206928 User submitted reviews online!!
Tonto National Forest / Houston Mesa Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (602) 225-5200
CGID4830

Tonto National Forest / Houston Mesa Campground

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   7   9   8   6   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Poor value for the money. In March, the shower was shut down. The dump station is out of order. Sites are tightly vegetated in many cases. Right next to a town highway and its noise. Does not compare well at all to an AZ state park dry camping site for the same or less money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Quiet campground just a couple of miles from Payson. Friendly host. No trails. Dump station is $7 and water to fill up is $.25 a gallon. Basic, but worth a stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$3.0
We love it here. The views are amazing. It is all dry camping but dump station and water not too far away. Security gate closes at sundown. The $3.00 per night works with your Golden Age Pass. Must purchase passes from area stores in Mesa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$10
$10 rate reflects Golden Age Discount. Host very friendly and knowledgeable. All sites paved, mostly level. Verizon air card worked, due to close proximity to town. Only negative, it was 106 degrees, but cooled off some after sunset. Would stay here again but not in summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Nice campground with friendly hosts to answer questions. There are tall trees and it's only about 1 mile outside of town. They have warm showers and flush toilets. Showers were $2 for six minutes. A little noisy since it was right off of the freeway. We would definitely camp here again. It might be a little tight for a large RV. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
This is a very noisy campground next to the highway. We have a 40' motorhome & there are about 12 sites we could fit into although the pull-throughs, while long enough, have such a tight mid-curve with narrow paving & tree branches, that they would require just backing into one end of them. The campground manager (concessioner) had a very happy dog. I had to finally go over and ask her to keep it quiet. She didn't appreciate it. We think that most campgrounds have that rule and for the manager to not oblige is unfortunate. Because of the noise we would only stay one night which driving through the area in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
Good access roads and large sites. We have a 37ft motorhome and had plenty of room in a pull through site in the designated RV loop. Also sites are large enough in the Mt. Lion loop which I thought was nicer. It was further from the road noise. Bathrooms clean. Close to town some shaded sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
Still a little primitive but very nice and very quite. The best part about this campground is how close it is to Payson. I use to tent in this area when I was younger and it was nice to see that it hasnt been over run by urban sprawl. Its a great campground for weekenders but full timers might not find it as appealing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$15
This site is located north of Payson at the junction of State Hwy. 87 and the Houston Mesa Road/Forest Road (FR) 199. Turn east on FR 199 for 1/10 mile to the Houston Mesa Campground located on the north side of the road. Houston Mesa Horse Campground is located on the south side of the road. This is a very nice Tonto NFS campground. All the roads are paved, as are the sites. Picnic tables and small fire cooking bins are provided. This is a heavily wooded area in ponderosa pine forest location. More importantly, it only 1 mile from the town of Payson. A nice place for the family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com