219095 User submitted reviews online!!
The Emerald Forest of Trinidad was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (707) 677-3554
CGID489

The Emerald Forest of Trinidad

Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   9   7   9   5   5   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Convenient park for visiting Trinidad. Located in large, second growth redwoods but dusty at times. Campsites are a bit odd shaped and squeezed in due to tree layout. Wifi was acceptable. There was only one shower/toilet room for about 20 spaces in our area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Bathrooms were dirty, didn't always have toilet paper and needed a good paint job. The sites were nice. Trinidad Bay is beautiful and the town is cute. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
The campground setting is very beautiful, with sites set among redwoods. The hookups were good. We did hear HWY 101 noise. The restroom floors needed a good cleaning and paint job. We just stayed one night and took a ride over to Patricks Point State Park, which was a brief but very beautiful visit with short hikes to outstanding coastal scenery. Be sure to see the lighthouse in Trinidad too. Getting around inside with the RV is super tight and the roads need some serious grading. Because of this and the restroom issue, we would try another park next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Stunning park. Sites are in among the redwoods, I found myself just staring at the trees. Some noise from Hwy 101, but not bad. Park manager was very friendly and helpful. Good utilities, strong Wi-Fi. Close to seaside sightseeing. Slight downgrade for tight entry road. Been here before, will come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Nice level site with good water and electricity, right among the redwoods. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
We loved our stay here. We liked our site and felt that it was private. The staff here was SO friendly! The kids really liked the playground area even though it was a bit small. They did have a big lawn space to run around on, and they were quick to lend us play equipment (a volleyball). They also have bikes you can rent - even kids' bikes - but we ran out of time. We did a load of laundry here and had no problems. We also really appreciated that we were close enough to walk to the little town & a couple beaches. We got a great restaurant recommendation, & we didn't have any trouble with the noise (I felt like the campground was tucked away). They also had some nice looking cabins for rent and even talked with a couple from Oregon who returns here regularly to stay in the cabins. I also highly recommend the short drive to Moonstone Beach. We had a great day there. I saw that some of the reviews said it was dusty - I could see that, but everything was very damp while we were there (a few rainy days - even in June) so that wasn't a problem. We will return here if we're ever in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Site not close to level either way. Good privacy between sites, lots of dust as roads are mostly dirt. Would not use laundry! Lots of highway noise from 101, but less after midnight. We will stay at another Park next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Do you prefer scenery or amenities? Forest setting: A++. Laundry room: F (a few rusted machines). Bathrooms: D- (tiny; broken vents; showers flood toilet area). Roads: F (exit road severely potholed); roads in need of fresh gravel to keep dirt to a minimum. If you want amenities, stay elsewhere and get A++ scenery at the many surrounding state parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
We stayed for two nights to explore the surrounding areas in a motorhome towing a trailer about 50 ft long. They were able to accommodate us and the staff was nice. The campground is nestled in a stand of redwoods and is lovely. If you are not used to maneuvering in tight areas, you may not like this campground. It was a very quiet campground, clean, and it felt like you were somewhere deep in the woods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
A spiritual, healing place in the redwoods. AAA, Good Sam, Escapees discounts. Lovely sites, some full hookups, some pull-throughs. Water pressure 30#. We thought maintenance is very good. Good cable TV, adequate Verizon signal. Excellent nearby restaurants include Moonstone Grill and Larrupin Café. Some highway noise, not much traffic at night. Yes, can be muddy in wet weather, but we prefer redwood forest floor over paving and fear paving would harm the trees. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Credit cards accepted. Park has ambitious recycling program. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
We loved this campground. We were traveling with friends and owners went out of their way to make sure we were camped next to each other. A perfect place to stay and see the redwoods. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
We enjoyed this campground, small but well maintained. The owner is very friendly and apparently paying a lot of effort to keep the campground in good shape. It is right next to the state park with stunning view. You can walk into the state in minutes. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Pretty good stop over park for a few days. Rustic appearance is intentional I believe. Road noise was there, but didn't bother us. Somewhat gloomy, however the weather itself was not the greatest and this RV park would be welcoming on a hot day. WiFi and cable TV worked very well. It's dog friendly too. Nice sites, but not if you want pavement. Super beach right in town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
