218867 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake in the Forest RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (352) 625-6275
CGID4903

Lake in the Forest RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   5   8   10   8   10   10   2   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
We have stayed here more than once at the per month rate. Our first consideration was its proximity to the many attractions in Florida both on the Atlantic and Gulf sides coupled with its competitive rates. We were looking for a shaded, friendly and safe place to stay while we bicycled, kayaked (the famous monkeys in Silver Springs just down the road). But perhaps our favorite aspect is how nice the owners are and how dedicated to providing activities for their guests. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$1
The Lake in the Forest is a beautiful park. It is off of the road in a well shaded area surrounded with big trees. If you like country settings and not a concrete city, you will like this park. The owner goes out of the way to please everyone. There are activities for the kids and adults. All of the guests in the park were very friendly and did things together. Shopping and places to eat are close. When we left we felt as if we were leaving family. This was our first year there but we have already booked next year. The owner's mother is a wonderful person too. If you visit the park, be sure to say hi to the owners and the owner's parents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
This was our second visit to this campground. It is a beautiful place with many sites to accommodate large RVs. The problems we experienced with the management and the deterioration of the docks and other areas were much greater this year. The office was rarely open. Many activities were handled by guests on a volunteer basis. A couple that wintered here last year, were staying in one of the campground's off-site rentals and came to the park to co-ordinate most activities. To get mail or conduct any business in the office was nearly impossible. The owner took the liberty to charge things to the credit cards whose numbers were entrusted to her to guarantee reservations solely because she was "too busy" to be in the office or to present the bills for payment. It's a shame to have this nice of a park and let it go to the dogs for lack of a good workkamping couple or two to provide the amenities people want and deserve. Many of the "snowbirds" here are searching for a different park for next winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
Perhaps because we had fantastic February weather the entire time we were there, we really enjoyed this campground. The sites are pretty large and very easy to back into. Since the park is in the forest all of the sites are shaded which would be very important in Florida during the hot months. It seemed that they always had a schedule with something going on, i.e. glassblowing classes, bingo, pot luck dinners, live concert. The concert on Saturday night was a gospel quartet. I would normally not be interested but this group was very entertaining and good and we did enjoy it. Because there are lots of oak trees there were lots of fallen leaves, which did not bother us. Our only problem was the bathrooms. They were clean but there were only two bathrooms with showers; one for men and one for women. When they were in use they were locked so you needed to wait. There was a third bathroom facility that could be used, but no shower. Overall it was quite pleasant, the people very friendly and the owner was around to see if everything was OK. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Lake In The Forest RV Resort is an excellent family campground right in the heart of the Ocala National Forest. We had a great time (myself, my wife, my son 12 and my daughter 9). There were a great deal of activities offered that both of our kids enjoyed immensely. The activities allowed my wife and I to enjoy the scenery, the quiet and the other campers at the park. There is a beautiful lake here (Half Moon Lake) and there are boats available for rent at a reasonable fee. We spent 2 days out of 4 here on the lake. The park was very quiet and the other campers were very courteous in following the park rules. There was one instance of music being played after 10:00 cutoff and the owners addressed it immediately. We spent one night in a really pretty cabin with a loft and enough room to sleep all of us in comfort. We were even invited to breakfast with the owners the next morning and Deb and Bob whipped us up some terrific bacon, eggs, cornbread, pancakes and more meal that was out of this world and very nice of them. Our kids had plenty of new friends to spend time with (about 30 kids at the park). All in all, it was a great family vacation and we cannot say enough nice things about this park and the owners. This was definitely our best camping experience ever and we plan to come back once every year as long as our children will allow it. Activities included karaoke (my kids BOTH participated), crafts (clay work - there is a kiln on site), golf lessons with the owner's mother? Dancing, billiards (first time I have ever seen a pool table at a park that wasn't dominated by adults), and so many more I can't list them all here. Overall a fantastic experience that I would recommend to anyone. We camped here in a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$23
This was our second trip and Debbie the owner is very friendly. Right now they are at the mercy of no rain, so it was difficult to get a boat to water, but she volunteered her husband with a four wheel drive to launch a boat. There is a nice pool, deck and enough chairs for everyone. The rec hall is a little crowded with tables, but can be moved easily. Very quiet area and once a month they karaoke on Saturday night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
My wife and I stayed there for the Thanksgiving Holiday. The owners told us to bring a dish and they will supply the rest.My only beef for the dinner was"I ate too much" The owners served 100 plus at a sit down dinner. There was 6 turkey's and so much other food and 30 kinds of desert. Our kids had a ball playing golf with a lady called "OMIE" and she also showed the kids how to blow glass.I have to admit it was exciting for my wife and I as well. They also had ceramic painting for the kids and adults.There was some great work done by all. The park is set in a quiet setting in the middle of the forest.No car,truck or fire truck noises anywhere.Just the sounds of the wildlife and The sing along with this great couple who had 2000 plus songs to go up and sing on stage.Again the kids had a blast. We felt very welcome there as well as safe.The owners keep the gate locked 24-7 and provide you with a code to enter and leave with. My kids ran free and wild and had a great time.We will be going back for xmas holiday.We all can't wait until our next visit. Thank you lake in the forest a job well done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
