220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Wilderness RV Resorts at Silver Springs was rated 8 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (352) 625-1122
CGID4855

Wilderness RV Resorts at Silver Springs

Camp Information
Sites
441
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   2   9   9   8   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
It is a very nice park with lots of amenities. The staff are functional. Because it was April, there were no scheduled activities even though the park had over 100 campsites full. The power fluctuated lots (glad we had our surge protector). The water smelled very strong of chlorine and tasted very bad. The park is very large but only has one bath house and one trash drop station. The surface roads are getting to be in pretty bad shape. Just a little TLC and the park could be great instead of good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
Excellent park with lots of space. Some sites more level than others (in Preserve section). Outstanding WiFi (NOT TengoInternet). Stayed two weeks. Staff goes out of their way to be helpful and courteous. Outstanding security. Low noise level. Will stay here again. Used Passport America. Very convenient to Ocala/Silver Springs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$21
This is a GREAT campground, well it is more of a resort than a campground. We booked a spot while on the road and they fit us in a temporary site for 2 nights, which was very tight and hard to get into. They moved us to the "Preserve" section of the park after that. The original site I was in was near a busy highway and very noisy. I am hearing impaired and even so could hear road noise all the time. The staff at the park is wonderful. Check in was a breeze, they guide you to your site and assist you backing into the sites. The interior roads in the Tower Park and Village Park are terrible. Broken tar roads with deep potholes and very, very narrow. The Preserve section is awesome. There is a restaurant on site that is a great place to have breakfast or lunch, no dinner. The place is secure with card access to get into the gate. I will definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
If you own a Class A this is a very nice park as they put the motorhomes in a separate section with big concrete pads and patios and nice wide concrete streets. If you are "trailer trash" like we must be (we have a 2008 5th wheel) you are put in the older section with narrow streets and narrow pads. The site we had was sloped and hard to level the trailer. The occupants before us had placed a mat on the ground and killed the grass, therefore we had a mud hole to walk in when we entered or departed the trailer. Our other two options while there was to park on a concrete pad that was surrounded by mud or park on sod which was mud. The Class A section paid a whopping $25.00 more per month for their nice dry sites then we then we paid for our mud. Never Again!!! I would not recommend this park to anybody! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$39
Wilderness is one of the nicest resorts we have stayed at. We spent most of the winter season (2013 to 2014) at the Preserve Estates section. This Class A only section has VERY large concrete pads sites with full hookups. There is access to the Cross Florida Greenway and the Ocklawaha River with tours of the Ocklawaha and Silver Rivers available. There is a heated pool outside the brand new clubhouse. The resort has a separate pool for each section with a full bath house, laundry room, recreation room, and exercise facility. You can't go wrong here. We have already made our reservations for next year. This resort has deeded lots for sale in all 3 sections. We are considering a purchase in the Preserve Estates section. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$39
Just arrived to friendly greeting. Escorted to a large spacious big rig accommodating site. Huge pad on a stream; very clean. Wish we had picnic table for cook out but the rest is as expected. Great Internet and cable TV, although we have satellite for reception. Hookups close by and well situated. /The "Preserve Estates" is section for large motorhomes. We were escorted to our location and assisted parking on pad--a plus and safer. They could use landscaping between spots but most deeded spots had small park models and screened porches for owners. Many dog runs kept clean and accessible. Will try on the site store and restaurant today and see sights of Ocala/ Silver Springs. Perfect location just off route 40 on edge of huge forest. Easy to find with big signage. Could use more street lights at night . Preserve section gated and requires separate key access. Appears older sections were for older established residents who purchased years ago. Pools and recreation halls are well kept, with separate private access for gym and game room. Well thought out to avoid damage and safety for guests. Limit on unruly children. Again a plus. We did not see a motorhome older than 2010 in Preserve Estates. Multiple clean fountains and streams...will try fishing if temp rises but it is 39 degrees this AM. Cold for Florida! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$22
We come here often. If you haven't been here in a couple years, you need to check it out. New owners have fixed the hot tub and resurfaced the crumbling pool deck. Restrooms are repainted and very clean. New internet is strong and fast. Lots of the little things that had been run down are now fixed. Cell service iffy. Our rate reflects PA. The only reason the rating is not higher: is that they do not furnish a picnic table. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$22
