218714 User submitted reviews online!!
Jacksonville North / St. Marys KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (912) 729-3232
CGID4853

Jacksonville North / St. Marys KOA

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   9   7   8   9   10   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Great park! Even though it is right off the interstate, noise is barely noticeable. Sites are big, lots of trees, good electric, water ,and cable. Breakfast of waffles or pancakes everyday but it's bring your own bacon/sausage! Coffee and juice are provided. There appears to be many permanents but they are all in the back and you don't notice them. We would and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
This campground is perfect. Well staffed. Very clean. Friendly helpful staff. Large sites. Great breakfast. Nice dog park. Easy on off I-95. Wi-Fi and cable included. Look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Great overnight stop or stay a few days. Good cable and internet (I was near the office) The dog park is a big plus with our high energy dog. The pool was heated and breakfast was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$29
The rate reflects our KOA Rewards Card discount. This KOA is very clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our pull-through site, and assisted with positioning for the utilities. The cable TV was excellent with 33 channels available. The WiFi was good, but not great, getting slower not surprisingly, as the park filled up towards evening. Our sites was large enough for our coach and toad, with no need to unhook. The spacing of the sites was generous, with no feeling of being crowded in. The free popcorn on arrival, and free waffle breakfast in the morning, are definite pluses. We would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$58
We stayed in 1/3 of a double-wide rental unit on our return from Key West to PA. We called ahead & everything was ready when we arrived, just before the office closed. Our unit was plenty big for two people, clean, fully furnished (including linens) & very reasonable, compared to a hotel on the trip down. We just missed a reservation & staying here on the way the trip south. Campground is close to I-95. A few run down/long term residences in the back of the campground. Free pancake breakfast was a very nice touch & met a couple in a motorhome, from NY, on the way to the campground we had just left. Would stay here again for overnight, even with our travel trailer too. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$46
This is a nice park located close to I-95. Very friendly personnel in the office provided an escort to our site. Excellent services. No problem with trees or branches although the road could use some repairs. Some highway noise. Close to Hess Wilco Fuel Stop. We had a problem and had to have the motorhome towed to the local Cummins dealer in Jacksonville. KOA people were very kind and did everything they could to help us even though the unit sat directly on the exit road for most of the day. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Nice place to stop enroute on Route 95. Easy to find off highway. Clean. Self check-in after hours. Level sites, pull throughs. Great free waffle breakfast. Caring and friendly staff. The biggest negative here was the dirt and mud which you have to deal with at your site. The sites are all in the pines, with a virgin dirt base. Some pine sap too. I had to spend about 20 minutes clearing this gunk out of my shoes, before I would even dare to step foot inside my trailer. Ended up leaving shoes outside. I would NOT want to be here in heavy rain. I bought a pair of rubber farm boots for next time! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
This campground is typical of KOAs that we've visited. It's easy to get into and out of. They serve breakfast for members in the morning. They have all the essentials for quick set-up. We were close to the shower house and used that to speed our departure. It was clean and safe. This campground was a little hard to find as we depended on our GPS. So, when you go there look for the signs among all the service stations right off the interstate. We will stay here again if in the area just to get the waffles they served for breakfast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
This could be a nice park... staff are friendly and appear to care about the place. The WiFi is important to us because we both work from "Home" in our large motorhome. Stayed here for 30 days while doing some site work at a local paper mill. WiFi was absolutely useless for anything other than an occasional check of email or news. VERY slow and often unusable even though wireless signal is excellent. Manager offered to make arrangements to take my Corporate AMEX so I could expense the cost, but never did what she promised, despite promising many times. We were put in the back near the storage area and the permanent residents... the least desirable area of the campground. Cable TV did not work... very fuzzy and weak signal. Low water pressure. This is fine for an overnight stop, but I'd probably be just as comfortable at WalMart. (and the internet is just as good.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
Your typical crowded together site spacing, and poor value for the money charged. Quite a bit of interstate noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$41
This KOA is conveniently located near the I-95 exit. The campground is ideal for a one night visit. For extended stays it is a bit rough. Sites and roads need gravel which would reduce dirt & debris from getting in trailer and improve the surface. It has been years since the owners have done any capital improvements. Sites range from very rough to moderately acceptable. Some sites have a concrete patio which is small and not near where the RV door would be if parked. Workers are friendly and very helpful. Not sure we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$38
This is a very nice campground for a quick stop-over with easy access to I-95. Just make sure that you get a site that is long enough. The lady that checked us in was not knowledgeable about site lengths so we had to go back into the office, wait our turn again, and move to another site. Not a real pain but after a long day traveling, you just want to pull into a site and rest. I would also recommend that you not stay in the site right behind the office/store, it has a lot of local traffic and was very noisy. We have stayed here many times and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
