223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Tucalota Springs RV Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (951) 767-0604
CGID484

Tucalota Springs RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   5   6   9   7   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$47
Nice quiet park in a rural setting. People are very friendly and our initial registration was very easy. Dirt pads, but that wasn't a problem at all; very level. Pet friendly. Unfortunately, the only reasons I will not return is lack of cell service and lousy Wi-Fi, although the park is advertised as having it. Otherwise, a very nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$47
This is a very nice park in a rural setting. The cell service is rather sketchy, but if you walk up the nearby hills, it works fine (US Cellular or Verizon). If you desire to use your satellite dish ask for one of the sites with fewer trees. Other than a chorus of coyotes howling, this was the quietest park I've ever stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground. We were in site D6 with 50 amp service, it backed up to a berm so we didn't have anyone behind us and the site was plenty wide enough for our slides. The interior roads are paved but the sites are compacted dirt/gravel. There are many sites with shade trees. The grounds are kept clean as are the common ares: the pool, the pond, the grassy center, etc. The new managers are always driving around and making sure everything is good. They are quick to take care of any concerns. The WIFI was spotty and there isn't any cable, and there is no cell service at the park, but our satellite dish worked great. This park is also a 15 - 20 min drive from downtown Temecula but the drive is through the wine country and past some beautiful horse ranches. This park may not be for everyone, but it is the kind of park we look for when we travel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
We have stayed here twice. Our RV club likes to stay here. Here are the reasons why am I not going with the other higher reviews. . 1. Small entrance road that two motor homes could not pass in. And backing up there is not safe or easy. 2. Wi-Fi poor to not working. Did not work better at club house. 3. Fine dirt throughout the park. My wife and I repeatedly had to clean all surfaces in coach. 4. No cell signal. I have Verizon. Don't know if others work. 5. A lot of sites including ours only 30 amps. This was not enough to cool our coach down in 98 degree weather. 6. Big trees blocked our satellite internet. 7. It is not close to things like groceries. 20 minute drive for groceries. 8. Dirt sites. This place needs pavement or grass to cut down on the fine dust everywhere for it's sites. If you like to camp at places with issues such as the ones above then you will like this place. I would have to say that there are amenities on site which are quite nice. A pond with fish in it. Kids like that. Nice big Oaks. Very good jeep roads close by. Good hikes close in. A little zoo. Nice people for check in and working in the park. So if they fixed the dust by paving the sites or grassing, fixed the Wi-Fi, and ungraded the 30 amp to 50 amp, . I would rate this park about an 8. They should also ask you if you are going to use satellite when you check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
I'm not too excited about this park, but it worked for us as an overnight stop. Bathroom/restrooms were clean. Free coffee in the morning next to the office. Sites were level, but the park was a little bit dusty. Wi-Fi worked poorly. It was one of those occasions when it had been better not to have Wi-Fi at all, rather than getting a weak signal, waiting for the connection, waiting for the website to respond, seeing the connection breaking down again and so on. I don't remember the exact rate, but I think it was over 40 bucks - which I think is a bit too pricy for the value. Which leads me to another point of criticism, you can't find the rates on their website. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$29
$29 reflects weekly rate. This RV park boasts natural beauty. It is nestled in the Southern CA mountains with 360 views from its walking trails. It is the most quiet RV park we've ever visited. The whole park is on level hard-packed sand with asphalt drives. The immediate area is wineries, fruit orchards and horse farms. There are a few exotic animals and a small catch and release fishing pond. Cell phones don't work here but the office provides access 24/7 to a phone. Wi-Fi was slow at our site. Our DISH reception was great and we got all the local Los Angeles TV stations from our antenna. There's an adequate camp store. Park is managed by work campers. We were not allowed to keep our dirt bikes at our site; a rule to minimize noise (although our dirt bikes are so quiet; quieter than the work carts used by park personnel). We will return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Love that rustic old fashion feel of an RV Park? Well then you will love Tucalota Springs RV Park located just east of Temecula Wine Country of the Temecula Valley. This quaint RV Park is nestled in the foothills near Glen Oaks of the Temecula Valley. The RV Park has giant gorgeous Oak Trees that meander throughout the RV Park. If your camping in the summer like we did, you want to make sure you book a site with an Oak Tree to shade your RV. Sites B-2 through B-5 are shade tree sites that I would recommend or you can ask the Park for other shade sites. RV Park has clean showers and great bathroom facilities and also has a sparkling blue pool to swim. The Drawback to this park is all sites are dirt, and there is no Cell nor is there good Internet service there at the RV Park. If you do work on the road and rely on these services, I would not recommend this RV Park as a stay for any on the road RV business person or persons. I would have given this park a much higher ranking if it were not for the drawbacks I just mentioned. Our Rainbow RV Group loves the rustic feel of this RV Park and this is our second year we have held our Hot Air Balloon Rally at this Park. This Park would be a 10 only if it had all gravel sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