It was a very nice park, except that all ground was dirt, with moisture in the air, made for mud tracks in trailer. The showers ran out of hot water quickly, but the park being in the middle of redwood trees made for nice scenery. The morning could have been a morning for sleeping as the sun never came through the trees. If this park was $10 cheaper the rating might be higher, except for the lack of concrete or gravel instead of dirt. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
This park would probably get a rating of 8 if the owners did some maintenance. Dirt roads don't do well in the rain, everything was muddy and miserable. I would not recommend or stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
This is a charming old, small cabins type motel that added RV sites. The environment is among the majestic California Redwoods, thus it is a little dark, and not paved. You are within a mile of the thrilling California seashore. The cable TV is good (satellite is difficult due to the trees). The owners were more than gracious in refunding us money when our travel plans changed. I also won $625 at the nearby Casino the last night we were here. The casino has a restaurant with a terrific ocean view. To me the value for price was terrific. Our rate reflects a weekly discount of 1 free day a week. They did say that they had a 2 week limit in the park, but you could go out to one of the many nearby parks for a day and come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Totally confused on past reviews unless you really like "rustic" which I translate to run-down! What a dump. Dark and dreary with dirt roads and sites which is a mud bath when it rains. When checking in you are informed not to do any damage to it's natural state which is quite a chuckle considering the condition of the place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$27
What a pleasure to find this charming park at the end of a long day. It is rustic without pavement, but well maintained with good hookups. Cable and Wi-Fi good. We were the only unit in the pull through sites and felt a bit lonely, especially when cell service was minimal. The mgr assured us they have had no problems, but if we needed any help just to hit the horn button on our tow vehicle. He was in one of the cabins adjacent to us and would respond to any difficulty that we might encounter. I suspect this would be a wonderful spot during the high season on sunny days. The heavy foliage made it a bit closed in on a dreary February day. However, our dog loved the park and we would definitely come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$45
Fabulous, beautiful, breathtaking, fantastic staff, always friendly people, not one bad campsite, great walking around park with ferns, huge redwoods and streams. Out of fog normally. A MUST stay park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
We loved this park. The price reflects Go America discount through Resort Parks International. It has very fast internet. There are nice roomy drive through sites. We were in the front, the back sites are very close to Highway. There are lots of really neat large redwood trees. Our only issue was our location right next to a very large diesel generator which kicks on when if the power dies - which it did for a few moments during a storm. We love the idea of always having power, but that sucker is very NOISY! There is a complete recycling center and the park has very nice cabins. We'd go back anytime! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Having been mislead by ReserveAmerica as to site availability in the nearby State Park: we were fortunate to find a site here after driving over 200 miles. My family and I were grateful to Emerald Cove for giving us a site for 3 nights without a prior reservation. This park is clean and the pull-through sites were easy to navigate. The town of Trinidad is just a few minutes down the road for groceries, gas, sightseeing, etc. With State campgrounds now charging ridiculous fees for no-hook-ups sites, I would rather pay for a site in a private facility like Emerald Cove where I can have every convenience that makes camping a pleasant experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
This park is in a nice, peaceful forest setting with gravel interior roads and dirt sites. I can imagine that during the rainy season: tracking in mud might be a problem. Good free Wi-Fi connection speed. The biggest potential negative is that sites F92-F99 back up to Hwy 101. Fortunately this area is lightly traveled so the traffic was very light at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This is one of the best parks we have ever stayed in. The bathrooms were not only clean, but they were individual bathrooms. We had site 22 which is a back in, but huge. We were able to put up our screen room, chairs and still had more than enough room for a campfire. The staff was great, friendly and knew the area. The site was clean and there was no road noise. Our site was tucked into the redwoods with a canopy of trees. It was truly wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We camped here in mid July 09. Loved the grounds and all of the trees - beautiful! Spaces 11 and 12 were the best, but no sewer hook up for space 12. Spaces 15-17 were ok but too close to the bath house. Space 20 is a pull through site and great for big RV's. The playground leaves something to be desired - smelled like a sewer leak. Staff on site were very nice and helpful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Extremely clean showers, level sites under tall Redwood Trees, very friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
