223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Timber Lake Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (815) 244-1600
CGID4939

Timber Lake Resort

Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   10   10   9   10   10   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$52
This is a really neat resort with lots to do. It is well kept and managed. Pool is just the right size and very clean. The namesake lake seems to be underused, but it apparently has lots of fish and they have boats available. If you bring a kayak you may be the only one out there and it is basically 5 minutes from end to end, but there are other areas in this region to paddle if thats your thing. This resort is a true hybrid, and entertains adults as well as kids. Kids get a pool party and crafts on Saturday. For adults, there is a margarita bar with regular 'bags' tourneys, and on some Saturday nights, a live band playing until around 10 PM. A large proportion of the park is seasonal, but the daily area gets the prime spots near the pool, store, and shower-house. Its not the quietest campground, but is a good mix, and gets much quieter after the band shuts down. Ask about the weekend's agenda, or seek a site farther from the pool to get some distance from the band/stage. We were here on a rainy weekend and the band started about an hour late, so it ran until after 10:30, when the agenda said it would end at 9:30. Not a big deal, understandable I guess. Nearby is Timber Lake Playhouse, a summer stock professional theater that is surprisingly good for such a rural area. We saw Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. If you are here during the theater season, see what they are showing, they are really quite good. Timber Lake is a one of a kind resort with something for everyone, as long as you don't want to go to sleep too terribly early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$56
Well we came back after a 6 year break. No real reason other than we go to other places. This was Memorial Day weekend 2014. We had a full hook up site which was large and hand plenty of shade. The hookups were in good shape and the water pressure was excellent! Back in 2007 I gave this campground a "10" butl I can`t do that this time. A few reasons: the pool was green on Friday afternoon, which kind of shocked me because the owner took pride in his pool area. By Saturday the pool was cleared up, but was freezing. It was not anywhere near ready for the opening weekend. Then there was the issue of dogs running around unleashed! The family next to us had 3 dogs all not leashed. The guy 3 sites over also had a dog not leashed, that one came down to our site and crapped by us. We complained to the campground owner, but they didn't seem to care as they never came over to say anything and the same thing happened the next day. Our friends were in the site next to us and even their neighbors had a dog that wasn't leashed and running around their site! I did not expect this at this, what I thought was, a well run campground! And finally, golf carts! Way to many for this smaller campground. There was no real reason to have them here. I`m not against golf carts, but the size of this campground does not necessitate a golf cart. Not sure I would recommend this campground at this time due to the issues we ran into. Hopefully he gets it straightened out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
We really enjoyed this cg. Upon check in we were escorted to our site. Nice view of the lake and the wonderful new cabins. We would love to even come back in the winter to stay in a cabin. The pool area was wonderful, although closed for the season already. We were there for the first flea market weekend...next year I will bring some items to sell. Not allot of weekenders since it is toward the end of the season. Everyone was super nice...will be back...hopefully early in the season. Recommend this cg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Great camping experience. The owner and his staff are friendly and visible throughout the campground. Weekend activities are tons fun but the campground gets quiet by quiet time. Organized activities include pot lucks, trivia, bingo, fireworks, and pool games for both kids and adults. There is also ping pong, basketball, shuffle board, paddle boats, etc; the panfish are always biting and sometimes a large bass or something. There is no swimming in the lake but the pool is very nice and open 10-10. Cabins are available too which are very nice, new, and overlook the water. Great place to bring the family. We have been here many times and will return again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$42
Very friendly campground host and owner, new owner who bought the campground in 2002. He has refurbished the campground and continues to update this campground as needed. The owner directed us to our site and then he helped us out with backing in and leveling our 5er. Being the weekend was so cold that we ran through one bottle of propane, The other was empty already, we had no heat on Saturday in the afternoon. We contact the owner who came and got both of our bottles to fill with propane.He filled them up for us an then installed them back into the unit. He only charged us $48 for the two 30 LB bottles to be filled+ tax. My DW and I would go back to this camp ground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Outstanding Campground. Very clean with great pool. Owner and staff very friendly and make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. Camped there twice in 2008 and was never disappointed. Grand kids loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
It is a nice park, great pool area, with lots of activities. The owner really enjoys interacting with the guests and conducts many of the activities himself. Fishing is good (pan fish). It has a nice playground, horseshoes, shuffle board, and basketball. We stay in an RV but the cabins are really outstanding. We will definitely camp here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Very nice clean campground. Owner was very friendly and always helpful. Brandnew pool and bathhouses. We were here for Labor day weekend 07 and already have res. for Labor day 08! Great place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
Hard to argue with any of the reviews already posted. This really is a nice camp/resort. I like the fact, that to the benefit of both, the "seasonals" are separate from the "dailies/weekenders". While a bit pricey, the cabins are the best I have seen. This year the owners are going to keep them open for the entire year. That might be interesting in the middle of January! The roads are a bit tight, but with caution there should not be any problems getting around. Large sites, remarkably clean restrooms and bathhouses. The pool was crystal clear. The office, attached deck, lake, just everything was perfect. I urge you to take a ride to the nearby towns of Savana and Galena to get a true feel for the beauty of the Northwestern part of Illinios. I am surprised every single time by the hills, views, colors in fall, farms, etc.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
VERY nice. One of the best parks we have ever stayed at. The owners are so nice and friendly! A day after checking in they still remembered me by name and what site I was on. Nice lake, great pool, super kid friendly. Lots of pets. Everyone was warm and all had a good time. The road was a little tight, but the owner led us to our site and watched to make sure we stayed wide of the trees. When we got to the site he assisted with backing in and trimmed any branches that might have interfered with our slide. We would definitely go back to this park. Seasonal campers are in a different section of the park than overnighters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This was a wonderful campground. The only negative I could say is some roads are narrow and corners tight, the campground owner has done a lot of work recreating this campground so maybe that is somewhere on his list. The Pool was big and clean Owner is always around and checking on the pool. Sites are very large no problem with room, one family near us even had a volleyball net up and was not in anyones way. They had a cart driving around with firewood, just wave and they drop off, for a pretty good price. The snack bar near the pool was very well stocked. Can't say enough good things, everyone was helpful and friendly, always someone around. My sister stayed in a cabin. WOW! I was amazed, so clean the floor shined, beds were made up like they were out of a magazine. Kitchen clean and had lots of pots, pans, and gadgets, including the Birthday candles we forgot. The cabin made the hotels I have stayed in look bad, really, bring food, clothes, your fishing pole and you won't need anything else. We will be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
We stayed here as part of a group. VERY impressed! Sites are huge, well maintained. All the buildings are new. The owner actually stopped at our site to introduce himself. The CG was condemed several years ago and this new owner has done a great job of getting it back into shape. Would definitely go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$34
The campsites, utility hook-ups, buildings, bathrooms, etc. are all new. The new owners spared no expense in refurbishing this campground. Lakeside cabins are also a new addition. Sites are generous in size and are located in a separate area from the seasonal sites. The non-seasonal sites have terrific views of the lake. Although not yet open at the time of this review, the pool is new and quite large. The patio and landscaping around the pool is also new. The campground has activities/entertainment on the weekends, along with a campstore. There is additional forested land with hiking trails. Would have probably given a 10 except that the gravel roads were narrow in places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com