We *loved* our stay! We came for the Temecula Balloon Festival. Skinner got fogged in, so the launches were very close to Tucalota. All the staff members were very helpful and friendly, even the gentleman who answered the phone after 9 PM when we were stuck in the festival parking lot and needed Tucalota to keep the gate open a little late for us. Stayed in D5, the widest site in the place. Our site was 30 amps and the breaker tripped while we ran electric water heater and A/C to cool down a high 80s day. Switched to gas water heater while AC cooled the trailer, then back to electric. No problems after that. Many great trails to for the family and dog to explore. Great swimming pool. Wi-Fi showed up in pool area, but required a password, so we didn’t try it. Price reflects festival weekend rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Nice park and the staff is friendly. Some sites are tight. No pull through sites, but they are nice and level. Each site has a fire pit and many trees. Satellite may be difficult, bring your portable. No cell phone reception and no Wi-Fi. Great park for the kids because of the pond. Very quiet and a great getaway. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We go here all the time. it's the perfect getaway that's close to home yet far away from the hustle and bustle. The grounds are awesome with lots of shade trees. The bathrooms are the best we've ever seen. The fishing pond is totally awesome. On good days you can pull a fish out every couple of minutes. It's great for our kids because they feel like they are accomplishing something. My son pulled a huge catfish out (that was the highlight of the yeah) and the next trip my husband pulled an even bigger one! The people are incredibly friendly. The little country store has just about everything. There is horseshoe pits, a petting zoo and a great grassy area. There is no cell service inside the park but you can go to the entrance and use it if needed. The front office has a rec room with leather couches a TV with Directv and a computer. We recommend Tucalota to everyone we know. We go several times a year and even spent last Thanksgiving there. It really is an amazing place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Stayed here Fathers Day weekend, in a great shaded site under an oak tree (C14). NOT crowded at all. All sites were large and well maintained, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The fishing pond is great for the kids, and is catch a release only. Saw lots of perch caught and a couple of large catfish. We enjoyed the little zoo, and my wife loved feeding the bunnies vegetables. A little out of the way but worth the trip. Great campground we look forward to going again soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$45
This is just a quiet little park to relax and enjoy the oak trees. My wife and I liked the laid back, friendly atmosphere. Not a lot of extra activities like at the nearby lake RV park, but sometimes that's just what we like. Nice staff, affordable rates. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
The campground was very nice. The place is 20 miles from any significant town. We couldn't even find a small mom and pop restaurant or store nearby. So it's important that you plan ahead (including gas: none nearby). Tucalota is great if you want a "throwback" camping experience. The campground has a fishing pond, a petting zoo (with emus and ostriches), horseshoe pits, a basketball court and a ball field. There were a few folks catching fish at the catch-and-release pond. There's also shaded areas with picnic tables. Also a real nice pool out front. Lots of things to do to keep the kids busy. However, those addicted to the modern conveniences of cell phones and Wi-Fi will not be happy. Cell coverage was non-existent and the owner has shut down Wi-Fi access as it was through a Hughes Satellite link and "people kept tying it up downloading pictures and stuff" (quote from owner). So, if you are willing to walk to the lounge out front (open 24 hours), there is a computer that can be used, but the connection suffers from the typical satellite issues: high speed downloads but with latency due to the satellite distance. Usable but not great. The lounge is well appointed and also has a TV with DirecTV service, and a coffee pot available with free coffee while the adjacent store is open. The sites range from tight to roomy and about 70% are back-ins and 30% are pull-ins (hookups to the left). I'd avoid those latter sites. They are clearly labeled on the map downloadable from the web site. The place was very quiet for a summer weekend. I'd say about 20% occupancy. We had site D5, which had adequate shade and was very big with great privacy. Nice folks running the facility, and for us, a very pleasant overall experience. We plan on going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