Acres of giant redwoods and in between these magnificent trees are REV pads with full hook ups. Barely off the secondary road this is a rustic camp setting. The facilities are a bit dated, rustic camp/cabin type dated, but clean. Only 30 Amp service available (I suspect a little less than 30 Amps); until I got a handle on my energy management I kept breaking the circuit; it definitely will not handle any kind of electric heat or air conditioning (although the trees keep the sun out). It had rained for almost a week by the time I got here and my site was a bit soggy; I had to use jack pads on the soggy ground. My Satellite TV could not pick up a signal through the dense trees, but we enjoyed the radio and reading. Wi-Fi worked fine. About a mile walk to the nearest beach; a little less than a mile to the tiny, tiny town of Trinidad. Come for the spectacular scenery of rugged Coast and dense forest and you can tell your friends you actually camped in the middle of a redwood forest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
The positives: Lovely location in a redwood grove, WIFI worked, close to Trinidad and beaches, nice outbuildings that looked like they belonged in an enchanted forest. The air smelled wonderful due to the trees and dampness. The negatives: Since the sites are not paved or grassy, we found it quite messy entering & leaving our rig--very wet and full of leaves and needles to track in. Also, there was fresh damp mud here and there since they have areas 'under construction'. We were surprised to fine that we were so close to 101, and heard trucks all night long. We were in the showers at around 5AM--they were really a mess, cold, and dark. My husband said he thought Sasquatch had showered before him, due to the matts of hair on the shower walls and on the floor. Women's shower/restroom was no less dirty. That part was a big disappointment to us, so I doubt we'd stay again, given the many choices in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
A beautiful campground under large redwood trees. It is well maintained with easy access in and out. We stayed in site 20, which was very large and far from the highway, though it is right next to a row of very nice looking little cabins. We'd ask for this same site next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
This is a wonderfully well-run park. Very little sun, in the middle of a redwood forest. We were in site #93 - a huge site. It did back up to the 101 but in northern California that doesn't amount to much. We stayed 3 nights and would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
We spent two weeks at this park, waiting for a grandchild to be born. Trinidad is a wonderfully picturesque little town and Emerald Forest RV is a great park right in the redwoods, within walking distance of the town itself. The park is very well run. The staff are friendly and accommodating, and everything is clean and tidy. The park is family friendly. We will stay here again, for sure. Wi-fi and cable TV worked fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
Always a pleasure to stay here. Views are spectacular. You camp next to huge redwood trees. The rugged beach of N. Calif is minutes away. Rained a lot when we were there, but nothing you can do about that! Staff friendly and helpful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
This is an excellent RV park. The setting is magical, as you are literally camping among the redwoods. Nice people. The best WiFi connection I have had in a long time. Easy to get in and out in my 36' class A. Just up the road from Trinidad and the casino. They also have great tent camp sites and a number of small cabins. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
This is a wonderful experience camping right among the giant redwoods. There was plenty of room for our 40' motorhome. The view out the windshield was spectacular. The office staff was helpful and friendly. It was a very pleasant experience and we would camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
Campground is in the Redwoods but very close to the 101 highway. The interior roads were not maintained and were very muddy in spots. Be sure to stay in the front section of the campground as the traffic noise might bother some folks. The surrounding area is beautiful and warrants exploring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Friendly staff. Dirt roads with "some" gravel (needs a lot more gravel). Dirt and gravel sites. Sewer connections too high out of ground. Sewer smell prevalent in park. Lots of dust. Nice modem area in store/office. Older park surrounded by lots of trees. Sites not very level. No "instant" phones. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Visited this park because of glowing review in this forum. The review was correct. Very pretty, nice people, good location. Modem hub is inside a redwood stump. No kidding. Cable signal was as good as I've ever seen at a park. Power was fine. The location in the big trees make the park. We only spent one night because there are seven or eight steps up to restrooms and shower. We are both disabled, and while we can do one or two steps, this was too much. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Magnificent setting with Redwoods towering around your RV. Most sites level on 12 acres of forest. Convenient mini mart. Great for 1-2 nights. Stayed in 2001 and 2002. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com