For those interested in activities, the pool is huge, clean, and very inviting, the nature center is very well laid out with a good deal of literature and signage, in addition to very friendly staff. The hiking trails are well marked and offer great variety (waterfront, old growth forest, Karst topography features, etc.). The short cave tour is by flat bottom boat and is well worth the $3 fee (arrive at 9am to book whatever time you want, they sell out early and you can only book for that day.) The historic village is in amazing shape, had plenty of staff on hand when we were here, and is truly beautiful. If you like CCC history (as I do) this is a great place to visit: the CCC did quite a bit here and it shows. Park staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we were very positively impressed with them given the extreme load on the park during the holiday weekend. They have two dump stations (located at the camper check-in as they often are) to speed exiting, but the line was quite long given that the park was at full capacity for the holiday. We don't use them so I can's speak to their condition, but at a glance they appeared to be clean and well maintained as far as I could tell from 5 feet away. We have added this park to our top parks list and plan to return regularly. It's a fantastic park with so much to do, great staff, and great camping! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
The addition of the mountain bike trail made our stay even nicer than in years past. I also found out that the DNR purchased Cave River Valley where I would camp and explore the caves many years ago. A shortage of funds has limited its development but should be a nice addition to Spring Mill only if the caves can remain protected. Be aware that many sites are not level and the water hook ups may be as much as 100 feet from your camper. We purchased our corn meal in the village and sought relief from the heat in the Park's fantastic pool. A Friday evening meal at the Inn was very enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Helpful staff. Good dining at lodge. Clean park. Good history. Take an extra 50' water hose so you can reach the centralized water hookup. Have extra "support" boards, etc., to help level unit on uneven spots. Good roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
I spent the first weekend of October here, what a fun weekend! If you want to stay here, you must make reservations six months in advanced or you will not get in. The park is extremely popular with the locals! The park was sold out, and I found out why on Saturday night. The shut down vehicle traffic and everyone went trick-or-treating. They hold a contest for the best decorated site, and the campers do go out of their way to make it a FUN weekend. Our site sorta had water, it was on the wrong side, and sharing the site next to us. If I needed water, I would have dragged out all the hoses to get to it, but I left the house with a 1/4 tank of fresh water. There are very few pull through sites and the standard site is very very tight for a 40 foot Motorhome and toad. I've never been here this late in the season, and plan to return next year at the same time. Camping fees do not include a $5.00 fee to enter the park. The horse stables are gone, bike trails replaced the horse trails. Next weekend, the village will be active. No TV, No Wi-Fi, talk about technology withdraw. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Very Nice State Park. We enjoyed the Old Mill and Pioneer Village. We camped in site #48, it was nice lots of shade and quite. We will camp here again.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We stayed at campsite #64. It was completely shaded and the pad was fairly level and was mixed gravel and dirt. They have a very large pool that is about 1/2 mile from campground. The best part of the park is the pioneer village and mill. It is beautifully kept with a large mill in the center surrounded by several smaller buildings. Each building has a volunteer dressed in period appropriate clothing. They are great about answering questions and make it more fun for the kids. We had a great experience and have already booked another trip there! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
A beautiful state park. We stayed in site #37 in the Section 1 Electric. It was a challenge getting our 32 foot fifth-wheel into the site. It is very quiet in Section 1. There is quite a bit of privacy and trees. However, choose your site carefully. Some sites would have been impossible for us to get in to. The Olympic-sized swimming pool is great ($2 per person). We also enjoyed the boat ride through Twin Caves ($3 per adult, $1 per child). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Stayed in Section 2 electric. Beautiful campground. Relatively quiet even though we stayed a holiday weekend. All sites have water and electric, unusual for an Indiana State Park. All sites are large and many form nice community areas if you have a group camping together. If you look at the map and draw a line from the entrance road straight back through the campground the site to the right of that line will be better. Sites to the left are lower elevation and would tend to get muddier on a wet weekend. Also, sites on the far left are entirely shaded, nice in the summer but muddy in the spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$17
Nice place - we've been about 5 times. The larger electric section can be a bit crowded and noisy, so we opt for the small loop (Section #1). Site #9 is our favorite for a pop-up. Very large, secluded site that extends back into the woods. For a tent, I believe site #7 looks like the best. The state park is excellent, with a great little pioneer village, a cave, a small museum dedicated to Gus Grissom, and a pool. With any Indiana state park, check-in is a very slow process. On Friday nights, there can be a very long line checking in because of how time-consumer it is. Overall, a great place. For some reason, every time we've been, it has rained on us, but hopefully our luck will change this coming Labor Day. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
We really enjoyed Spring Mill: the park and the campground. The campground was relatively quiet, the facilities clean, and the campsites very satisfactory. Sites 1-29 and 49-62 are in a wooded area, with a creek running behind sites 24-29 and 1-6. The playground marked on the map between 3 and 62 does not exist! It was removed in 2005, to our dissapointment, but the other playground is still here. The other electric sites are in a more grassy area with sparse trees. As another reviewer noted, cell phones work in very few places in the park. Other than that, the park is very enjoyable, with caves, mountain bike trails, a historic village (with guides/tours), historic cemetary, and lots of trails. We're definitely going back often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
I was at site 10. Electric and water can be difficult to reach. Large park and campsites can be difficult to find. Overall a very pretty place but sites can be unlevel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
The camp ground is very nice. The employees were all very friendly & helpful. The swimming pool is very nice too. Although we didn't use them, the bath houses & showers were very clean. The historic village area is very interesting place to visit too. The only downfall was no one's cell phones worked in the campground. We camped with a group of people who all had different cellular service. Some cell phones would work if you stood in a certain part of the campground, while others did not work at all. This is a cellular problem & not the campgrounds fault though. Just something nice to know in case of an emergency. Plan to visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com