220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Wilkins Historic State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (906) 289-4215
CGID4786

Fort Wilkins Historic State Park

Camp Information
Sites
159
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   8   9   9   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
Enjoyed this park as the Cooper Harbor area is stunning. Sites are level and paved. Most sites are on the smallish size. The campground is lightly wooded. There was no Verizon cell/MIFI service in Cooper Harbor. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
We stayed in the newer west campground, which is easy to find after checking into the ranger station.  The campground is located on Lake Fanny Hooe, with the common area on the lakefront providing nice views to many campsites.  The campground hosts set up morning coffee with their display of area brochures.  And on Saturday night, the campground hosts helped each of us to make yummy bread on a stick.  Within a short walk is Fort Wilkins, a no-cost historical site which allowed dogs.  We took our dog, and took turns visiting each of the buildings.  The nightly ranger talk was enjoyable.  And just across the road is access to Lake Superior at the rocky beach. There is little in town to interest me, and the restaurants were uninspired at best.  We drove to the northernmost point of Highway 41 which is the road all the way to Miami.  About 2 miles beyond the start of Highway 41, on a seasonal rut-filled dirt road is a very beautiful secluded Horseshoe Bay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Wow! This place is terrific. We were not on the water but our campsite was very private and clean as a whistle. Beautiful facilities everywhere in the Park. Loved the walking/biking path to nearby Copper Harbor and to the Fort. We went to the presentations at the Fort every night and to an Arts & Crafts show in Copper Harbor. This is a super base for exploring the Keweenaw Peninsula. We were in site 101 in the West Campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Nice state park with east and west sections on either side of the excellent Fort Wilkins pre civil war U.S.Army fort well kept with exhibits in the buildings explaining how and why this then remote fort was built on the extreme of the Keweenaw peninsula of the UP in 1844. I stayed in the east section which was well grassed with a moderate number of trees, sites well spaced with tarmac drives but sites grass and some gravel, very clean bath and hot showers. No on camp site water or sewer but dump station. They now have free WiFi, but it is very slow. My big gripe (also very true of McLain State Park) is that most of the electrical outlet posts are between the sites,some in undergrowth, way back from the drives, and many sites are irregularily unlevel. I had one of the very few level sites with a conveniently placed electrical outlet post. For most you will need a very long extension cord. The campground borders a cliff edge over Lake Fanny Hooe and across the highway is Lake Superior with a lighthouse. A very nice place save for the poorly placed electrical outlets for which I rate is an 8. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Rate is for 30 amp electric only back-in site in the East campground. Roads paved, sites gravel, open, but of decent size. The West campground has paved pull through sites. This is one of those get away from it all locations, so no cell service or Internet. We were fortunate, or maybe unfortunate, that our site was one of the very few in this entire park where our satellite dishes were able to connect. Very busy park before Labor Day, but afterwards it was nearly empty. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
We arrived here on a Friday with no reservations. Staff was very helpful and got us into a site in the east park. I think the west park might be better for larger rigs. We enjoyed the park and the area. True no internet, phone,TV, few groceries or gas. So come prepared. A lovely area to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
This park is a long way from everything and everywhere. The park itself is decent and the West campground has some paved sites. The East campground sites are much smaller. We had 30 amp electric. No cell or internet service available. The welcome center in town has internet as do a few of the restaurants. You need to drive up a hilly road in order to get cell service. The only store in town is thin for food supplies, so bring what you need with you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
We had a new site that was a pull-thru that is paved and in a very good location next to the lake. Avoid the East Campground if you want quiet. Lot to do and see. Make sure you go to the Harbor House for dinner. Great food! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Excellent big rig sites in the west campground. Not quite as level as I like, but acceptable. Nice to have 50amp power in a state park. Harbor Haus and the Mariner are excellent eating places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
This was a beautifully kept peaceful campground. The only negatives were sites were a bit small (we didn't want to pay the extra $2 for a pull thruough) and most were unlevel. Other than that - the workers were very friendly and helpful, there weren't many other campers so it was peaceful. We had a beautiful view of the lake. Lots of places to hike, bike and sight-see. Best meal in town is at the Harbor Haus! It ranks in the top 10 of places I've eaten. A very enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