We truly enjoyed this park. The entire family had a great time. We stayed in our camper and my parents stayed in one of their nice cabins. We sang karokee and were entertained by their professional team that came in. Singing under the stars with a campfire -boy that was fun. We play farmers golf, made our own ceramics, fished and tubed and just had a great time. What was also really neat was the mural by their bathrooms that a famous artist painted. The kids loved to go to the camp store every time we went to the pool and felt very comfortable with their safety. We may even leave our camper there and before one of their week-end only campers. I think the rate is @260 or 270. I hope that more families would find out about this wonderful place and have themselves a wonderful time like we had. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
I rate this place 2 out of 10 stars. It was horrible. Worst campground I've ever been too. Only came here because it was the only place we could get on a last minute reservation for Labor Day Weekend. We quickly found out why it was the only place with vacancy. If you go to their website, you can see what they claim to have. They had none of thess. There is only space for about 40 RVs. The boat rentals section had a dock so twisted I wouldn't even let my kid walk on it. It was so dirty and unkept it looked like a boat graveyard. In addition they wanted $180.00 a day to rent one of the dirty, rusting, leaf covered, pieces of junk. It honestly was so disgusting my wife just laughed at it. They had a whole list of activities that made it sound like there would be lots of people, lots of kids, and lots of stuff to do. That couldn't be farther from the truth. Not to mention we came here on a holiday weekend where it was probably much busier than normal. I can't imagine what it would be like on a regular weekend. They did attempt to have the activities. It's just that no one showed because it was so dirty and such a joke. All they seemed to care about was trying to find some way to charge you more, without offering anything decent at all. Even the "Golf Course" was unusable. Whoever mows the grass didn't even bother to lift the flag out of the holes, so you had grass 18" high all around the hole. I'd like to see anyone putt through that. The children’s playground just had sand dug up from a hole about 100 yards away near the "dock" (boat graveyard), and dumped in it. No one even raked it out. The playground had like 3 huge mounds of sand just thrown into it, and 1/2 the playground was covered in weeds. In a nutshell, everything they claim to have, they don't. The website is very misleading. They even charged us an extra $10.00 at the end saying we used too much electricity in our little Jayco 23B. Don't go there unless you're looking to be disappointed. Talked to 2 other couples who said this was there first and last trip to Lake in the Forest. I’m just trying to keep someone else from going to a campground that they weren’t expecting. It was dirty, poorly done, and nothing I would take my family to again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
We found this campground in Woodalls and after talking to their friendly staff, my wife and I and our kids decided to try it out. They are in a beautiful setting with water on 3 sides and woods on the other. They have a great boat launch to keep many campers boats and also a place for non-boaters to fish. My kids spent hours fishing, swimming and creating ceramic masterpieces. My little one and I took golf lessons with the manager lady where she taught children of all ages how to play golf. She had them paint their own ball before the lessons and my little one carried that ball all over. Their cabins are fully furnished, new and spotless. We already booked another trip to go back and my parents are renting a cabin. On Saturday night, they had a karoke team come in and run karoke. They also sang in between. My kids loved it and even my wife surprised us with a special song. We enjoyed a campfire at night while listening to all the wildlife. We are hooked and hope other families and couples will try them out. I have never felt so at home and didn't feel apprehensive about our children's safety. The final straw was renting the pontoon boat for a spin on their quiet and beautiful lake. Later my wife went canoeing with the girls and I took our son on the paddleboats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2006
$79
Very nice cabins. Very clannish group of permanent campers who follow none of the posted rules. Loud radio playing and partying after posted quiet hours. No way to access water for fishing easily. It's very overgrown and extremely small. Could be a nice fishing area on a large lake, but it isn't well taken care of. Did not feel very welcome there, as we weren't part of the "permanent campers." Noticed that the spaces for trailers and motorhomes are very, very close together. Even in our cabin, if the place had been full, we could have had an RV in our side yard. Will never go there again. Camping should be a friendly, fun experience. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2006
$28
This campground has a very remote setting. They advertise fishing, but it is next to impossible to try to get more than a bass boat launched because of such a narrow channel. Campsites are very close together and set up rather haphazardly. They also emphasize rules on their website, which is one reason we chose it. The rules are only for "outsiders". The regular campers who leave their rigs their and use them on weekends, can play their stereos for the entire campground to hear after the 10pm rule. We saw numerous four-wheelers not parked at the front gate as "ruled," but on the campsite and used every day. Dogs of the regular campers do not have to be leashed. Worst of all, children as young as 6 years old ride golf carts around the camp and even have one or two other young children riding on it with them. We actually watched one very young child slam his golf cart into a telephone pole. Thankfully, he was just shaken up, not hurt. We wondered what would have been said if it had been someone's car. Overall, this camp could be very nice and peaceful if the rules were enforced. We would not return there, as we are not one of the "special" campers, as they were referred to by the owner. Too bad, it could be a nice place in the Ocala National Forest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com