The park is located just inside the Ocala National Forest. It didn’t show up on our GPS but I’m told was formerly called Colby Woods, Silver Springs, FL. The address 2771 NE 102nd Ave., Silver Springs, FL 34488 took us to the main gate of this 55+ community. Our site Lat/Long 29.21604/81.98084 will also get you there. The lots are paved, spacious, and mostly pull through. Some looked like they were in need of some upkeep. There is an excellent little restaurant ( River’s Edge ) that serves breakfast and lunch adjacent to the entrance. We stayed for two days on the PA rate. They sell deeded lots at what appears to be a fair price. In the morning many of the residents were out walking, biking, running etc. It is dog friendly and offers a mediocre Wi-Fi throughout the park. We ended up relying on our Verizon Mi-Fi for our internet needs. Morning walkers told us the park has trail heads that lead to hiking trails into the national forest and to the Ocklawaha River for kayaking. They have a golf group that plays the local courses during the week. There appears to be at least 10 golf courses and 16 grocery stores within 10 miles of the park. A few sites offer old, tired picnic tables and no site offered a fire pit. They offer a monthly RV site rate of $445.00 + tax + electric per month. We were here to look at the Del Webb and On Top of the World Communities – 20 miles away. We would consider this resort for a future long term stay if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
We always enjoy our stay here. Close to Ocala, but still out in the country. New group is doing a lot of work. Laundry is huge and reasonable. Online at clubhouse and it was very fast. Office staff very nice and grounds well kept. We enjoy the cafe as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$21
We have been coming here off and on for about 6 years. There have been lots of improvements in sites. They are more level and some have concrete pads. But other facilities are getting run down; especially, the unheated pool and hot tub for the transient guests. Both were full of leaves and concrete is crumbling. The chairs and tables are wearing out and broken. Hot tub was so noisy when turned on that we just sat in the warm water. Worst of all is the lack of consistent and strong internet or cell service. Verizon works, I heard. ATT and Sprint don't so my Sprint internet didn't work either. We will probably come back, but a nice pool and internet would be welcomed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
We stayed in the gated Class A only section. Very large sites, great clubhouse. Wi-Fi was not working the week we were here. We could never log on. Would come here again, BUT make sure you have a really good water filter. The water has a strong sulfur smell and by the end of the week we couldn't wait to leave. Other than the water, it is a really nice resort. This section could easily handle 45' coaches + toad parking. This rate was Passport America 1/2 price for 7 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$17
Rate is for long term stay. This park could have it all, but sadly doesn't. There are 3 distinct sections: 1 for Class A, 1 for mostly owners, 1 for a mix of those plus transients. The pool in the mixed section is not heated, so it is cold, the other 2 in the other sections are heated. Although there is no 'law' that you can't swim in the others, the people in those 2 sections make it clear that they'd rather you didn't. There are a few social activities, bingo, street golf, gator races, etc. But any pot lucks or gatherings they had were arranged by owners, and it was made clear that only owners were welcome. The transients sites need some TLC. Barren, so if you want a picnic table, go find one and good luck with that. Some sites are terribly slanted. New wi-fi was being installed the whole 3 months we were there. Fortunately we had our own mifi. There is cable TV, but it's the basic channels. If I see one more Law and Order I'm going to scream. There are 2 dog parks here, but no water available there to drink. One of them has a pond in it which can get a little scuzzy, and we were told there might be snakes around there. The parks were a good size, but we seldom saw anyone in them. We kept our dog out of them. On the good side, with some work this place could be lovely; there are lots of mature trees around; they do keep it clean. Water pressure was good, electricity was good. It's safe and close to Ocala. Unfortunately, there aren't any other decent campgrounds in the area; believe me, I did look. We would not return which was the statement of others visiting like us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
This is a very nice park with large angled, asphalt end sites. The Preserves is for motor homes; Town Park is mostly park models; and the Villages is the regular sites. The Preserves and Town Park have a heated pool while the Villages is not heated. It is a waste not being heated. No one uses it. The lady in the office, is amazing. She does her very best to please and does a great job as does another gentleman employee. The restrooms are okay but really need a thorough cleaning. Laundry is nice as is clubhouse. These are new owners apparently, and they are working hard on improvements. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
