219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Table Rock State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (864) 878-9813
CGID4932

Table Rock State Park

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   9   9   8   9   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
We stayed here for a weekend on the way back home on a work trip. Reception is in a separate site from the park that has a store, etc. Nice and efficient, even though we had called ahead for a reservation. After receiving our tag we went to find our site (72) which turned out to be very unlevel. The ground was soft and our leveling blocks sank so after several attempts we were still in a sideways nose dive and we gave up to park in site 9 across the street. That is when we found out that the park is a cell phone dead zone. Only from the higher located bath house could we leave a message that we were not in our assigned site. Fortunately there were no reservation that prevented us from staying in the level site. The next day we hiked the Carrick's Trail along some very nice waterfalls and lucked out as there was the monthly Mountain Music event at the Lodge. We will probably be back for swimming in the lake, it looked very inviting! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
There are two camp areas, the western main being larger and nicer. The older White Oaks campground to the east is smaller. They are in the woods campgrounds with some level and other unlevel but well spaced large sites. Apparently the unlevel dirt sites were older tenting sites. The better leveler sites have defined recycled beam borders with gravel surfaces. The CG roads are paved. There is a very nice vistor Center/Park headquarters by Lake Ootenoy with two fishing piers and a boat put in, and nearby Lake Pinnacle with swimming,shelters and playgrounds. The lakes are formed by a dammed up mountain stream coming off Table Mountain. Lots of hiking trails are nearby leading up the mountain. The three bathhouses on the outside are an unattractive apparently ill kept stucco and dark wood but surprisingly in contrast the insides are very attractive with tiled floors, nicely painted, and very clean with excellent showers. There is WiFi at the visitor Center. Very friendly host has been there for 6 months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$19
Very nice state park with plenty of activities available. Sites could use some better leveling and loop access roads are tight for big rigs. Sites are gravel and are suitable for any size rig. We liked the space between sites...none were on top of the other. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$19
We arrived late around 11pm so the gate was locked, but they had given us the code to get into the gate. We found it hard to see the camping spot numbers in the dark. We had site 80, but after driving around the campground a couple of times the camp host came out and told us that we wouldn't fit in there. So she told us site 7 was the only one available that would hold us for the days we had selected. She was very helpful and escorted us to our site. Sites 2 thruough 8 will hold a large motorhome or trailer. They are easy back-ins, but not very private and on a main drag in the campground. The beach area was nice and clean and had several life guards on duty. Across the road from the beach area was a wading area with a water fall you could walk under. They also had a large deck with seating that over looked the falls that was really nice. This campground was really nice and worth the trip for us and we may return one day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Lovely location. Staff a bit stiff. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
This is a beautiful park with great hiking trails. We stayed in site #1 (taking advice from an earlier reviewer) because we have a 40' rig, but my husband thought we could fit into many of the other sites OK. So if you are a good driver/parker and are adventurous, sites other than the "main street" ones (#s 1-5) might be fine also. But #1 worked out fine for us. Had to park the toad (truck) sideways in front of the RV to fit it but was OK. Not the most private spaces... Make sure you hike up at least a little ways up the Table Rock-combo trail. All the ponds and cascades are very pretty! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground. It is somewhat primitive with no full hookup, but you know that going in. There are beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, lakes, and of course the spectacular Table Rock summit. This is a family friendly campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
This is a typical state park. The sites are OK and they are fairly level. They are updating some of the sites but from what we saw, only two had been completed. The site we were in said 40 foot and we did fit but the issue was not the site. It was the road in the loop. At the top of the loop, the pavement has deteriorated and is not made for larger rigs. The trees need trimming as well to keep them from scratching your camper. If you are over 35 feet long I would stay in sites 1-5 on the main street. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
We had a good time at Table Rock. We were in a pop up when fully extended measures 25 feet. We were on site #74 which said it could accommodate a 25 foot trailer, but it was a very very tight fit and very very very difficult to back into. The hookups, the fire pit and picnic table were all on the same side which made preparing meals on the outdoor stove a little inconvenient, not to mention we were a little afraid of the kids tripping over the water and electric lines. I really think that should be a tent only site since it was so tight and because of the placement of the hookups and fire pit. Bike riding for the little ones was very difficult given the steep hills, especially since they were not used to riding down hills. The lake was beautiful and had a decent beach and diving board and lifeguards. They also have boat rentals which were fun. We stayed over July 4th and the park was so crowded that day that we just stayed at our campsite and didn't venture to the lake. There were activities on the weekends for the kids at the nature center and really pretty hiking trails that range from moderate to more difficult. We hiked the moderate trail with 7 and 4 year old boys and they did just fine. A screen room for eating outside is almost a must since we encountered a lot of flies and hornets. The restrooms are standard SC State Park bathhouses but were well maintained and clean, but a little old. The air is cooler and drier there which would make it ideal for tent camping as well. It is a little far for us, but we would like to go back there some time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