The only thing that would improve the campground is full hookups. We stayed in the west loop this time , but we have stayed in the east loop before as well. The sites in the west loop are more private. There are laundry facilities in the east loop. The local area is really cool, lots of things to see and shops to go in. Don't miss Brockway mountain drive for the sunset(and the only place in town for cell signal). Another neat place is a bakery on M26 outside of town called the Jampot that is run by Byzantine monks, excellent baked goods!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Michigan state parks get a bad rap, in general, but Fort Wilkins SP is a true gem. Just spent 6 days there. Serene, isolated, and beautiful best describe the area. The tip of the Keweenaw Peninsula just doesn't get much traffic. Used pull-through site #158, but all sites are easily accessible, depending on size of rig. Even on a weekend the CG was maybe 40% full. During the week we had the place virtually to ourselves. Pull-through sites are large, nicely separated from neighbors by trees/shrubs. All sites are separated from adjacent sites in same manner. The CG itself is immaculate. Didn't see a single piece of trash in six days. Bathing/restroom facilities also immaculate. Quiet hours are ALL hours, not just evenings. Unlike many lower peninsula state parks, where the campers are often rude, obnoxious, and inconsiderate, this CG was a real exception. The peninsula area offers many activities from hiking, swimming, fishing, boating, snorkeling/diving, kayaking, biking to name a few. Courteous, friendly staff and CG host. This park is well worth the extra drive. It renews faith in the MI state park system. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
This is a very well kept State Park. The big draw back is no water or sewer on site, so be prepared to move rig to dump and load water every couple days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Very well maintained campground, most sites have good views of the inner lake. You will definitely want to call ahead if you are a big rig. There are very few sites that can accommodate a 40 plus footer and these sites are pitched improperly making it difficult to level. I can not imagine if this campground were full, which I am sure it often is in July and August, the sites are close together. Magnificent views from Brockaway Mountain Road, drive it in early evening for the sunset - unbelievable, also see the Fort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
We loved this campground. Everything was clean and neat. We stayed in the West Campground, the sites are more secluded and sites 140 thru 160 are on asphalt pads. Copper Harbor is a nice little town, we stayed for a week and found enough to keep us busy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
We camped here 3 days without reservations, and got lucky since the west campground was full. There were two large groups that consumed most of the sites in the west campground, so the park opened the east campground to accommodate us and a few others. They also opened the showers and restrooms for about 10 campers. This is just an example of the service. Fort Wilkins is a historic fort adjacent to the campground free to campers. Well worth visiting. The Cooper Harbor is an interesting area with a fantastic lighthouse. Not much hiking etc. in the park. Sites are well maintained and spacing is reasonable; not overcrowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We camped here 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. There are 3 campgrounds (East, West & Organization) all located on Lake Fanny Hooe. Even without reservations and the East campground closed, we did not have any problem finding a pull through site. Since this is a Michigan State Park, a State Park permit is required to camp ($8 per visit or $29 annual - nonresidents). The permit also includes entrance fees into the Fort Wilkins Complex, a 19th century Army post, which is adjacent to the campground. The park has a mini cabin for rent, a park store and laundry facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
If you have a big rig, the new section of the West Campground is the best place to be. The sites are larger and more open with long pull-throughs available in the center section. The older part of the West Campground and the East campground are overgrown with trees, making it difficult to park and maneuver without scratching the side or your rig. Overall, however, very nice. Copper Harbor is a beautiful area with small villages, lighthouses and rugged terrain. We will return here as often as we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This campground is part of Fort Wilkins State Park, a refurbished fort from the 1800's. During the summer season they have actors portraying how life was like in the fort. The campground is divided into two sections, East and West. There are bike/walking trails between the two and the fort. Town is less then a mile away and has a trail to it also. The East campground has a laundry room, better showers and a better park/playground. The West campground has pull-throughs with 50 amp service. We stayed in West in the pull-throughs and just rode our bikes to the park and laundry in East. Both sides have sites on Lake Fanny Hooe and there is a boat launch right next to the West campground, also connected by a walking/biking trail. Lake Superior is very close and Cooper Harbor has a lot of quaint shops and a couple nice restaurants. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Fort Wilkens was very interesting to visit. The kids loved the Fort so we walked there every night. The playground on the East side campground is far better than the one on the West side campground. But the West side has the pull-through sites that are by the lake and are padded. The laundry is also on the East side but there are facilities in town that are convenient to use while you tour some of the gift shops or one of the restaurants. Lots to do in this area so plan at least three days to visit everything well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$17
Nice campground connected to the historic Fort Wilkins by a short trail. As is with the other Michigan campgrounds we've been to, the sites are laid out awkwardly and the electric hookup is communal. . . 4 sites per pole. We had some trouble backing into our site with a 25 ft trailer; I noticed others have considerable difficulty even with pop-ups. I gave this campground a 7 due to its proximity to Lake Superior (across the road by a short trail) and its connection to the fort. A rarity, there is actually a laundry facility inside the campground. There are 2 campground loops. Nice and quiet, some sites are across the campground road from Lake Fanny Hooe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com