This is the third time that we have stayed here and probably the last. To start with we stayed in the preserve area, which boasts concrete pads and more grass area between sites. The concrete pads are true, very nice and level, and there is quite a bit of green between sites.The problem is that the ground is so wet and soft that you can't walk your dogs on it without getting black muddy feet. The grass behind the sites is a foot and a half high. When we checked in we were given no info, no site map, no nothing. Got to the site and got set up, turned the TV on that evening and we had terrible reception.Changed cables and got the same result. Got better reception when we connected to the neighboring site so we called the office to ask that someone come look at our box. The office was closed so we left a message. Got ready to take a shower and when I turned on the shower was assaulted by a terrible stench coming from the shower head (sulfur). We ended up using our onboard water tank to take showers. Went to the office the next day and talked to the lady at the desk , she said that we should run our water for a while and the smell should go away (which it finally did). When the maintenance man came to look at our cable box he hooked a meter up and said there was nothing wrong. I told him what we had done to get better reception, and he told me, "I don't know what to tell you" and drove off. Went to use the pool and hot tub and the hot tub was broken (again). We've been here three times, and all three time it has been broken. This time while I was on the phone making the reservation I asked if it was working and was told, "We are working on it but it will be up and running for the weekend". Bottom line - they have a maintenance man that is better suited to be a bouncer at a bar. Grounds and facilities aren't kept very well; staff not overly friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$1
We stayed in the motorhome section for 2 nights free with a coupon we received at an RV show. We took the sales tour, as required, with absolutely no sales pressure at all. This is really a beautiful RV resort, but the sulfur smell in the water was unbearable! We would not return even for a weekend, and this park is not too far from home. We understand that the other areas of the park do not have the same sulfur smell that we experienced. If you plan to visit, call and ask about the sulfur. Once they have that fixed this would rate a 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$21
The bath house floors and toilets needs to be thoroughly cleaned. The same bugs and cobwebs were on the floor for several days. The pool was never vacuumed and had piles of debris throughout. The pool needs work and resurfacing. The sites are very nice and the grounds are well kept. This could be a great campground with some work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
This is an exceptionally well cared-for and attractive park with a gated entrance and exit. There is a diner-restaurant on the premises (a nice feature), but the food operation business is for sale and there appears to be some dissension in the ranks of diner staff. Wi-Fi is now free, but tends to be a bit slow at times. Modem hookups are available in the lodge, and these are lightning fast. This a good rural campground in which to kick back or to sample the features of the Ocala Silver Springs area. We have achieved geezer status, and for those our age I'd have rated this a "10", but the lack of playgrounds results in our overall "9" rating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
This park is among the best that we had the pleasure of visiting. We stayed in the Preserve Estates which is reserved for Class A units. It is a gated section where all of the sites are level concrete and the roads are paved. The concrete sites are long enough to accommodate your unit and tow. The hookups are to the rear of the coach. Plenty of amenities. The rate reflexes the PA 50% discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
Weekly rate reflects Passport America. Very quiet campground with many diverse locations throughout the park. We stayed in the Preserve in a motor coach and enjoyed meeting many terrific folks who have created fantastic entertaining areas on their purchased lots. The rental lots have little to no landscaping; however, they all have cement pads and full hook up. Very nice amenities: (club house, pool, spa, river access, greenbelt trail access etc.,) and very well maintained. Our only negative comment would be the inconsistency of the Wi-Fi. Verizon worked well, AT&T ok and Sprint was very poor. Overall, a wonderful campground for the PA rate! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$32
I stayed a week in the "Preserve" section, which is type A restricted. There is NOT shade available in the Preserve (with a few exceptions). The Wi-Fi is NOT free. The park has great potential, but with relatively few lots sold, the landscaping was relatively sparse at the time of my visit (this is definitely different from the "Town Park" or older, less restrictive side of the park, but the sites there are very narrow and some have significant slopes to enter the site). The Preserve side is on the river and there is an extremely beautiful trail that parallels the river. There is a great off leash dog park available to all guests and a restaurant right on site. The people were very friendly. Its a great home base if visiting the area for any reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$21
Nice place. Rate reflects passport America weekly rate. The only bad thing was that they put us so far away from the hot tub. The first time we went to the hot tub it wasn't hot because there wasn't enough water in it. After we asked about that fact, they fixed it and we got to use it the next day after it had heated back up. Game room was nice, and my husband enjoyed the sauna in the fitness room. The only draw back is that there is only the 1 comfort station for a park as large as this. Wish we had had time to rent a boat & do a little fishing. We also would have liked to eat at the restaurant, but did not get a chance to. The big dog park has a small cement pond in it, and even though the water was green, my dogs loved playing in it. If they had a dog bath near that, it would have been great. Will make it a point to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
We stayed for one week at the beginning of December. This is a very nice park, friendly staff, lots of places to walk, pet friendly, well-kept. Nice restaurant just outside the gate. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$39