We really loved this park. The park is smaller than others but that is what makes it great. You feel like your living on a ranch. They have a few animals which the kids loved. Fishing is fun, my husband caught a big one in about an hour. This park is very clean and well kept! The grass areas are very green and inviting. The staff, including the Manager was very friendly and accommodating . The lounge is great, you can use the phone, computer, or just relax and watch TV. Tons of hiking trails and it is a nice area: Wine Country. This is great for families the only reason I did not rate it perfect is because it needs a playground area, the one here is a small jungle gym and that's it. If they were to build a small playground area this place would be a perfect 10. Our 4 kids enjoyed it and can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Wonderfully lovely people work in this park! They were very helpful in every aspect. Park is rustic and quiet and very well maintained. Sites are sand/grass and some have shade trees. Just a great, quiet getaway and close to Hemet and Temecula. If you want the perfect peaceful holiday, come here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
We love this park (and we are very particular)! We have camped here 3 times now and are headed back again next week. The park is so well maintained and clean. The sites are even raked. The staff is GREAT and go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. They have firepits, a pool, grassed picnic area, volleyball court, tetherball, basketball, horseshoes, a small store, a fishing pond, a "petting zoo" area. Our camping "neighbors" were even given free, fresh eggs from the chicken coop that morning for their breakfast. (They just happened to be in the right place at the right time.) There is no cell service (which is a benefit for me!) but there is a phone and computer in the lounge that guests are welcome to use. Give this place a try, you will not be disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We spent several days in the campground. Fishing was sure fun. They have several animals, emus, peacocks etc. The manager was so friendly and the staff was there to help you park and even helped me hook up our TV dish. Lots of hiking trails. It was very close to the wine country where we spent a lot of time. They have hayrides on Saturdays. There is a great adult lounge and a phone for everybody to use. Our kids want to come back real soon, hope we can get back before school starts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We loved it. We hadn't been there for a few years because the park was getting so run down. Some friends talked us into trying it again and we're sure glad. The place is super. Green grass, lots of trees, fairly level spaces, WiFi, a courtesy phone, beautiful lounge, and so much more. The manager allowed us to use the patio area with new tables and umbrellas for a BBQ while the kids used the pool. There is no cable TV but our husbands all went up to the guest lounge and watched the game. All of the staff was wonderful. We will be back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This park is not fancy, but it's not a bad place to stay if you are visiting the wine country or Temecula. We arrived quite late, but the manager was still up and he immediately came out, opened the office, checked us in and made sure we got settled. He was very nice and very friendly. The sites are not real big and the campground felt crowded. There was barely enough room for our rig and it took some doing to get our jeep parked on our site without having it stick out into the road. The Wi-Fi works okay, but if you are more than a third of the way back in the park, you won't get the signal. We were on the edge with just barely enough signal to connect. There is no cell coverage out here either. You need to go about 5 miles back toward Temecula to get reliable signal. This all sounds a little negative, but really it's not. The park is well kept and continuously monitored by a friendly staff. This is a nice park in a pretty area and we will stay here again when we are visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
The staff was very friendly. The park was well maintained and we had a great time. It was probably only about 1/3 to 1/2 full. Had there been more campers, I suspect we wouldn't have enjoyed it as much. The spaces are very close together. We had only one neighbor, but felt like we were right on top of each other. His dog spent a good chunk of time under our motorhome (even though he was chained up). The "spring" was completely dry when we visited. It doesn't appear that it is ever a large amount of water, so don't go out of your way to get a spot near it. We had some friends come out to visit us for a couple hours and they were charged an entrance fee. That's fine, but there was also a $5 deposit required for a bathroom key. We have a motorhome and didn't need their restroom, but you should be aware in case you do require one. Overall it was a nice stay, but we probably would not come back (mainly because the spaces are too close and it wasn't very scenic). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We stayed four nights and loved it. Nobody knew anything about the owner owing taxes and the rate was only $ 35. The park had just added free WiFi and is in the process of adding a cell tower. All of the staff were great and kept busy adding new trees, bushes, planting new grass and really adding new improvements. The pool and fishing were great. We'll be back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$75
I used to love this park. Now the owner is way behind in his taxes and was on the news recently for being one of the top 10 people who owe the most money to California for unpaid taxes. The park is now suffering. Large sites but getting in and out is difficult due to untrimmed trees. On my last visit, the staff wasn't rude but did not really seem to care too much. I hope it gets better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