Convenient to I-95. Just down the road from gas stations, restaurants and a truck stop. Surprisingly very quiet. No noise from the road, truck stop etc. Nice quiet park with great folks running it. Another one that we'll return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
We stopped at this campground on our way up north. We got there around 8pm and they were closed but helped us hook up our RV and were very friendly. They have a little dog area, so our 3 dogs could run around then stand there. it was a short stay we left the next morning to continue on our journey. We will stop there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Easy access off interstate but recommend calling before arrival to ensure specific instructions to avoid a U turn. Fuel stations nearby. Well-maintained grounds, nice pool, free waffle breakfast, free internet (not the fastest but consistent connection). Roads leading to sites are a bit narrow and turns were a bit tight, but doable. Free cable with 30 channels. Reception was quite fuzzy even after several adjustments (but it could have been just our site). Sites are gravel/grass and could probably could use another layer of gravel. Tall pine trees offer right amount of shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
Nice place gravel pads, very friendly staff. Great breakfast store was well stocked. Good space between RV's. Good location for South Georgia coast North East Florida. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This was our first time at a KOA. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful, we arrived after dark and office was closed, but they saw us and came out to help. Escorted us to site and provided light for us to pull in and unhook the trailer. They stopped by again a couple more times during our stay to check and make sure we were happy. The park is kind of simple compared to some we've been to, but well maintained and had enough to do in between our day trips around the area. Excellent value for the rate. Free breakfast on one morning! Pool could use some refurbishing but was refreshing and my kids enjoyed it. Bathrooms are dated but fairly clean and air conditioned. Very close to I-95 but the road noise wasn't too bad. Park has a BIG time ant problem and the mosquitos are horrible so bring plenty of spray and candles. On checkout day most of the park was clearing out and there were staff out before quiet hours were over, rattling around on the dirt road in a golf cart towing a wheel barrel, very noisy, woke us up. There are a lot of "permanent" (?) trailers on the perimeter which were unsightly and had a lot of barking dogs. Ft. Clinch was awesome but St. Mary's and Kingsland were a bit of a snooze. We will likely not return but would recommend this as a good overnight stay to/from FL. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
The owner here was fabulous to us when an unexpected weather event necessitated a move to another campsite. We had an excellent experience because of him and the other extremely competent staff who checked on us the next morning. Thanks! Thanks! Thanks! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Nice clean well maintained CG with a lot of shade under pine trees. A little road noise but not bad. Mostly pull through sites with adequate room. WiFi was great. Cable TV had some fuzzy stations. No speed bumps and paved and gravel/dirt roads and camp sites. I would like to see them add just a tad bit more gravel throughout the park. It got a little messy in the rain. The CG map and the street signs don't match up too well. I'll blame the city for that. I plan to return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
The park is near the interstate highway but we still found it to be quiet. It was warm and we were using our AC but even when we were outside the coach, any highway noise was slight. The park does have paved roads but the parking sites are unpaved shell/dirt/gravel. The sites were reasonably level and the 50 amp electric was adequate. Water and sewer connections were available at the site and there is also a dump station as you exit the park. Propane was available for sale and the park had a nice pool and dog walk area. We had a pleasant stay at this park and we would stay here again when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Nice little campground with grassy sites. Easy in and out pull through sites. Has a good pool for the kids. This was our first KOA experience and it was a pleasant one! Was great for an over night stay. Price was reasonable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$27
Typical KOA - nice, friendly, helpful staff & major trash around the boundaries of the park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$29
Published rate is $39. Using the KOA "points" thing, we got another 10 bucks off: so it was $29. KOA card has now paid for itself, plus a buck! Well run, clean park with no problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$36
Nice campground convenient to I-95 but far enough away that traffic noise is not a problem. People are nice, navigation within the park is easy and sites are good sized. Free W-Fi worked well as did cable TV. There is a clean fenced dog park. The only thing I found odd was the lack of breakers on the 50 amp pedestals. The breaker is inside a nearby shed, hardly obvious. The employee gladly showed me where it was, but if no one was around, it could be a problem. We would certainly stay here again on the NJ to Florida run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
Nice park located close to I-95 right on the Florida border. Stayed here overnight on our way to Disneyworld. We had a full-hookup site with plenty of room for the motorhome and the toad. Good water pressure and electric. Easy turns within the park. Gravel site. Nice, shaded park. Permanent sites near the back of the campground are a little seedy but not a problem and can't be seen unless you take a walk around the park. Friendly staff helped me with a low tire pressure problem by bringing a compressor to my site. Thanks! Nice having a Hess truck stop at the same exit. Price was a little high and includes the KOA discount. Even so, I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
Easy access from I-95. Mostly shaded, gravel and grass sites, interior roads are worn. Good overnight stop for big rigs. Good fuel stop at the same exit, better prices than 1 mile south in Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$36
We stopped for an overnight stay. Staff EXTREMELY helpful in getting us a site where we could get satellite internet signal. Lots of tall trees; some road noise. Very poor water pressure, just a trickle from the faucet. But, a beautiful setting and pet friendly. A little pricey for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$31