This would be our top choice if we were to buy an RV lot in the area. The water does not taste good and we bought bottled water. If you buy a lot, plan on a water softener and a reverse osmosis filter for your drinking water (in a shed). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
I agree with others as to how nice this park is. Unfortunately it is a park in transition. As they say it has good bones. There are three sections in this park; Town Park (Mostly Seasonal/Owned Sites), Preserve Estates (Class A Only), and Village Park (Rental Sites and Owned Sites (new this year). It is clear that the owners are struggling with the economy and maintenance. Pool is showing its age needs some work. Roads are narrow and challenging to pull a large trailer through. Road we were on had several seasonal campers who had junk out to the road edge. The campground has a lack of rules or standards on seasonal/owner sites. Lots of junk and tacky decorations. Not likely we will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
This is an excellent park, predominantly pull through sites. Very clean and well manicured, and almost all the sites are real grass with asphalt or concrete pads. Very helpful staff, and they lead you to your site.Good Wi-Fi and cable TV ( all free). In the park they have canoe and boat rentals to go up the Oklawawa River to see the gators and monkeys (left over from the old Tarzan movies). This is the best RV park we have stayed in so far. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
I loved this park! The staff and long term residents were very friendly. There is easy access to the river for kayak and canoes and it is also very close to all the springs and Ocala. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Very, very nice park. It appears this park will be sold soon. That's too bad. I hope it will be as nice next year when we pass through. The dog run was fun for our dogs. Wi-Fi was very strong and fast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
We used a two night free stay to check out this park and see what it had. We stayed in the Preserve Estates section restricted to Class A only. Sites are for sell here and other parts of this park as well. You have a private clubhouse with kitchen, spa, pool, fireplace, two TV's, and pool table on second floor. In the Preserve side you have a locked gates to get in and out. One odd item on this gate, you cannot make the turn to get out in a motorhome if you are on the wrong road due to a hard turn. Use the road to far west side, poor layout on gate planning. The park also had more gates to get in and out near Hwy 40. Wi-Fi is free for couple days and them you pay, 1GB is $20 per month and 2 GB is $30 per month. Wi-Fi is strong, fast, and has a number of antennas in the park. No table or fire ring on site but staff will get you a table if you need one. Hookups on our site worked OK but were set to far back in site. Site was cement, very wide, deep, and level. Cable TV has 35 channels. Water pressure was 40 psi. Park is next to the Ocklawaha River and park has boats for rent. Not a lot of trees to park under so it is hot here in summer months. This is not a kid friendly park and more a long term type park for older people. Park is very clean and a nice place to visit. Layout is in three parts. The Preserve Estates is Class A only, Town Park any type of RV, and Village Park any type of RV. The roads in Village Park are very small. Park has a snack bar on site, small store with ice cream, game room, dog run, two pools with hot tub, and lots of stuff to play with. One large trash compacted system for the hold park. Wal-Mart and other places to shop and eat are 6 miles west of this park. Staff was friendly and fast at check in. Verizon cell and air card worked well. Some road noise from Hwy 40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$1
Very nice new park. We had 2 nights free so we had a very brief sales pitch. The park has 3 sections. One is mostly park models, one is all types of RVs and the one we were in was for class A motorhomes. It has a restaurant and gift shop on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
This is truly a class A resort. Everything big rigs would want. It's clean with large concrete sites for both your coach & car and still room for a patio table & chairs. The people are friendly and management is always happy to assist your every needs. It's in a beautiful setting backed up to the Ocala National Forest. Shopping is close by. And lots of restaurants too. We were there last year and spent a month. Came back this year in January on our way down south and spent 5 days. Then again 3 days on our way back up north. I highly recommend this park. You won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
We stayed in The Preserve a class A only section of the park. Sites are very large. Concrete pads are a little uneven. The pool was not heated when we were here. A cost saving measure. Site owners were friendly and welcoming. River and trail along property edge were nice. Would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$33