A nice park in a beautiful area! Get the exact address when programming your GPS. Don't confuse the address for the Welcome Center with the address for the main park. We had a beautiful, large site with a creek running through it (site #72). We did not have a problem fitting our 35' motorhome into it. There are not a lot of sites on the loop that would accommodate a motorhome, so ours was great! The area is shaded nicely with plenty of trails to hike and walk. There is a country store with basic supplies, including firewood. Each site has a fire ring. If you like stargazing, this is the right place for you. Since the park is up in the foothills, the stars really are bright at night. The nearby Cherokee Foothills Scenic Highway (Highway 11) is a beautiful scenic route. We took an afternoon trip and visited Historic Hendersonville, NC. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Sites had HUGE drop off at back and both sides. Not suitable for kids!! Never return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
This was a very enjoyable park. The campground itself needs updating; the 30amp breaker kept tripping under a moderate load (no A/C used). The camping area is very clean and well maintained, and the bathrooms/showers, though old, were spotless. Rangers are very visible, friendly, and the folks at the office are very knowledgeable and helpful. The rest of the park is great, especially the hiking trails that are well marked and offer tremendous views. Also, park offered 35% camping discount for February! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
The staff and volunteers here were very friendly and helpful. The park has some great hiking trails and swimming area. The park store was sufficiently stocked, but did not open until 12 noon each day, however, it did stay open until 8 pm. Most of the sites in both of the campgrounds need a bit of work with the exception of the first few on the main campground entrance road. The sites are small with no privacy and are really close together. There was significant areas in most of the sites that had deep washout from heavy water flow due to the ground not being level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
Great campground! There is a lot to do - hiking, lake swimming, and a great playground. We were on site #2 and a creek ran right behind the camper. We opened the window and could hear the water flowing over the rocks. I was a little concerned about being on the main entrance road, rather than the actual campground due to privacy. However, when we go back, we will ask for a site in that general area again. The campsite was level and easy to get into. As we are new to camping and not experienced in "backing in to a site", this was very important to us. I can't tell you much about the other campsites as I didn't go up there to check them out. The hiking trails were great - different ones, depending on your experience and the time you had to hike. There were beautiful waterfalls even on the easier, shorter trail. We were there at Easter and there was an Easter egg hunt for the kids. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
We stayed in the White Oaks Campground at Table Rock State Park. It was a nice quiet campground with access to a lake with a swimming area within walking distance. There are also hiking trails that take you up to Table Rock. We spent a very nice weekend camping with friends and are likely to go again as it is less than 2 hours from where we work. It is a CCC campground and as far as that type of campground a little bit more rustic than other CCC campgrounds we have been in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
We were pleasantly surprised with this campground. I am not sure I would call this place big rig friendly though. The sites were level to park on but a lot of the sites would not allow for folks to sit level under the awning. The sites were gravel and some sloped off quickly. The restrooms are old and even though they tried to clean them and did more than once a day, bugs and gnats were everywhere. The park is 10 to 15 miles from a grocery store and the camp store is small. It is a large park so some driving inside the park is needed unless you do not mind walking about a mile to the swimming area. A lot of beautiful places to see are in the area and most do not require a long hike. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Great park as a base for hiking trails. I agree that the restroom are dated but they are kept as clean as possible. We made reservations on a site that was plenty long enough for our motor home, but it was so steep that I had to put about 10 inches of blocks under our front wheels. Just beware of numerous steep sites especially if you have a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
We loved this park. It is absolutely beautiful. Some of the sites are a little tricky, but we had a pull-through that was very level (#10). This is a state park, so the bath houses are a little dated, but they were clean. There is a lot to do in the park itself (boat rentals, fishing, and hiking) not to mention all the activities outside the park. The staff was very friendly and helpful as were the campground hosts. We have 2 young children, and the campground offered children's activities over the weekend. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
A State park with much to do such as hiking, fishing, and exploring. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Bathhouses were outdated, typical state park facilities are cleaned only once a day. (Don't expect KOA type cleanliness) Table Rock is located in a beautiful part of S.C. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com