206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Ponderosa Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (530) 642-5830
CGID4870

Ponderosa Resort

Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   4   7   6   9   8   5   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Loved this campground and have recommended it to many. We stayed in the D section and had a short walk to the river beach area. The water was so beautiful and we enjoyed our time playing in the water. The spots had a lot of room in our section. It was clean and well patrolled. We are looking forward to staying again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$5
Stayed here for 12 nights during July. We had an end spot overlooking the River. Great views! Water and 50 amp power was good and the 15.00 dollar "Honey wagon" seemed reasonable. Verizon cell worked just OK without booster. We enjoyed our stay here. The swimming pool is small, but with the river available, it was no big deal. The lounge area could use a little work, but all in all, it worked and we will return. Road ways are a bit rough in area's and there is plenty to do in the immediate vicinity. Our rate is reflective of Thousand Trails member. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$17
Rate reflects RPI $10/night. Sewer only in a few sites, honey wagon twice a week for $15 a hit. 50 amp $5 a day. WiFi worked sporadically. Interior gravel and asphalt roads with some ugly potholes and tight turns but passable. Very small gravel sites. Steep grades to get from the nearest towns to the campground. There is a small store, post office and some restaurants close by. Location on the American river is picturesque and good for tubing or rafting. Bathrooms clean and adequate. Very close to Sutter's Mill and an hour from Lake Tahoe. Typical "resort park". Very pretty, but not convenient to anything. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$0
Nice park with friendly staff.We stayed in a 50 amp site on the river. You have to pay for 50 amps and it has gone up to $5.00 per night. They do have some sewer sites but they are tight. Their honey wagon pump-outs are now $25.00, so try not to use it. Activities like Bingo and Craft Sales. Has some steep uphill and downhill roads and some tight turns so be careful. YOU CAN DO IT! Verizon works good and better with a booster and is 4G. Not all showers were in operation but baths and showers were clean and nice. Park looks good and lease sites were well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$1
This park is a typical Thousand Trails Park. It is showing its age but set in a beautiful location. Pros: - nice swimming pool - clubhouse with Wi-fi, which was needed to make VoIP phone calls since no ATT coverage. - riverfront spots right near a rapid to watch kayaks coming down - 50 amp available (now an extra $5 a night) cons: - no ATT coverage - narrow/rough roads (esp over the bridge to get to the riverfront sites - too many speed-bumps in a row on main road to campsites for a rig. Our stuff bounced all over even at 4 mph. Site map poorly marked. We arrived at night and were told to drive around and pick a spot, but not to park at a spot with a bag over the electric or with a meter. This is not fun to figure out in the dark. These spots should be crossed off on their map. Many spots being converted to seasonal and cabins. We noticed 3 or 4 cabins being put up while we were there. Soon there will not be many RV sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
This is a beautiful location, right on the bend of the South Fork of the American River. We were in the H-section, RIGHT on the river. It was gorgeous! The park is old. It has seen better days for a facilities standpoint. Because of the topography and windy and pot-holed roads this place IS a challenge for big-rigs. As a 38-foot 5th-wheel, the corners and the sites were tight. Also, the entry area is tight and the dump area is a bit odd, exiting through the maintenance area. The Verizon cell tower "to-be-installed", mentioned in an earlier review, is now in place. We got 2-3 bars of 5 on the river sites. Bathrooms were 6 of 10. We WOULD stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$3
We are TTN members and have been coming here for about five years. The staff are always friendly, hard working and friendly. As luck would have it we have always been able to get our favorite site on the river which makes the the park special to us. The $3 charge is for the 50amp service and water but unfortunately there is no sewer service on the river sites. Also, there is no Verizon cell-phone service to the sites although there are rumors that a tower has already been built but not activated, lets hope that is true. Surprisingly, our Verizon Mi-Fi was able to receive and send e-mail in the coach but it was too slow for surfing. Yes, the roads need improvement and the new registration booth is inside the gate often blocking the ingress and egress from the park, not good! Also the Store has been given over to a rafting group and is not a part of the Thousand Trails Preserve any more. But we will continue to come here each year to enjoy the beautiful American River and the Golden (OK, brown!) foothills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
This is a Thousand Trails park that is showing its age. The sites are gravel pads and the internal roads are very rough with a lot of pot holes and the sharp turns are not big rig friendly. TT has changes their policy and has started leasing/selling many of the prime sites to the public which leaves us longtime members in the not so prime locations. The long term residents also have a tendency to leave their sites looking very cluttered and junky. There is no Verizon coverage in the park. On the plus side the staff was friendly and it is in a great location to go exploring the California Gold country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$3
The park is nice and we have been coming here for years. However, the park has made some policy changes and if you are a ROD member, you are not going to like them. We had to camp in the "A" section, which used to be the employees' sites and all of them are 50 amps, which means you have to pay an additional 3 dollars a day. This is unfair for us ROD members, since the beauty of this park, are the sites by the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$44