We read favorable reviews about the Wilderness RV Park Estates and decided to see what the park was about and pick out a site we liked. Our choice, site P-89 was in the Preserve section for Class A motorhomes. When we arrived to start our stay we were led to the site only to find the electrical was not working. The staff gave us a site nearby and the next day after the electric was repaired we moved to our preferred space. While hooking up we discovered there was no cable TV connection. Another trip to the office and we were provided a long cable connection to an adjacent site. OK as long as the site wasn't rented during our eight day stay and fortunately it wasn't. The sites have large level concrete pads, easy to pull in and out of and the streets are wide and paved. The staff was friendly if uninformed about the site conditions. The Preserve section is well kept, the sites large and spaced far apart. We enjoyed our stay there except for two things. The park is getting heavily infested with fire ants, there were mounds all around our site and the Preserve section in general. The other problem was although the park has strict requirements to pick up after ones pets, lots of people don't and the large grassy areas are full of waste. The restaurant located at the entrance to the park is open for breakfast and lunch, the owners are friendly and the food is good. We would return to stay again if not for the fire ants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$19
Stayed in the Preserve Estates section restricted to Class A vehicles. This section has a private clubhouse with full kitchen, pool, spa, fireplace, TVs, and pool table. The sites are for sale but few seem to have been purchased and developed at this point. Within the park there is a fitness facility, recreation room, adult lodge, laundry, another pool, and an on site restaurant with good food. There is a great BBQ place just up the road. We were surprised that during our month long stay no one approached us to determine our interest in purchasing a site. If that is always the case it's no wonder few have been sold and prices for those that are available have been drastically reduced. Check in was painfully slow and disorganized. Probably wouldn't stay again because, been there done that applies. Not much in the area to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
Camped here in the "Preserve" section. Some sites were not level; we needed blocks to level our motor home. Wi-Fi is pay as you go. Daily rate reflects Passport America. Very secure and quiet. Lots of room. Excellent facilities and location. Very helpful and courteous staff. Construction workers (outside contract) parked in the main roadway, but moved when asked. Lots are for sale; many "permanent" residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$34
This is generally an above average park, with friendly and efficient office staff and well maintained facilities. Passport America park. Spacious sites with good separation. All sites are owned or for sale, many unsold or otherwise available for rental. No speed bumps; no need for them. Silver Springs about 3 miles by highway. We would come here again. Beware of sites T72 to T77. The street width is 18 feet. Most of the sites in this area are owned sites and site owners have installed posts, fences, hedges, chained gates and other obstructions right next to the road. They also park their toads and tow vehicles at the edge of the road. The only maneuvering room is the street. The person who guides arriving RVs to their sites and gives parking guidance is likely to bring you in from the wrong direction and to give motorhome backing instructions to trailer drivers. Doesn’t work. Extreme frustration. Entertainment for site owners. Water pressure ranges from 10 to 50 pounds, usually about 40 pounds. There is no recycling of any kind. None. When we were here in early 2010, there was outstanding single stream recycling. Office explained that residents refused to refrain from dumping trash in the recycling center, so the recycling center was taken away from the park. A disgusting tragedy. There are recycling bins at Sam’s and Wal-Marts in Ocala / Silver Springs but they do not take cardboard. The office can direct you to a recycling center that will take cardboard. Cable TV; poor signal on NBC and very poor on PBS during the entire month we were there in 2010. Good Verizon signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
We camped in the Preserve Estates section (class A only) which is a gated access area. Well worth the additional dollars. Love the well spaced sites and the grounds are well taken care of. Tailored for the over 55 crowd, there is no playground equipment or activities for the younger set. In fact visiting children are limited to one week without written permission from management. We will definitely make this campground our destination of choice while visiting area relatives. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$19
We spent 4 months here and really enjoyed ourselves. We made many friends and met a lot of friendly people. This is a typical snow bird park and is a little cliquish but not very bad. We rented from a lot owner and loved the site we had as it was large, level and pretty private as it was on a dead end road. All facilities were well kept up except for the before mentioned fire ant hills. They do need to tackle this problem. Several cost saving measures happening. While we were there all the fountains in the ponds were shut down. Restaurant at entrance was a nice place to eat. Verizon data was good but AT&T and T-Mobile phone was erratic. Can't say anything about preserve side but did NOT see any evidence of dog droppings in rest of park. My opinion is that this is the nicest park in the area as we looked at others in the area an none stacked up to Wilderness. We would definitely stay here again. Above rate is monthly rate plus electric. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
There are three sections to this park. We paid a couple dollars more and stayed in the Preserve Club. This section was worth the extra dollars. Our pad was very wide and long. It would have been easy to park two vehicles in front of the coach. The pads are new concrete and level. This section is very quiet and clean. There is a heated pool and hot tub. A sauna and steam room are located near the first section but within walking distance. Wi-Fi is extra but our AT&T card managed 2 bars. The Preserve Club is a gated section. The PA rate with the extra dollars was $23.76. We will stay here anytime we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Nice location for lots of day trips. Clean, quiet, plenty of activities. We actually spent the winter at this park. Back section of the park is very quiet. Access to the river where my husband spent many days catching fish. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Overnight stop. This is a beautiful park. The lots are paved and level. We would like to return for a long term stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