The owners work overtime to make your experience here enjoyable. Excellent walking trails, cozy meeting areas, quiet spaces with enough room between them for quiet time makes this park and excellent choice. We truly enjoyed our long weekend there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This is the quietest and cleanest park I've ever been to. The sites are all large. Some are back-in while others are "nose-in". Because of the way the power posts line up most of the sites face each other. The power posts are tall enough to interfere with your slide outs so pay attention when you align your rig. They have a small pond for fishing (catch and release) along with some birds, including some ostriches, in a pen near the pond. There are fire rings between sites so you might have to share with your neighbor. The staff is very nice and helpful and the park is very well maintained. When the park is not full they space you apart from others. There was a hay-ride Saturday at 7:00pm. I will definitely visit this park again. Note: If you're coming in from Hemet on R3, it gets very curvy while going up a steep grade. That section only lasts about a mile but it's tough section of road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
The staff was very accommodating to us when we decided last-minute to camp for the weekend (we live locally). It is family-run, so there was a husband/wife team who happily came out and checked us in around 7:30 pm. We enjoyed ourselves, but the landscape is dull (not the fault of the campground), though they have provided lots of trees. Our only complaint is that they lock the place up at an early hour, so I had to wait till morning to make a run to the drugstore for my sick child since I wouldn't be able to get back in! It's also really far out past wine country and a good 15 minute drive to get to that nearest drugstore in Temecula. Still, it was a nice little weekend and the kids loved the little zoo and the hay ride. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$35
When we visited Tucalota Springs RV Park we liked it a lot. It's a small campground but it is very clean. The sites are large to. All of the sites have fire pits and they have full hook ups. They also have tent areas. They have a store on the premises stocked with most of the items you may need while camping. There is a solar heated swimming pool, basketball court, volleyball court and a couple of horseshoe pits. There are also trails to ride your bike on and there is a little lake for fishing. Its catch and release and you will need to purchase a license from their store for $5.00. You won't get cell phone service but if you feel like taking a nice walk up the hill there will be a bench waiting for you and you will get service there. The people who worked there were very friendly. We will definitely go back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
I agree with previous reviews. This is a very nice park - very clean and great hands-on managers. We can't wait to go back and spend more time. Our kids loved the pool and fishing pond. Also, there are lots of trails for easy hikes and mountain biking. My only complaint is that they charged us extra because we have 3 children - a family of 5 vs. 4 shouldn't have to pay more in my opinion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
This is a nice medium-sized campground with very courteous management. The interior roads were wide and paved. The staff was very nice and the office was easy to find. The sites are very clearly marked and all are dirt. They were mostly level and required two leveling blocks to level side to side. There is a really nice clean pool that is heated by solar. A gate secures the park and we were asked to keep our parking pass on the rear-view mirror so I know they were checking. There was no laundry service on site. There is a small store with supplies, wood, ice, milk, water, etc. The closest store was about a 20-minute drive and the store is a bit expensive so I would advise planning ahead as much as possible. There are picnic tables at all site and most have fire rings. Our site did not have a fire ring so the camp host brought one out for us. They have a recreation room with a pool table, book exchange, and modem access. There is no cellular access so if you need to have your phone for work or any other reason you will not be able to use it until you drive back toward town. The restroom and showers were in good condition. You can tell the building is older, but it has been remodeled. The bathroom and showers were very clean and well maintained. The park has good signage and is easy to locate from the entrance road. The grounds are nice with many large oak trees for shade. All of the sites are dirt with no landscaping. There are dumpsters at the restroom area and at the office. The park was very quiet and far away from the city; it is a very relaxing place to stay. The manmade lake is stocked with Bluegill, Catfish, and Bass. You need to pay $5 per person to fish for the duration of your stay. My daughters both caught five or six Bluegill each right off the little dock using hot dogs for bait. The lake is catch and release only with barbless hooks. The kids also got a kick out seeing the emus and wild turkeys they have in a small pen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$30
A wonderfully friendly and quiet park. In the evenings we could sit outside and not hear a single man-made noise! Giant oak trees shade most sites. Catch and Release fishing lake on property. Large rec hall for groups. Highly recommend! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$27
This is a family owned park. The owners are very nice and truly care that you have a nice camping experience. Park is very clean. They have a fishing pond but I have never seen more than a couple of fish caught there. Lots of oak trees so if you like to use your satellite you'll need to be selective about your site. Temecula wineries within a few miles. They have a large room for groups to use. Very quiet park. Summer-time bee problems in 2000. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com