206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Cape Henlopen State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (302) 645-8983
CGID4931

Cape Henlopen State Park

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   7   5   7   8   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
We stayed in Loop "C" which is close to the main restroom/shower facility. All the loops looked pretty much identical. The campground is very convenient to the State Fair and Harrington Slots and Raceway. All the sites were very wooded and had nice space in between sites so you aren't up on your neighbor. W/E sites and a dump station near the entrance of the CG. There was a mix of Class A to tents in our loop. We used the water park one day and the kids had fun there. The nature center is new and there are well marked trails and bike paths around the lake. The CG and park are very well maintained. For $25, it is the best campground for the money! we will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Lovely campground with spacious sites. No hookups except water. Staff was easily able to assign a sunny site for our solar panels. No generators - hooray. Quiet and peaceful. Robust single stream recycling. We will go there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This park is beautiful - peaceful and serene. Sites were large - mostly level. There was a laundry facility. Generator use was not allowed. We would have given this park a "10" rating - but for the bugs (lots of them!). Bikes could be used for free. No camp store, but did have wood and ice at campground entrance. A nice area to visit - would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
It was a different type of site. You park parallel on the blacktop to your site as previous posters have mentioned. This allows more use of the sand and scrubby pine shaded site but it was odd to have "backyard" neighbors as well as neighbors to the sides. This has potential if camping with friends to "open up" facing each other. Rangers did patrol daily. It was a short bike ride to the walk-in beach access (NEVER crowded). You had to drive to the "boardwalk"access. There was a neat WW2 observation tower, Fort Miles, and other military areas open to the public with tours available. The nature center was great! If you do not want to pack your bike, the Friends of Cape Henlopen (At Nature Center) have bikes available to borrow for up to 2 hours- for free. Awesome biking trails- all paved. The showers were mopped twice daily but not CLEANED. They were push button operated- water ran for less then a minute every push. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
A nice quiet place, with only water hookups. Be aware, this park has banned ALL generator useage in 2010: no not ANY. We love the place, but will not go back because of this restriction. Two hours a day would be fine with us, just enough to cook. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We have camped at this campground numerous times and always make plans to come back the following year. I'd recommend asking for a site near the upper bath house. Those sites are larger. If you are at the bottom of the campground (closest to the entrance), the sites are very small and piled together. The lower bath house is nicer because it has private changing rooms, but it's also the one that has the most people in it so during peak season, you will be waiting in line. This campground does not have electricity but it does have water hook up. The bike trails are great as well as the look-out points. You can get to the beach from the bike trails or park in the parking lot nearby with your car. I'd recommend this campground, especially for families and tents. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
I used their on-line reservation system to pick my site for a single weekday night just one day in advance. I was very pleased with the choice as the description of the site was very accurate. I had site 102 for my 20 motor home (van), could have parked 2 more on the pad. Unusual layout though, you park parallel on the roadway to open out onto your site. Most sites appeared to be shady, but others are in full sun. No electric available and portable generators are not allowed. The walk to the beach is rather long but very nice. Campground is very dog friendly as are the fishing beaches. Be sure to take you bike with you, the campground roads are paved and there are several trails designed for bikes, you could spend the entire day riding and may not see everything. Ice and wood are available (for a price) at the check-in booth. I will be returning for a long stay soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This campground being a state park didn't have much to offer, but the beach. It wasn't very clean but the area is beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Lovely state park with access to both the river inlet for fishing and a walkway to the ocean for swimming. Very pretty views of the river right from your site. Campground was very clean including public restrooms. Campground is close to restaurants and activities. Sites were plenty large to accommodate our motorhome. Will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
Cape Henlopen State Park- Thursday, April 16 one night Lewes, Delaware - Over 148 sites - Site 36 but had to change to site 31 with water no electricity sites. Cost for non-resident $32. There is a charge of $4.00 per person to get into the park itself so this is in the campground fee. This is a beach resort campground along the Delaware shore. There are two designated swimming beaches, hiking trails even along the six miles of beach, bike riding, 18 hole disc golf course, basketball courts, winter hunting, recreational programs such as history talks, outdoor concerts, birdwatching and there is even a WW 2 observation tower where the views are great. Also, one can climb the military bunker and I can see why in the summer families come to spend a week or two. The ferry from Cape May, NJ comes in here and the Prime Hook National Wildlife Refuge is nearby as well as the Lewes and Rehoboth canal. It is right next to the resort town of Rehoboth Beach! Delaware is such a beautiful state I can see why so many senior citizens are relocating here. Now the campground is different. There are sites for big RV’s and all RV’s have to park along the road by their site – the allotted parking space is big and could hold the biggest coach plus a car or anything you were towing. The sites have a picnic table and fire pits. There are showers but they are cold and are only on for seconds each time you push the button. It’s a good place if tenting and if you are going to the beach. Hiking to the beach is quite a distance. The bike trails are good but this park is huge the largest in Delaware so you could spend the day biking and might get on all the trails etc. The views are great from the trails and the beach near the bathhouse is beautiful. Good campground but not for everyone but we will be back. In April during the week it was self-check in and maybe there were 25 sites taken! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Camping here was very enjoyable! Even though there is no electric or sewer, we had a great time here. The park was an Army base during WW2 and there are many historical sites to tour including barracks, bunkers, and towers overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The beaches are amazing! Lots of sand, and if you have a surf fishing permit, you can drive your 4-wheel drive vehicle onto the beach. There is a three mile paved bike trail, a hawk watch area, a nature center, picnic areas, and a public boardwalk with public restrooms and changing lounges so you can slip out of your wet bathing suit and into dry clothes after a day on the beach. There is also a fishing pier and bait shop, group youth camping and primitive camping. The public campground is kept very clean and is well patrolled by park rangers. Some sites are tight, but for the most part are well spaced. Most sites are well shaded, a few sites are in direct sunlight. Motor homes, trailers and pop-ups are not allowed off the pavement and are pull through parallel-parking only. Only tents are allowed to set up off pavement. You'll be camping in dunes converted to campsites under sand pines and the experience is rustic and natural. There is a ferry to Cape May, NJ located just outside the park entrance and the quaint little fishing village of Lewes (pronounced Lewis) is chocked full of quaint bistros, unique shops and sight-seeing opportunities. Grocery stores are only 10 minutes from the park. This is a gorgeous and relaxing place to escape to! Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
We camped here over a weekend in June this year. It was our first time at this park and we had a great time. The facilities were clean, the staff was great and the park was quiet. Since it was a summer weekend at the shore, the park was rather full. You need to drive to the beach because it is too far to walk with small children. We plan on going back next summer. Since this is a Delaware state park and we are not residents of Delaware, the rate per night was slightly higher than for state residents. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
Great state park, large sites, sand and paved. Drive or bike down to the beach, too far to walk, but wasn't really a problem. Interesting former military base, with lots to explore in park. No camp store, and attendant not in much, but ice and firewood available at gate. Could use more baths, crowded at times. Large beach area, cleaned nightly, lifeguards on duty, concessions and restrooms available. Fishing pier, kayak rentals, lots of good programs/tours in park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
We camp here each year. It's a no thrill campground. But that is precisely its charm. Parking your RV is very, very easy. There is plenty to do if you like walking, riding bicycles (bring your own!), and beach combing. There are several beautiful overlook areas. Because there's no electric hook-up we only camp early or late in the season. Do bring bug spray to be sure, though. We especially love climbing the tower from which you can even see New Jersey on a clear day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com