This is a great park. It is a Passport America also. For 15$ you won't find a better park. Shore services were good. Verizon Air card was good and AT&T was good. No problem for Directv. They have Wi-Fi but it is $3.95 per day. My Verizon air card was as strong if not stronger than their Wi-Fi. The trash is to be taken to compactor which is one side of the park near the middle front to back. This is a pain to take trash to and you have to have a code to use the compactor. Other than these two negative services this is a great park. If I were in the area I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$36
Stayed here a week and loved it. They just opened a new gated section just for class A's: 170 sites both for rent and sale. Sites are 100+x 50 with concrete pad. Some sites back to the Ocala NP. This section is 55+. Enjoyed it so much we ended up buying a site!!! The new section is called "The Preserve." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
Nice park with concrete pads. Wi-Fi is $3.95 a day. Rate is Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$33
We dropped in at this campground at the recommendation of the ranger at the Silver Springs State Park. We enjoyed our stay so much we staying another night. It was very pet friendly and has a fenced-in, off-leash dog park. There is a restaurant and candy store attached to the park. We had a really good breakfast at the restaurant. I especially liked the bacon, feta and tomato omelet. The candy store makes very good homemade whoppie pies. This park sells lots and many of the residents own their lots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$22
Really, really nice "new" park! We came here years ago before this new owner bought the park and the improvements are amazing. We stayed in the preserve area--and would stay there again. For a Passport America member, the preserve is only $1.50 more than the other areas. $22.00 vs. $20.50. The sites are much larger in the preserve and the club house is nicer too, I think. The hot tub is working now. What a way to warm up on a chilly day! The park just opened their new large doggie park. Still have a few kinks to work out there--such as plugging the hole going into the adjacent pool area and figure out a way to get rid of some of the mud in the enclosure. Restaurant is a friendly place with good food. People in the park are all friendly too. Yes, we will go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
In an area populated with old, worn-out RV parks, this newly revitalized facility is a real find. It is in a secluded setting, but very near to shopping, restaurants, national and state parks and other attractions. The park itself has been greatly improved with dog parks, modern restrooms, club lounges, an exercise facility, sparkling clean swimming pools, hot tubs, a general store, restaurant and more. It is gated, private and secure. The staff is very friendly and receptive to new ideas. Rental units are predominantly in the front section of the park. Sites in one of the three sections have been mostly sold out to private owners. (All of the remaining sites are ultimately for sale). Some shady sites are available, but generally the park needs more time for trees and foliage to be planted and to grow. We spent four nights here and used our Passport America membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
Stayed in the Preserve section of the park . Paid extra for bigger site and the other amenities they advertised. Preserve pool is rather small ,there were no lounge chairs at the pool, hot tub was broken the whole time we were there. Ground around the pads were very wet and had a lot of fire ant hills. Front area pool was very nice and had a hot tub that worked! The best part of the entire resort is the little restaurant , great food and employees! When they get all of bugs worked out this section will rate much higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Very nice park. Most all of the sites were pull through and able to support large rigs. Check-in was pleasant, and the staff was very helpful. The circuit breaker for our site kept blowing when we first got there. We flagged down a maintenance man who quickly came over and replaced the breaker. There is a nice restaurant on the property and the prices were very reasonable. The park is just down the road from Silver Springs, which was the reason we stayed here. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
The rate shown is for Passport America. We had two fifth-wheels parked on sites 10 and 11. We enjoyed our stay because of the clean swimming pools, nice restaurant, good hookups at the site and level cement pads. This is definitely one of the best parks I've stayed at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
We enjoyed this park very much! The pull thru lots are spacious and level, and some have shade trees which is a bonus in Florida summers. The pool is huge and very clean. The hot tub is nice as well; however it broke while we were there, but maintenance came immediately. There is a nice lodge to gather with friends for games, etc. and a nice variety of books to read. The park is spotless and the folks are exceptionally nice and helpful. We REALLY enjoyed the cafe on site...great specials and delicious food! Grocery stores, etc. are within 5 miles. We plan to return to enjoy the other amenities (fitness center, canoeing, billiard room). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