This is a wonderful spacious park in the country. We camped right on the American River. Numerous hiking trails and lots to do in the surrounding area. The staff was very friendly. This is a good old fashioned campground in a very historic area. I would definitely recommend staying at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
This is a 1000 Trails/NACO/ROD/Encore RV Park, but is also open to the general public. We were here for the Memorial Day weekend, so it was pretty full. Was nice and shady, nice to walk along the shore of the American River. Well maintained park with very friendly and helpful staff. There is an "off-leash" dog area of about an acre next to the river. We had an excellent stay, and would vacation here again. Had some fun weekend activities for the kids and grownups, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
This is a special resort for us in spite of a few shortcomings such as no cell phone or air card service. However, free Internet wi-fi is available at the Family Lodge and at the Country Store and a phone is available in the Family Lodge. While there are some full hookups available, they are in a nicely treed area that is away from the river. A newly lined pool is available with new pool furniture. Most of the sites have shade trees but there are still many that are satellite friendly. We often are able to get a site right on the bank of the American River with 30 and 50-amp electrical service and water but without sewer hookups. We never tire of watching the rafts full of people shooting the rapids and families of geese trailing their 6 or 7 goslings behind. The management and rangers are very friendly and are working hard to upgrade this facility and their efforts are showing improvements. With the proximity to the Sacramento area this park fills up on summer weekends so reservations are a good idea. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$1
This is a very good park in a great location off the beaten path about an hour from Lake Tahoe.There are only a few sites with full hookup, and they are in a very tight, confined location away from the river. River sites and roads are not paved and do not have sewer hookups. They offer honey wagon service (on Mondays when we were there) for a fee ($15 for up to 3 pulls). There are three access routes (Shingle Springs and Placerville off Highway 50 and Auburn off I-80), but the Auburn access is not recommended, especially for big rigs. Shingle Springs is a little longer than Placerville but the road is better for big rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$1
I stayed for free using my ROD membership. This park was one of my favorite stops this year. Apparently, thay have made some upgrades to the restrooms. There was a new mobile trailer with new showers and bathrooms close to the pool area. I had a very large campsite and was able to access the free Wi-Fi from my site. The nicely stocked camp store and deli with good food has 2 terminals for Wi-Fi access as well. The great thing about the park is that you can walk right into the American River from many of the campsites. The riverfront is long enough that you can tube from one end to the other in about an hour to enjoy the very cool water on a hot day. The main roads are paved, though the access to most sites is graveled. There were a lot of nice people at the park and the Rangers were very friendly. It is located close to Coloma and Marshall Gold Discovery park which was interesting to see. I look forward to returning to this park with friends and will stay at a river front site which is worth the lack of sewer hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$1
This park could use some updating. We camp at Lake of the Springs more because it's just a bit nicer. We did have a fantastic space right on the water's edge, but would have been nicer if the gravel was not so big. I like to sit outside without shoes if it's nice and the rocks were too big and sharp even through the thick mat we use. It seems like a little thing but it was annoying. I loved the geese and ducks and it was fun to watch the rafters go buy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
This is a member park and one of the reasons we will not renew our membership. First come first serve campground. That should not be for a membership park. The park itself was dusty and dirty. You had to be on a waiting list for sewer hook ups and all of them were near the pool and lots of kid noise. Interior roads were narrow, unlevel, dusty and not well maintained. Restrooms were below health standards. I expect more from a membership park because of the fees but the owners of this membership must be putting the fee money in their pocket because they are not spending it on upkeep of their parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$1
Lots of activities for the family at this great little campground. We were fortunate to get a semi-shady site by the river, but the the nice spacious sites are away from the river. Friendly staff and nice fellow RVers during our stay. For a Thousand Trails' campground, I was very impress. I would have gave them a higher score if they would have more sites with sewers. However, the girls working the deli are all young and attractive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$10
Was comped as I was a potential member. I agree with the previous reviewer, its a nice park--but not special enough to want to be a member as there are several equally nice parks in the area. We had a shaded spot one row back from the river. Spots are gravel, but quite level. I entered $10 for fee as the site would not let me put 0. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
For a membership park, this was very nice. The people are very friendly and the park is clean. However, the river sites are in direct sun and it was a little tough for our dog. The cost to join was $3500, which wasn't bad compared to other membership campgrounds, but up the road was a nicer campground that did not require membership. If you want a free weekend and you have a hour to kill, give them a call. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com