This is a pretty park with lots of trees and grass. The site was very level and nicely spaced. While it is located close to the Interstate, the traffic noise is muted by the trees. The restrooms and showers are older but were spotlessly clean. The staff is very friendly. We were pleasantly surprised by how pretty this park is. We stayed here several days and used it as a base to go sightseeing to Clinch State Park, Fernandina Beach, Okefenokee Swamp and St. Marys. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$36
Good Overnight CG right off of US-95, just north of Florida in Georgia. Decent pull-thru sites, and overall a clean and well maintained CG. US-95 road noise is very noticeable at night. Otherwise, nothing major to brag on or complain about. It's beauty is more obvious the longer you have been on the road that day, I guess. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Very friendly park great Wi-Fi and cable TV. Will return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$32
This campground is close to the I-95 and a good place for an overnight stop, although there is some road noise. They have recently regraded the interior roads and have done a good job. Our site was nice and level and the others around us were too. The staff was OK but not as cheerful and helpful as they usually are on KOA's. We would use it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$32
A good park for an overnight. The playground could use an overhaul, but at least there is one (the other campground in the area does not). Our site was long enough (barely) to not unhook toad, and was level enough to not use leveling jacks. Interior roads could use some grading work. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is easy access to I-95. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
Not a bad campground for an overnight stay off I-95 but I would not camp here for any length of time. I just got a creepy feeling being at this KOA. As we were checking in an employee was blowing off the sidewalk in front of the office with a cigarette sticking out of his mouth, not my idea of a great first impression. I had to close my window because he was blowing so much dust around. I was afraid to walk outside at night so didn't use the restrooms. The water was also very slow and it took forever to fill the toilet and sink. Other than that it was just okay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
This was a nice park-like setting (lots of shade.) I loved having FREE Wifi, and cable TV included in rate! They were patching some of the potholes in the main drive when I was there but they still have a few. Bathrooms are a kind of 1980's but they were clean and had A/C. Easy Pull thru site to get in and out of. My son enjoyed the swimming pool, and he and I shot pool in the gameroom for at least an hour. I have stayed at the other park off this exit and they are very nice, but no cable, no gameroom and no wi-fi was a deal breaker for us. I will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$34
Easy access from I-95 but road noise not too bad. Person at check in was very curt and abrupt. Checked us in and ran out of the office to jump in her car and take off. Interior roads could use some work to smooth out pot holes. Firepit not cleaned out and had many cigarette butts. No picnic table at our site. Why isn't wifi included in rates? What century is this anyway? So glad for our Aircard. All pull through sites, many tall trees. Would probably stay again if we needed an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2008
$36
We stayed in this park two years ago and it was fine. This trip it has really deteriorated. Large potholes in the campground roads, buildings and camp cabins in need of repair, persistent sewer smell in some areas of the campground, mis-wired power pedestal (50A wired as 30A), site dirty (trash) and staff made no effort to clean when notified. We will find another campground when we travel this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$32
Have stayed at this campground many times. We were extremely disappointed this time. Men's Restrooms were not working. General condition of the campground seemed to be deteriorating. Will probably look for another campground next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Stopped here for an overnight. Easy access from I-95. Park is a little run down, but power was good, cable was crystal clear, wifi was weak from my spot. My site was easy to get into and out of, with plenty of room to leave the towed attached. Priced well for a KOA. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2007
$40
This is a good spot to stop on a trip from NY to Fl, on the way to Key West. It is pretty clean, and the spots are big and many are pull-through. It is not really a pretty park, a bit rough around the edges, but they did have room for us without a reservation. The only thing that we didn't care for was the woman in the office was not too nice. She kind-of had an attitude that she didn't want to be there. Other than that, it was convenient, and accommodating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
Decent overnighter. Wifi worked fine. Many sites are not very level. Convenient access to I-95. Friendly front desk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$23
Great overnight stop. The sites were large and easy to access. There is some road noise from I95. Really liked the on-site BBQ place. Good BBQ right in the campground. Other services are available nearby. We will use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
They claim to have the longest & widest pull throughs east of the Mississippi, and they might be right. Our site was plenty long enough for our 45 ft coach and trailer. The WiFi didn't work from our site. The things we didn't really like about it:1) lots of highway noise 2) some not too well kept up trailers/coaches that seem to have been there awhile 3) a mobile home park is right next to it with residents apparently walking through the KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$45
Excellent stopover just off I-95. Campground is full-service and very clean. Staff was friendly & helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$24
Very accommodating campground!! Staff was friendly and helpful. Sites were quite large and fairly spacious, and easy access to Rt. 95. More of an overnight stopover, but very comfortable. Would stay here again!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com