This is an ownership park with facilities to rent. It is a modern and extremely well-maintained campground. Laundry facilities were virtually new and spotless. The staff are courteous and responsive, and are clearly proud of the facility. Of special note is the small Cafe located just inside the park's gate. Open 6 days a week from 7 AM to 7 PM, it features good food and great coffee at very reasonable prices. The owner/waitress adds an upbeat note to each visit. The cost cited was the Passport America rate and all taxes for a full hookup site including cable TV. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$36
Campground is one of the nicer locations I have been at in 3 years. Everyone friendly and helpful. Guide to site, all is neat and clean, paved roads to sites and very quiet. Only negative is that there is no Verizon coverage in park (must be on break somewhere else.) Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$33
Nice park, friendly staff. Clean, modern. Looks like a small town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
This was our 2nd time staying here. First class campground. I am thinking of buying a lot there for retirement. Staff very friendly and helpful. Has about every amenity you could want. We will be going back again several times and if they don't get crazy with lot prices will probably end up buying. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
This past weekend was our first visit here. We stayed in site 51 in the "Preserve" portion of the campground. This area is for class 'A' coaches only. They are selling the lots or you can rent, as we did. The site was great. Full large concrete pad, cable, 50amp electric, and good water pressure. This campground pretty much as it all. Work out facility, laundry, and two club houses. On site restaurant and small trading store. The folks were very nice and they did not "have a baby" when we asked about a late check out (1 to 2 pm) nor did they ask for more $$$. The other large section of the park has it all, pull behinds, 5th wheels, etc... The entire area is kept nice and clean. This park is just outside of Silver Springs and the Ocala area. We will be back, especially since they honor Passport America year round... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$60
This park is beautiful as it is located directly on the Silver River, which is spring fed nearby. They have their own small launch site as well as fishing area. Silver Springs and Ocala are very close by (minutes). The sites don't have much shade but are nicely maintained. I highly recommend this location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$50
Very nice campground undergoing extensive renovations. They are selling lots and it will become an member owned campground. Currently lots are running about $35,000. The park is clean and you can rent canoes to use on the Silver River. Not too far from Silver Springs. If you are looking for a clean modern campground this is one you might want to check out. Sites are large, but there is little privacy and there is a lot of construction. There is a small cafe on the grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$34
This is a great park in a good location. We enjoyed the church services, bingo, planned get togethers and local activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2007
$34
We reserved two weeks here based on the one previous review and their website. We explained we had a 40 foot motorhome when we made the reservation and reconfirmed it several days before our arrival. When we arrived they assigned us a site that had about a four foot drop from the back to the front. Had it been level the coach would have filled it with no room for our car. They made several attempts to find us a suitable site but they were either not level enough or like most all the sites, the concrete pad was completely broken up. None of the sites we were shown would comfortably fit a big rig. They also had asphalt pads that showed big depressions where the campers tires have sunk in. They did not ever try to get us in an asphalt site because they said we would sink in. This might be a good place if you have a smaller camper but it definitely is some place to stay away from if you have a big rig. They refunded our money and we located another campground. The current owners have had the property for little over a year and are making continuous improvements. Hopefully when they get done with the improvements we can give them another try. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$25
This campground was formerly called Colby Woods. They are upgrading and we found it to be an excellent place to spend some time. They have canoe/kayak rentals located right on the river with easy put-in and if you have your own, it's about 250 yards from the camp sites. There is a large hall for adults to relax in with a fireplace, card tables and easy chairs or you can sit on the screened back porch or large covered front porch. The pool was large and clean and the hot tub met our needs after an afternoon paddling on the river. This campground is part of Passport America so our rate was only $14.50. The biggest drawback was the limited restrooms. They have only 2 showers per side, so if large numbers wanted them, it could pose a problem. However, since they cater to RVs, most folks will probably use their own. Tenters will be place in an open field near the road, which could be an issue with noise. Associated with the campground is a restaurant that serves great breakfasts and lunches at very reasonable prices. I wish we had found this site instead of spending two days at the State Park. Definitely worth coming back here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com